Customer Reviews for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket

Receives Both UHF and High-Band VHF No Monthly Fees
Average Customer Rating:
4.216 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(153 Reviews) 153
(out of 153 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (153 reviews)
5 stars
104
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
17
128 of 153(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Review 1 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Irvington/Tarrytown, NY
Date:April 26, 2011

One of the best deals!!

Pros: easy to assemble, easy to use, good reception
Cons: antenna is a bit bulky
Model Number: FV-HDCO
"This antenna works really well. We are using it indoor with a long cable (not the one supplied with the antenna), yet it works like a charm. In the past, we have tried at least 4 other antennas; none of them could get so many channels with such a good clarity. The farthermost station we could receive clearly is located 23 miles away."
Review 2 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:white lake, mi
Date:April 21, 2011

great reception

"Had it hooked up to my tv in the garage. It was getting great reception just sitting on my work bench/next to a window. I moved it up into the attic to de-clutter bench and it still gets great reception. I live about 16 miles from most towers."
Review 3 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Great Chicago Area
Date:April 19, 2011

Great overall product!

"I install this unit on the roof of my condo building (about 55 feet high). The distance to the tower is approximately 14 miles with not many obstacles.
I did't even know there is so many channels.
Compare to my old, indoor, and more expensive antenna, this is night and day difference.
"
Review 4 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Auburn,Ca
Date:April 18, 2011

Works very well

"I live in Auburn,Ca in the Sierra foothills approximately 35 miles from the Sacramento towers.
I get all local channels and some Bay area channels.
Incredible HD picture.
Goodbye Dish"
Review 5 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eastvale, CA
Date:April 18, 2011

Best Picture Quality Ever!

Pros: inexpensive & easy to assemble
Cons: none at all
Model Number: Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna
"I purchased (4) of these Antenna's : (2) for me & (2) for my sisters. I installed the antennas the same day they were delivered and the picture quality appeared to be far better than with cable. I even ordered (4) more antennas for other friends and family members. I'm defenitely gonna cancel my cable service. Overall, I gotta say that I sure was impressed with the quality and performance of this product...thanks again Costco!"
Review 6 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:La Mesa, CA
Date:April 16, 2011

My Grandparents had a tv antenna

Pros: easy setup, amazing picture
Model Number: FV HDCO
"I bought two FreeVision antennas, one for each of two rooms 150 feet apart. The assembly, mounting, grounding, and cabling took some time, but was all very easy. I mounted both on the eaves, and used my compass app on my Fascinate for azimuth. The desired channel range was 116 degrees to 280 degrees so I thought that might be pushing it, but I aligned the FreeVisions at 198 degrees, and despite living at the bottom of a big hill, received upwards of 70 channels (many in Spanish). I selected 12 digital favorites, and the picture on the plasma is cleaner and clearer than before. And now it is free. I ditched my satellite dish, signed up for HuluPlus and Netflix, and cut my tv bill by $92/month to $23/month. Since I can still record local channels, I have more options than I had before."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:April 14, 2011

FreeVision Antenna

"The product is really well made. The mounting post and bracket are made of heavy gauge metal for sturdy support. And best of all, it works."
Review 8 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:OP, KS
Date:April 13, 2011

Best online shopping experience

Pros: great reception indoor, great price, easy assembly
Cons: none
"Ordered online. Product received timely. Opened the package. Followed the instructions to assemble it for indoor use. Connect it to TV, faced it North, where most stations are in our area. Scan the channels on TV and bam ....29 clear digital channels. Unbelievable. I am sure, if I try different positions, I could even get more channels. Resullt: Very Happy. Cut the Cord forever. Save $$$."
Review 9 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:East Bay, CA
Date:April 13, 2011

Awesome picture qaulity!

Pros: excellent price
"Full HD picture without paying for cable or satellite! This works perfectly! We put it in the attic and no one even knows we have it! We are so glad to be rid of the over priced cable bill, and we weren't even getting HD quality with them! We stream Netflix movies and shows and never miss cable! We even got one for our friend and she loves it, too!"
Review 10 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chico, CA
Date:April 6, 2011

I love it!

"I hadn't been able to get a certain channel in for weeks with my previous antenna. I wanted to watch a show lastnight, so I pulled this antenna out of the box (it took about 5 minutes to put together) and plugged it into the TV. I just set it on top of the dresser and not only did that channel come in perfectly, but I got about 7 additional channels! This weekend, we will mount it up on our roof so that we can get this great reception on all of our TVs, but so far it is awesome! Thanks Costco!"
Review 11 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Detroit, MI
Date:March 22, 2011

Great Value & Picture

"This is was a great buy, not only does it get great reception for all of my tv's in the house but it was very inexpensive."
Review 12 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:March 17, 2011

Great Deal!

