Customer Reviews for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket

Receives Both UHF and High-Band VHF No Monthly Fees
Average Customer Rating:
4.216 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(153 Reviews) 153
(out of 153 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (153 reviews)
5 stars
104
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
17
128 of 153(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Review 1 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Geneva, IL
Date:September 27, 2010

We are definitely impressed!

Pros: for a handy guy easy installation.
Cons: none so far.
"We currently have four TVs (3 purchased through Costco in the past year and half to replace "old" TVs) and were using our 24 year old antenna located in the attic. We also were using an amplifier splitter to hook all TVs into the antenna. When we saw the Winegard FreeVision antenna for sale through Costco we thought we might as well try it. We have installed the antenna on the south side of the house where we have our deck and since the deck faces south, we had previously built a screen above a portion of the deck to provide shade. My husband mounted the antenna to an upright pipe which allowed the antenna to be off the ground about 10-12 feet. We checked out our neighbor's satellite dish and positioned our antenna at a similar angle and went from there. We connected the cable to the amplifier splitter we had been using. Let me also say we have many mature trees in our neighborhood and a 15 foot maple tree about ten feet from the side of the antenna. We are amazed by the reception we are getting in a western suburb of Chicago."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Los Angeles, CA
Date:October 1, 2010

The Little Antenna That Could

"This thing actually works. I live in the desert north of L.A. I am outside of the claimed range of this thing, yet I am able to receive the big three networks,along with Fox, KCAL9, KCOP13, all in full digital glory. It is on my single story roof with a cable run of about 60ft. The directions could be better, but let's face it, the directions could always be better. Don't let that deter you though, it's not rocket science. With Costco's return policy, you don't have much to lose."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:October 24, 2010

Easy assembly; very good reception

Pros: easy assembly, great value
"This item ships with the same mounting post as an existing satellite dish that was on the house so I removed the dish and installed the new antenna. The run from the antenna to the TV is about 75' so I wasn't sure if I would need a signal booster as the instructions suggest you might if the run is more than 50'. This replaced a Radio Shack TV 500 portable indoor antenna that cost $24 a couple of years ago. I am able to pick up a few more stations (each one with 2 or more substations) than before and all the stations now come in without any additional adjustment that the Radio Shack would often require."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2010

Worth every penny!

Model Number: Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna
"I do not have cable and since the switch to over the air Digital finding an antenna to pick up channels has been difficult even in the city. This is GREAT! I now receive 49 channels and the signal is so strong and never freezes up. All I did was hang it on an existing nail on the exterior of my house pointing in the general direction of the stations and scan and I have not had to adjust it or anything. I have not even put it on the mast yet! It is light weight but sturdy and simple to put together. If you don't pay for cable this is the BEST antenna and great price!"
Review 5 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2010

Good reception

"This antenna has good reception and get channels that I never can get in the past"
Review 6 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angles County
Date:November 17, 2010

Great for Outdoor HDTV Antenna - L.A. County

Pros: compact, great prince
"This Antenna is great because it is compact which my Home Association did not reject it. It has been great reception even though I live on the borderline of Orange County and Los Angeles County. After replace the indoor Phillips rabbit ears, I had about additional 30+ channel and the ABC, NBC even the Fox shows up clear. Good buy for the prince."
Review 7 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Foster City, CA
Date:November 20, 2010

Reliable Replacement for Comcast

Pros: works well
"I used this to replace my Comcast basic service in the SF Bay Area (Foster City). I am using this as an internal antenna with a Panasonic Viera Plasma TV. My apartment does not face Sutro tower. I am using a 6ft cable and keep the antenna close to the window. It works very well. I get more channels than I used to get with the Basic cable. HD looks fantastic. During the first few days I used to get frequent pixelation with Channels 2 and 5. Somehow it seemed to settle down after 5 to 10 minutes of viewing. After a week of using this antenna, I rarely get any pixelation on Channel 2 and 5. Other channels always came in very clear. Googling for this product there are other sites, that with shipping, offer it for $5 cheaper. However I did buy it from Costco due to the excellent return policy and the fact that I was skeptical that it would deliver the quality results. However, I will be keeping this unit. Sure beats the $18 monthly charged by Comcast."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Battle Ground, WA
Date:January 25, 2011

Better than our other Amplified Antenna

"This item was half as expensive as another antenna that we have installed and delivers greater channel reception on the same residence. I would recommend this to anyone who desires to watch free TV."
Review 9 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Date:January 27, 2011

No snow

Pros: very light and insignificant on roof
Cons: can't use splitters
"You don't need any converters for your old or new TVs. Very sharp and clear pictures. However, the cable has to go directly to antennae. If you use splitters the picture quality will not be sharp."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Valdosta, Ga
Date:February 2, 2011

Surprisingly good.

