Customer Reviews for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV

Full HD 1080p Ambient Light Sensor 2-year Warranty
Average Customer Rating:
2.471 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
(out of 70 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
12
1 star
32
26 of 70(37%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Review 21 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Island NY
Date:December 13, 2010

Sound issues are easily fixed

Model Number: E371VA
"I saw the reviews for the audio problems and was reluctant to buy this set. The price was great so since I could return it, I figured I had nothing to lose. The setup was easy , the picture is great but there are audio issues. The volume goes up and down. After reading the book I turned off the SRS True volume and I don't have sound issues any more. TV is GREAT!"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Woodbridge, NJ
Date:November 13, 2010

Vizio 37" E371VA - Good picture and sound

Pros: size for a 37", picture & sound quality
Cons: no hdmi cable included, lack of composite input
Model Number: E371VA
"I purchased this TV because it was one of two - 37" LCD TVs that fit the space I had for it. I was concerned about the quality based in reviews, but I had nothing to lose because of Costco's great return policy. Actually, I am very happy with the quality of picture and sound on this TV. When I set the volume level to 20 out of 100, I can clearly hear it 30 ft away in another room. The other reviews must have had lemons. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is it lacks a composite input for older electronics."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Castro Valley, CA
Date:November 1, 2010

sound problem fix

Model Number: sv370xvt
"I purchased the sv370xvt and like many other reviewers had terrible sound issues. I worked with the Vizio help desk and this was their instruction:
1- Power off TV
2- Unplug TV from outlet
3- Press and hold in the power button on the TV for 30 seconds (while it is unplugged from the wall)
4- Release the power button
5- Plug in the TV into a different outlet
6- Power the TV back on
There is also a factory reset option in your menu under the SETUP section. It will say either "reset all settings" or "system reset". I would recommend this option as well.
I also strongly recommend you turn off the surround sound and TruVolume settings (I think this is the action that finally resolved my problems).
I've had the set now for at least 6 months and have had no other sound issues (or remote issues), if only I could get my AT&T UVerse issues corrected, I would be golden."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, Ca
Date:September 19, 2010

Great TV for the price!!!

"honestly this tv is good. there is some small minor things i can see people are complaining about but honestly i have had no such problems that anyone has stated below. I almost bought the vizio 42-inch 120hz TV but i hated the frame looking border around it and i love the piano black look this one has. Overall this TV rocks!!! worth every penny and i did i forget to mention the picture is absolutely amazing? don't pay attention to the other reviews and check this TV out!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Humboldt County, CA
Date:August 30, 2010

Good TV for the money

"I bought this on sale during the holidays and have had it for about 8 months. I like it a lot and have no complaints except for one picky comment: The bass sound could be better, but it works well enough for what it is. Maybe one day I'll buy a surround sound system but I doubt many televisions sound much better without additional sound system purchases. You can change the picture which changes the color to things like "movie" versus "game" or "custom" or "football". You can also adjust the colors and change how it is zoomed in, panoramic, or "wide". I don't have all HDTV channels, but a few are and look awesome. The rest look really good for cable. My movies look really fabulous. I know it's a good deal for the price. Check out consumer reports for Vizio too...which is what made me consider it in the first place."
Review 26 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Berkeley, CA
Date:June 13, 2010

A pretty good set for the price

Pros: cheap, nice picture
Cons: slow response on menus, remote is something to be desired, sound is not that great
"The tv set is pretty good for the price. We wanted an economical LCD and the options were slim at costco. We choose this tv because of the 120hz refresh rate over the 60hz refresh rate.
It is actually a pretty good set for action movies and video games, just remember to turn on the smooth motion to high.
However, the sound is not that great as the volume changes from channel to channel. The audio is not consistent , you can either turn on the SRS and hope for the best, depends on the broadcast usually, or turn it off altogether.
Also, whenever you change the channel or access the menu, there is a slight delay. You learn to adapt, but it is annoying at first.
I haven't tried the photo viewer yet so I can't comment on that.
The HDMI connections are all on the side so that's pretty nice.
Minor gripes: The remote is ugly and feels cheaply made. The buttons are hard to press and needs to be broken in. The remote also lacks its own lighting.
Vizio emblem lights up when turned on. The RGB and the audio jack are not close to one another. The cable output is awkwardly placed, its the hardest connection to plug in and is the furtherest away from the edge. Like I said, minor stuff.
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:TX
Date:February 27, 2011

Risky investment

Pros: great picture
Cons: remote isn't good quality, sometimes the sound doesn't match "lips"
"I loved the picture that this tv put out, but the tv is very slow to change channels. Then the tv would turn off a few times each day when I would press the "4" button or "down" on the volume. If you buy this be willing to take it back."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Pinehurst, NC
Date:February 17, 2011

It is true!!! The sound is terrible!!

