Customer Reviews for Keurig® Platinum Single Cup Coffee Brewing System

Keurig® Platinum Single Cup Coffee Brewing System

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Deliciously simple in less than 60 seconds! Everyone's taste in coffee is different. You love dark roast while your spouse prefers light roast. Your best friend drinks decaf, your next-door neighbor drinks tea and the kids want hot cocoa. With over 200 varieties of coffee, tea and hot cocoa to choose from, Keurig® makes it possible for everyone to brew their own perfect cup in less than a minute. Unlike conventional coffee makers, there's no coffee to grind or measure, no coffee pots to clean and no soggy filters to throw away. The gourmet Keurig® Platinum single serve coffee system offers easy one-touch brewing with five brewing sizes, an advanced programmable LCD control center, 24-hour digital clock and removable drip tray. Includes a bonus pack of 60 K-Cup® Packs variety pack plus one My K-Cup®  reusable filter. Each K-Cup® Pack is sealed air-tight for freshness and is available in over 150 varieties of name brand gourmet coffee and teas to meet the most demanding taste profiles. All coffees available are 100% Arabica beans. Includes Variety Bonus Pack: 12 K-Cup® Variety Pack Additional K-Cup® Packs bonus pack includes 4 12-count packs from gourmet roasters: Green Mountain, Tully's, Newman's Own My K-Cup® Packs Reusable Coffee Filter: allows you to use your own ground coffee Features: Color: Silver/Black Quiet Brew Technology™ Patented microprocessor controlled technology Always ready- brews in under 1 minute Programmable Controls: Auto ON and OFF; Adjustable Temperature; Digital Clock; Set your Favorite Cup Size Choice of 5 cup sizes: 4-oz., 6-oz., 8-oz., 10-oz., 12-oz. Removable extra large 72-oz. water reservoir w/ blue light- makes up to 10 cups before refilling Programmable LCD control center w/ blue backlight Chrome handle Drip tray is removable to accommodate taller travel mugs Power: 1500 watts Voltage: 120 VAC/60 HZ UL / c-UL approved for household use only Dimensions: 13" H x 10" W x 13.25" D Weight: 12 lbs. empty; 15 lbs. full 1 year limited warranty Made in China For product related questions please call 1-866-901-2739. Model: K75
Average Customer Rating:
3.465 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(613 Reviews) 613
(out of 613 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (613 reviews)
5 stars
296
4 stars
62
3 stars
36
2 stars
69
1 star
150
394 of 613(64%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Keurig® Platinum Single Cup Coffee Brewing System
Review 1 for Keurig® Platinum Single Cup Coffee Brewing System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:February 15, 2014

Great with K-cups, Bad with grind-your-own

Pros: fast, convenient
Cons: watery coffee with reusable filter
Model Number: K75
"I bought this because of the bad-ish reviews on the Cuisinart brewers. I had a Cuisinart for 7 years before it died. I've been using this Keurig for 4 months now, and I wish I'd taken a chance on the Cuisinart.
The Keurig works perfectly as advertised with K-cups and the coffee tastes great. But I also like to grind my own premium coffees from time to time like Kona, Blue Mountain, etc., which I why I loved the My K-Cup reusable filter being included with the Costco bundle. But when I use it, the coffee comes out very weak and watery. In a clear glass coffee cup, you can really see the difference as well as taste it. I followed the filter instructions by using a coarser grind and have been experimenting with finer grinds, but nothing seems to help.
I would recommend this maker to anyone planning to buy K-cups exclusively, but to a coffee lover who likes coffees that don't come in K-cups, don't buy it or don't waste your money on the good coffee.
"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Keurig® Platinum Single Cup Coffee Brewing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:March 7, 2012

