Customer Reviews for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket

Receives Both UHF and High-Band VHF No Monthly Fees
Average Customer Rating:
4.216 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(153 Reviews) 153
(out of 153 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (153 reviews)
5 stars
104
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
17
128 of 153(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Review 1 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco Bay Area
Date:March 15, 2011

Free H.D. television

Pros: value
Cons: weak diagrams
Model Number: FreeVision
"Over the air broadcasts provide the absolute best picture possible on any television capable of receiving digital VHF/UHF signals. Hard as it may seem to believe the image quality delivered to modern flat screen monitors by OTA signals exceeds that of anything delivered by cable, satellite or fiber-optic providers. The reason is simple- cable, satellite and fiber-optic signals all require varying degrees of compression before transmission and then require de-compression at the receiving end, each process resulting in loss of quality. OTA broadcasts require no compression, therefore zero loss.
Expect superb reception with this Winegard FreeVision antenna if the following conditions are met: 1. You are less than 30 miles from transmitting towers, 2. You have clear line-of-sight to the towers, 3. There are no structures taller than four stories within 1/2 mile of you, 4. There are no materials that will block the path of signals to the antenna (aluminum siding, metal mesh, etc).
My home is in the Evergreen area of San Jose at an elevation of 640 feet. It turns out that I have clear, line-of-sight to Sutro Tower in San Francisco and San Bruno Mountain Tower because there is nothing but the open water of the S.F. Bay between me and the towers. Reception here is excellent.
One resource available to everyone when it comes to pinpointing the location of towers in relation to your homes is antennaweb.com. That site can provide you with locations of towers, exact distances to your home and compass headings to provide accurate antenna aiming.
Overall, my impression of this antenna is that the fabrication quality is excellent including the very robust, powder-coated, fully adjustable j-mast. I receive about 40 channels and many of them come in at full 1080i high-res. Performance of this antenna can be described in one word- superb
"
Review 2 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Birmingham, Alabama
Date:December 28, 2010

FreeVision HD Antenna: Great Antenna

Pros: fantastic antenna!!!, easy set-up, picks up more channels than cable, better qualiy than basic cable, real hdtv equal to direct tv, indoors<>works like an outdoor antenna but better, comes with an actual direct tv mount for free!!!
Cons: no cons at all!!!
Model Number: Winegard FreeVision HD Antenna
"I CAN NOT BELIEVE this Antenna!!! This is the Best investment You Could Ever make!!! We have Cable for back up when Direct Tv goes out, now Direct TV is taking away some of our local channels & I thought I would give this a try. WOW was I surprised, I have almost 20 channels INDOORS ON THE WALL!!! I am about 30 miles away from the towers and have several tree's and mountains in the way & It Works Perfect! I 1st set it on our microwave oven near a window and I did not think it was picking up channels until the scan was complete & then Wam, I had Crystal Clear HD Channels that were even better than Cable. Then I took a screw and put it in the top hole and put it on the wall above my PC pointing straight ahead instead of out the window and only lost a couple of channels we would not watch anyway. IT IS GOOD BYE CABLE TOMORROW!!!
I do not know why someone could say this does not work indoors unless they do not know which way the towers in their town are. You do not even need to be pointed exactly on them, just in that direction. It must span at least 45 degrees.Your TV must have an HD tuner though, it will not work on an Old TV made before 2006 unless you have the HD Tuner Box that were given away in 2007. Simple to put together, just do not over tighten the 2 screws like others have. I will be getting another 1 or 2 of these later. Hope this helps because you can save a Lot of $$$ Even though it is only $37 don't be fooled. I will be buying 1 more also for our Trailer on Lake Guntersville. This is a Work Horse!!!
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnetka, IL
Date:August 12, 2010

