Customer Reviews for Western Digital 1TB My Passport Essential Portable Hard Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Western Digital 1TB My Passport Essential Portable Hard Drive

USB 2.0 Connectivity Password Protection Up to 120 Hours of HD Video
Average Customer Rating:
2.688 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
(out of 16 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
9
7 of 16(44%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Western Digital 1TB My Passport Essential Portable Hard Drive
Review 1 for Western Digital 1TB My Passport Essential Portable Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Louisville, KY
Date:May 2, 2011

Great Portable Hard Drive; WD 1TB Essentail

Pros: works off laptop energy, backs up continuously, easy to carry in my briefcase
Cons: backup software isn't the greatest
"After seeing so many bad reviews, I still decided to purchase this and I am so glad that I did. I have had this unit for about a year and did not want to rush into a review until I used it awhile. I am VERY satisfied with this unit and its back-up. I also have a WD 750 GB portable hard drive and both work about the same. I am not to wild about the backup software but am using it. I do not see any slowness in its use. It works as fast as the 750 GB WD hard drive. Again, I waited awhile using it before I reviewed this and I have to say I would recommend this to others."
Review 2 for Western Digital 1TB My Passport Essential Portable Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Miami, Florida
Date:April 6, 2011

The worst of the Hd portatil

Pros: nothing
Cons: garbage
Model Number: Western Digital 1TB
"I bought this peace of garbage, I save almost 800GB from other WDs with less capacity and bad behavior and then I accessed the data and it was OK at the first time. Then, I format the old WDs and when I accessed the new WD 1TB, all the DOCs has garbage on it, the photos I saved does not have any image, all my data is gone@
I shoud sue with the Law to this company, but it was my fault, I bought this peace of GARBAGE!!!,
Never, never buy anything from Wstern Digital.
"
Review 3 for Western Digital 1TB My Passport Essential Portable Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:March 17, 2011

Horrible waste of money

Cons: unrelaible, bad quality, bad customer service, cheaply made
"If there was an option to rate this at 0 stars, I would. I got this drive in December. It was never dropped or manhandled. Less than 3 months later, the drive does not respond on any computer. The customer service is of no help and I am left with a piece of garbage in my hands. Over 500GB of media files has been lost.
Please DO NOT BUY this product.
"
Review 4 for Western Digital 1TB My Passport Essential Portable Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Mateo, CA
Date:February 25, 2011

Bottom Line: Don't buy it

Pros: none for unreliable products
Cons: unreliable, unrecoverable (due to lack of sata adapter), unrecoverable (encrypted with wd smartware)
Model Number: WD10TMVV
"I own other WD USB drives (MyBook, 2 more Passport drives, etc) and this is my first bad experience with a WD HD
After 2 months of light use, it stopped working as described by other users (not recognized by windows, light won't come up, hear the disk spinning but nothing happens in Windows).
But don't believe me, google the model number (WD10TMVV) and you'll find other frustrated users.
Putting the HD on the freezer allowed me to recover most of the files before returning the HD.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Western Digital 1TB My Passport Essential Portable Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2011

Perfect

Pros: plug and play compatibility
Cons: none
Model Number: 1TB Essential
"Truly USB powered - great for portability. Have used it for over a year storing 750G data. Accessed heavily for hrs at a time - works like a charm. Have used on various laptops, and plugs seamlessly into WD TV Live box - even handles the encryption through this box. Bought 320G essential based on this product - both working great."
Review 6 for Western Digital 1TB My Passport Essential Portable Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mesa, AZ
Date:January 31, 2011

VERY DISSAPOINTED

"I plugged this device in ONCE to my computer and backed up my picture files to it. The very next time I plugged it in, I hear the noise my computer makes when plugging in a USB, but the passport is not picked up by the computer. There is usually a little light on the side of the device that comes on when it is plugged in, but NOTHING. This thing is a joke. I am glad that I still have all my pics on my computer to access. I would not recommend this passport at all. From reading other ratings, it sounds like this is a very common problem with this product. Stay away from this one and save the money and the headache."
Review 7 for Western Digital 1TB My Passport Essential Portable Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:January 30, 2011

don't count on it

Pros: not reliable
Model Number: WD3200MLZ-00
"my husband and I have both purchased WD Passport portable Hard drives and both have quit working. His lasted four years; mine lasted only a year. Since my harddrive was only used as a backup, it wasn't used very often. I'm done with WD and I'm going with a Seagate next time for a backup portable HD. I have a Seagate portable HD for my work computer backup and it's been dropped & tossed around in my laptop bag and has been going strong for three years now."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Western Digital 1TB My Passport Essential Portable Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maui, HI
Date:January 25, 2011

YES!

"This little baby is the mighty David of David and Goliath portable hard drives. Easy to mount, easy to read, holds more info than you probably have in your entire laptop. Highly recommended, and the price makes it a "must-buy.""
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Western Digital 1TB My Passport Essential Portable Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Alexandria, VA
Date:January 16, 2011

Save your money...keep walking past this one...

