Customer Reviews for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV

Full HD 1080p Ambient Light Sensor 2-year Warranty
Average Customer Rating:
2.547 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
(out of 75 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
13
1 star
32
30 of 75(40%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Review 1 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Manassas, VA
Date:September 15, 2010

Great TV! Great Price!

Pros: 1080p, 120hz, price, 2 year warranty
Cons: ups ground
Model Number: E370VA
"At first, I was a little wary purchasing this Vizio tv after reading so many problems people were having on here with this particular model.. But Im very happy I took that chance. I actually work in a electronic retail store and must say..finding a 37" lcd with 1080p and 120hz for under 500 with a 2 year warranty is a great deal!
I want to address a few problems that people have had on here. They are all solvable if you just spend a few minutes going through the menu and tweaking some settings.
Audio: In the audio menu, there is a selection for both SRS TruSurroundHD and SRS TruVolume. If you select both to be OFF you will not run into the various problems others have had, such as auto adjustment of volume and out of sync. Just remember, the settings you change will only affect the input you are at. This means if you change the audio settings for HDMI 1, you will have to do the same for HDMI 2, HDMI 3... etc...
Picture: In order to experience the full capabilities of 120hz, Smooth Motion MUST be turned on to HIGH. It is accessible through MENU PICTURE MORE. Some people do not like the motion it creates. Personally, I think it makes everything look sharper, even things in 720p. The settings I use is the following:
Ambient Light Sensor Off
Picture Mode Custom
Backlight 70
Brightness 50
Contrast 50
Color 50
Tint 0
Sharpness 20
Noise Reduction Low (if you start to see small digital blocks, turn this up)
Color Temperature Normal
Color Enhancement ON
Adaptive Luma ON
DCR Off
Smooth Motion High
Smooth Motion DEMO Off
Remote: Verizon FIOS remote programming for Vizio TV's did not initially work. I ended up having to follow the directions for universal programming in order to find the proper signal. This only took a few seconds once I found the owners manual online.
TV starting delay: Yes, it does take about 5 seconds for the TV to start up. Personally, I don't think 5 seconds is such a long time. And think its silly that people actually complained about it.
Vizio Logo: Yes it does illuminate when on. What newer LCD tv doesnt? Its not too bright when its on. And it does dim half way when the TV is turned off. I have my power cord connected directly to my cable box so it cuts power when I turn it off.
Game Lag: I have not experienced any lag on this tv while playing several games on my PS3. Only thing I could think of that would cause lag would be not keeping Smooth Motion set to HIGH.
Costco Shipping: this is the only complaint I had. Costco sent the unit UPS Ground. When it arrived, the driver left the TV on my front door step and left without it having a required signature. I was lucky that my roommate was home and was able to pull the unit inside. Someone could have easily picked it up...
So far Ive had ZERO problems with this tv and find the picture to be completely AMAZING!(espcially playing Avatar Bluray on my PS3) My roommate was so impressed, he is ordering one this week for his room. Just keep in mind that the settings out of the box does need a few adjustments and you will be fine."
25 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:December 12, 2010

Great value, IGNORE OTHER REVIEWS ABOUT SOUND

Pros: sharp smooth-motion picture, perfectly fits an ent. center w/36" wide opening, nice picture & audio features
"I give this TV 5 stars because it has excellent clarity, color, and features for the price. The other reviewers' comments about the sound are inaccurate. This TV pre-processes the video signal, especially an HD signal, to output a high-quality picture with smooth motion. The sound from the TV speakers is exactly synchronized with the picture. And you can output the high-quality audio signal from the TV to a surround sound system via optical cable, which is also synchronized with the video. If you have a cable/satellite box or a DVD/Blue-Ray player and you output the video to the TV but separately send audio to an audio / surround sound receiver (instead of outputting it from the TV), then of course there's signal delay between audio and video because the audio signal is not being pre-processed and optimized like the video is. It amazes me that people would buy this TV, not read the instructions or try the optical cable, then go through the trouble of returning it. I'm an engineer and I've always found a little investigation solves 95% of problems. If you like HD, you'll be reassured to know this TV's picture is so smooth and sharp, I feel like I'm on the set of the movie instead of watching the movie. And it works fine with my DISH HD network. Again, great TV for the price."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Berkeley, CA
Date:June 13, 2010

