Customer Reviews for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs

Make your PC Run Like New. Improves Speed, Updates Drivers, Removes Junk & Malware
Average Customer Rating:
2.861 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
(out of 43 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
18
20 of 43(47%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Review 21 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2010

Not Bad for the Money

Pros: the price
Cons: may not help all computers
"Did a pretty good job speeding up one of my older computer running on Window XP which was taking "forever" to log onto the internet and had so many errors codes popping up. For the price, it did a good job. There are alot of other programs out there that claim to "double your speed" but cost alot more, and may not do a better job. This program may not be for all computers, but for my old computer it did a good job cleaning things up and making it functional again."
Review 22 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bishop, CA
Date:October 4, 2010

save your money not worth it.

Pros: lots of other utilites works better than this.
Cons: what it conserns me it transmit info no no
Model Number: n/a
"okay
1st of all it does nothing, free utitlites are way better than this. not only that, they know everything, everytime you scan your pc you get reports in the email. man that's scary, basically it transmit information from your pc to PC Matic's server, then you get email back stating your pc is has problem or not.
They have complete information about your pc, well well that rings bell no. i would be scare to try such product. i don't let anyone to access my pc. it's like buying robot that sit inside your pc it could transfer data back & forth to anyone.
I hope you agree with me here. that's what we call malware / spyware etc. this seems similar to me. save your money guys.
it didn't do anything for me.
i wouldn't recommended this to anyone. find alternative product to this.
thanks
"
Review 23 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kansas City Missouri area
Date:October 4, 2010

NOT AS Advertised

"I found that it actually ruined some important programs that I had to reinstall. I tried their techincal department, but icons they talked about in their reply weren't even there.
I uninstalled and actually restored my computer to a time before PC Matic. This solved most of the problems, but I'm still fixing things it did.
I then returnrd it to Costco."
Review 24 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Date:August 7, 2010

PC Pitstop - PC Matic

Pros: simple to use
Cons: where have you been before now?
"I was skeptical but tried it anyway and WOW it sure speeded up my computer. It was everything that it was advertised to be. I am sure happy with all the problems that were fixed by this program. It was very easy to load and use. Thanks to Costco for such a low price."
Review 25 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Concord, Ca
Date:September 9, 2010

Save Your Money

Pros: none
Cons: doesn't work
"I was hoping this product would speed up the time it takes for my laptop to boot. My Toshiba laptop took 5 minutes to boot before I installed and used this software. And it took 5 minutes after I used the product. I also installed and used it on Dell desktop. No noticeable change in processing speeds on either machine."
Review 26 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Missouri
Date:September 9, 2010

PC MATIC

Pros: sounds great
Cons: can't get it to work
Model Number: PC MATIC
"Was excited to order this product,but I can't get it to work.Everytime I try to use it,it takes me to a page to purchase it.I ALREADY DID THAT at COSTCO.Maybe I need my 12 yr old to run it."
Review 27 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle area
Date:September 12, 2010

Good Product

"OK, it isn't going to be a "magic bullet" for everybody. I have installed it on a slow XP netbook,and it made it run a little bit better. I put it on a Vista Home Premium machine, and it made a BIG difference. Win7 desktop not much; Vista laptop, not much. My point is, for the price, it's a good investment. Don't expect a miracle."
Review 28 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:September 17, 2010

Good value for money

Pros: value for money, works as advertised
Cons: wish it had better virus protection.
"The software worked as promised on my Sony laptop. The computer now seems to be running faster and has not crashed since I ran this software 2 weeks ago."
Review 29 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:October 4, 2010

Not What Was Promised

Cons: only good for one year!!!
"I loaded this on my desktop that has Windows XP. It was slow to boot up and connect to the Internet. This product helped a little, but did not double the speed as promised. I also loaded it on my laptop with Windows Vista, with the same slowness of my desktop. It didn't help at all on the laptop!!! If your computer's running slow....buy a new one!!! Don't waste your money on this softward!!!!"
Review 30 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Myrtle Beach, SC
Date:October 4, 2010

Does nothing

Model Number: Junk
"The only thing this software does well is lock up the computer! Its going back to Costco tomorrow! Save your $$$$!"
Review 31 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boston area
Date:October 5, 2010

PC Matic

"Didn't notice any speed-up of system, but now my system crashes whenever I have too many Explorer windows open. PC Matic definitely destablized my VISTA OS. Never had crashes before loading this S/W."
Review 32 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2010

NOT GOOD

"I saw nothing in the sales pitch that it was a one year deal, but more importantly, it was installed on two older computers and it did not make any noticable difference in the performance of either one."
Review 33 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Livonia, MI
Date:July 28, 2010

Did not perform as expected

Pros: cost effective
Cons: did not work
"My father-in-law's laptop has been operating slowly for quite some time. I thought I would give PC Matic a shot since it was so cheap. After quite some time, the information it gave back was that it had cleaned up quite a bit. However, the computer does operate any better."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2010

Got what I paid for...

