Customer Reviews for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs

Make your PC Run Like New. Improves Speed, Updates Drivers, Removes Junk & Malware
Average Customer Rating:
2.861 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
(out of 43 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
18
20 of 43(47%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Review 1 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marysville. WA
Date:October 6, 2010

Great Product

Pros: excelent product great value
Cons: yearly subscription
"This is a great program. I have been using it for a year now. It is good addition to my regular Anti-virus program. This purchase is to renew my subscription. I use it on all my computers (7) and haven't had any problems. This is not a miricle fix, but it will fix alot of problems. If your computer is trashed it may not be able to fix it. If your computer works good, this will help it to stay that way."
Review 2 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:October 5, 2010

PC Matic

Pros: easy to install
Cons: none
"Excellent. No trouble installing. Made my machine run so much better."
Review 3 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:October 5, 2010

waste of time & money

Pros: none
Cons: worthless
"Didn't do anything for my computer one way or the other. Every time I run a scan it comes up with the same malware...right after cleaning it up. The computer runs the same even after several scans."
Review 4 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2010

NOT GOOD

"I saw nothing in the sales pitch that it was a one year deal, but more importantly, it was installed on two older computers and it did not make any noticable difference in the performance of either one."
Review 5 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boston area
Date:October 5, 2010

PC Matic

"Didn't notice any speed-up of system, but now my system crashes whenever I have too many Explorer windows open. PC Matic definitely destablized my VISTA OS. Never had crashes before loading this S/W."
Review 6 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Myrtle Beach, SC
Date:October 4, 2010

Does nothing

Model Number: Junk
"The only thing this software does well is lock up the computer! Its going back to Costco tomorrow! Save your $$$$!"
Review 7 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kansas City Missouri area
Date:October 4, 2010

NOT AS Advertised

"I found that it actually ruined some important programs that I had to reinstall. I tried their techincal department, but icons they talked about in their reply weren't even there.
I uninstalled and actually restored my computer to a time before PC Matic. This solved most of the problems, but I'm still fixing things it did.
I then returnrd it to Costco."
Review 8 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:October 4, 2010

Not What Was Promised

Cons: only good for one year!!!
"I loaded this on my desktop that has Windows XP. It was slow to boot up and connect to the Internet. This product helped a little, but did not double the speed as promised. I also loaded it on my laptop with Windows Vista, with the same slowness of my desktop. It didn't help at all on the laptop!!! If your computer's running slow....buy a new one!!! Don't waste your money on this softward!!!!"
Review 9 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Waxahachie, TX
Date:October 4, 2010

Excellent protection

Pros: it works!, ease of installation and use
Cons: some software may not like it
"PCMatic is an extension of PC Pitstop that combines some very good malware detection and removal with other features designed to keep your PC running well. This includes driver updates, disk defrag and registry scanner/fixer. It's automatic and very easy to install and use.
The only problem I've had with this software is that it somehow messes up my son's ProTools installation so that it won't recognize the disk as a "data disk" - it's obviously a ProTools problem, but ProTools isn't very responsive to problems on their end, so we had to un-install PCMatic from his computer.
Other than that one problem, I've been delighted with PCMatic - it keeps my 64-bit Win 7 computer running well, as it does our 32-bit Win 7 laptops."
Review 10 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bishop, CA
Date:October 4, 2010

save your money not worth it.

Pros: lots of other utilites works better than this.
Cons: what it conserns me it transmit info no no
Model Number: n/a
"okay
1st of all it does nothing, free utitlites are way better than this. not only that, they know everything, everytime you scan your pc you get reports in the email. man that's scary, basically it transmit information from your pc to PC Matic's server, then you get email back stating your pc is has problem or not.
They have complete information about your pc, well well that rings bell no. i would be scare to try such product. i don't let anyone to access my pc. it's like buying robot that sit inside your pc it could transfer data back & forth to anyone.
I hope you agree with me here. that's what we call malware / spyware etc. this seems similar to me. save your money guys.
it didn't do anything for me.
i wouldn't recommended this to anyone. find alternative product to this.
thanks
"
Review 11 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:October 4, 2010