A pretty good set for the price

Pros: cheap, nice picture
Cons: slow response on menus, remote is something to be desired, sound is not that great
"The tv set is pretty good for the price. We wanted an economical LCD and the options were slim at costco. We choose this tv because of the 120hz refresh rate over the 60hz refresh rate.
It is actually a pretty good set for action movies and video games, just remember to turn on the smooth motion to high.
However, the sound is not that great as the volume changes from channel to channel. The audio is not consistent , you can either turn on the SRS and hope for the best, depends on the broadcast usually, or turn it off altogether.
Also, whenever you change the channel or access the menu, there is a slight delay. You learn to adapt, but it is annoying at first.
I haven't tried the photo viewer yet so I can't comment on that.
The HDMI connections are all on the side so that's pretty nice.
Minor gripes: The remote is ugly and feels cheaply made. The buttons are hard to press and needs to be broken in. The remote also lacks its own lighting.
Vizio emblem lights up when turned on. The RGB and the audio jack are not close to one another. The cable output is awkwardly placed, its the hardest connection to plug in and is the furtherest away from the edge. Like I said, minor stuff.
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Island NY
Date:December 13, 2010

Sound issues are easily fixed

Model Number: E371VA
"I saw the reviews for the audio problems and was reluctant to buy this set. The price was great so since I could return it, I figured I had nothing to lose. The setup was easy , the picture is great but there are audio issues. The volume goes up and down. After reading the book I turned off the SRS True volume and I don't have sound issues any more. TV is GREAT!"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:April 28, 2011

Excellent value for the $

Model Number: Vizio 371A
"I am surprised by the apparent lack of basic TV hook-up knowledge by the majority of posters on here. I recommended this Vizio model to my sister and she has been thrilled by it. I helped her with the easy connection to her cable box using one cable, the HDMI cable. Excellent picture quality and the TV operates flawlessly.
Several posters have complained about poor lip synch (speech matching the visuals). This is a problem with the USA's less than flawless conversion to digital broadcasting. The error lies with your local TV stations or cable provider, synching the video and audio, NOT the TV. An HDMI cable to your cable box will help although it won't eliminate broadcaster created errors. This is an ongoing problem that broadcasters continue to stumble with. Sound drop outs is also a broadcaster related problem, not the TV. One of my local channels just recently fixed their problem with that issue. This TV has plenty of HDMI inputs. Only one RF input is necessary as this is an HDTV and should only need that input for an "over-the-air" antenna for local broadcasts if you don't have cable. Your cable box should be hooked up to the HDMI input and that box should be an HD (high definition) box. You could also use the component inputs if your box lacks an HDMI output but I'd strongly suggest you ask your cable provider for a new HD box with HDMI if that is the case. An HDMI cable contains both audio and video in just one small, high quality cable. It couldn't be simpler to connect. If you aren't paying a bit extra for an HD box, you are not getting anywhere near the picture quality this TV is capable of. A few posters complain the volume doesn't go loud enough. That's because if you are using a cable box, you MUST set the cable box volume control all the way up AND THEN adjust the TV's volume with the remote. Cable boxes also tend to "lose" their volume setting during power interruptions (thunder storms) so always make sure you turn the boxes volume back up again after losing power or you won't be able to get sufficient sound out of the TV. This kind of info is always contained in the instructions that come with a cable box so PLEASE read your instructions before blaming your own ignorance on the TV. I get so frustrated seeing a great product lamblasted due to the ignorance of its user. This TV, particularly when Costco runs it on sale, is an outstanding value. Don't let the uninformed negative reviews make you think otherwise. And for heavens sake, READ the Owner's Manuals for both the TV and your cable box.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA area
Date:January 7, 2011

Lip sync and picture quality problems

Pros: price, size
Cons: lip sync problem, picture quality
Model Number: E371VA
"We purchased this tv based upon my brother's very favorable experience with his Vizio (32-in about 2 yrs old). Out of the box our 37-in tv had problems with lip sync using the built-in speakers. As expected, it was very noticeable when watching a news broadcast or similar program where a person faced the camera. At times it looked like a foreign language broadcast with English dubbed in - no correlation between lip movement and audio. I realize there is an issue with lip sync on a HDTV that did not exist on SDTV units: it takes longer to process the video signal than the audio signal, hence the video tends to lag the audio. From what I read the industry has developed standards to deal with this. A small amount of lag is not noticeable by most people but longer lag times are distracting. We contacted Vizio technical service and tried the reset instructions they provided. We had no success. Consequently they said the Comcast cable service must be the source of the problem. Interestingly, my brother has Comcast cable service and no lip sync issue with his Vizio HDTV.
As others have reported, our unit would at times shut itself off (black screen) and restart for no apparent reason. Again like others, we noticed a long delay between button press on the remote and tv response.
We did not care for the picture quality regardless of the selected picture option. I made numerous attempts to adjust the picture under the Custom option but the picture always looked like a low quality video with strong highlight areas regardless of the source (think early soap opera video). Changes in contrast or brightness did not resolve the problem. Our old (retired) Mitsubishi SDTV with CRT had a better picture.
We returned the Vizio and purchased a 40-in Sony Bravia. We needed to make compromises to accommodate the larger size be we have no lip sync problem with the Sony. The picture quality is exceptional without need to make adjustments to the preset settings.
Would consider another Vizio but only if we again have the opportunity for 90-day in home trial.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Burbank, CA
Date:January 27, 2011