Excellent Quality and Value

Pros: easy single tv setup, low cost
Cons: multiple tvs can be complicated to hook up, multiple tvs require additional materials time, max range rated at 30 miles antenna setup outside, living in a signal dead zone
Model Number: FV-HDCO
"This works perfectly in our attic pointing SSE out a S facing window (15.5 miles from Chicago transmitters), but I need to re-wire the co-ax cable or replace rusted old antenna on roof to use on all our TVs.
I can receive all but channel 2/CBS with a temporary 2nd floor setup and very little adjusting. But this is only temporary.
I need to pick a final outdoor location for the antenna and plan how I will route new and re-route old co-ax. I have a signal amplifier and splitters, necessary for long cable runs and multiple TVs. This will require several hours, but is worth it since I have the knowledge and materials.
For a single TV setup, this is a fairly simple project (if you can point the antenna in the right direction, have a strong signal, and a long enough co-ax cable).
For a whole house/multi-TV set-up it quickly becomes more complicated. You will need 100+feet co-ax cable (w/ connectors, or crimper for adding connectors) signal spitter(s) and/or signal/distribution amplifier. It will work, but you should be handy with a variety of projects. Consider whether you need to drill holes for co-ax (1/4" diameter) and how you will route the cable (indoors/out, clips/staples?) to limit its appearance. You might spend add'l $100+ and several hours to hook up several TVs -- but the programming is FREE!"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Moscow, ID
Date:February 15, 2011

Winegard FreeVision Antenna WORKS!

Pros: free access to tv
Cons: still not quite perfect in the boondocks
"I live in a relatively rural area with very limited TV signals. The 2 local TV stations don't come in at all. Two stations from 70+ miles away are coming in, it must be via translator stations. My scanner box picked up 2 more channels with this antenna than with the rabbit ears BUT still not a strong enough signal to get the 2 stations in for viewing. The Winegard FreeVision antenna did better inside than my rabbit ears and I don't have a way to install on my roof. I walked outside with it and hung it on different areas of the house and it wasn't any better so I don't think I will try to install it outside. I hang it off the curtain rod to get one signal through the window, from a nail on the opposite wall to get others, and sitting on top of the TV (in a corner of the room!) to get yet others. It's annoying that the signals are so hard to locate and different channels have different sweet spots in my living room. The antenna was good, my situation is frustrating; this is a great way to get free TV. I'm at least able to watch PBS, news, some sports, movies without having to deal with cable/satellite etc."
Review 5 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Detroit, MI suburb
Date:December 13, 2010

Winegard FV-HDCO Antenna

Pros: great reception in this suburban area, economical
Cons: questionable if survive winter climate outside
Model Number: FV-HDCO
"I live in a western suburb of Detroit, and this antenna picks up everything from 2 to 62, contrary to at least one other review, and does it very well, even though it is specified for 7 to 51. There were a few stations that were "dropping out" using my previous attic mounted antenna, and those all came back, as well as marginal reception of two channels in Toledo, OH. It is a "directional" antenna, but has a fairly wide angle of reception, meaning I can receive stations that are mainly to the north, as well as those that are mainly to the east. I have mine aimed kind of half way in between, and it is working fine, because the signals are strong enough.
The assembly was easy, and i have it installed in our attic. Assembled, it is about 14" x 14". You will need a 7/16" wrench, a common (flat blade) screwdriver, and maybe a pair of pliers.
I am thinking of adding a second one, aimed at Toledo, or possibly Lansing, MI in the hopes that I might pick up blacked out sports broadcasts.
One lasts thing -- the antenna has three aluminum rods that bend easily, so care has to be taken to not bend them.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Geneva, IL
Date:September 27, 2010

We are definitely impressed!

Pros: for a handy guy easy installation.
Cons: none so far.
"We currently have four TVs (3 purchased through Costco in the past year and half to replace "old" TVs) and were using our 24 year old antenna located in the attic. We also were using an amplifier splitter to hook all TVs into the antenna. When we saw the Winegard FreeVision antenna for sale through Costco we thought we might as well try it. We have installed the antenna on the south side of the house where we have our deck and since the deck faces south, we had previously built a screen above a portion of the deck to provide shade. My husband mounted the antenna to an upright pipe which allowed the antenna to be off the ground about 10-12 feet. We checked out our neighbor's satellite dish and positioned our antenna at a similar angle and went from there. We connected the cable to the amplifier splitter we had been using. Let me also say we have many mature trees in our neighborhood and a 15 foot maple tree about ten feet from the side of the antenna. We are amazed by the reception we are getting in a western suburb of Chicago."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Date:March 3, 2011

Great for the Price!