Prime issues after less than 3 weeks

Pros: easy to make a cup of coffee
Cons: too much maintenance for a brand new item
Model Number: B70
"The unit was purchased the weekend of Feb 18, 2012. All went well until a couple of weeks later - March 4th, 2012, I believe. We experience what Keurig calls a 'priming' issue. We have the unit set to turn on at 6:00am. After making one cup of coffee, the blue lights on the reservoir begin flashing and the LCD screen shows a PRIME error. If we remove the water tank and replace it, the error goes away. I phoned Keurig and they directed me to a 'Priming your K-Cup System' video. I followed the instructions on this video and this did not solve the issue. In doing some internet searches, it seems like this is a very common issue for Keurig. And there seems to be no real solution. We only use filtered water in this unit. Having to perform this 'priming' maintenance when the machine is less than 3 weeks old is not what I wanted to experience. We are planning to return the unit and try another. But internet reports on this indicate we may not be any more successful with a replacement unit."
18 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Keurig® Platinum Single Cup Coffee Brewing System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Redwood Coast
Date:December 1, 2013

poor electronics

Pros: quick convenient no coffee waste
Cons: unreliable timer
"I purchased this unit 7 months ago. I average a cup a day and really like the convenience of the machine. The downfall comes with the timer. Initially, after setting it to manual brew to turn off after an hour, it never did turn off unless I turned it off at the power button. The automatic timer turned on and off just as set for the first 5 months. Then suddenly the manual timer shut off began to work correctly but the auto on and off have quit working. I'm not electronically inept and have set and reset the system several times correctly. It still will not come on at the designated time. It's not like it takes but a minute for the water to heat,nonetheless, I just want the convenience of it being ready to go in the morning as soon as I hit the button. The rest of the features work as expected. So far I have had no problems with the pump or heating element. I, also, don't remove the reservoir, but fill it from a pitcher as another reviewer already mentioned."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Keurig® Platinum Single Cup Coffee Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eugene, OR
Date:March 21, 2014

Fantastic Product

Pros: always a fresh cup of coffee
Cons: can't think of a "con"
Model Number: K75
"It's just my wife and I drinking coffee now at home, and we were finding ourselves brewing a pot and throwing a lot of coffee away. Brewing a half pot wasn't a good solution because the flavor of the coffee seemed "off". We had heard and read good things about the Keurig product so when Costco online had this on sale, we ordered it.
One of the best purchases we have ever made. We can choose from a huge variety of coffee, as well as tea and cocoa. Since you only brew one cup at a time, your coffee is always fresh. It nicely accommodates my needs since I drink coffee into the afternoon while my wife drinks only a cup or two in the morning. Also, if she prefers a different coffee than what I am drinking she can choose her own favorite to brew for her cup.
We wholeheartedly recommend this product. We think it's engineered with quality in mind, and the company seems eager to support it's customers and expand it's business base. .....and that's great for all of us!"
Review 5 for Keurig® Platinum Single Cup Coffee Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern OR
Date:November 6, 2013

coffee made easy

Pros: ease of use, fast, mulitple uses, convenient
Cons: none
Model Number: B70
"I logged in to Costco.com to look into purchasing additional Keurigs for Christmas gifts. After reading some of the reviews decided to add one more in hopes of helping some who may be on the fence. We purchased a Keurig after having more than one person recommend this product to us. But we decided to do some initial research before we bought it. We found several helpful on-line tips that we use and currently have never had one problem with our unit, a B70 bought at Christmas last year, 2012. I am somewhat amazed (embarrassed) to say the time has flown by and we have never even cleaned the unit other than to wash the water reservoir by hand. We read that as well as turning the unit off after use, that it also seamed to help to open the top of the actual coffee refill compartment, which seems to allow the pump to decompress after use. We do this fairly often, but not every time. Never had even one problem with this coffee maker. As earlier stated, we believe this would make an awesome gift that makes coffee, tea, hot chocolate fast, easy and fun! Who doesn't appreciate that?! Great product."
19 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Keurig® Platinum Single Cup Coffee Brewing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sammamish, WA
Date:August 21, 2013

Terrible reliability

Model Number: Keurig B70
"I would not recommend this coffee maker to anyone. Despite its convenience, it just doesn't last very long. Sad for a product that is so expensive. I had my B70 for a little over two years, making an average of 3 cups a day, not a very high volume, For about 6 months it acted up with the pump sometimes not performing or making strange noises before putting out one ounce, and then going through a reset to force it to work. But today the pump gave out completely, heating the water but failing to pump through. This, despite always using filtered water and descaling the machine per their instructions. I've had regular makers like Mr. Coffee last for ten years or more despite using regular water and an occasional descale. Even though I may waste half a pot, time to go back to a regular coffee maker. Not worth the added expense for something that doesn't work correctly. Looks like newer ones are even worse, from comments, pumps failing after 2 months or less! I am surprised Costco keeps carrying this company's products, given their dismal reliability."
32 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Keurig® Platinum Single Cup Coffee Brewing System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Raleigh , NC
Date:January 21, 2014

