Customer Reviews for REVO 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8 Audio Capable High Res Cameras

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

REVO 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8 Audio Capable High Res Cameras

18.5" LCD Monitor
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
(out of 36 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
32 of 36(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for REVO 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8 Audio Capable High Res Cameras
Review 1 for REVO 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8 Audio Capable High Res Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:February 18, 2011

Great system ...

Pros: expert tech support, over the phone /computer set-up assistance .
Cons: the rj12 setup only limeted to 8 cameras.
Model Number: 8 cameras /16 channel / DVR3
"Great surveillance system,Performance better than any other brand. The unique features it's the cameras with mic, other brands only have only one way and 1 position mic entry.
Camera monitoring over internet ,for best performance ,cable internet will be the best option (DSL no so good).Image quality also,can be changed on set-up(look for all the settings and adjust as need) but the changes affects the recording length and quality of internet broadcast.
Cameras night vision mode,only have one problem, if you run cable longer than 100 Feet,The night vision get stuck and camera don't shift to color during day light. and only have 8 entry cameras with RJ12 ,you can make yourself longer cable using cat3 (3 pairs)and RJ12 connectors. Original cable only has 4 wires ,but... make sure the wiring positions are correct, if you cut one to make it shorter.
All my stores are current using Revo system,and no problems so far.
The additional cameras (8) uses BNC cable and separate power and limited to about 300 feet,because of the power loss and image signal starts top get very grainy.(cable signal loss).
"
Review 2 for REVO 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8 Audio Capable High Res Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:December 30, 2010

Bullet cameras don't revert to color on their own

Pros: all-in-one cable
Cons: bad bullets!
Model Number: REVO 16CH DVR w/8 high resolution cameras
"We purchased this system for our business in September 2010 but didn't install it until six weeks later. Installation was straightforward. Everything was fine...THE FIRST NIGHT...we turned off the lights, locked up...and left. I viewed the cameras remotely that evening and the domes were dark, as should be...the bullets are infrared to illuminate in the dark...and they did. However, when opening the business next morning {i.e...turning on the lights}...the bullets stayed in black & white. I could get them to revert to color only by unplugging/re-plugging their connectors on the back of the monitor. This is not a feasible solution because the connectors are so tightly lined up, it's difficult to do and eventually a tab or something is going to snap off. Revo made me return the cameras to them for testing. They concluded there was nothing wrong with the cameras, they've seen this problem before, and it is caused by not having enough lighting in the area they are installed. . WTH???? That's nonsense...two of them were in rooms with numerous fluorescent fixtures...bright per health code as it's a commercial kitchen..it really can't get any brighter than it is unless I installed flood lights for pete's sake! They sent me, for my brand new cameras... replacement cameras...refurbished and two years old with kinks in the cables! I did complain and got 4 supposedly brand new ones...but the same problem exists. I have solved it by shining a flashlight into them for a few seconds...but that's absurd to have to do that every morning. There is absolutely NOTHING in their manuals about troubleshooting this particular...apparently known... problem. Had I been aware of it, I would have purchased a different system. I probably should have returned the entire system to Costco, but it took too long to run the 100s of feet of cable through the ceilings so I have decided to be stuck with it"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for REVO 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8 Audio Capable High Res Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:December 15, 2010

Awesome system, excellent tech support

Pros: tech support, operating system, easy to setup, online viewing
Cons: the picture quality could be better, wish all 16 channels could power the camers
Model Number: Revo 16 channel
"Hi guys
Well I just finished my reveiw of the Q-see 8ch system that I returned and now its time to reveiw this as which was its replacement
FIrst of I have had this system for 3 months now working absolutly flawless in the Michigan weather, we have been in the single digits at night and it is running like a champ. I have 9 cameras up and running all corners of my house and 2 cams in my basement viewing my doors, also even have 2 cameras run out to my polebarn viewing inside and outfront of it.
ok so what can I say about this system, well its 16 channels is perfect for ever expanding, remember though the half of the channels are quick easy plug in for the cameras ( dvr powers the camera ) the other 8 channels have the bnc connector witch means that the camera has to have a seperat power plug for each cam. Its not a big deal cause when you run the cord from channels 8-16 back to the dvr, you need to just use the supplied power cord
( power to run camera) and bnc converter also supplied with the Revo cameras to make the cameras work. So basically channels 1-8 you simply just plug into the dvr box and the dvr powers the camera, channels 8-16 the cameras need power seperate to run them.
Setup was super easy just run wires and plug in dvr, and hook up supplied lcd screen. THe lcd display is very nice and works very well . The dvr fan is a little bit loud , not that big of deal, I actually just have the dvr right next to my bed and it doesnt bother me at all, but it may some ppl. THe operating system works great , it is very easy to search recorded events and find events. The recording is very easy to setup for each camera, I have to say the only downfall to recording I have is when the sun shines it will record all shadows in each camera view, or if its raining or snowing hard it will record all that constantly, no big deal I just quicky fastforward to what is important to see when vewing the recordings. I have already recorded tons of coons, deer and even a coyote trotting along the house at 2am in the morning. THankfully no suspicious ppl or no breakins.
The picture quality is actually prob the only downfall I have noticed so far, and actually it isnt bad, but it doesnt seem to be 520 or whatever they claim, I think that if you were to up grade cams this would be alot better but for my use around my house it works plenty good enough to see whats going on at night and to keep a eye out of my property
Online viewing is awesome, there is some lag between real time and that is expected, it was very easy to connect to my router for wireless signal, I caleld tech support and withing about 15 mintues they had me up and running and I was viewing online all my cameras. The even have mobile veiwing , I currently have a android phone and they are suppose to have a app for that shortly at the time of this review, they currently have one for blackberry and IPhones I believe out already .
Tech support was really helpfull and I emailed REVO several times and always with a few hrs I would receive a email back .
Overall as you can tell I am very happy about this purchase, it is a nice peice of mind to be laying in bed at night and to glance over at my screen and see all around my house and to know that all is good. I would deffenatly recomend this to a anyone looking for a good all around security system."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for REVO 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8 Audio Capable High Res Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Soddy Daisy, TN
Date:December 4, 2010