Pros: excellent price, excellent reception, quick assenbly
Cons: none
Model Number: FV-HDCO FreeVision Antenna
"We live about 55 to 60 miles from the TV stations(as the crow flies) and were hoping for two or three channels. I put it together and hand held it while inside. We got eight or nine and they were crystal clear. Goodbye satellite TV. Most of what we watch is on the four major networks and they came in great."
Review 11 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Woodinville, WA
Date:February 3, 2011

Fantastic! Works great!

Pros: price, size, includes all mounting hardware
Cons: determining optimal position
"I was amazed with both how small this is, and how well it works. I put it up in my attic, ran a wire and now all HD channels (except for 15.1, for some reason, probably due to the direction) come in perfectly! Way better HD quality then cable provides. Highly recommended."
Review 12 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Date:February 5, 2011

Better than expected!

"Thanks to all who bought this antenna before me and for posting your reviews. I am a very satisfied customer after using this antenna. This don't even compare to the previuos ones that I was using for the same Samsung HDTV/PC Monitor I got from Costco, I tried other brands, the amplified and the one with signal booster and the this Winegard FreeVision HDTV antenna alone, not connected to signal amplifier has bested everything I had, I was able to pull Ch. 13-1 which is weird because I only live less than a mile from the Town Center. Oh by the way, my antenna is not even properly set up yet, it's still sitting on the table next to the TV but I'm extremely satisfied with results, thank you Costco for another quality product."
Review 13 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO
Date:February 7, 2011

great little antenna

"I live about 15 miles from several stations, and this antenna brings them all in nicely (15 channels) as it sits behind my TV! more than I expected, and I don't have to crawl into the attic!"
Review 14 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:miami
Date:February 17, 2011

get rid of cable. Great reception

Pros: easy to set up. works from inside too.
Model Number: Winegard freevision
"Bought antenna to replace cable. In my location in Miami tuned in to 53 channels, some not to my liking but all the basic channels and more came in with amazing picture clarity. Had to add another antenna to tune in a channel that was 180 degrees opposite other channels. All came out to less than a month of cable. Saved enough to buy a TIVO so I can record the shows and see them when convinient."
Review 15 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Paul, MN
Date:February 22, 2011

Worth every cent

"Works perfect as described. Even indoors I'm having great reception with it stashed away in a closet. It's proved to provide the best picture possible over Cable or Dish... now I can actually notice when they use a camera not up to spec. If I had to nit pick, the directions could've been written a little better.
Avoid high priced and amplified antenna's when this thing does everything for much less."
Review 16 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose California
Date:March 2, 2011

Excellent

"I was shocked. The antenna works excellent. I have not complaints. It is a Antenna. No more cable bills. My bill was $80-$120 a month. Now it is $0.00. You cant beat that. I can treat myself to a gift a month from Costco!!!!"
Review 17 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Western Arizona
Date:March 2, 2011

Satisfied Customer

Pros: costo's return policy
"This product works very good in our son's home in Colorado but unfortunately it did not for us. We probably live too far from a tower as we couldn't get a signal out here in the Arizona desert. We returned it to Costco today and was refunded the full price. Thank you for your great return policy!"
Review 18 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Date:March 3, 2011

Great for the Price!

Pros: free channels over the air
Model Number: 529158
"I mounted it directly above above the one set that it is hooked up to on the wall in our family room. In our case it actually blends in quite well on the dark paneling and is not too obtrusive.
I did experiment by hooking it up through the former cable company lines and laying it on the roof of the house, but I noticed that we also lost some fo the channels we had gained by doing this. Likely this was caused by the length of cable involved, plus being unable to get a proper aim on the antennae direction.
It was a vast improvement over plain or amplified rabbit ears. We have picked up several more channels, and some of the former channels that had been pixalating now come through clear. It does make a difference in the direction of mounting and the room. Our living room will not pick up as many channels when trying the antennae on that set. My guess is that there are too many obstructions in the house construction. The family room aim has it going through just a window only."
Review 19 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Gatos, CA
Date:March 4, 2011

Cut the Cable Cord

"Go over the air to see real HD...Had Direct and moved to Cable and both were showing local channels in HD (or so they claimed). Over the air HD using this Antenna is far superior in quality in SanJose/LosGatos area. And this little Winegard gets us 77 channels - all for free - YES! Cut that cable cord!"
Review 20 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ALLEN TEXAS.
Date:March 7, 2011

YES I HAVE THE BEST PICTURE.

Model Number: 529158
"THIS ANTENNA WORKS LIKE CABLE,IT GIVE ME MOOR THAN 40 CHANELS."
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>