Customer Reviews for Sony BDV-T57 5.1 Blu-ray Home Theater System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sony BDV-T57 5.1 Blu-ray Home Theater System

BRAVIA® Internet Video 3D Blu-ray Disc Playback Wi-Fi® Enabled
Average Customer Rating:
3.682 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
(out of 22 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
15 of 22(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sony BDV-T57 5.1 Blu-ray Home Theater System
Review 1 for Sony BDV-T57 5.1 Blu-ray Home Theater System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bremerton, WA
Date:February 3, 2011

Excellent purchase

Pros: excellent all around
Cons: none
Model Number: BDV-T57
"The sound is simply great! After all, that is the important aspect of a sound system.
The best I have listened to and tested. Also, the price was very reasonalbe for this product.
"
Review 2 for Sony BDV-T57 5.1 Blu-ray Home Theater System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Vallejo, CA
Date:January 30, 2011

Good BD system, Bad with USB media playback

Pros: great bluray/dvd playback
Cons: poor usb netflix support
Model Number: Sony BDV-T57
"No doubt its a good priced Home theater for playing BDs, 3D Blu-ray and DVD movies with good sound quality for a typical mid sized living/family room. But unfortunately this system falls short on the internet apps & digital file playback. 1. The Netflix app only plays instant queue and doesnot offer to browse other titles on netflix via this system... you have to add new movie titles using your pc everytime...What a hassle? 2. The USB feature only accesses upto first 500 files/ 5 directory levels on your USB device (HDD or Flash). I couldnot access most of my files on a 2TB Hard drive except a few videos or mp3 files (first 500 files read by this product). It no way matches the ease of navigation or capability of a PS3 system in digital file playback. My Samsung BD C6800 blu ray player had to be added along with this product to acess all my mp3/avi files from my USB Hard disk. So in conclusion, for Bluray/DVDs its a good deal but for netflix or usb not so great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony BDV-T57 5.1 Blu-ray Home Theater System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:union, NJ
Date:January 29, 2011

very good quality

Pros: long wires, great sound
Cons: no stand for surround speakers
Model Number: BDV-T57
"The set up was pretty easy. I have another Sony surround sound that isn't blu-ray or wireless (bought it a few years ago)but had 6 disc changer and speaker stands in case you don't want to hang the surround speakers on the wall. Overall I'm happy with the purchase, great sound, good price, free delivery, and wifi was easy to set up.If you're on the fence i'd say you won't be disappointed with this purchase!"
Review 4 for Sony BDV-T57 5.1 Blu-ray Home Theater System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:January 26, 2011

Features don't work

Pros: pandora & net flix compatible
Cons: won't play my ipod, won't hook up to media center as advertised
Model Number: BDV-T57
"Blue ray works fine, speakers are average, but some of the main features don't work.
I spent 2 hours on the phone with a tech from Sony with no luck & no help.
The features I cannot get to work (there may be more, I just started):
The system will not work with my IPod. I have an IPod classic which the manual says should work, it doesn't (it worked just fine with the Panasonic set up we had before).
Even though I have the correct version of Media player the system will not sync with my computer, so I can't use it as a source or set it up with my home network.
I was able to hook up to the internet with the player & see Pandora....so that is at least good.
But if you want to use all the features, check them out before you get too invested in the system."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony BDV-T57 5.1 Blu-ray Home Theater System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:January 22, 2011

Excellent performance for this price.

Model Number: Sony BDV-T57
"I purchased this from Costco on line, knowing their no questions asked return policy. I was looking for all in one, home theater system and I found this on Costco on line store. I have been using it for two weeks and I'm very pleased with its performance. The blue ray player is awesome, the speakers hit the highs and the lows, the sub-woofer rattled the house during action movie. I used wired internet connection and streamed movies from netflex with no problem. It comes with wireless USB dongle that I haven't used since my router was next to it. It has access to Hulu and other online movie download sites. It's interface reminds me of PS3 interface. The set up was very easy and used the provided microphone to calibrate the system for the room. Can't get anything better in this price range."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony BDV-T57 5.1 Blu-ray Home Theater System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2011

