Customer Reviews for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs

Make your PC Run Like New. Improves Speed, Updates Drivers, Removes Junk & Malware
Average Customer Rating:
2.861 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
(out of 43 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
18
20 of 43(47%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Review 1 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fullerton, CA
Date:September 6, 2010

PC Matic - Worst Software Buy ever

Pros: there is no pro except for costco's return policy
Cons: stay away from this software.
Model Number: PC Matic by Pitstop
"I bought this to help to speed up my computer. It went in fairly easily, but it instructed me to restart and scan once more to clean up any residual stuff. I attempted a reboot and immediately encountered a fatal blue screen with a note that one of the registry items was corrupt, absent or not writable. I tried again several times including trying to get going in "Safe Mode."
I'm really not a novice at computers, but there was no way to get started again, and my computer guru suggested that my best bet was to reinstall Windows XP and all of the programs I use. That's a bummer. But even after doing that I've been unable to get most of my programs even to load properly. This has caused me to waste, so far, at least 10 hours, without a good result, and I'm going to get my computer guy here to do what he can to get me back in business.
PC Matic is a complete disaster for me. In addition to time wasted trying to get up and running again, I'm facing a pretty significant added cost.
Stay away from this piece of software."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:massachusetts
Date:August 1, 2010

Back for more

Pros: comprehensive cleanup, easy to use
Cons: would like more individualized settings
Model Number: PC Pitstop PC Matic
"I purchased PC Matic awhile back but finally got around to installing and using it. I consider myself an above average computer user but this is a convenient and simple way to do what I'd normally do to 'speed up' a slow PC and more. I never try to see if my drivers have been upgraded unless the programs themselves inform me of updates, so that alone to me is worth the software. I know there is nothing any software can do to 'fix' a PC that is out of date but to clean up clutter just from all the Microsoft updates can improve performance. I am so happy with PC Matic that I came back to Costco to purchase a couple more copies for the software for a friend and family. I would like more control over the settings available but that would need to be for more experienced users otherwise you could cause real issues so I'll settle for what PC Pitstop has."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Missouri
Date:September 14, 2010

Waste of time and money for me

Pros: decent customer service
Cons: problems with xp and disables wifi had to restore
"Have five computers - 4 laptops, 1 desk. Only worked without a problem on 1 laptop running Vista. All others operating XP and it caused problems. After running PCMatic, which did seem to do a good job finding issues with the registry and drivers, etc., the laptops would not connect to the wifi. I had to restore each in order to get the wifi capability back. PCMatic customer service is fast to answer and want to have a good product... except you have to jump through hoops to get the problems resolved. For the time rebooting, restoring and communicating with PCMatic, it was not worth my time and money. Restoring undoes any good PCMatic may have done. Went to Microsoft.com/updates and completed the free scan there without a problem."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CARLSBAD, CA
Date:September 14, 2010

Not for my computer

Pros: none
Cons: did not help me.
"To be charitable, I think the effectiveness of this product probably depends on the the particular circumstances of the computer to which it is applied. Otherwise I would have it awarded one star.
It did nothing for me. My computer is slow to boot up - that did not change - I actually timed it before and after.
The Windows Disk Cleanup utility was actually more effective than PC Matic when using all the Disk Cleanup features.
I think PC Matic blocked some of my startup programs and aked me to "replace" Adobe Reader, for no apparent reason.
Good try, but thanks to Costco's generous return policy, this one is going back to the store.
"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego CA
Date:September 11, 2010

Good Product

Pros: great price from costco
Cons: be careful when using this type of program.
Model Number: PC Matic
"I have used the PC Pitstop website for years to check on my computer's health with no problems. When I saw this product I decided to purchase it. It installed easily and has run just fine. I have Windows 7 home premium installed. This is a good way to keep track of driver updates and clean junk files off your computer. I would not recommend letting this (or any other product) make automatic adjustments. Especially to the registry."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Redondo Beach, CA
Date:September 10, 2010

Caution

Model Number: PC Matic
"It does a great job cleaning up your computer to make it run faster. However, it decides to prevent some programs from starting when you boot up your system. Sometimes you may want certain programs to automatically start upon bootup. In that case you need to reset those programs manually to begin upon startup. Also, my standalone Fujitso scanner stopped working after running PC Matic. I had to reinstall the scanner's driver. PC Matic has a built-in feature to update drivers, so I think it caused this issue."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Clearfield, UT
Date:August 21, 2010

No Noticeable Results

"I've ran the software many times on my Laptop. It always seems to find a few tweaks to make, especially the defrag. But there has never been a noticeable speed difference (the main reason we bought the software) in anything we do (browse internet, create documents, edit photos, edit movies). It was cheap, but I guess you get what you pay for."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:July 28, 2010

Improved my PC

Pros: easy to install. interface is easya to follow.
Model Number: PC Matic
"I just recently installed PC Matic on my laptop. It seems to have improved the performance of my computer. It boots up faster. It has sped up access to the internet.
It didn't seem to do an upgrade of my printer driver. so ti's not a 100% success. Nontheless, I am satisfied with what it has done.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bishop, CA
Date:October 4, 2010

save your money not worth it.