Great System

Pros: fast and easy to setup, viewable on the internet
Cons: greenish tent to the picture, extra wiring for long runs is expensive
"I received this product a few days ago and have to say overall I am very pleased. I just got it installed last night (temp as far as running the wires) and am very pleased. I use this system to monitor my elderly father that lives with me and to be able to check on him while I am away. I have installed three of the 8 cameras so far. The bullet cameras are the easiest to mount, but the dome cameras have the same quality. If you are going to run your wires through the wall, then the dome is great, but if you are going to run the wires up the outside of the wall, you will have to modify the case to all room for the cord to come out the side.
Anyway, overall I am very, very happy. I had the three cameras installed and viewable on the internet in just a couple of hours. Running the cable is the hardest part, connecting the system is easy.
My only complaints so far are the quality of the picture and the wiring. There is a "gree" tent to a lot of it. The picture is clear, but someone wearing blue jeans appear to have on gree pants. Not sure what this is all about, but I will be calling support on Monday to find out. The wiring is specific to Revo and they charge a ton for it. No making your own. I have to have two runs that are about 125 feet. I have to buy (2) 200 ft cords that are going to cost me pretty good amount. Would have been nice to make your own. However, I will give them this, the fact the wiring supplies the sound, video, and power is a huge plus. Guess you can't have your cake and eat it too."
Review 5 for REVO 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8 Audio Capable High Res Cameras
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Eugene, Or
Date:November 20, 2010

Not as great as reviews

"The picture quality is no better than either my Q-See or Lorex. I was disappointed and would have returned it for a 16 camera Q-See for a lower price but I was open in a high theft area and could not bring back my tech guy to reset up the camera system. I am really ready for a better picture."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for REVO 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8 Audio Capable High Res Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:smyrna ga
Date:November 15, 2010

great product

Model Number: 404-786-2233
"great product easy to install clear view easy cell phone access"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for REVO 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8 Audio Capable High Res Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2010

revo 16ch 500 gb dvr

"easy to install.great for small business.exellent picture quality no lag or hick ups.get the upgrade need it in the long run.best purchase ever in deed will by another in the future...thanks costco and revo"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for REVO 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8 Audio Capable High Res Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston
Date:October 2, 2010

REVP 16H 500GB

Pros: easy setup, clear picture, reliable
Cons: expensive
Model Number: 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8
"I had purchased the 8CH model previously and returned it when I realized I needed more cameras. The setup was easy; event thought it was not necessarily intuitive. Some of the things that should not have required the help of tech support did – just because of the way you are required to enter the information. The other problem I had was with one of the cables, which made one camera view appear dull. Tech support sent me a new cable and I was good to go. I have had the system for 4 months now and it works like a charm. Pictures are clear, playback is great."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for REVO 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8 Audio Capable High Res Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:September 5, 2010

Well Rounded System - Easy Setup

Pros: easy setup, high resolution recording, upgradeable/expandable, iphone app, solid quality, remote view
Cons: over-sized dvr, not so quiet fan
Model Number: REVO 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8 Audio Capable High Res Cameras
"We've had this system for many months now and it just keeps getting better. First, the initial setup was very easy. The network setup took a little more time, but we were also able to get it working within a few days. Second, the iPhone app added additional value by allowing us to watch our home via our cell phone. Third, it's upgradeable. We put in a Hitachi deskstar 2tb hard drive for continuous recording. The system came with firmware 1.0 and standard RAS Plus software. We recently visited the website to see what had changed, downloaded the new firmware and PC software and now we have a few more features than before, like h.264 recording. All of this makes me feel like this is a solid product. The only reason this system gets 4 stars is because their customer support really lacks. Limited hours and don't return phone calls or emails."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for REVO 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8 Audio Capable High Res Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:September 3, 2010