Excellent buy, great sound

"Pros: Easy to set up. Sounds great. Excellent blu-ray quality. Lots of internet apps.
Cons: Wireless is not built in, comes with a USB Wi-Fi connector. Took a while to get the speakers to work with my TV.
The sound quality is great for a decent sized room (15 ft by 18 ft). I knew from other reviews that the rear speakers were not wireless unless you by an adapter for $80-$100. Not a drawback for me.
I had the most trouble with hooking it up to my New Samsung LED TV, but that was the fault of the TV. It seems the audio out on my set was connected by a computer type audio out and not the white & red to white & red connector. No big deal once I figured that out.
Great internet apps, very fast and easy to get online.
Great Sony Blu-Ray player too. Just be warned the unit is huge compared to my old blu-ray player (blame that on the receiver).
Buy it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony BDV-T57 5.1 Blu-ray Home Theater System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas Nv.
Date:January 2, 2011

Love it !

Model Number: bdv-t-57
"Being a complete novice, when I started shopping for a home theater system I had no idea what I was looking for.
I just joined Netflix and to be able to connect to it was a must.
I first bought the Sony bdv-370 thinking I could use Netflix right away. But, come to find out I needed other hardware.
I brought it back and went to Costco and was floored by the cheap price $299.
Bought it and love it.
I had to play with the USB device for all of 15 minutes and thru trail and error I connected to the internet.
Did not have to buy anything else.
You do net wi fi.
I am in TV heaven now.
Great product and great price at Costco.
I may never leave my house again !!!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony BDV-T57 5.1 Blu-ray Home Theater System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:December 22, 2010

Excellent Product, Excellent Sound!!

Pros: easy to set up, looks and sounds great, comes with wireless adapter, comes with hdmi cable
Cons: haven't found one yet
"I bought this surround sound player at a costco store a couple weekends ago and I am very impressed with this sound system. People talk poorly about Home Theater sets such as this and many recommend buying everything seperately. After watching quite a few movies on this I couldn't ask for more. I am completely satisfied with the sound that comes from this system and couldn't ask for more. Maybe if you have a huge room that you are putting this in it wouldn't sound quite as good but for even a decent sized living room, this thing rocks."
Review 9 for Sony BDV-T57 5.1 Blu-ray Home Theater System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hollywood, FL
Date:December 16, 2010

Works great with an update.

Pros: great sound, upgradeable for wireless rear speakers!, arc compatible
Cons: wifi is not integrated works off a usb dongle.
"Please ignore VideoFan's review. I had the same problem with my system and was initially disappointed that I had assembled everything and ended up with substandard Blu-ray playback. I decided to try a firmware upgrade over the network, which fixed everything. Iron Man (that initially skipped and sped up as VideoFan has described) and Avatar (that wouldn't load at all) played beautifully.
The only thing keeping this from a 5 star rating is that the Wifi is not integrated and there are no EQ settings. There are preset adjustments that adjust the surround sound, focus on speech, and overall effects (Movie, Music, News, Sports, etc.) that you can tweak to basically give you different EQ settings but there are no manual settings on screen which you can adjust, which is disappointing. That said, once you know how to work the system you can pretty much get whatever kind of sound you want out of it.
In having Wifi attached externally via a dongle there are pluses and minuses. I imagine it was one part intentional and one part cost cutting on the part of Sony. The dongle/cable allows you to position the antenna in a place that might allow for optimal reception. As you might imagine a home theater cabinet and the other electronics might interfere with maintaining a solid Wifi connection. Even so, there have been a few times where the connection isn't there and I have to go into the network settings and reconnect to the network. On even fewer occasions I have had to manually unplug and replug the USB adapter to get the system to recognize that there is in fact wireless adapter attached. I have had the system for about 4 weeks now and the latter problem (manually plugging the adapter) was really only persistent during the first week or so. I set the system up to automatically update the firmware when a new version is available, so it might be possible that a newer firmware beyond the first one I opted to install has remedied the issue with the USB Wifi dongle being recognized. All of that said, the Wifi has been largely problem free. Ideally I'd have it connected via ethernet but our floor plan isn't suited for that.
I really like that you can upgrade this system for wireless sound on the rear speakers. Look into Sony's S-AIR components. I'm going to be upgrading to the "wireless" surround before long. The wireless is in quotes because the upgrade components still require you to plug in the rear speakers to the wireless receiver/amplifier that is plugged into the wall. It does, however, mean that you don't have to worry about running the speaker wire across the floor from the entertainment center to the rear speaker locations. For us, this would be a bonus as we have cats, and as you might imagine, cats and cables don't always play well together. BTW, the S-AIR components also allow you to set up additional speakers in other rooms of the house for listening to music. Very cool. :-)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony BDV-T57 5.1 Blu-ray Home Theater System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Vista, California
Date:December 14, 2010