Pros: costco's return policy.
Cons: sound is horrible!!
Model Number: VIZIO’s E371VA
"What a dissapointment.... but I have to admit the reviews were consistent. If you want the vintage sound like you got on one of your old tv's back in the 80's this TV is perfect. Frankly, it sounds like it was never taken out of the box. The good news is that the picture on this TV is great. The bad news is the sound is horrible!! The directions didn't help, the settings are useless! If you are going thru a stereo you will likely be fine. This was for our son's play room. What a waste! Should of gone with my gut and gotten the Sony. Costco should do everyone a favor and remove this from the website...."
Review 29 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sumner, WA
Date:February 12, 2011

Disappointed

Model Number: Visio 37' LCD
"The picture quality of this television is not all that great. It does not have enough input/outputs in the back for the older DVD/VHS players--you have to unplug one to use the other"
Review 30 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Birmingham, AL
Date:February 3, 2011

Sound is frustrating

Pros: price, picture
Cons: sound
"Just like other reviews, the sound does not stay at a consistent level from channel to channel, which could be chalked up to the networks, but it varies wildly."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2011

Picture good, horrible audio

"We purchased this TV despite the poor reviews, assuming that people had failed to read the directions and turn off the truSound. We were wrong, and poor reviews were correct. The sound does go up and down, which is no big deal since that happens on some channels anyway. However, the sound is also out of sync with the picture much of the time, which is extremely annoying. The picture is very good, which is why I gave it 2 stars, but the audio issue is impossible to ignore. The price and features of this TV seem too good to be true, and they are."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:hesperia, ca
Date:October 17, 2010

good picture but sound is way off

Pros: size picture 1080p 120hz
Cons: sound was off from picture pretty bad
Model Number: VIZIO E371VA 37
"i loved the size of this tv and the fact that it was 1080p 120hz and the motion thing is awesome as well, the picture was awesome in hd and movies. but when people talked the sound and picture was way off. i couldnt stand watching tv or a movie because of it. then when i hooked up my computer to it through the hdmi, my games would lag really bad which they normally dont and also the sound was off from the picture. that was my only problem with it but it was enough to make me take it back. also one time i turned it on, it went pink where it said vizio when u turn it on then my picture was all pink for about 30 seconds and then it went back to normal. so overall i didnt like this tv but now i know why it was so cheap for the money. i ended up getting a samsung LCD 540 32inch. it was only 720p and 60hz but it was fine with me and when i hooked up my external hard drive to it i can play all the movies i have from files like. mpg, mvk and whatever video files u can think of which made that tv better then this one. so i dont recommend this tv to nobody. also now i can play games no problem with no lag and it says that they are playing in 1080p."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Menlo Park, CA
Date:September 2, 2010

good price & picture, but problems

Cons: audio/video sync, spontaneous power cycling
Model Number: E371VA
"The biggest problems I have are the lack of sync between audio and video, and the spontaneous power cycling (turns itself off and back on at random times). Both of these problems have been mentioned in other reviews. I exchanged my first unit and the second one had the same problems.
This is my first Visio and I'm not impressed, but I need this size to fit in the space I have and the price is very good, but I don't think I can live with these problems. Visio tech support was unable to provide any resolution. They told me noone else has complained about these symptoms and I find that hard to believe as I have read about them in many reviews.
Another problem (merely annoying) is that the Visio logo on the frame is always lit, not just when the unit is on. As a result, you cannot tell if the unit is on or off just by looking at it (if, for example, the cable box is off). This is just very poor design.
"
Review 34 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Myrtle Beach, SC
Date:August 27, 2010

Misleading Product Specs

Pros: good looking., good picture
Cons: misleading product specs, poor audio
Model Number: E370VA
"Vizio product specs state "Tru Surround Sound and "Tru Volume". This was a primary reason for buying this TV. Other manufacturers truthfully use the word "simulated", not "Tru". The audio on this TV leaves little to be desired. It is either up, down, or completely silent. When it decides to silence itself, to restore the volume, you must change channels and then come back to what you were watching. All this even after using Vizio's concierge service. Not fun. To find out that the audio is not what they say it is, one must either read the owners manual or bring up the audio menu on the TV. This of course, cannot be done until the TV is unpacked and in your home."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los angeles
Date:August 14, 2010