Buy ONLY from Costco

Pros: convenience cant beat it, perfectly good cup of coffee
Cons: price of coffee, poor quality of machine
Model Number: K75
"I would only recommend buying this particular unit if you buy it from Costco, because like most are saying here this Keurig is only good for at best 1 year.
I bought one for my mother about 5 years ago then shortly thereafter bought one for us. Between the two I was taking them back on average probably every 90 days, one might last 6-7 months, the other just 30 days and so on. I think we had ONE of these that may have lasted 1 full year.
But I never threw out the box, slid it back in took it back and got a brand new one every few months complete with new boxes of coffee for my trouble.
We tried the "Cuisinart" version by Keurig and for whatever reason they are FAR more reliable.
We went through at least I think 8-10 of this model in 3 years or less.
We have now had the Cuisinart versions for 1 1/2 to 2 years now and nether has given us any problem.
Sad thing now though is that if one of these goes dead then Costco probably wont replace it because its been 2 years.
Everyone that claims these make weak coffee must prefer percolated mud.
The coffee is great.
"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Keurig® Platinum Single Cup Coffee Brewing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oakley, CA
Date:October 24, 2012

My 3rd Keurig Platinum and last

Pros: when it works its great
Cons: product design great construction terrible
Model Number: Platinum
"I had faith in this product which unfortunately proved I was wrong. This is my 3rd and final purchase of this model. All three had an average of a yr life span. The 1st one was not constructed properly and parts did not move as they should. The 2nd stopped working soon after about 6 months. I had a stock pile of cups so I invested in another unit only a year ago. This one lasted over a year and is now pouring out hot water as soon as the unit turns on on auto. This happens even with the top still in the up position. Enough liquid comes out to fill a cup and overflow. Trying to make the smallest cup and it will overflow and then some. Raising the top does not stop the water from coming out. Had two unfortunate spills when I was away. Unit is shot. Now I have a smaller stock pile but without a maker, they are useless. Grand idea, lousy product. 4 yrs worth of product purchase and usage and the ending result is the same .... trash!!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Keurig® Platinum Single Cup Coffee Brewing System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2013

A helpful tip when you buy a Keurig at Costco

Pros: the my k-cup accessory works very well.
Cons: costco doesn't carry variety packs of k-cups.
Model Number: K-75
"IMPORTANT TIP: While you're at Costco buying the Keurig, get at least 2 qts. of white vinegar, you'll probably need it get rid of an unpleasant plastic taste in your coffee.
My wife noticed the off-taste even more than I did. Googled a solution and ran 1/2 full reservoir of vinegar (all I had at the time) then a full reservoir of vinegar through the Keurig after my wife picked up more vinegar. Finally the plastic taste is gone and everything is now fine.
There are plenty of reviews so I chose not to duplicate those and add this tip instead. After all where are you going to find more reasonably-priced vinegar?
"
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Keurig® Platinum Single Cup Coffee Brewing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2014

I wanted to love this.

Cons: plastic smell and taste, coffee wasn't as warm as i would like
Model Number: K75
"I don't have a coffee maker and was excited to finally get a Keurig. Unfortunately, my new Keurig had a very strong plastic odor, as did the hot water coming out of the machine. I flushed several water reservoirs full of water, as well as some white vinegar. Still a strong plastic odor to the hot water dripping into my mug. I can't comment on taste, as I wasn't going to taste it. I did drink two cups of the coffee before I realized the hot water coming out smelled like hot plastic. As I flushed water through the machine, the smell would be less with each mug full, but I am not going to flush four cups through the machine before I make my coffee each time. I think the problem has something to do with the water that sits in the internal tank. I don't know if this is actually toxic, but I am not willing to take the chance.
In addition, at the hottest setting, the coffee was still not quite as hot as I wanted it. I like to add a little milk to my coffee & still have it be hot.
This is exactly why I shop at Costco. I brought the coffee maker back a few days after I purchased it. No hassle at all, thanks to Costco."
Review 11 for Keurig® Platinum Single Cup Coffee Brewing System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lathrop, CA
Date:March 17, 2013

Prefect for me.