Could do without the speakers

Pros: nice blue-ray player with wireless n
Cons: throw the speakers in the trash.
Model Number: BDV-T57 5.1 surround system Sony
"Seemed a great price for Sony. While we loved the Blue-ray player and its features the speakers were a complete let down. Weren't convinced of the sound at the warehouse but clerk told us the sound would be much better at home. Sadly Sony has thrown some cheap, and really poor sounding speakers in with a great player to entice the customer. Speakers were the worst I have ever purchased. Very tinny with no mid and low sounds. Even the subwoofer did little to improve (if you can really call it a subwoofer). Very poor clarity on all channels. Hooked up my old stereo speakers and this sounded much better but is the blue-ray/receiver alone worth 299.00? Still considering that one. If sound clarity and deep bass are important to you then give Klipsch a try. The Sony system has reminded me why I have and now will continue to be a loyal klipsch speaker customer."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony BDV-T57 5.1 Blu-ray Home Theater System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Medford, Oregon
Date:November 26, 2010

Fantastic

Pros: has the lan equipment for internet access., speakers are small but great.
Cons: lacks wireless rear speakers., older wireless system not compatible.
Model Number: BDV-T57
"Just purchased this at our local store and it's fantastic. Signed up for the Pandora radio and we're sitting here enjoying great music. Linked up to our Netflix account and it works like a dream. Had an older Sony home entertainment system and Sony Blue ray which this now replaces. Only disappointment was that my previous wireless surround speaker equipment isn't compatible with this unit."
Review 12 for Sony BDV-T57 5.1 Blu-ray Home Theater System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Irvine
Date:November 24, 2010

Not So Good

Pros: easy setup
Cons: lousy bluray playback
Model Number: T57
"The video playback would speed up and skip a few seconds; very annoying. Will be returning back to store."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony BDV-T57 5.1 Blu-ray Home Theater System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City
Date:November 17, 2010

Quite Pleased with this System

Pros: excellent sound, good directions for set up
Cons: poor directions for bravia-sony essentials setup, fm tuning fair
Model Number: BDV-T57
"Sounds great, plays CDS, DVDs, and streams Netflilx just fine. Set up took about an hour, and the directions were clear. FM tuning for the one station we enjoy was poor, but fixed easily with a new FM antennna I had to buy elswhere...The most frustrating thing was setting up the advanced internet options with the Blu-Ray disk player, which required 3 phone calls to Sony to fix. This problem was with Sony Essentials which is the website used to connect the player with Netflix, Pandora and Amazon..My suggestion is to erase the cookies on your computer if you have difficulties, and sign up for everything (Netflix, Amazon, Pandora etc) all at once...My registration number "timed out" for some reason."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony BDV-T57 5.1 Blu-ray Home Theater System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ellijay Georgia
Date:November 3, 2010
Pros: powerful unit versatile and has a great picture, powerful sound
Cons: togelling back and forth with function key tough
"Tickled to death with this purchase. I am using this as a sinlge unit to play BlueRay-Netfiix-Pandora Radio. The unit is powerful enough to drive larger speakers. I replaced the speakers which came with it and used my old Bose speakers. The set up system has a centerpoint microfone that beautifully balanced the sound. Also called Sony for help and was please how quickly they diagnosed and helped me solve my problems with set up. I liked the system well enough to buy a second one for the downstairs TV (an older Samsung)"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony BDV-T57 5.1 Blu-ray Home Theater System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:October 23, 2010