Vizio e371va

Pros: price picture sound spec's
Cons: lip sync issue delays display problem
Model Number: e371va
"Read online reviews before buying a Vizio. Price is good for 1080/120hz LED with 50M contrast, 500 nts, 5ms but we had the same problems mentioned by many of the reviewers. Lip sync-audio and video sync was very off. This was mentioned by a couple hundred on one string. Had 1/4 " white flickering line at top of screen on some channels-also mentioned several times. We thought picture and sound were very good for price, liked simplicity of remote, design, easy to setup, size, but the delay in audio when watching someone speak was too distracting. Also took 15 seconds to power on and almost 3 seconds to turn to the next channel. Did not auto scan channels correctly, tried 5 times. Called Costco help could not do much-this TV does not have the lip sync adjustment that some other models do. Costco said to preset back to factory which did and did not resolve. Vizio not very helpful, 3 different reps said they had never heard of these problems even though many reviewers mentioned they had called. Vizio suggested turning on and off, pulling the plug and holding the on/off switch for 10 seconds to reset, neither of which worked. Description on Costco site states 1 component and 1 composite input. Only has 1 composite which can be used for component but not both at same time. Unfortunately I will be returning TV and likely buying a ? for my daugters play room. Still love Costco."
Review 36 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2010

Save some extra cash go name brand

Pros: cheap
Cons: cheap for a reason
"Bought this T.V and had for 2 months. Experienced frustrations with the delay in any button you push and audio was inconsistent between channels. Also experienced problems with audio & image on HD channels--- audio and image were out of sync on all HD channels and sometimes there would be no audio at all and image would freeze. Occasionally T.V would reset itself in the middle of a movie/tv. Remote is cheap but not a big deal. Coaxial cable is difficult to connect. Returned and bought Sony Bravia available at Costco and SO MUCH HAPPIER for only $100 more. Blacks and color and audio way better on the Sony & have yet to experience any of the problems the Vizio had. The Sony Bravia is 1080p 60hz whereas the Vizio was 1080p 120hz and I can honestly say the Bravia is better."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Huntington Beach, CA
Date:August 11, 2010

Tech Support Issues

Pros: price, picture
Cons: product quality, vizio tech support
Model Number: E371VA
"I bought this TV in June for my husband for Father's Day. It is the only size that fits in our existing TV cabinet. Overall the TV has nice appearance and a really good picture. The sound has been bad from day 1 and Vizio's response is to blame the Time Warner cable HD settop box. Now the TV turns itself off at random and the sound fades gradually at times, and at times cuts out altogether. I think it is time to try the Costco concierge or bring this lemon back to Costco"
Review 38 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Woodland Hills, CA
Date:August 10, 2010

Mediocre

Pros: nice picture for the price
Cons: sound could be better
"I have to exchange the TV (purchased 2 weeks ago) because the sound is not working correctly. Sound breaks up or goes out all together. The tv has also been turning off on its own either when you change the channel or when it's on the current channel, out of the blue. I agree with the other reviews on the sound not being that great and inconsistant, but manageable.
I was expecting a quality tv as I own two other Vizio flatscreens. Maybe this one was just a bad one out of the bunch?"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SF, CA
Date:July 18, 2011

green screen- company slow to honor warranty

Model Number: 1080p LCD HDTV
"I purchased the TV a year ago. For the past 6 months, the screen intermittently turns green after a few hours of watching as well as when I try to channel surf. This also happens when trying to use the playstation. Costco conceirge service was extremely helpful and immediately referred me to Vizio. However, Vizio has been slow to respond attributing the problem to anything but the TV even requesting that I buy another (3rd) hdmi cable before they were willing to fix the television. I purchased a bad product and the company is slow to honor their warranty. Avoid Vizio products."
Review 40 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Penna.
Date:April 30, 2011
"own 32", 26", 37" Vizios and 2 other brand name TVs - all hooked up to Fios. No problems with other TVs.. This 37" Vizio is a mess. Lip sync problems and audio fluctuations are a real pain. It is a problem with this model and just wish Vizio would own up to it."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>