Pros: fast brew. easy to setup and use.
Cons: plastic handle instead of metal.
Model Number: B70
"I've been shopping around for K-cup coffee maker for awhile now and decided on this unit. Costco version included extras such as sample coffee and the "My K-Cup" which lets you brew your own. I've used different versions of Keurig over the years at the office and now want one for the home. Also, it included a charcoal water filter. Don't think I'd need it since I always use bottled / filtered water.
Bought it and took it home. Hooked it up and works fine. There is one thing I've noticed in the latest batch is that Keurig decided to use plastic for the handle instead of the usual metal. Now mind you this is a high end model so it should be the best with best materials in manufacturing. Although I wasn't too happy with this change but considering Costco's unbeatable exchange / returns policy I will use it and if it breaks I will just swap it for another one. The plastic handle may work just fine as it does not need alot of force to close. I just prefer it to be metal."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Keurig® Platinum Single Cup Coffee Brewing System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:September 4, 2013

Didn't last long enough

Pros: good coffee
Cons: didn't last
Model Number: K75
"I bought the K75 in April 2013 and my wife (and her friends) loved the coffee it made. Last week I noticed the reservoir was empty and we hadn't used the machine in a couple days. I filled it up and the next morning it was half filled and the floor was wet next to the counter. The machine worked fine but wouldn't hold water and I had dumped the box months ago. I bagged it up and returned it to COSTCO with no questions asked. I bought another one to try again but then came here to read the reviews. I didn't have pump issues, just leaks, but five months is not enough time and if you're going to get one make sure you buy it from COSTCO for their excellent return policy."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Keurig® Platinum Single Cup Coffee Brewing System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Hobart, IN
Date:March 28, 2011

Fed up with Returning due to issues.

Pros: fast, simple, nice design
Cons: inability to descale properly, pump malfunctions
Model Number: Keurig® Platinum B70
"I have now been through two units in the last couple years. The first had a descale problem. The light came on said descale, but obviously the damage was done because I descaled over and over again to no avail. The second unit lasted about 7 months and then it had brewing problems. I would have to unplug to reset it to get it to work and reset the clock each time. Then finally after a couple weeks more the water from the brewer would eject into the water reservoir instead of into the cup. I have returned a second time. Thinking about going back to a drip coffe maker. Originally I bought this unit to save money on wasted undrank coffee. I loved this pot for it's fast simple use & design, but the disadvantages out weight the advantages. Also, Kuerig customer service was rude in telling me I should have descaled every 3 months even if the descale light didn't come on. If that was the case it should have been stated in the manual. The manual just said to descale when it blinked descale."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Keurig® Platinum Single Cup Coffee Brewing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Pleasanton, CA
Date:February 23, 2014

Great Idea, horrible quality, unreliable

Pros: good idea possibility of convenience and variety
Cons: poor reliability and quality. no durability.
Model Number: K75
"I'm returning my second K75 since November. I struggled with the original purchase decision from all the negative reviews and thought "these people must be abusing the machine, or they just don't take care of it...".
I started getting the dreaded "Prime" message after about two months using nothing but Crystal Geyser bottled water. Happened more and more frequently, took the unit back. Bought a replacement only 16 days ago - this morning? Unit leaking water all over the counter from inside.
I'll return it later today and I'm not buying another. I'm also stuck with 10 months supply of the filter cartridges I bought and lots of K-cups that now have no use. What a waste of time and money which is too bad because I really loved the idea of the convenience and variety.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Keurig® Platinum Single Cup Coffee Brewing System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Springfield, MA
Date:April 13, 2014

Keurig Platinum Complaints

Pros: convenient
Cons: expensive
Model Number: Keurig Platinum
"I have two complaints with my recently purchased Keurig Platinum machine. The first is the difficulty in changing cup size.
The function is the very last menu item and it takes eight clicks to change the setting. I prefer multiple buttons but if it has to be a menu item, it should be the first one. My second complaint is regarding the weak coffee that results from using the My K-Cup reusable filter. I was hoping to use this option but will have to stick with purchasing k-cup to get acceptable coffee strength.
"
Review 16 for Keurig® Platinum Single Cup Coffee Brewing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Francisco
Date:December 11, 2013

Blahh...Returned...