It worked for me

"This product help to speed up my computer and fixed some problems I had.Worked great for me."
Review 12 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tallahassee, FL
Date:September 22, 2010

1 Year Only

"This product may be o.k. but nowhere in the COSTCO or software advertisement does it tell you it is only good for one year. IT SHOULD SAY THAT SOMEWHERE BEFORE IT IS PURCHASED."
Review 13 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 21, 2010

The worst product

Pros: none
Cons: bogus claim
"It does not do anything - the utility functions are already in Windows. Great return policy of COSTCO saved my $"
Review 14 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2010

Not Bad for the Money

Pros: the price
Cons: may not help all computers
"Did a pretty good job speeding up one of my older computer running on Window XP which was taking "forever" to log onto the internet and had so many errors codes popping up. For the price, it did a good job. There are alot of other programs out there that claim to "double your speed" but cost alot more, and may not do a better job. This program may not be for all computers, but for my old computer it did a good job cleaning things up and making it functional again."
Review 15 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:South Carolina
Date:September 18, 2010

A Disaster

Pros: no pros
Cons: didn't work, disabled my printer
"I have Windows XP Media Center on my 2005 HP Desktop. My computer was running slow so I purchased this product as it claims to speed up computers. I installed it and followed all directions. It downloaded a new driver for my HP LaserJet and the printer stopped working. It did not make my computer run any better than before the install."
Review 16 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:September 17, 2010

Worked Great For Me

Pros: easy to understand instructions, added hard drive space
Cons: software only good for 12 months
"My laptop has a 320 GB hard drive. The actual space available for my use is 288 GB. Before running PC Matic I had 165 GB free space. After using PC Matic I had 197 GB available. That is a gain of 32 GB!"
Review 17 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:September 17, 2010

Good value for money

Pros: value for money, works as advertised
Cons: wish it had better virus protection.
"The software worked as promised on my Sony laptop. The computer now seems to be running faster and has not crashed since I ran this software 2 weeks ago."
Review 18 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salinas, Ca
Date:September 16, 2010

Best software for the money!

"I bought this for my XP Pro Desktop. It cleaned all the registery files and worked great. I installed it on my wife's XP Pro and it's clean and runs faster. I installed it on my Vista Ultamate laptop and it finished installing all the updated drivers.
I just used it on a expensive laptop that we thought had a bad video card because the screen was black, but after doing everything I could, I used this software and it fixed it! Replaced an old corrupt video driver that would not install. Great! I'm buying another set to help my son and friends.
"
Review 19 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CARLSBAD, CA
Date:September 14, 2010

Not for my computer

Pros: none
Cons: did not help me.
"To be charitable, I think the effectiveness of this product probably depends on the the particular circumstances of the computer to which it is applied. Otherwise I would have it awarded one star.
It did nothing for me. My computer is slow to boot up - that did not change - I actually timed it before and after.
The Windows Disk Cleanup utility was actually more effective than PC Matic when using all the Disk Cleanup features.
I think PC Matic blocked some of my startup programs and aked me to "replace" Adobe Reader, for no apparent reason.
Good try, but thanks to Costco's generous return policy, this one is going back to the store.
"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Missouri
Date:September 14, 2010

Waste of time and money for me

Pros: decent customer service
Cons: problems with xp and disables wifi had to restore
"Have five computers - 4 laptops, 1 desk. Only worked without a problem on 1 laptop running Vista. All others operating XP and it caused problems. After running PCMatic, which did seem to do a good job finding issues with the registry and drivers, etc., the laptops would not connect to the wifi. I had to restore each in order to get the wifi capability back. PCMatic customer service is fast to answer and want to have a good product... except you have to jump through hoops to get the problems resolved. For the time rebooting, restoring and communicating with PCMatic, it was not worth my time and money. Restoring undoes any good PCMatic may have done. Went to Microsoft.com/updates and completed the free scan there without a problem."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>