Customer Reviews for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount

Universal Brackets Fits Most Flat-panel TV's 37" - 65"
Average Customer Rating:
2.5 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
(out of 34 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
15
14 of 34(41%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Review 1 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:September 23, 2011

Worst Bolt & Install Spec Quality EVER!!!

Pros: can't see one... can't install
Cons: install specs are wrong, cheap metal mounting bolts shear, tv damage guaranteed
Model Number: SXDP4
"This product REALLY deserves "0" stars, but that's not an option (and it SHOULD be!).
ALL 4 HOLES for wall mounting were drilled through the drywall and into the center of wood studs using the specified 1/8" dia. drill @ 2.5" depth, and ALL 4 BOLTS were pre-threaded all the way in and out prior to installation with a deep-socket ratchet -- all prior to the actual wall base mounting.
I started mounting this and got all 4 bolts almost all the way in. I started to get to just where the washer wasn't loose, but by no means the bolt tight yet, and one of the bolts sheared off. I then started taking out each bolt, and the third bolt sheared off about 1/3 of the way out.
1. Needs Improved Bolt Quality. The Bolts are made from cheap metal, and in no way can really handle any load. This product should be recalled on that basis alone, because these bolts ARE going to fail, and damage people's TVs.
2. The Drill Bit should be a 5/32" for the wood studs, at the same 2.5" depth. I used my micrometer to register 0.175" ID on the bolts, so a 1/8" in any older construction (denser & more aged wood than much of what is used used today) is completely inadequate, expecting compression of a min. of 0.05" dia. in addition to the thread absorption & expansion."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:August 2, 2011

Low profile perfect for smaller room

Model Number: SXDP4
"I had two mount options at my local Costco. This one was the low profile one I wanted to keep the screen as close to the wall in my small great room as possible. It ended up being closer to the wall than I thought, but is all working great now. I had to return the first tv I bought because the brackets screwed in to it right where the hdmi and faceplates were located on the wall. I discovered Vizio had a tv with 8" between screw locations for wall mounting and I found a right angle power cable to fit behind the tv. No problems with the screws that have been mentioned. My dad pre-drilled the holes and hand tightened things. More time was spent figuring out the mounting directions than actually mounting it. I tied a couple knots in the release cords to get them to hang at the right height behind my 47" led screen. Also liked the website simplicity has. It did the math for me on where to drill holes for the finished height I wanted."
Review 3 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:El Paso, Texas
Date:March 23, 2011

Nice mount, no problems.

Pros: low profile tilt easy install
Cons: none for now
Model Number: SXDP4-B1 (Same as Pictured)
"I needed a mount for my new LG 55 inch LED TV. Did some research and was still unsure what to buy. I ended up at my local Costco and saw this mount. On the Simplicity website it helps you choose the mount that is right for your tv. In my case it happened to be this same one. Since my tv is about an inch thick I wanted a mount that was low profile but that would tilt as well. This mount was perfect. I had read many of the reviews and was a little nervous, but I went with it any ways. Glad I did. It was fairly easy to install. Takes about 45min to an hour once you have all the tools out. One thing that I did is buy new bolts at my local hardware instead of using the once that the mount came with. I did this just as a precaution. I had read from others that the bolts would break and I did not want to take a chance on that. Other than that everything was perfect even the tilting mechanism works like a charm. Another thing that I did was look at the installation video that is on there website. It gives you good tips for installation and how to get the tilt mechanism to work properly. Don't be afraid to try this mount, but I would recommend that you first visit there website to see if this mount is one that is recommended for your model tv."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:October 10, 2010

Nice and Solid

Model Number: SXDP4
"We purchased this wall mount at Costco, took it home and had the tv hanging on the wall within an hour. The mount went up very easily, we had no problems whatsoever with the bolts. (I would describe us as slightly mechanically inclined, but not construction/installation professionals.)
The instruction booklet was clear and easy to follow. (It says right on the first page, "do not over tighten the lag bolts.") The instructions are mostly a series of detailed pictures, which makes it very easy to follow along with.
The product felt very secure to the wall, the wall mount itself is pretty heavy and seems to be very well constructed. The tv we purchased was large and seemed heavy, but when we attached it to the wall mount it was solid, I feel like the tv is very secure.
The one thing that is not mentioned anywhere (until you get the box open and read the included instruction book) is that the tilting feature is only for televisions less than 2" thick. We have a plasma tv that is more than 2" thick, so we can't tilt ours. The way it is worded in the manual is, "if your tv is greater than or equal to 2" thick, you do not need to adjust the tilt setting." I objected to this at first, but now that the tv has been up there for awhile, I do agree, there is no reason to tilt, it simply doesn't need to be adjusted. I think the tilt is more for the thinner LCD type tv models that are a little harder to see from certain angles. Ours being a plasma, we have not had any issues like that.
The strings that function as the adjustment mechanism for the tilt do hang right at the bottom of the tv, and are visible from most angles, so I took a piece of tape and just taped them up out of sight and it looks great.
We have little kids running around and we simply cannot have the tv sitting on a stand, or hanging on a mount that is not 100% solid. This mount is perfect for our needs and we are very happy with this purchase!! It did cost a little more than other mounts I looked at, but in my opinion it's definitely worth it.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:May 14, 2011