Awful

Pros: blu-rays load very fast when it decides to work
Cons: see review
Model Number: BDV-T57
"I chose to buy a sony TV since it came with this sound/Blu-ray system as part of a promotion.
- First observation: The power input label is for 170W; an amount this device should not exceed under their safety agency listing. It is also much less than the 1000WRMS audio output shown on the box and on this website. My guess is that an audio output rating of 50W total would be a more honest rating.
- Typical in this era and from Sony, the software is hosed up. About a third of the time, the player decides to play movies at double-speed. When it gets into this mode, it can be very difficult to get it out. Powering off and leaving it for several minuts seems to work most of the time. This bug makes the player unsuitable for using with guests.
- The player doesn't remember where in a disk it was when shut off in the middle of a movie. There may be a configuration option, but I can't find it in the ops manual.
- Sometimes this device and the Sony TV can't make a correct decision about routing the sound. It will occasionally come out the TV and the sound system, or the TV won't even see the sound system. When it comes out both the TV and the sound systems, there is a substantial (0.1 secs???) skew in the time of the sound. Not sure yet which device is playing the sound at the wrong time.
- Speakers do not come with mounting hardware. I will make something to hang the speakers with, but a few cents of hardware from Sony would have made things much easier.
- What's up with the special speaker connectors and short speaker wires? It would have been nice if there were old fashioned thumb screws or common spring clip connectors for bare wire.
- Not a defect, but it would have been handy if there was more than one optical S/PDIF connector, or more inputs of any sort.
Summary - I need to check and see if there is new software I can load, but overall, this box is junk. I will keep it since it came with the TV.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony BDV-T57 5.1 Blu-ray Home Theater System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Dallas, Texas
Date:October 11, 2010

BDV-T57 Home Theater System

Model Number: BDV-T57 5.1 Blu-ray Home Theater System
"I had a technician install the system because I wanted the speakers mounted on the walls. The rear speakers would be attached to a "outside" wall, so we opted to use the wireless function, but while the unit has a wireless port, the plug in is optional. I live in the Dallas Market, and while I had a number outlets from which to choose, NONE of them stocked the part. I had to order it from Sony on line for an additional $50.00. Very disappointing."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony BDV-T57 5.1 Blu-ray Home Theater System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2010

let down

"week YFI, poor FM reception, no IPOD docking station."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony BDV-T57 5.1 Blu-ray Home Theater System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bellevue, WA
Date:September 21, 2010

Overall good, but lacks connections in the back

Pros: syncs with sony tv great, sounds good
Cons: lacks enough connections for extra audio sources, harmony remote is having trouble controlling it, rear speaker cables aren't long enough for big rm
Model Number: Sony BDV-T57
"As a DVD Blue ray player, it does the job quite well as you would expect from Sony. The problem lies in it being an AV receiver. There just aren't enough connections for adding things like I would expect. I had an old Sony soundbar and that had a 4 HDMI connection for 4 different sources.
This box had NO HMDI input connections. So, for my cable box, I had to put the HDMI into the TV and run to Radio Shack to buy a digital coaxial cable for sound. For my Xbox, I had to run a HDMI to my TV and pluged in a digital audio cable to the AV reciever (the manual said to use Red/White cables only but I didn't b/c it's a lower sound quality). Thank goodness I didn't have any other things to connect to the sound system as there aren't any more inputs!
I can say that the Bravia sync between the Sony TV and this reciever works great b/c it'll change the audio sources automatically when I change to different inputs. What isn't so good is that my Harmony Remote is having a hard time switching all the inputs and I'm not sure if I'll be able to get it to work with this system."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony BDV-T57 5.1 Blu-ray Home Theater System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Overland Park, KS
Date:September 18, 2010

Great product with easy set up

Pros: worth for your money., easy to set up
Cons: it has got only one hdmi input
Model Number: Sony BDV-T57
"I am very happy with this product. Especially buying stuff in costco is very reliable and worth. I previously bought sony 5.1 receiver and sony 5.1/7.1 speakers which ended up useless (sony support is little frustrating). I returned them and found this awesome product. This has got 5.1 receiver with blu-ray and light weight speakers. I love the clarity of sound. It supports all 5 speaker even if you play Youtube."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony BDV-T57 5.1 Blu-ray Home Theater System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:September 11, 2010

Netflix stutters

Pros: good sound and dvd/blue ray playback
Cons: netflix did not playback well, wireless nic performs poorly
Model Number: BDV-T57
"I purchased this unit as an update for an older DVD Surround sound. Tried everything but Netflix would not play right either wired or wireless. Playback would pause for a minute or more every 5 to 10 minutes. Bought a similar LG which played very well at the same hookup but has no Wi-Fi capability. The Sony "built-in" Wi-Fi is a proprietary USB NIC which didn't provide any more that 3 bars even though the signal was strong.
Other than NetFlix sound and performance were good.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>