Customer Reviews for VIZIO 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV

Full HD 1080p Ambient Light Sensor 2-year Warranty
Average Customer Rating:
3.882 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 48
(out of 51 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
9
38 of 51(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Review 1 for VIZIO 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Yakima, WA
Date:May 6, 2011

BAD!

Model Number: E421VA
"The tuner in the TV started to go out after 5 months after we bough it. It started by being slow to tune in a channel. Now it cannot tune in two channels - we need to watch on a different TV. I am at a point where I am forced to find the manufacturer's repair number to see if the tuner can be fixed and if it is worth it.
I just got off the phone with the manufacturer's repair number - and I was informed I should either get a digital booster or do a channel scan. (There were no other options.)
I did a channel scan and the channel scan. So far - it seems like it has been able to reacquire the channels that it "lost" before.
I would not recommend this TV."
Review 2 for VIZIO 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lakewood, NJ
Date:March 15, 2011

Biggest mistake I ever made!!!!!!

Model Number: 42" SVT
"Worst set I ever owned! Went thru four TV's before Vizio agreed to refund my money. First set had multiple problems, Vizio replaced everything inside the set. After 6 weeks the set went bad and the only thing the set did was the "Vizio" logo turned on and off...that's it! The same problem occured in the next three sets that were sent to the house and returned immediately before the buy back. Never, ever will I purchased a Vizio TV! The price is the only thing Vizio has going for it."
Review 3 for VIZIO 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2011
Pros: beautiful picture
Cons: sound and lag time when changing channel
"For the most part I agree with the reviews about the sound. I turned the Trusound off and it helped. I can actually watch TV at night when the kids are asleep with the volume on 2. The lag time when turning the set on or switching channels can be annoying at times also. However, the picture is beautiful and I plan on keeping the TV."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIZIO 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bartlett,IL
Date:February 26, 2011

Bad Buy

"The sound flucuates and from time to time the picture is distorted by stripes. Reasonably priced but not good quality at all. Returned for a different brand."
Review 5 for VIZIO 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:February 26, 2011

You get what you pay for

Model Number: VIZIO’s E421VA 42” LCD HDTV
"I still have this model. Purchased Oct 2010. I have the exact same comments as other reviewers: audio is very uneven. For recorded shows, DVD's I sometimes need to be up to 50. Then a commercial comes on and it scares everyone out of their seats! TruVolume does not work. Sometimes input is not recognized. Sometimes the audio just cuts out totally or the TV will just turn off for no reason. When it is working, however, the picture is grea. And, not watching much TV, I opted to keep it. I have an older Vizio 47" and it functios flawlessly."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Castro Valley, CA
Date:February 4, 2011

Flawed audio design

Pros: good picture, excellent manual
Cons: defective audio, troublesome startup, slow channel switching
Model Number: E421AV
"We bought a Vizio E421VA LCD HDTV just before Christmas 2010. The extensive start-up guide made it easy to install. It has an excellent manual that explains every feature that can be adjusted from the on screen display. The first problem we noticed was the uneven loudness control. The typical volume increase during commercials seemed to be amplified rather than diminished by the TruVolume control. This feature which supposedly is designed to smooth out audio volume did exactly the opposite. Turning off this feature gave a much more uniform audio response. A much more unacceptable problem was the intermittent audio drop-outs. You would have to either switch the channel back and forth to get the audio back or you would have to double click the Mute button to get the audio back. The latter approach is better, since channel switching is incredibly slow. Another annoying problem with the set is during start-up, where more often than not it can't find the input signal or it claims the input has the wrong format. Once you get the set working the picture quality is quite good. However, the frequent audio drop-outs were just too much. So, we returned the set to Costco. On the assumption that we might just have bought the rare lemon in the bunch, we exchanged it for the same model. The new set was from a different shipment. We were very upset to find that this set had all the same problems as the first set. So rather than getting an unlucky lemon, it would appear that Vizio TV sets have some serious design problems. We took this set back as well and switched to a different brand. Rest assured that this will be the last time we ever purchase anything with the Vizio label on it.
By coincidence, a friend also purchased a new Vizio TV around Christmas time. This was a different model, however. But, you guessed it, it had all the identical problems to our set. So if you insist on buying a Vizio we strongly recommend that you save all the packing materials, so that you can return the set when you become fed up with it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chantilly, VA
Date:December 18, 2010