Sharpest LCD Tv I Own

Model Number: Vizio 37" LCD
"I have 13 LCD Tv's in my bar, 11 of them are Vizio, and this one by far has the best picture of any of them. Yes, the sound quality is poor on all of them, but who buys a tv for the sound quality. We use a sound system, hooked directly into DirecTV, and everything is synced and sounds great. My other Vizio's are only 60hz, but all look good. I will eventually replace them all with 120hz or 240hz, but not untill they need to be replaced. My 32" Vizio's are going on 4 years old and work great. Highly recommend Vizio to everyone."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:January 5, 2011

HORRIBLE SOUND

Model Number: 37
"This TV was the worst.Had it for 3 weeks.Worst sound ever. Volume would have to be adjusted with every channel change. If volume was at 23 for one channel, I would have to go to 60 or sometimes 95 just to hear it. Spoke to Vizio 3 times,Said that it was Verizon that was causing the problem. Spoke to Verizon and said that they never heard of this as a complaint from any TV model before.Take my advice.DO NOT BUY!!! Taking back today and getting a Sony"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Austin TX
Date:March 25, 2011

Why does Costco even sell this tv??

Model Number: E371VA
"I have every complaint listed in all the other reviews! The audio synch is horrible, the tv pitches a fit at any moment, throws up a huge mute symbol on the screen and the only way to get the sound back is to turn off/unplug/reboot. It will come back if you're lucky. The tv turns itself off and on. The tv hates to respond to commands - will ignore your pushing the remote's buttons, and then will jump and skip, or will throw up its own command and do something bizarre. Most of the features in the tv's menu should be adjustable - but are not. Volume too loud, then too low, and it's not because of obnoxious commercials. DON'T buy this tv. My 47" Vizio is great - why is the 37" such a mess? I'm returning it to Costco tomorrow."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:TX
Date:February 27, 2011

Risky investment

Pros: great picture
Cons: remote isn't good quality, sometimes the sound doesn't match "lips"
"I loved the picture that this tv put out, but the tv is very slow to change channels. Then the tv would turn off a few times each day when I would press the "4" button or "down" on the volume. If you buy this be willing to take it back."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:February 15, 2011

Excellent value

Pros: picture
Cons: could use a composite input
Model Number: E371VA
"People tend not to read instructions. The volume problem mentioned by others doesn't exist. SRS adjusts the volume automatically and if you don't like that (I don't.) just shut it off in the menu. Adjust the bass and treble in the menu. Sound is perfect. The lip synch problem exists with many sets (on my sister's Sony for example) due to the problems with transmission. 95% of the shows and channels with my service have no problems. Again, if that 5 or 10% bothers you, get one of the VIZIO sets that has lip-synch adjustment in the menu. The picture, once adjusted, is exceptional.
My only gripe is more with my FIOS service. My box has no HDMI or component connectors so I am using the antenna type coax which is not the best connection. I'd like the set to have a composite connection, but that is my problem and a new service should provide a better cable box with the connections I need.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plano, Tx
Date:February 11, 2011

Read the Owner's Guide!

Pros: great price!, good viewing angles, even backlighting, 4 hdmi inputs, remote codes are listed in the quick-setup
Cons: no dvi input, auto-volume and motion blur are on by default.
Model Number: Vizio E371VA
"I cannot believe the bad reviews this TV is getting, especially considering the price! I bought two--one for the bedroom and one to use as a monitor for my computer.
As a television, the picture is surprisingly good with good viewing angles and even backlighting. There is alot of bleed-through, but overall it looks surprisingly good.
If you don't like the volume auto-adjusting feature, turn the TruVolume off. If you don't want the motion blur, turn the SmoothMotion off. Just open the menu--the settings are right there. It's not rocket science...
As a computer monitor, it's HUGE and way too bright right out of the box. Don't use the VGA input or you'll lose a few of the adjustments. I am running it via HDMI and it took me about 10 minutes to get it set up and calibrated correctly. It's only 60Hz, so you'll see tearing in games if you don't cap the refresh rate.
All in all, it's an great buy and excellent product for the price."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2011

Going good so far

"We bought this TV for my Dad for Christmas. He has had it for over a month so far with no problems. The sounds has been just fine the way it is (although he is working on getting it hooked up to a new sound system soon.) He is extremely happy with it! For the price, it has been all that we hoped for (despite the negative reviews)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pasadena, California
Date:November 28, 2010