Can't get it level at every position

Model Number: The one for the 19"-47" TV
"Everything was going smoothly as I mounted my new 40" Sony on the wall. Got the mounting bracket level on the wall, and the brackets on the TV level. Hung it, no problem. Did the final leveling after it was hung, no problem. But when I went to move the TV around to different positions bending the elbow different ways, various positions were not level! I put it back to the first position and it was level! So, maybe the TV is too heavy or lopsided or something. Called Cust Serv, he didnt act overly surprised. He said to tinker with it and adjust the brackets to find a "happy medium" where all the positions would be "acceptable". No thanks. I am so bummed that I wasted 4 hours putting this thing together so carefully!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:April 20, 2011

Ok mount... Look for better.

Pros: tv still on wall. super flush mount.
Cons: cheap parts. mount flexes some
"I used this on a 60" LCD Aquos. This mount looks nice in hand but here is the deal:
Cheap is the first word. Snapped one of the lags during installation even pre-drilling with recommended drill bit.
Plastic lock tabs for bottom rail of mount. While they havent broken, I have only seen metal everything on other mounts.
For the price I feel like $40 range is appropriate. Must say though tv is on the wall still. Hard to get exactly level because after leveling the mount and installing the tv, it flexes enough to move the bubble on the level.
Overall, if you are at costco and need a mount today, it works. If you have a little longer to look for another, go that route."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:January 24, 2011

Quality & Features Lacking

Model Number: 37" - 65" Tilting Wall Mount937654
"Bought this mount for our 58 inch Panasonic plasma TV. Since my set has the HDMI input connectors facing the wall, I had to use the largest shim to provide enough clearance. Even with this extra spacing, the HDMI cable had to be bent 90 degrees over a two inch span to insert. The biggest issue is that the tv would now tilt down if slightly touched. There is no solid lock to freeze the angle of tilt. All higher end mounts have two friction knobs to maintain any tilt angle. Also, I found the two pull strings to be very crude and ackward to release the bottom of the tv, necessary for removal or cable adjustments. Took mount back to Costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Woodstock, IL
Date:June 26, 2011

Great Product - Read Instructions

"I had this wall mount up in about 30 minutes and the TV on it. Would have been done in 20, had I not been so worried about making sure I found the wall stud. If you read the directions THOROUGHLY you will not have issues with bolts breaking, TV not tilting. It says what TV's shouldn't tilt. Overall...great product for the price. That being said, it's not the world's greatest, but for the price it is very quality. Instructions were easy to use and explained a LOT of important things. If you don't read the instructions all of the way prior to starting you will think this is a very cheap product that doesn't do what it suppose to."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:December 30, 2010

Weak Lag Bolts

Pros: many screw sizes(width/depth/spacers) to attach tv
Cons: weak lag bolts
"The lag bolt sheared as I was screwing them in. Do not over tighten it says, I hadn't finished screwing it all the way and was nowhere near over-tightening. If you buy this item, toss out the provided lag bolts and go buy some good ones. I called the support number and they offered to send me replacement bolts. The service representative made it sound like it was a common occurrence, even discussing how I should be able to back them out easily. When I expressed concern for securing the mount with the weak lag bolts, she commented that they were standard bolts, but that I could purchase stronger ones if it made me feel better."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2010

Good Product, Poor Quality Mounting Hardware

Pros: good mount
Cons: poor lag bolts
"I found this item to be perfect for my needs but it was not easy to install. The lag bolts supplied to mount it to the studs in the wall twisted off in the studs just below the head. Fortunately I had some better quality lag bolts to use. But, because the supplied lag bolts were in the wall without heads I had to start over with the better lag bolts and in a slightly different location."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Holmdel, NJ
Date:May 23, 2011

CHEAP

"This product is poorly engineered. I have a 50" plasma mounted on this mount. Even with the tv mounted at the lowest portion of the mount, it is top heavy and it does not lock into the cheap swivel tabs. The tv is now always in a downward leaning position. I would definately not recommend it for plasma tv's due to the weight."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Corona, CA
Date:October 15, 2011

Poor Quality and design

Model Number: Simplicity
"Bold are broken easily with hand tool wrench, String pull off to activate the tilt is also snap off. After all TV is rocking when I need to clean it. I think it too late for remove and return. Finally Bad Design and Poor Quality"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:North Idaho
Date:October 31, 2010

