Customer Reviews for Shelf Reliance 55-gallon Barrel Water Storage System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Shelf Reliance 55-gallon Barrel Water Storage System

Water Barrel, Siphon, Bung Wrench & Water Treatment Solution
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
11 of 13(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shelf Reliance 55-gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Review 1 for Shelf Reliance 55-gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2010

Good, with reservations

"The barrel seems well constructed. Using the chlorine treatment, I don't think cleaning will be an issue for storage (I'll know more in 5 years ;-)
The directions say to use a submersible pump (NOT INCLUDED). The syphon that is included is too short to reach the bottom of the barrel and reach to a place below the barrel (on the outside) to syphon from the bottom of the tank, duh!
One of the caps looks like it has a knockout piece with threads where some device could be added to facilitate in getting water out, but no mention of accessories :-("
Review 2 for Shelf Reliance 55-gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2010

Nicely Done

Pros: value
Cons: storage
"My neighbor purchased one elswhere for over twice the cost & had to drive 40 miles to get it. Comes with treatment, siphon, and tourque wrench. Worked like a charm. Would give 5 stars, but after the big one hits and after I drink the water. I'll be back."
Review 3 for Shelf Reliance 55-gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2010

Good Product for the Price

"Quick shipping. Very affordable compared to other sites. Filled it, treated it, good for the next couple of years. Might look into better pump rather than that siphon, but for now it will work. Good idea to always have emergency supply of water on hand."
Review 4 for Shelf Reliance 55-gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:LA, CA
Date:October 16, 2010

Overpriced

Pros: newer design keeps top cleaner
Cons: way overpriced
"I use these to catch rain water and the cost locally is $15 to $30 per barrel. You can't clean the inside unless you have a pressure washer. LA Fire Dept. recommends using common bleach for the treatment of long term water storage. Keep the barrel off cement to prevent alkali transfer."
Review 5 for Shelf Reliance 55-gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:October 15, 2010

Good For Emergency Water

Pros: price, capacity
Cons: filling difficulty
"This is a good buy but I have to say I was disappointed that the siphon does not have a threaded end for hooking it up to a hose bib to fill the barrel. Sure, you can use a regular garden hose, but these typically are not for potable water due to the chemicals they contain - which you can taste in garden hose water. I will be fitting a female end to the siphon or buying a separate drinking-water safe RV hose to fill the barrel, which I'm fine with, but it sure would be more convenient if Costco would get Shelf Reliance to bake this into the package."
Review 6 for Shelf Reliance 55-gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Saint Petersburg, Fl
Date:August 27, 2010

Water Storage tank

Pros: great package.
Cons: be careful it is a lot of weight.
"This tank has no way of scrubbing the inside out after long water storage and slime build up. Top does not come off.
My plan is for hurricane use. Fill the tank with untreated tap water just before the hurricane hits. After conditions clear, dump the water.
Siphon is poor way to get the water out. I bought a hand pump to get the water out. 440 lbs of water is a lot to handle. I also bought a dolly to put it on. Moves around the kitchen quite easily.
Good item for a good purpose.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shelf Reliance 55-gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:August 26, 2010

Trying to be prepared

"Like at least one other reviewer, we're a family with young children and don't want to be caught without the essentials. Of course, natural disasters can happen, but we're more concerned w/the fierce storm brewing in DC and thus doing all we can to be ready if/when the dollar should completely lose its value.
About the product, the instructions were well written. I did call Thrive Essentials to make sure we didn't need a pump. They told me we don't and that the sieve works to deliver the water from the barrel. Great price.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shelf Reliance 55-gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Beverly Hills, CA
Date:August 26, 2010

It can't be cleaned

Cons: add a con
"I just called the company to find out how to clean these, but the top will not come off. You can not clean them. Not impressed!"
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shelf Reliance 55-gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern New Jersey
Date:August 2, 2010

"Be Prepared"

"Things are bad and getting worse. I am preparing with alternate energy, food and water for, at least, one year for my family.
I purchased (2) of these 55 Gallon drums.
I also purchased "drum dolly's" from U-Line for each of them. It occurred to me that it would be likely to move them from time-to-time. I, also, purchased a nice stainless steel pump from the same company for convenience and ease of use.
"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shelf Reliance 55-gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Yucaipa, CA
Date:July 21, 2010

What would it be worth

"Imagine you were lost in the desert and just about ready to die of thirst, what would you be willing to pay for a 55 gallon barrel of fresh clean water? If every family in America spent a small amount of money for this Shelf Reliance 55-gallon Barrel Water Storage System and had this much water saved up for an emergency the picture of people standing in lines for hours on end waiting for the government to furnish their water would be much less likely to happen. Remember 1 gallon per day per person is recommended. It is also a wonderful decoration (with a black plastic bag over it) behind your wife’s roses."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shelf Reliance 55-gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dana Point, CA
Date:July 16, 2010

We knew we should have one ---

Pros: add a pro
Model Number: Shelf Reliance 55-gallon Barrel Water Storage System
"and finally, we do. Bought a dolly to rest it on so that it can be moved after being filled. Everyone should have one to help prepare for any eventuality."
Review 12 for Shelf Reliance 55-gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mountain High
Date:July 14, 2010

Excellent Value

"Complete package delivered to your home is an excellent value. We plan to use the barrels for water storage / heat retention in our small greenhouse."
Review 13 for Shelf Reliance 55-gallon Barrel Water Storage System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Puget Sound metro area, WA
Date:June 30, 2010

Preliminary--A Great Purchase

Pros: includes water treatment chemicals, includes a siphon
Cons: has siphon in lieu of pump
Model Number: None
"I had been researching water storage barrels and was delighted to see this offering from Costco. It just arrived today, which is why this is a preliminary review. At this time, the only thing that might have been better is if it had a real pump instead of a siphon, but the siphon will suffice."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.