Great value

"Purchased for my business. I did have a friend wire it, but there were no problems with the set up....very easy to use.
Both types of included cameras, bullet and dome, have great quality. I have installed both types indoors so I don't have any feedback about how they work outdoors.
I definitely recommend this system."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for REVO 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8 Audio Capable High Res Cameras
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:montana
Date:August 18, 2010

Not Mac Compatable.

Cons: not mac compatable
"Only networks over the internet using Microsoft's Internet Explorer which hasn't been updated for Macs since 2005. Other browsers such as Firefox and Safari won't work. The last version of IE for mac is too outdated to work. Basically you can't use a Mac in any way with this product. Tech support says buy an Emulator Program then buy Windows to view over net... Sounds like they just need to update their software."
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for REVO 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8 Audio Capable High Res Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:July 6, 2010

Great system

"I would give this system 5 stars in every aspect, I like it so much that I bought 2 systems one for home and one for office.
picture quality is outstanding, runs smmothly with no hickups, web watch and mobile watch work great with no problems, I highly recommend this product.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for REVO 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8 Audio Capable High Res Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:July 1, 2010

Awesome System! Love it

Model Number: 16 Channel
"This is a great system. Good video quality. Excellent customer support. The remote viewing of your cameras is awesome! Love being able to see what's going on even when I'm not on location. Easy to use system. Definitely recommend this system."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for REVO 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8 Audio Capable High Res Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hillsboro,Or
Date:June 30, 2010

Great DVR at good price

Model Number: REVO 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8 Cameras
"I have owned this unit for about 2 weeks now and have been very impressed with it. The customer support is the best I have ever dealt with. The unit comes with a 500 gig hd but is very easy to upgrade to 2T (uses standard SATA drives). Four of the cameras are indoor only and work well in that environment. The remaining four cameras are indoor/outdoor with IR illuminators. The problem with IR illuminators that are built into the camera is that at night bugs, rain and flying particles are very visible and will keep the motion detector busy. You can save yourself some money for long cable runs if you build up the cables yourself. Just get some RJ12 modular plugs (about 10 cents each), RJ 12 crimpers and network cable ( you only use 6 of the eight wires). I had runs of 200 feet and the CAT5E worked great. This unit has 8 RJ12 camera inputs (for the REVO cameras and 8 BNC camera inputs (which I used for my older cameras). Video captured on DVR is easily searched and can be off loaded to a flash drive. Only negative that I have: The mounting screws are very, very cheap and should be replaced with good quality screws of same size."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for REVO 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8 Audio Capable High Res Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NEWMAN, CALIF.
Date:June 30, 2010

REVO

"EZ to install, great picture quilty, and well worth the money."
Review 16 for REVO 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8 Audio Capable High Res Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Miami, FL
Date:June 27, 2010

Great system for small business or warehouse

"I purchased 2 systems prior to this one (Lorex & Q-See) and returned them both. REVO is easy to operate and I am very pleased with the picture quality.
Plus i can see my business from my HTC HD2 smart phone (it also works great on the i-phone), the only part i don't like while viewing from my HTC is the menu too small to press and control. I adviced REVO about it, they are looking into it.
Overall I recomend it to anyone that wants a good system for a great price.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for REVO 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8 Audio Capable High Res Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:City of Industry, CA
Date:June 16, 2010

Quality, Value, Lifetime Customer Support!

Pros: value, customer support, resolution of camera compared to competition, easy to use dvr software, lifetime customer support
Model Number: REVO 16CH 500GB DVR 8 Audio Capable High Res Cameras
"Bought this product for our business 3 months ago. You can't get a better deal anywhere. Best thing about the set is the lifetime customer support. The software on the DVR is well designed, easy to use. Highly recommended if you're looking for a start-up system. We have a CCTV company down the street and they can't even compete with the value/quality."
Review 18 for REVO 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8 Audio Capable High Res Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MD
Date:June 14, 2010

Revo - A Great Buy!