Pros: on demand hot water, on demand water downed coffee
Cons: weak coffee, grinds in the bottom if you use your own grounds
"This thing probably made one of the worst cups of coffee that I have ever had. I was initially drawn to the ease of quickly being able to make a hot cup. It came with a bunch of k-cups, which I hardly used and ended up giving away. Also not to environmentally friendly. I then moved on to grinding my own coffee and using the filter that came with the Costco set. That lasted for about a month - and then I started using my trusty old Cuisinart to brew a nice strong pot of coffee. The Keurig ended becoming a very over priced hot water dispenser. I finally unplugged it and hauled it back to Costco for a refund. If your not a coffee snob or don't enjoy a very strong cup of coffee then this could work very well for you. My sister loves hers and she hates strong coffee & likes to use lots of cream. I ended up buying a Nespresso - which I am in love with. I thoroughly enjoy a nice shot of Espresso before heading to work or a latte or cappuccino if in the mood. Also the Nespresso pods are recyclable and they make it easy to bring in your used pods for recycling."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Keurig® Platinum Single Cup Coffee Brewing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San diego
Date:March 24, 2014

Waste of money and time

Model Number: K75 platinum
"I had used a Keurig coffee maker at a hotel a couple of months ago and just loved it! It wasn't the platinum, it was very basic. I thought if I loved the little one the big one was going to be even better. I was wrong. First, the water tastes disgusting, I mean bad, really bad.
Second, coffee is so weak, even brewing the minimum amount, which is like 3 ounces. Third, that DIY refill option is a joke. The coffee comes out like brown water. I tried different grinds and nothing made a difference. I am so sad.
The only redeeming quality of this machine is that you can get really hot water in just a few seconds, but big deal. I don't want hot water I want hot delicious coffee. I am going to take this coffee maker back and hunt down the hotel version."
Review 18 for Keurig® Platinum Single Cup Coffee Brewing System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:April 10, 2014

chinsy

Pros: convenient and does not burn coffee
Cons: the unit does not last long so the expense
"the unit, not too old doesn't pump water, the descale signal came on, I immediately tried to do what the instructions said to do, however it wouldn't let the vinegar go through to clean it...the water also only goes up to 192 degrees and coffee needs to be brewed at a higher temperature....I spent so much money on my unit...and it was a waste of money-trying another brand now...too bad as the rest of the unit is perfect. called the company and I would have to ship this heavy unit, how much would that cost!"
Review 19 for Keurig® Platinum Single Cup Coffee Brewing System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, Ca.
Date:March 10, 2014

DO NOT BUY!

Pros: convenient, makes a decent cup of coffee
Cons: unreliable., primer issues
Model Number: Platinum
"I bought this for the house back in April 2013. It worked great for about 6 months and then we started getting the "primer" error. We researched online to find solutions and they woirked for a day or two. We never used anything other then filtered water and also used the Kuerig Filters. Prior to giving up on this model we called Keurig Service who provided a replacement unit. The replacement worked great for 6 weeks before we started getting the "primer" error again. Enough of the inconvenience! Thank's for COSTCO though; the unit was returned this morning for a refund and we replaced it with the Mr. Coffee K-cup unit, which I reserched before buying and has no signs of a "primer" issue.
Believe the bad reviews! The problem is a design issue with the Kuerig Platinum model. If you still buy this, buy it from COSTCO."
Review 20 for Keurig® Platinum Single Cup Coffee Brewing System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2014

Keurig coffee maker

"Though, we do not have this particular coffee maker,I had to give my review of Keurig coffee makers(which we had purchased at Costco). We have had the 3 cup Keurig coffee maker for years. We always use bottled water and keep the cost down on Kcups by purchasing them from Costco. Recently, we started to buy the Kirkland bold kcups online. Great value! As for the complaint about this machine that the pump goes, I disagree!! The problem is that the coffee gets clogged in the part that pokes into the kcups. That happens every so often. All you have to do is take the rubber piece off around the part that pokes in the kcup, then take a toothpick and insert it in and swizzle it around to clear it up.After you do that, put the rubber piece back and try the machine again. Most times it can be done quickly(sometimes you need to try it a few times).I have done this a few times, to my machine at home and to the machine at work. It is simple and the machine works fine. We must have our machine for at least 3 or 4 years and are VERY Happy with our Keurig machine(which is very similar to the Cuisinart)"
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 31 next>>