Pros: simple to operate
Cons: few user options
"Because my purchase was back ordered I downloaded Auslogics BoostSpeed5 trial version. That product tuned up my computer so well there was little this product could improve on."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, OH
Date:July 24, 2010

Questionable

"My experience with this product has been less than satisfactory. I purchased the program with the hope of speeding up an 8 year old computer that I primarily use for printing graphics. It was functioning properly, but was a little slow. I installed the program, and did the suggested clean-up, and my conclusion is that since the procedure, the computer is much SLOWER.,
I tried it on another computer that said I was having a problem with a driver---and it did not solve that problem. My overall success with this item indicates there is no inexpensive way to fix a computer problem---it may be helpful for other computers.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Clearfield, UT
Date:August 21, 2010

No Noticeable Results

"I've ran the software many times on my Laptop. It always seems to find a few tweaks to make, especially the defrag. But there has never been a noticeable speed difference (the main reason we bought the software) in anything we do (browse internet, create documents, edit photos, edit movies). It was cheap, but I guess you get what you pay for."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CARLSBAD, CA
Date:September 14, 2010

Not for my computer

Pros: none
Cons: did not help me.
"To be charitable, I think the effectiveness of this product probably depends on the the particular circumstances of the computer to which it is applied. Otherwise I would have it awarded one star.
It did nothing for me. My computer is slow to boot up - that did not change - I actually timed it before and after.
The Windows Disk Cleanup utility was actually more effective than PC Matic when using all the Disk Cleanup features.
I think PC Matic blocked some of my startup programs and aked me to "replace" Adobe Reader, for no apparent reason.
Good try, but thanks to Costco's generous return policy, this one is going back to the store.
"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:July 28, 2010

Improved my PC

Pros: easy to install. interface is easya to follow.
Model Number: PC Matic
"I just recently installed PC Matic on my laptop. It seems to have improved the performance of my computer. It boots up faster. It has sped up access to the internet.
It didn't seem to do an upgrade of my printer driver. so ti's not a 100% success. Nontheless, I am satisfied with what it has done.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:massachusetts
Date:August 1, 2010

Back for more

Pros: comprehensive cleanup, easy to use
Cons: would like more individualized settings
Model Number: PC Pitstop PC Matic
"I purchased PC Matic awhile back but finally got around to installing and using it. I consider myself an above average computer user but this is a convenient and simple way to do what I'd normally do to 'speed up' a slow PC and more. I never try to see if my drivers have been upgraded unless the programs themselves inform me of updates, so that alone to me is worth the software. I know there is nothing any software can do to 'fix' a PC that is out of date but to clean up clutter just from all the Microsoft updates can improve performance. I am so happy with PC Matic that I came back to Costco to purchase a couple more copies for the software for a friend and family. I would like more control over the settings available but that would need to be for more experienced users otherwise you could cause real issues so I'll settle for what PC Pitstop has."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for PC Matic Good for up to 5 PCs
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fullerton, CA
Date:September 6, 2010

PC Matic - Worst Software Buy ever

Pros: there is no pro except for costco's return policy
Cons: stay away from this software.
Model Number: PC Matic by Pitstop
"I bought this to help to speed up my computer. It went in fairly easily, but it instructed me to restart and scan once more to clean up any residual stuff. I attempted a reboot and immediately encountered a fatal blue screen with a note that one of the registry items was corrupt, absent or not writable. I tried again several times including trying to get going in "Safe Mode."
I'm really not a novice at computers, but there was no way to get started again, and my computer guru suggested that my best bet was to reinstall Windows XP and all of the programs I use. That's a bummer. But even after doing that I've been unable to get most of my programs even to load properly. This has caused me to waste, so far, at least 10 hours, without a good result, and I'm going to get my computer guy here to do what he can to get me back in business.
PC Matic is a complete disaster for me. In addition to time wasted trying to get up and running again, I'm facing a pretty significant added cost.
Stay away from this piece of software."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>