Dissapointed Customer

Pros: crisp clear picture
Cons: sound intermittenly cuts out with internal speaker, tv power cycles itself randomly
Model Number: VIZIO 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
"Bought this TV after reading the reviews, and while there were a few negative comments, felt these may be isolated incidents. We bought the TV the end of Nov 2010, I took it back to Costco Dec 2010. At first the sound would cut out, and this was resolved by either changing channels or mute/unmute the TV. That became annoying until we connected external speakers and no more sound issues. The last straw was when the TV began to turn itself off and back on while we were watching it. Final straw was when it happend twice during a football game. The quote was "take it back!" We're shopping for a replacement and it won't be VIZIO."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIZIO 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sitka, AK
Date:December 8, 2010

Great picture

Pros: great picture clear images
"So far it has been a great product, I purchased this online, and upon recieving it have enjoyed the picture quality, after having a boob tube for so long going to a 1080p is quite a change, I have a surround sound so I dont know the quality of the sound from the set itself but over all the picture is worth the effort"
Review 9 for VIZIO 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2010

Love it!

Pros: size, price, colors, hdmi ports
"We purchased this tv a few days ago and we LOVE it! It was so easy to set up and looks great with the HD through DirecTV. Video games with our PS3 look life like! It is an awesome tv and we couldn't be happier! LOVE IT!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIZIO 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2010

multiple problems within 3 yrs

Pros: cheap
Cons: shoddy materials, multiple problems
"Just after the 24 months period, the TV went red. Bright red. No other colors. Vizio warranty had run out, Costco warranty also ran out. Fortunately I had bought the TV with my Amex card, which extended the warranty to 3 yrs. They covered the $400 repair.
Now it's been 3.5 yrs, and the controls don't work for the first few minutes the tv is on. I have to wait a few minutes to adjust the volume or change the input source. very annoying.
don't buy Vizio. 48 pages of complaints against Vizio on cosumer affairs website."
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIZIO 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Issaquah, WA
Date:November 20, 2010

Audio out-of-sync

Pros: nice picture easy to set up.
Cons: audio badly out of sync with the picture.
Model Number: Vizio 42" E421
"Finally took the plunge getting a big screen TV to replace a 1984 20" TV that was starting to have vertical hold issues. Ended up deciding on this Vizio. Took it home and the first thing we noticed was that the audio coming out of the Polk Audio speakers via our Kenwood receiver was out of sync with the picture. Not good.
Drove us nuts trying to figure out what was going on. Audio coming out of the Vizio's speakers was fine, but when the audio is routed through our home stereo, it was like watching Kung Fu movies where the lips are still going, but the character has finished talking. The Vizio unit has only one audio output, but because it is the optical digital audio out, there was no way to route audio to my stereo from the Vizio.
Spoke with Vizio tech support and they surmised that my Kenwood (being of vintage 1984, just like the old TV) was the problem, to which I disagreed because we had no audio lag when we used our 1984 TV. I even ended up hooking up both our old TV and the Vizio simultaneously to the DVD player, which has the traditional Yellow, White and Red composite plugs and the newer Yb, Yr, and G composite jacks, and the Vizio was noticeably slower in changing screens.
We returned the unit to Costco and that was no problem; Costco is always great about taking returns. We did learn from the return employee that they get quite a few Vizio's returned for the same audio out-of-sync problem.
If you have no plans to route the audio through a home theater system and will just use the speakers that come with the Vizio, the unit is fine."
4 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIZIO 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:north carolina
Date:October 25, 2010

only buy this product if you want it two years

Cons: cheap product
Model Number: vo42lfhdtv10a
"initially i was pleased with the visio 42 inch tv. but two months after the warrenty was up the tv picture went blank. to fix it the cost will be $85 diagnostic fee, $20-$120 for parts and another $85 to install parts. this total amount worst case is $320 and least amount is $200. do not buy this piece of junk. you will waste your money. i am sorry i recommended it to friends. hope this review helps somone else. Visio contracts out repairs and takes about a week to get anything fixed. guess you get what you pay for."
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIZIO 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2010

power problem

Pros: great picture
Cons: power supply
"vizios tends to have power supply issue after 2 years. My second vizio is giving me power supply issue, and first one had the same issue too after it was out of warranty. I fixed it myself as it was easy to fix. if your vizio has the same issues, open it up look at the power supply, there should be some busted capacitors on the board. Order them on digikey and solder them on the board."
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIZIO 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:TX
Date:October 19, 2010

