Customer Reviews for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount

Universal Brackets Fits Most Flat-panel TV's 37" - 65"
Average Customer Rating:
2.5 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
(out of 34 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
15
14 of 34(41%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Review 1 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fresno, CA
Date:November 5, 2011

Cheap Quality, Screws Snap Off

Cons: cheap quality, inferior materials, screws will break
Model Number: Simplicity SXDP4b
"Was really excited to finally mount my 50" plasma, but disappointed with the Simplicity SXDP4b. The lag screw to mount tv into wall stud broke while I was tightening it. The screw didn't even tighten 3/4 of the way and part of the screw is stuck in my wall and the other part snapped off.
I read the instructions, which said not to tighten lag screws too much, and was being careful, too. This just reeks of cheap quality and craftsmanship. Do not trust your TV (costing hundreds to thousands of dollars) to this brand. I hope Costco stops selling Simplicity products.
Thanks to Costco's great return policy, I will at least get a refund."
Review 2 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Corona, CA
Date:October 15, 2011

Poor Quality and design

Model Number: Simplicity
"Bold are broken easily with hand tool wrench, String pull off to activate the tilt is also snap off. After all TV is rocking when I need to clean it. I think it too late for remove and return. Finally Bad Design and Poor Quality"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:September 23, 2011

Worst Bolt & Install Spec Quality EVER!!!

Pros: can't see one... can't install
Cons: install specs are wrong, cheap metal mounting bolts shear, tv damage guaranteed
Model Number: SXDP4
"This product REALLY deserves "0" stars, but that's not an option (and it SHOULD be!).
ALL 4 HOLES for wall mounting were drilled through the drywall and into the center of wood studs using the specified 1/8" dia. drill @ 2.5" depth, and ALL 4 BOLTS were pre-threaded all the way in and out prior to installation with a deep-socket ratchet -- all prior to the actual wall base mounting.
I started mounting this and got all 4 bolts almost all the way in. I started to get to just where the washer wasn't loose, but by no means the bolt tight yet, and one of the bolts sheared off. I then started taking out each bolt, and the third bolt sheared off about 1/3 of the way out.
1. Needs Improved Bolt Quality. The Bolts are made from cheap metal, and in no way can really handle any load. This product should be recalled on that basis alone, because these bolts ARE going to fail, and damage people's TVs.
2. The Drill Bit should be a 5/32" for the wood studs, at the same 2.5" depth. I used my micrometer to register 0.175" ID on the bolts, so a 1/8" in any older construction (denser & more aged wood than much of what is used used today) is completely inadequate, expecting compression of a min. of 0.05" dia. in addition to the thread absorption & expansion."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vacaville Calif.
Date:September 16, 2011

Just watch video

Model Number: sxdp4
"This was easy to install if you watched the video. We did not even watch the whole video just enough to figure out which screws were which. We went directly into wood studs even though they were not evenly spaced. If you drill deep enough into the studs and use a manual ratchet slowly the lag bolts should be just fine. Don't force the bolts. Holds my 40 inch Toshiba perfectly. The release strings do show. I just tucked them up behind the mount."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara, ca
Date:August 6, 2011

Bottom latches will not secure

"It appears the wall mount bracket was overbent causing the spring loaded plastic latches to never engage. Called customer support, they agreed it appeared to be a manufacturing defect."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:August 2, 2011

Low profile perfect for smaller room

Model Number: SXDP4
"I had two mount options at my local Costco. This one was the low profile one I wanted to keep the screen as close to the wall in my small great room as possible. It ended up being closer to the wall than I thought, but is all working great now. I had to return the first tv I bought because the brackets screwed in to it right where the hdmi and faceplates were located on the wall. I discovered Vizio had a tv with 8" between screw locations for wall mounting and I found a right angle power cable to fit behind the tv. No problems with the screws that have been mentioned. My dad pre-drilled the holes and hand tightened things. More time was spent figuring out the mounting directions than actually mounting it. I tied a couple knots in the release cords to get them to hang at the right height behind my 47" led screen. Also liked the website simplicity has. It did the math for me on where to drill holes for the finished height I wanted."
Review 7 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:July 1, 2011

DO NOT BUY

"2 Lag bolts broke and I wasn't even 1/2 of the way to screwing them in. A Lag bolt should NEVER break off. That is unacceptable for a product. I would not recommend this product at all."
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Woodstock, IL
Date:June 26, 2011

Great Product - Read Instructions

"I had this wall mount up in about 30 minutes and the TV on it. Would have been done in 20, had I not been so worried about making sure I found the wall stud. If you read the directions THOROUGHLY you will not have issues with bolts breaking, TV not tilting. It says what TV's shouldn't tilt. Overall...great product for the price. That being said, it's not the world's greatest, but for the price it is very quality. Instructions were easy to use and explained a LOT of important things. If you don't read the instructions all of the way prior to starting you will think this is a very cheap product that doesn't do what it suppose to."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Date:June 14, 2011

Horrible

Cons: poor design, get what you pay for
"this is a poorly designed and even more poorly executed wall mount. there is no room for wires, cables, etc behind the tv. The strings you need to pull (shown hanging in pic) to unlock the springs to get the tv down broke off!! It cost me an extra $185 to have a professional come in to deal with it. Dont try and save a buck, go with Omnimount."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cali
Date:June 13, 2011

We made it work...

