Customer Reviews for 1lb Propane Conversion Kit

1lb Propane Conversion Kit

This regulator conversion kit for Costco item #459263 Nexgrill Portable Gas Grill (model #820-0015) will allow you to use this grill with a 1 lb. (0.46 kg) propane LP bottles instead of 20 lb. (9.1 kg) propane LP tanks. Kit includes: 1 lb. Gas Bottle Regulator with Brass Connection Fitting   Replacement Orifices   Orifice Wrench
Average Customer Rating:
3.842 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
(out of 19 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
0
16 of 19(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1lb Propane Conversion Kit
Review 1 for 1lb Propane Conversion Kit
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:chico ca.
Date:April 17, 2014

nexgrill Co.part more $ then Costco

Pros: bbq is high quality
Cons: not sure how reversible conversion kit is.
Model Number: #820-0007b
"I called Nexgrill direct and voiced my sentiments which echoed other reviews. namely, part should have been provided as this grill is not very portable when you have to haul around a large propane take to use as equiped. Also nexgrill direct is more expensive then same part at Costco where I purchased grill."
Review 2 for 1lb Propane Conversion Kit
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Simi Valley, CA
Date:April 6, 2014

Needs better materials

Pros: returned to costco no problem.
Cons: not mechanically inclined? don't try this.
Model Number: 459263
"Changing the tiny brass gas jets would have been no problem except one broke off with the threaded end still inside the manifold."
Review 3 for 1lb Propane Conversion Kit
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Estero, FL
Date:May 22, 2012

Poor Instructions

"Personally, I had a hard time getting over the fact that I had to purchase this item to make my main purchase, a "portable grill", "portable". Bad Costco!
The instructions state you unscrew the burner support as part of the installation, and show a picture of the screws. But the grill actually has pins and cotter pins that hold the support in-place. If you have large or fat fingers, getting the pins back in-place is frustrating. Lick a finger and hope the pin adheres while you position the pin.
"
Review 4 for 1lb Propane Conversion Kit
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Clovis, CA
Date:April 23, 2012

Not good in cold weather

Pros: saves space
Cons: 1 lb canister does not work well in cold weather
"Took camping and used when it was about 40 degrees. The 1 lb propane canister would get cold and ice up, which reduced the amount of propane to the grill. Made it difficult to cook until I switched back to a 5 gallon tank. Save your money and only buy it if you cannot take a large tank with you."
Review 5 for 1lb Propane Conversion Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bergen County, NJ
Date:April 17, 2012

Good Alternative for Traveling

"The conversion kit works well, but it was rather difficult removing the connector that comes with the grill.
I think Costco should make this part available at the warehouse; it is a much safer way if using it for traveling"
Review 6 for 1lb Propane Conversion Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Richmond, VA
Date:April 3, 2012

propane conversion kit

"I bought this for my Portable Nexgrill that I purchased at Costco. The product works fine and I am very happy however it was unnecessarily complicated to install because they added steps that were not applicable because they were per-manufactured on the grill. I wanted to follow instructions because I was dealing with gas."
Review 7 for 1lb Propane Conversion Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Central California
Date:March 29, 2012

Works Okay

"Product worked as described but wasn't very easy to install. The instructions that came with the conversion kit was an older version. Removing the burners did not require removing screws as my grill had cotter keys. getting the little post back in required a bit of work, it would have been better if these were welded in rather than the way there are."
Review 8 for 1lb Propane Conversion Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:July 26, 2011

Good piece of gear

Model Number: Accessory for 459263, table top grill
"This product performed as advertised. However, it should be stated that you need only ONE for the two-burner grill. I thought that would be the case but we had a short time deadline and I couldn't take the chance that I would need two. I'll return the second one to the store. Otherwise, we are quite pleased with the way it works."
Review 9 for 1lb Propane Conversion Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SLC, UT
Date:July 6, 2011

Meh

Pros: easy to set up
Cons: should have come with the grill
"Works great. It should have come with the grill (as if you haven't heard that one before)."
Review 10 for 1lb Propane Conversion Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2011

works but why so $$

Pros: has a q/d
Cons: nozzle has to be changed, should of came with the grill
"should be included with grill.
don't know why the nozzle needs to be changed.
otherwise it works
the quick disconnect is a nice feature and doesn't leak. at least not so far.
"
Review 11 for 1lb Propane Conversion Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Miami,florida
Date:June 14, 2011

Extra expense that was unessary !

Pros: fast and furious, extra cost of adapter, cooks like a pro
Cons: sleek and modern, make a cover for it
"This grill was bought for my 26 Mako fishing boat after mounting to my rod holder a 20 lb Propane tank bangingin on my new boat was not in the playbook this 1 pound adapter should of come with this grill it added 25% more cost it's finally together it is the BEST GRILL in the water it outlooks even my home Weber grill."
Review 12 for 1lb Propane Conversion Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2011

Great buy

Pros: lp connector
"Very good quality BBQ. 4.25lb LP bottle connects direct to unit with fitting supplied, big plus. Very portable and will cook all weekend without empting a lot of 1 lb bottles that are getting hard to dispose of. Very GREEN"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1lb Propane Conversion Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sparks Nevada
Date:December 31, 2010

Unfortunate addon.

"This will allow me to connect in an actual portable way. As the other reviews have said, this should have been the default connection and the current one should be the upgrade."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1lb Propane Conversion Kit
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Lake Tapps,Washington
Date:October 8, 2010

This should not have been necessary

Pros: makes grill work better
Cons: the fact its needed to make the grill work better.
"The idea of a portable table top grill is, well, portability. Connecting it to a 2 foot tall 30 pound (total weight) propane tank is not consistent with portability. While the grill is good, the hookup is poorly thought out. And since the adapter is out of stock it is further inconvenient to have to wait. And the cost seems unreasonable to make the grill work the way it is intended anyway."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1lb Propane Conversion Kit
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2010
"Should have been included with the grill....This item ends up costing 25% of grills cost."
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1lb Propane Conversion Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Date:September 17, 2010

Badly bundled

"The grill appeals to the buyer as being portable and a great value compared to sports and boating supply stores. I purchased it for my boat. This Conversion Kit should have been packaged with the grill and the grill's existing large bottle configuration as the option. The large tank greatly limits the grills portability, the 1 lb conversion kit enhances the grills portability. It was very time consuming, difficult to locate the kit, and added more than 25% to the cost of the grill. Plus there is the individual's time and possibility of incorrect installation which could lead to poor product performance and potential bad reputation. Badly bundled"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1lb Propane Conversion Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:sacramento,ca
Date:September 14, 2010

Quick and easy

"Quick and easy to install.
Happy with product.
I think this product should have been included with the grill that was sold as portable and was not cheap.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1lb Propane Conversion Kit
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:August 25, 2010

Just as described

Pros: add a pro
"Easy to folllow instructions for conversion. Takes about 15 minutes. Easy even for a novice."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1lb Propane Conversion Kit
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Island NY
Date:August 24, 2010

Converter kit

Cons: should been part of grill not as seperate item
Model Number: 459263
"This kit is to convert the portable grill for 1 lb gas cannisters, easy to install and worked well. My only fault with this is that this should have been part of the original grill, since it is a portable. The converter kit should have been to go to the 20 lb tank for home use."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.