Pros: lots of other utilites works better than this.
Cons: what it conserns me it transmit info no no
Model Number: n/a
"okay
1st of all it does nothing, free utitlites are way better than this. not only that, they know everything, everytime you scan your pc you get reports in the email. man that's scary, basically it transmit information from your pc to PC Matic's server, then you get email back stating your pc is has problem or not.
They have complete information about your pc, well well that rings bell no. i would be scare to try such product. i don't let anyone to access my pc. it's like buying robot that sit inside your pc it could transfer data back & forth to anyone.
I hope you agree with me here. that's what we call malware / spyware etc. this seems similar to me. save your money guys.
it didn't do anything for me.
i wouldn't recommended this to anyone. find alternative product to this.
thanks
"
Review 10 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, OH
Date:July 24, 2010

Questionable

"My experience with this product has been less than satisfactory. I purchased the program with the hope of speeding up an 8 year old computer that I primarily use for printing graphics. It was functioning properly, but was a little slow. I installed the program, and did the suggested clean-up, and my conclusion is that since the procedure, the computer is much SLOWER.,
I tried it on another computer that said I was having a problem with a driver---and it did not solve that problem. My overall success with this item indicates there is no inexpensive way to fix a computer problem---it may be helpful for other computers.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Waxahachie, TX
Date:October 4, 2010

Excellent protection

Pros: it works!, ease of installation and use
Cons: some software may not like it
"PCMatic is an extension of PC Pitstop that combines some very good malware detection and removal with other features designed to keep your PC running well. This includes driver updates, disk defrag and registry scanner/fixer. It's automatic and very easy to install and use.
The only problem I've had with this software is that it somehow messes up my son's ProTools installation so that it won't recognize the disk as a "data disk" - it's obviously a ProTools problem, but ProTools isn't very responsive to problems on their end, so we had to un-install PCMatic from his computer.
Other than that one problem, I've been delighted with PCMatic - it keeps my 64-bit Win 7 computer running well, as it does our 32-bit Win 7 laptops."
Review 12 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Central Oregon
Date:September 4, 2010

Worse purchase

Cons: creates more problems than it solves.
"I installed PC Matic the day after I received it and ran it. I'm glad I did. It did nothing to improve my internet speed (I have wireless) and there was no noticable increase in the overall speed of my computer. It advertises that it deletes malware and junk. But instead of updating drivers, it should say that it deletes drivers, also. My computer came with Lightscribe. PC Matic either damaged the driver or completely destroyed it. I tried to restore to an earlier date and that was impossible, also. I have always been able to restore. PC Matic has been removed from my computer and I'm returning it as soon as I can."
Review 13 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2010

Got what I paid for...

Pros: simple to operate
Cons: few user options
"Because my purchase was back ordered I downloaded Auslogics BoostSpeed5 trial version. That product tuned up my computer so well there was little this product could improve on."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salinas, Ca
Date:September 16, 2010

Best software for the money!

"I bought this for my XP Pro Desktop. It cleaned all the registery files and worked great. I installed it on my wife's XP Pro and it's clean and runs faster. I installed it on my Vista Ultamate laptop and it finished installing all the updated drivers.
I just used it on a expensive laptop that we thought had a bad video card because the screen was black, but after doing everything I could, I used this software and it fixed it! Replaced an old corrupt video driver that would not install. Great! I'm buying another set to help my son and friends.
"
Review 15 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Charlotte, NC
Date:July 28, 2010

It Works

Pros: add a pro
Model Number: PC Matic
"I know next to nothing about software or computers in general. My Dell XPS laptop never performed properly. Tech service is extremely challenging. My laptop ran slowly, crashed frequently and took too long to boot up.
I bought this software only because it was inexpensive and as a last effort before I "retired" my laptop. To my surprise, the software fixed my issues and now I have a laptop that should serve me for a few more years. This is the best tech purchase for the money that I have ever purchased.
"
Review 16 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Greenacres, WA
Date:July 28, 2010

Finally a product that works

Pros: it works as advertised
Cons: where have you been?
"Product works much better than expected. I've installed on 2 XP,1 Vista and 1 Windows 7 machine. All the PCs now function like new. One of the XP machines and the Vista laptop had lot's of malfunctions and now have none. There was absolutely no issues installing and running the initial scans. I've paid other retailers 10 times more to fix these machines in the past and within a few days the problems start reoccurring and they want to get paid again to fix. Bottom line. Buy this product. It works."
Review 17 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2010

Not Bad for the Money

Pros: the price
Cons: may not help all computers
"Did a pretty good job speeding up one of my older computer running on Window XP which was taking "forever" to log onto the internet and had so many errors codes popping up. For the price, it did a good job. There are alot of other programs out there that claim to "double your speed" but cost alot more, and may not do a better job. This program may not be for all computers, but for my old computer it did a good job cleaning things up and making it functional again."
Review 18 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marysville. WA
Date:October 6, 2010

Great Product

Pros: excelent product great value
Cons: yearly subscription
"This is a great program. I have been using it for a year now. It is good addition to my regular Anti-virus program. This purchase is to renew my subscription. I use it on all my computers (7) and haven't had any problems. This is not a miricle fix, but it will fix alot of problems. If your computer is trashed it may not be able to fix it. If your computer works good, this will help it to stay that way."
Review 19 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:October 4, 2010

Not What Was Promised

Cons: only good for one year!!!
"I loaded this on my desktop that has Windows XP. It was slow to boot up and connect to the Internet. This product helped a little, but did not double the speed as promised. I also loaded it on my laptop with Windows Vista, with the same slowness of my desktop. It didn't help at all on the laptop!!! If your computer's running slow....buy a new one!!! Don't waste your money on this softward!!!!"
Review 20 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kansas City Missouri area
Date:October 4, 2010

NOT AS Advertised

"I found that it actually ruined some important programs that I had to reinstall. I tried their techincal department, but icons they talked about in their reply weren't even there.
I uninstalled and actually restored my computer to a time before PC Matic. This solved most of the problems, but I'm still fixing things it did.
I then returnrd it to Costco."
1 2 3 next>>