Pros: great price, sturdy
Cons: awful instructions, pull-tab release
"Once your able to decipher the generic picture instructions, its a breeze. Great price compared to other retailers-it is Costco, you can always take it back. Personally do not like the pull-tab release feature, taped them up because they dangled below the frame of our TV. Easily holds our 55" LED snug to the wall."
Review 11 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Holmdel, NJ
Date:May 23, 2011

CHEAP

"This product is poorly engineered. I have a 50" plasma mounted on this mount. Even with the tv mounted at the lowest portion of the mount, it is top heavy and it does not lock into the cheap swivel tabs. The tv is now always in a downward leaning position. I would definately not recommend it for plasma tv's due to the weight."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Concord, CA
Date:May 15, 2011

Unfunctional Design

"Install was easy but the toggle bolts were junk. I had three out of four heads shear off. For the first few months it worked just fine. But recently it started randomly tilting forward. It might work for smaller and lighter panels but this Simplicity mount can't support our 50" plasma."
Review 13 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:May 14, 2011

Can't get it level at every position

Model Number: The one for the 19"-47" TV
"Everything was going smoothly as I mounted my new 40" Sony on the wall. Got the mounting bracket level on the wall, and the brackets on the TV level. Hung it, no problem. Did the final leveling after it was hung, no problem. But when I went to move the TV around to different positions bending the elbow different ways, various positions were not level! I put it back to the first position and it was level! So, maybe the TV is too heavy or lopsided or something. Called Cust Serv, he didnt act overly surprised. He said to tinker with it and adjust the brackets to find a "happy medium" where all the positions would be "acceptable". No thanks. I am so bummed that I wasted 4 hours putting this thing together so carefully!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:bothell WA
Date:May 3, 2011

easy install, good for 55"

"Bought this wall mount in costco store, very easy to install and good qulity for my 55" sony LED TV. However needs 2 person to hang on the wall!"
Review 15 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:April 27, 2011

Not worth the money

Cons: won't stop tilting forward
Model Number: Simplicity SXDP4
"Hubby spent 5 hours installing and all went great until we got the 42" hung and it won't stay in the "straight up" position and keeps wanting to tilt forward. It takes a pretty hard push to get it back in place. I heard it tilt forward in the middle of the night. There is no way to secure it and it will be a lot of work to replace it so we are going to have to "jimmy rig" it somehow to keep it in place."
Review 16 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:April 20, 2011

Ok mount... Look for better.

Pros: tv still on wall. super flush mount.
Cons: cheap parts. mount flexes some
"I used this on a 60" LCD Aquos. This mount looks nice in hand but here is the deal:
Cheap is the first word. Snapped one of the lags during installation even pre-drilling with recommended drill bit.
Plastic lock tabs for bottom rail of mount. While they havent broken, I have only seen metal everything on other mounts.
For the price I feel like $40 range is appropriate. Must say though tv is on the wall still. Hard to get exactly level because after leveling the mount and installing the tv, it flexes enough to move the bubble on the level.
Overall, if you are at costco and need a mount today, it works. If you have a little longer to look for another, go that route."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:April 19, 2011

Don't waste your money

"Take the advice you are reading and don't buy this unit. Mounts easy enough but can't support a 50" TV in the flat position. The mount keeps releasing tilting the TV forward. Poor quality unit."
Review 18 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:El Paso, Texas
Date:March 23, 2011

Nice mount, no problems.

Pros: low profile tilt easy install
Cons: none for now
Model Number: SXDP4-B1 (Same as Pictured)
"I needed a mount for my new LG 55 inch LED TV. Did some research and was still unsure what to buy. I ended up at my local Costco and saw this mount. On the Simplicity website it helps you choose the mount that is right for your tv. In my case it happened to be this same one. Since my tv is about an inch thick I wanted a mount that was low profile but that would tilt as well. This mount was perfect. I had read many of the reviews and was a little nervous, but I went with it any ways. Glad I did. It was fairly easy to install. Takes about 45min to an hour once you have all the tools out. One thing that I did is buy new bolts at my local hardware instead of using the once that the mount came with. I did this just as a precaution. I had read from others that the bolts would break and I did not want to take a chance on that. Other than that everything was perfect even the tilting mechanism works like a charm. Another thing that I did was look at the installation video that is on there website. It gives you good tips for installation and how to get the tilt mechanism to work properly. Don't be afraid to try this mount, but I would recommend that you first visit there website to see if this mount is one that is recommended for your model tv."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:March 8, 2011

Not for Panasonic

Pros: nice tilt feature, adjustability for stud location
Cons: cheap bolts/lag screws, confusing directions, not enough space from wall to back of tv
Model Number: Model SXDP4b
"Sheared off two bolts when installing it (CHEAP BOLTS) and it did not give proper clearance from the wall for the cords (needed an additional 1/2 inch). Wasted 5 hours installing it (installation + time to get new screws) to find out it did not have the room."
Review 20 for Simplicity 37"-65" Tilting TV Wall Mount
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:March 8, 2011

Good Product

Pros: easy to install all parts well made.
Cons: none
"Easy to install and is very well made. No problems with any of the mounting hardware etc. and all necessary parts were in package. Took forever to get here by UPS but what can you do."
1 2 next>>