excellent buy for the price

Pros: set up
Cons: audio (minimal issue)
Model Number: e420vl
"our first time buying hd tv & we couldn't be happier for the price we paid (same price in store as online for really good 'out the door' price)... easy to set up and connect input(s), our current satellite provider doesn't output hdmi so video isn't terrific but when viewing HD broadcast over air (w/ antenna input) picture is GREAT!! (btw: you don't have to pay for network HD service) As others have reviewed sound isn't outstanding but we ran audio to stereo speakers w/ excellent results if we decide to turn on stereo... hope this review helps!!"
Review 15 for VIZIO 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2010

Vizio

Pros: cost
Model Number: 420vl
"I had similar problems as other reviewers have noted. The volume changing during commercials can be corrected by turning off a volume feature in the menu. The fuzzy line I corrected by changing the resolution feature on my Directv to the crop format. This only occurs on broadcast stations with 4:3 broadcast. The picture is great and can be adjusted for individual preferences. Customer service has been good."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VIZIO 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dorado, PR
Date:September 22, 2010

Good Price, Excelent Image, Poor Sound...

Pros: price value and costco warranty
Cons: poor sound, usb only read pictures
Model Number: VIZIO 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV 1080p - Item # 542800
"A great price for a LCD 42" 1080p & 120Hz. I expected 4 HDMI but, 3 is OK. Image was great, with many different Pre-Set available (Movie, Vivid, etc.), including a Custom Settings Preset. I came from a 2005 Sony CRT HDTV and Black Level is not that great, but, I understand this is a LCD issue.
Sound is AWFUL! You could buy the cheaper ALTEC LANSING Computer Speaker available in the market, and get a better sound than integrated Speakers. I really don't care about the sound, because I have it hooked to a Bose Home Teather System.
If you expect to watch videos thru USB port, like the previous model, forget it... USB port only read Pictures. I never expected to buy a VIZIO but, honestly, COSTCO provide 2 years warranty, and another year when you use American Express Credit Card. And overall, is a great buy."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIZIO 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:September 20, 2010

My 2nd Visio

"I am returning this unit. I will probably get another. This is my second Visio and was happy with my last one.
The 2 HDMI ports on the back do not work. The picture is super bright and clear with the factory settings. I will play with the new one to get a more natural looking color.
There is also a "fuzz" line that appears at the top of the screen sometimes. I dont know if this is a Dish issue or the tv. I didnt have a problem in the past.
Customer service was helpful and willing to send someone out free of charge but I will be utilizing the Costco return policy (the reason I bought at Costco in the first place) to hopefully avoid a complete lemon."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VIZIO 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MI
Date:September 18, 2010

HORRIBLE PRODUCT, HORRIBLE COMPANY

Model Number: VX42L
"My VIZIO failed just a month out of the 1-yr warranty window and I called VIZIO directly in hopes of getting some help with troubleshooting and repair. They did try to help me source the problem but refused to do anything else accept give me a toll-free number to a national repair service that does not cover my area. Basically, they tried to make my problem with VIZIO, someone else's problem. I called back and a customer service rep yelled at me and refused to let me speak with a manager. I work in CS myself and was tactful and careful not to raise my voice despite being treated so disrespectfully. My VIZIO failed after 1-yr, then cost me $200 to fix. Spare yourself the expense and buy a better TV!"
7 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VIZIO 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2010

Excellent for the money

"I recently purchased this tv and had a similar problem with the volume to rubyndora. We called costco's tech support number and they were familiar with the problem. They walked us through it and all we had to do was turn off a setting on the menu. Visio has a feature that adjusts the sound so that it doesn't get louder during the commercials. We turned that off and it's been fine ever since. Hope this helps someone."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VIZIO 42" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2010

Great TV for the money

Pros: add a pro
Cons: add a con
"Only one bad thing but everything else good. This TV is great for the price, the only bad thing is that it only has 1 Audio/video hook-up in the back which means i have to decide between my DirecTv box, DVD player and Nintendo Wii...i ended up buying a DVD with HDMI hookups, but i'm still stuck with having to switch the plugs in the back of the TV whenever i want to play the Wii. I know everything is HDMI now in days but i'm entering the new Tech world slowly. If you have all the up to date HDMI equipment then you have nothing to worry about and this TV would be Great for you. I still love it regardless."
1 2 next>>