Vizio is the best

Model Number: E371va
"I know that other companies have great TVs' however for the money VIZIO is the best. I have a total of 8 vizio lcd tv in my bar. Camerons Seafood of pasadena. Come and check out the units for yourself. These are by far the best tvs I have ever had in here, and trust me from sony to samsung, VIZIO for the price can not be touched. I use direct tv HD on all the units and my customers love them so much they go out to costco and buy them as well. The true test is outside of costco. I cannot say enough about these tv, not only help my business, but i also installed 4 of these babies in my house. Great job Vizio, and my hat off to costco for the price and the return policy, all you guys are awsome."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Woodbridge, NJ
Date:November 13, 2010

Vizio 37" E371VA - Good picture and sound

Pros: size for a 37", picture & sound quality
Cons: no hdmi cable included, lack of composite input
Model Number: E371VA
"I purchased this TV because it was one of two - 37" LCD TVs that fit the space I had for it. I was concerned about the quality based in reviews, but I had nothing to lose because of Costco's great return policy. Actually, I am very happy with the quality of picture and sound on this TV. When I set the volume level to 20 out of 100, I can clearly hear it 30 ft away in another room. The other reviews must have had lemons. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is it lacks a composite input for older electronics."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Beaverton, OR
Date:November 12, 2010

Very Disappointing

Pros: screen color and resolution
Cons: fluctuating sound, random reboots
Model Number: E371VA
"I liked the features and the price. The negative reviews about sound worried me. I checked Consumer Reports and Vizio has a good reputation. I could not find their review of this particular model. So, I bought it. After Comcast installed the cable box, I watched TV that night. I almost immediately had the sounds problems and the automatic rebooting.
The sound problem is not a minor modulation. You can be watching a TV show at a moderate level and all of a sudden, it zooms up to two or three times the volume. You quickly grab the remote and turn it down so you don't disturb your neighbors.
I thought perhaps the problem was not with the TV but with the signal or the cable box. Comcast came out and checked the signal to my condo. It was fine. They gave me a diffferent cable box. That night, watching TV, I had the same problem. I tried Comcast's latest, newest cable box. Again the same problem.
This occurred over 2 months. I returned the TV, under Costco's generous return policy. While I was there, I checked the TVs at the store, and they had a Sony 40" that was not listed online. I was quite surprised by that. Apparently the stores can offer units that are not on Costco's website.
After doing some more research on this Sony model, I ended up buying it at Costco, and it has had no sound problems. I am quite happy with it. Model #KDL 40NX700.
The problem was in the TV. I suspect there is some audio equipment in the TV that either has problems or it doesn't. If you have the sound problem, return the TV."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:October 19, 2010

Terrible sound

Pros: good picture
Cons: terrible sound, turns self off inexplicably
"I read the other reviews and hoped that turning off the various audio settings would make the audio problems moot.
Not so.
The volume varies considerably, both when switching channels and even when watching the same TV program. It is infuriating."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2010

Save some extra cash go name brand

Pros: cheap
Cons: cheap for a reason
"Bought this T.V and had for 2 months. Experienced frustrations with the delay in any button you push and audio was inconsistent between channels. Also experienced problems with audio & image on HD channels--- audio and image were out of sync on all HD channels and sometimes there would be no audio at all and image would freeze. Occasionally T.V would reset itself in the middle of a movie/tv. Remote is cheap but not a big deal. Coaxial cable is difficult to connect. Returned and bought Sony Bravia available at Costco and SO MUCH HAPPIER for only $100 more. Blacks and color and audio way better on the Sony & have yet to experience any of the problems the Vizio had. The Sony Bravia is 1080p 60hz whereas the Vizio was 1080p 120hz and I can honestly say the Bravia is better."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2011

Good Buy for the money

Pros: awesome picture, simple menu, brilliant color depth
Cons: cheap remote
"Tv has a great picture..... Its just as good as any of the competitors. I don't have any issues with the sound like all the other reviews. I turned off the the srs surround sound and the tv speakers sound fine. Great buy for the money!!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VIZIO 37" 1080p LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hugo, MN
Date:February 26, 2011

Love this TV!!!

Model Number: E371VA
"I was looking for an HDTV to fit in my 36" wide armoire for the living room. I was very happy to find this 37" 1080p 120hz TV and it fits perfectly. I decided to check out the reviews online before I bought this TV, and even though the reviews were not the best, I decided to buy it anyway since I could return it if I had the same issues that were mentioned in most of the reviews. The only thing I have noticed is the lip-synch problem, which has happened twice while watching the local news on CBS and that is it. It hasn't happened on any of my shows that I watch. The picture is AMAZING and I have not had any issues with the sound, which I think is actually pretty good. I have had this TV for 3 weeks now, and I am very glad I decided to disregard the bad reviews and buy this TV. I love it!!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>