A slight problem

Pros: easy to understand and assemble
Cons: threads missing on the wing nut
Model Number: AMF1-B1
"Everything was easy to understand and it fit as it states. However when it came to the part where the "wing nut" bolts the mounting baracket holding the T.V. to the wall arm. That was a problem, and we ended up getting out the Machine TOOL-SET called "Tap and Die."
IF it was not something we had on hand then I fail to see how any other person could have gotten it on. The wing nut had not been threaded at the factory.
IT could be we just lucked out and it was a mistake, however be sure to check that your wing nut goes on the bolt before you get to the part you are holding the T.V. and ready to put it on to the wall mount.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:July 1, 2011

DO NOT BUY

"2 Lag bolts broke and I wasn't even 1/2 of the way to screwing them in. A Lag bolt should NEVER break off. That is unacceptable for a product. I would not recommend this product at all."
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:March 6, 2011

poor material quality, returned

Cons: lag bolts broke when removing tv, tilt pull cords didn't work
Model Number: Simplicity model no. SXDP4
"The unit was easy to install, etc. no problems.
However, when we needed to take the TV down temporarily, we followed the instructions but the pulldown cords didn't work and when we were finally able to remove it, 2 of the 4 lagbolts holding the wall bracket on the wall broke.
When the pull cords didn't work, we had to manually tilt the TV forward. We tested returning the TV to flush and realized that you had to push hard, so hard you wonder if you'll damage the TV. Additionally, any pressure on the TV caused it to tilt forward without touching the tilt-pull cords as the click bracket didn't hold well.
When we lifted and removed the TV from the wallbracket, the bottom lagbolts snapped off the wall. We had only used the tilt feature during installing and removing the TV so it wasn't a question of metal fatigue from frequent use. This is only a 42" TV and the unit is rated for up to 65" TVs.
At one point we contemplated having a TV permanently stuck on the wall.
So while the wall mount was okay initially, one might need to remove the TV and it should not be problematic. I don't feel comfortable using this same mount to put the TV back on the wall given these problems. We have this same brand mount on our 55" plasma but it extends from the wall and is a great mount, albeit at twice the price so we'll probably get that same mount.
"
Review 16 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fresno, CA
Date:November 5, 2011

Cheap Quality, Screws Snap Off

Cons: cheap quality, inferior materials, screws will break
Model Number: Simplicity SXDP4b
"Was really excited to finally mount my 50" plasma, but disappointed with the Simplicity SXDP4b. The lag screw to mount tv into wall stud broke while I was tightening it. The screw didn't even tighten 3/4 of the way and part of the screw is stuck in my wall and the other part snapped off.
I read the instructions, which said not to tighten lag screws too much, and was being careful, too. This just reeks of cheap quality and craftsmanship. Do not trust your TV (costing hundreds to thousands of dollars) to this brand. I hope Costco stops selling Simplicity products.
Thanks to Costco's great return policy, I will at least get a refund."
Review 17 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2010

Not Bad

Pros: nice finish on brackets
Cons: cheap lag bolts
"First thing after taking it out of the box throw away the cheap looking lag bolts and buy new ones. They are cheap. I broke 1 of the 4. Use a diameter drill slightly less than the solid portion of the bolt and put wax on the threads. The drill is not 1/8 like the directions says. The mounting washers are pretty cheap too.
I also had a problem because the wall mount bracket slots did not go to 32" and I had to use 2 off center studs to center my TV. I could see where on some sets the TV brackets could interfere with inputs. I liked the release pulls and for now the TV nicely tilts in any position."
Review 18 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Hillsboro, OR
Date:March 2, 2011

No good, do not buy

Cons: lag bolts, tilt function
Model Number: SXDP4-B
"Same story, different user. Lag bolts snapped off while installing and don't tell me the directions state to make sure and not overtighten them. They snapped off before I even reached the point of tightening all the way. That should never happen. Furthermore, my TV will not stay in the vertical position. I click it into place and within seconds the clips let go and the TV tilts forward suddenly scaring the stuff out of me.
Now I need to decide if it's worth the trouble of removing the TV from the wall, taking the mount off and returning it. It was such a pain to install in the first place"
Review 19 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vacaville Calif.
Date:September 16, 2011

Just watch video

Model Number: sxdp4
"This was easy to install if you watched the video. We did not even watch the whole video just enough to figure out which screws were which. We went directly into wood studs even though they were not evenly spaced. If you drill deep enough into the studs and use a manual ratchet slowly the lag bolts should be just fine. Don't force the bolts. Holds my 40 inch Toshiba perfectly. The release strings do show. I just tucked them up behind the mount."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:April 27, 2011

Not worth the money

Cons: won't stop tilting forward
Model Number: Simplicity SXDP4
"Hubby spent 5 hours installing and all went great until we got the 42" hung and it won't stay in the "straight up" position and keeps wanting to tilt forward. It takes a pretty hard push to get it back in place. I heard it tilt forward in the middle of the night. There is no way to secure it and it will be a lot of work to replace it so we are going to have to "jimmy rig" it somehow to keep it in place."
1 2 next>>