Pros: price, small, inconspicuous
Model Number: FreeVision
"I had a fancy $100 antenna and was having a really hard time getting all of the local channels. I bought this one and now get good signal strength on all channels.
I only live about 11 miles from the towers but there is a good sized hill blocking direct line of site.
I would recommend this antenna to anyone that is in the market for one. You can't beat the price and it's Costco so if it doesn't work you can just take it back.
"
Review 13 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:March 16, 2011

Loved it so much, I bought 2

"I bought one of these antenna's about a month ago and set it up inside the house without any issues. It has worked much better than the other two previous antenna's I had. Then, about a week ago my in-laws were moving and I was helping them setup their old antenna at their new house. It wasn't picking up many channels so I ordered them one of the Winegard antenna's and was able to pick up twice as many channels as their old antenna and it has a great picture. Their's is setup outside where the one at my house is inside pointing out a window in my living room. Thanks Wiingard."
Review 14 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco Bay Area
Date:March 15, 2011

Free H.D. television

Pros: value
Cons: weak diagrams
Model Number: FreeVision
"Over the air broadcasts provide the absolute best picture possible on any television capable of receiving digital VHF/UHF signals. Hard as it may seem to believe the image quality delivered to modern flat screen monitors by OTA signals exceeds that of anything delivered by cable, satellite or fiber-optic providers. The reason is simple- cable, satellite and fiber-optic signals all require varying degrees of compression before transmission and then require de-compression at the receiving end, each process resulting in loss of quality. OTA broadcasts require no compression, therefore zero loss.
Expect superb reception with this Winegard FreeVision antenna if the following conditions are met: 1. You are less than 30 miles from transmitting towers, 2. You have clear line-of-sight to the towers, 3. There are no structures taller than four stories within 1/2 mile of you, 4. There are no materials that will block the path of signals to the antenna (aluminum siding, metal mesh, etc).
My home is in the Evergreen area of San Jose at an elevation of 640 feet. It turns out that I have clear, line-of-sight to Sutro Tower in San Francisco and San Bruno Mountain Tower because there is nothing but the open water of the S.F. Bay between me and the towers. Reception here is excellent.
One resource available to everyone when it comes to pinpointing the location of towers in relation to your homes is antennaweb.com. That site can provide you with locations of towers, exact distances to your home and compass headings to provide accurate antenna aiming.
Overall, my impression of this antenna is that the fabrication quality is excellent including the very robust, powder-coated, fully adjustable j-mast. I receive about 40 channels and many of them come in at full 1080i high-res. Performance of this antenna can be described in one word- superb
"
Review 15 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ALLEN TEXAS.
Date:March 7, 2011

YES I HAVE THE BEST PICTURE.

Model Number: 529158
"THIS ANTENNA WORKS LIKE CABLE,IT GIVE ME MOOR THAN 40 CHANELS."
Review 16 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa, CA
Date:March 4, 2011

Nothing finer than free cable

"I love not paying a monthly cable bill. This antenna along with Netflix are the new dynamic duo. Best economic decision I have ever made."
Review 17 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Gatos, CA
Date:March 4, 2011

Cut the Cable Cord

"Go over the air to see real HD...Had Direct and moved to Cable and both were showing local channels in HD (or so they claimed). Over the air HD using this Antenna is far superior in quality in SanJose/LosGatos area. And this little Winegard gets us 77 channels - all for free - YES! Cut that cable cord!"
Review 18 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Date:March 3, 2011

Great for the Price!

Pros: free channels over the air
Model Number: 529158
"I mounted it directly above above the one set that it is hooked up to on the wall in our family room. In our case it actually blends in quite well on the dark paneling and is not too obtrusive.
I did experiment by hooking it up through the former cable company lines and laying it on the roof of the house, but I noticed that we also lost some fo the channels we had gained by doing this. Likely this was caused by the length of cable involved, plus being unable to get a proper aim on the antennae direction.
It was a vast improvement over plain or amplified rabbit ears. We have picked up several more channels, and some of the former channels that had been pixalating now come through clear. It does make a difference in the direction of mounting and the room. Our living room will not pick up as many channels when trying the antennae on that set. My guess is that there are too many obstructions in the house construction. The family room aim has it going through just a window only."
Review 19 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2011

Works as advertised

Pros: small
"Installed antenna and recieved 20 digital channels. I live about 18 miles from the antenna transmitters. I installed it inside my attic with no problems. It comes with plenty of hardware to install it anywhere you may want to. I have never tried another digital antenna before so I have nothing to compare it to. This is not a powered unit but doesn't need to be. It makes installing easier."
Review 20 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Western Arizona
Date:March 2, 2011

Satisfied Customer

Pros: costo's return policy
"This product works very good in our son's home in Colorado but unfortunately it did not for us. We probably live too far from a tower as we couldn't get a signal out here in the Arizona desert. We returned it to Costco today and was refunded the full price. Thank you for your great return policy!"
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>