Pros: great price, great picture quality, revo has outstanding customer service
Cons: dome camera does not have infrared
"This is a great system, picture quality is excellent and the system is easy to install. I purchased the 60' cable extensions from homedepot.com to extend the camera cable. I have the 4 bullet cams covering each corner of the house (front and back) and the dome cams on each floor.
The dome cams do not have infrared, but the outdoor bullet cams do. Great picture, even in the dark, but obviously better with light. Recommend a motion sensor light where it is dark.
Overall, very impressed with the system, remote access works great, and we even use the iPod/iPhone app to access the cams."
Review 19 for REVO 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8 Audio Capable High Res Cameras
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2010

Reliable and a good value

Pros: no problems during setup, reliable system, good software
Cons: noisy fan, grainy picture from cameras
Model Number: RH16DSYSTEM-500
"The Revo DVR I received had a build date that was two years old and listed the hard drive as 160Gb even though the system reported that a 500Gb drive was installed. The DVR is a fairly large unit and the system board and hard drive take up very little space--there's a lot of extra room inside the case. The fan is noisy but the case is well ventilated and I never noticed any warm air coming from the fan. A quieter fan would be nice. The DVR operating system is simple and well thought out. Everything worked as it should and there weren't any surprises during setup.
The monitor and mouse are no-frills but work reliably.
The dome cameras are for indoor use while the bullet cameras are indoor-outdoor. The bullet cameras are weather-resistant, not weatherproof, and shouldn't be used outside unless shielded from rain, snow, sand, etc. This is common at this price but Revo does sell outdoor enclosures for the cameras. Night-vision on the bullet cameras works very well although the range is limited. The glow from the infra-red LEDs can be seen in the dark.
The picture quality from the cameras is adequate, but...520 lines of resolution? It doesn't look like it to me. Still, they do the job and having only one cable to install for each camera is convenient. The cables are 60 feet long and can be daisy-chained. If the cameras are installed in an open environment or with a false ceiling, installation should be quick and easy. If they have to be installed in a house with cables run through an attic or basement, it could take a while if you want it to look good. Only one hole needs to be drilled for camera installation and the cable is totally hidden after installation.
The included RASplus application works very well for monitoring and can be used for remote access to the DVR for configuration changes. A web browser can be used to remotely monitor the cameras and although Internet Explorer is the only web browser that will allegedly work, Firefox can be used as long as the "IE Tab 2" add-on is installed in Firefox.
The DVR can send e-mail alerts, which is a nice feature, but it doesn't send picture snapshots from the cameras--only a simple text message.
Overall, the system works very well and is a `good value. The software is solid and the hardware seems reliable. Eight of the sixteen DVR channels use BNC connectors so connecting a PTZ or other brand of camera should be very easy, although Revo does sell a BNC converter cable for use with the RJ connectors.
"
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for REVO 16CH 500GB DVR w/ 8 Audio Capable High Res Cameras
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2010

Works well and a good value

Pros: software has no bugs, reliable hardware, easy camera installation, good value
Cons: no snapshot in email alert
Model Number: RH16DSYSTEM-500
"The Revo DVR I received had a build date that was two years old and listed the hard drive as 160Gb even though the system reported that a 500Gb drive was installed. The DVR is a fairly large unit and the system board and hard drive take up very little space--there's a lot of extra room inside the case. The fan is noisy but the case is well ventilated and I never noticed any warm air coming from the fan. A quieter fan would be nice. The DVR operating system is simple and well thought out. Everything worked as it should and there weren't any surprises during setup.
The monitor and mouse are no-frills but work reliably.
The dome cameras are for indoor use while the bullet cameras are indoor-outdoor. The bullet cameras are weather-resistant, not weatherproof, and shouldn't be used outside unless shielded from rain, snow, sand, etc. This is common at this price but Revo does sell outdoor enclosures for the cameras. Night-vision on the bullet cameras works very well although the range is limited. The glow from the infra-red LEDs can be seen in the dark.
The picture quality from the cameras is adequate, but...520 lines of resolution? It doesn't look like it to me. Still, they do the job and having only one cable to install for each camera is convenient. The cables are 60 feet long and can be daisy-chained. If the cameras are installed in an open environment or with a false ceiling, installation should be quick and easy. If they have to be installed in a house with cables run through an attic or basement, it could take a while if you want it to look good. Only one hole needs to be drilled for camera installation and the cable is totally hidden after installation.
The included RASplus application works very well for monitoring and can be used for remote access to the DVR for configuration changes. A web browser can be used to remotely monitor the cameras and although Internet Explorer is the only web browser that will allegedly work, Firefox can be used as long as the "IE Tab 2" add-on is installed in Firefox.
The DVR can send e-mail alerts, which is a nice feature, but it doesn't send picture snapshots from the cameras--only a simple text message.
Overall, the system works very well and is a good value. The software is solid and the hardware seems reliable. Eight of the sixteen DVR channels use BNC connectors so connecting a PTZ or other brand of camera should be very easy, although Revo does sell a BNC converter cable for use with the RJ connectors."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>