Pros: the color is a pretty red...
Cons: software reliability is useless
"...don't even bother looking at it or the price. I backed up my data and apps ONCE before the blasted thing failed and is no longer recongized by my laptop.
The SmartDrive software included with it is a colossal waste of time (its system files take up more space on the drive that you hardly have anything to use for your stuff!!)
Took others' recommnedations to re-format as a plain external drive and that worked for a short while.
Bottom line, this is a piece of junk which now makes a very pretty (red color) bookend (it's not even wide enough to use it as a doorstop!).
I am staying FAR, FAR away from Western Digital products!"
Review 10 for Western Digital 1TB My Passport Essential Portable Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:KOP, PA
Date:January 8, 2011

Bad product

"I bought this harddrive and transferred about 200GB of data as backup. The harddrive failed after a month of light use. It just makes loud noises when connected to my laptop and desktop. This is my second bad experience with a portable WD harddrive. Product is going back to Costco and I am never buying a WD product again. Lost too much valuable data."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Western Digital 1TB My Passport Essential Portable Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Glendale, CA
Date:November 5, 2010

You can't take it with you!!!

Pros: initial ease of use.
Cons: quick to fail and leaves you hanging.
Model Number: WD 1 TB My Passport Essential
"The old saying has never been more true. Unit worked fine for about the first 10 weeks, and is ideal for keeping sensitive information away from hackers ... UNTIL the unit will no longer be seen by your computer. Plugged the unit in as always and the PC saw it as a USB device - not as an external hard drive. When looking at "My Computer", it did not see it. Luckily through the help of my company's IT department we were finally able to retrieve the data. After Googling the issue I ound this is common with this model. Only wat to fix the problem voids the warranty. I have always been a big WD fan, but those days are numbered."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Western Digital 1TB My Passport Essential Portable Hard Drive
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sunnyvale, CA
Date:September 14, 2010

Drive failed completely after 15 days of use.

Cons: reliability, lack of quality repair/recover support
Model Number: WDBABM0010BBK-NECS
"I transfered a whole bunch of my data onto it, given it's large 1TB size and then within just 15 days of very gentle use, the drive failed to start on windows XP. After repeated tries, it would start scanning sub-dirs and then freeze. I could see the sub-dirs in windows explorer, but couldn't access any of the files. chkdsk complains "Cannot open volume for direct access".
I have used multiple albeit smaller size portable hard-drives before from other manufacturers and never had such a problem before.
I have spent 7 days back-and-forth on the phone with WD's tech-support with no avail there either.
Extremely disappointed at the lack of reliability of these drives."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Western Digital 1TB My Passport Essential Portable Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:August 3, 2010

Greatest Compact Drives Made!

Model Number: all of the early models
"No one seems to mention that if you use the "sync" software, it's 128 bit encrypted. It's protected if someone else tries to log in if you lose the little Passport drives. Great feature!
If you bring it with you to the library or any other PC than the one you are using... you plug these little babies into the that PC - and IF YOU HAVE USED THE "SNYC" SOFTWARE, voila, you look at your own PC desktop when you turn it on! It's so cool!!
I used at a public computer that had blocked google so I plugged in my WD - the passport drive got me into google!
To be extra careful, I always do a drag & drop all of my critical files additionally, just in case the software gets corrupted, although those files will not be encrycpted. Better safe than sorry!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Western Digital 1TB My Passport Essential Portable Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Birmingham, AL
Date:July 27, 2010

WD 1TB Passport

Pros: size, no power cord required
Model Number: WDBABM0010BBK
"I had a 120GB drive previously purchased. The 1TB seems to be even better with newer software version. You can't beat the passport for small portable storage and is everything it was stated to be. Love that it came with the case to help protect the shell from scratches and found this to be another good deal from Costco."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Western Digital 1TB My Passport Essential Portable Hard Drive
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Luis Obispo, CA
Date:July 26, 2010

Great so far

Pros: price, looks, performance
Cons: not free
Model Number: Passport 1TB
"Unlike most of my electronics purchases, I did NOT research this before buying. I saw it in-store, great price, put it in the cart, done. I knew about the WD SmartWare bundled software before I bought it, and I know that it is annoying and that I would have to disable it (there's instructions online), but a simple re-format on my MacBook removed it COMPLETELY. That's literally all I had to do. It's just a single blank drive now.
I have an newer WD MyBook, and even re-formatting and re-partitioning doesn't rid it of the SmartWare volume, so apparently WD is actually reading the TONS of negative reviews that are on some other electronics websites and making changes to remove the SmartWare.
Other thoughts... Sleek look, comes with case and cable, very quiet and cool, very fast, USB powered. The cable fits VERY snug, and I don't mind the newer MicroUSB connection. I already have a few devices that use this type of USB and it's actually more convenient for me.
Felt compelled to write a review because of all the negatives I've read elsewhere. The Costco version of the drive is LEGIT!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Western Digital 1TB My Passport Essential Portable Hard Drive
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lynnwood, WA
Date:July 12, 2010

Western Digital 1 TB Passport

Model Number: WD 1 TB Passport Essential HD
"Always wonder what your USB power consumption is when you plug into USB only, but this is convenient. Extra storage almost as easy as a jump drive and well more than most Laptop computers have. Label your drive with your return address and picture (for Airport Security mixups, etc), and you CAN TAKE IT WITH YOU."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.