Customer Reviews for Q-See 4 Channel H.264 Security DVR FREE SHIPPING

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Q-See 4 Channel H.264 Security DVR FREE SHIPPING

2 CMOS Day/Night Cameras 2 Decoy Cameras 250GB Hard Drive Monitor via Smartphone
Average Customer Rating:
2.615 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
6 of 13(46%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Q-See 4 Channel H.264 Security DVR FREE SHIPPING
Review 1 for Q-See 4 Channel H.264 Security DVR FREE SHIPPING
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:September 4, 2010

Cheap product

"This is a very cheap product. I had it hook up to monitor my driveway, but can't even read the license plate or the person's face within 15 feet in day time. If you want it for night vision use, don't even bother."
22 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Q-See 4 Channel H.264 Security DVR FREE SHIPPING
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:TX
Date:September 7, 2010

DVR surveilance w/cameras

"Very good quality for the price, easy setup. Easy viewing on Itouch and Sprint EVO android phone. Great gadget I can watch my house from anywhere,"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Q-See 4 Channel H.264 Security DVR FREE SHIPPING
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:October 2, 2010

Marginal at best

Cons: obscure menu structure, manual sketchy (what's "extra stream"), camera noise triggers motion detect constantly, cmos camera image quality low
Model Number: QC-444
"I should have take a clue from the company's website FAQ that admits, in effect, that the supplied CMOS cameras give poor image quality. I am using it with other cameras. Trying to catch a dog pooping on our lawn, unsuccessful to date. As a computer system developer, I find the user interface poorly designed, with related functions in different branches of the interface. Manual is sketchy, printed manual has dark, blurry screen shots. PDF not much better. Have not gotten Web interface to work, Explorer keeps rejecting it for security reasons. Tech support (e-mail) is slow and unhelpful. Motion detect is easily triggered by camera noise, so has proven useless so far."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Q-See 4 Channel H.264 Security DVR FREE SHIPPING
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:September 26, 2010

Good for the money

Pros: price
Cons: definitely for a tech savvy person., the manual is marginal at best.
Model Number: QC444-426
"This security camera and DVR serves the purpose for which it was purchased. Hopefully it will last many years. It was fairly easy to setup using the DVR, but getting it to work over the internet proved challenging. A tech savvy person should be able to work through the process, but the manual left something to be desired. Most of the features of their software are not adequately explained.
I did not call their tech support. I did send them a email question earlier today, and hopefully they will respond within 24 hours."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Q-See 4 Channel H.264 Security DVR FREE SHIPPING
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:November 7, 2010

Excellent for Home/ Small Business

Pros: many features for the money!, email customer service and they'll call back!
Cons: plan some time to customize the system
Model Number: QC444
"I recently purchased this as a stand alone DVR (no cameras) for an existing setup. This DVR has all the features most people will need! The web interface is feature rich and picture quality is acceptable. Some of the nice features include:
* Ability to restrict users from seeing all cameras
* Internet Access
* Smart phone/ iPhone access
* Email motion detection
* Full control from web browser
* Additional application to control system called PSS.
Great system for the money!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Q-See 4 Channel H.264 Security DVR FREE SHIPPING
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose, Ca
Date:September 22, 2010

Customer Service?

"Easy set up as far as hardware, but the software is horrible. Customer service is only open during normal business hours, yet this is a do it yourself item. Saturday or evenings are out when you try to set up the interface. Then...skip that and go to the online set up so that you can access from another computer or your phone. Product is not supported on the website it directs you to. I just got back from returning it to the warehouse. Time for a bigger dog!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Q-See 4 Channel H.264 Security DVR FREE SHIPPING
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:October 12, 2010

Difficult to install

Model Number: QC444
"Don't even bother installing this yourself. It took 1/2 a day to get it installed, only to find out the images would not appear onto my computer. I called QC's customer service and their technicians are very unhelpful. I was given the 'run-around.' They probably would've helped me if I decided to have one of their professionals install it at a premium price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Q-See 4 Channel H.264 Security DVR FREE SHIPPING
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:State oif Jefferson, OR
Date:September 15, 2010

Worst Customer Service

"Cheap cameras, poor quality image, the worst customer service I have ever seen, On hold for 40-60 minutes waiting for a tech to get no useful information. Pay a little more and go with another company. Can't get it to work with Android."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Q-See 4 Channel H.264 Security DVR FREE SHIPPING
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:california
Date:September 23, 2010

Good for the $$$$

"I own an ice ream shop and it works great for the price. The image is good!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Q-See 4 Channel H.264 Security DVR FREE SHIPPING
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Mexico
Date:November 3, 2010

bad

Pros: costco return was hassle-free
Cons: the hassle cost me more than the original cost., q-see doesn't respond to customer complaints.
"I bought two of these units. Both had a non-functional camera in the package. I emailed Q-SEE and got NO response. Finally returned to Costco, no problems there. Costco, quit carrying this product!"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Q-See 4 Channel H.264 Security DVR FREE SHIPPING
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:November 3, 2010

not for the faint of heart

Pros: solid hardware
Cons: difficult network setup
Model Number: QC444
"Hardware is good; easy initial setup of cameras with DVR; the hard part is making it visible over the internet with computer, ipad or smart phone. It is possible, but you won't be successful the first time you try and your best asset is the web chat help on the Q-see website. You will be able to get it to work eventually, but not without some frustration and time spent. This is not a plug and play experience unless you are a network engineer."
Review 12 for Q-See 4 Channel H.264 Security DVR FREE SHIPPING
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Riverside,CA
Date:September 22, 2010

Right for the money

Pros: good price for the budget and functions
Cons: difficult to connect to internet, waiting time too long for customer service
Model Number: QC444
"Difficult to connect to internet. However,after several emails and 2 phone calls to Q-See tech support I was able to see the image from internet. Good for indoor with some lighting. Once the job is done,it is an amazing product for the price you pay."
Review 13 for Q-See 4 Channel H.264 Security DVR FREE SHIPPING
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hayward CA
Date:September 25, 2010

very good item#

Model Number: Item # 528585
"very good price
fast ship
thanks!
was a very good Price."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.