Pros: free channels over the air
Model Number: 529158
"I mounted it directly above above the one set that it is hooked up to on the wall in our family room. In our case it actually blends in quite well on the dark paneling and is not too obtrusive.
I did experiment by hooking it up through the former cable company lines and laying it on the roof of the house, but I noticed that we also lost some fo the channels we had gained by doing this. Likely this was caused by the length of cable involved, plus being unable to get a proper aim on the antennae direction.
It was a vast improvement over plain or amplified rabbit ears. We have picked up several more channels, and some of the former channels that had been pixalating now come through clear. It does make a difference in the direction of mounting and the room. Our living room will not pick up as many channels when trying the antennae on that set. My guess is that there are too many obstructions in the house construction. The family room aim has it going through just a window only."
Review 8 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Foster City, CA
Date:November 20, 2010

Reliable Replacement for Comcast

Pros: works well
"I used this to replace my Comcast basic service in the SF Bay Area (Foster City). I am using this as an internal antenna with a Panasonic Viera Plasma TV. My apartment does not face Sutro tower. I am using a 6ft cable and keep the antenna close to the window. It works very well. I get more channels than I used to get with the Basic cable. HD looks fantastic. During the first few days I used to get frequent pixelation with Channels 2 and 5. Somehow it seemed to settle down after 5 to 10 minutes of viewing. After a week of using this antenna, I rarely get any pixelation on Channel 2 and 5. Other channels always came in very clear. Googling for this product there are other sites, that with shipping, offer it for $5 cheaper. However I did buy it from Costco due to the excellent return policy and the fact that I was skeptical that it would deliver the quality results. However, I will be keeping this unit. Sure beats the $18 monthly charged by Comcast."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:30 miles south of Atlanta GA
Date:December 18, 2010

Only line of sight reception

Pros: easy assembly generous return policy
Cons: useless in my application low priced and low perf, only good for urban uses
"I purchased this antenna for use in an upstairs bedroom that does not have a satellite receiver ($5 month). I found the instructions easy and put it together in about 20 minutes. I thought I would test it before doing the more difficult exterior mounting. But, then when I did a TV auto station search I was amazed that only 3 channels came up. This is less than the 8 channels received from my old analog antenna. I called Wineguard tech support and was told that this is a “line of sight” antenna only and would not work unless it was outside my house and pointed directly at stations, it would not work through walls, windows, and roofing materials. Therefore it would have to be mounted on top of my house and pointed directly at local towers.
Carefully I took it apart, repackaged it and returned it to my local Costco store where they politely credited my card. Thus saving rooftops for Santa Claus and chimney sweeps."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:October 15, 2010

Compare this to the Antennas Direct DB-2

Pros: small comes w/ j-mount bracket easy instructions
Cons: not a thing
Model Number: FreeVision
"Previously, I had the Antennas Direct DB-2 because of the 4.5 star rating out of 300+ reviews off Amazon. That antenna worked very well at my previous location. After I moved, I only got the upper UHF band (as stated in literature, it is a upper UHF antenna but it still pulled them all in). I got no lower band channels and therefore only had half the channels. I moved to an area that has a direct line of site to the towers but I'm in what's called a "cold spot". So I found this at Costco. Looks about the same as the DB-2. Very small and compact which is what I wanted. I'm 16 miles as the crow flies to the towers, and I can see the towers from my roof because I'm on a hill overlooking the valley to Deer Point that is on a mountain across the valley. The Winegard FreeVision pulled ALL the channels in, UHF & VHF. I simply mounted the antenna on roof, pointed in direction of towers, and BAM! Love it."
Review 11 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chantilly, VA
Date:February 2, 2011

Better picture than fiber optic cable!

Pros: better picture than cable!, free tv
Cons: limited range
Model Number: Winegard HD-30
"I live 30 miles west of Washington, DC and about 22 miles west of several transmission towers. I mounted the Winegard Freevision HDTV antenna inside the attic of my two story house. I get 27 digital broadcast channels with better picture quality than I get through my fiber optic cable service. So the antenna works great! However, my particular installation includes a two way splitter and some very long coax cable runs which led me to buy a 25db signal amplifier. (In hindsight a 15db amplifier would have been plenty.) But you should check out your distance from transmission towers which is available online at several free websites. You plug in your address and it tells you your exact distance from the towers. Anything inside 30 miles is fair game... beyond that, you may need a bigger antenna mounted outside. Happy free viewing!"
Review 12 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nashua, NH
Date:November 2, 2010

Just didn't work

Model Number: FreeVision #529158
"I hate to be the first negative reviewer, but this antenna simply did not work well at all. I hooked this up high in the window of my father's one-story house. He has a pre-fab, so if I'd tried the attic it would only have been 1-2' higher, with wood and shingles blocking the signal. He lives 30 miles from Boston, MA, so I thought he'd be able to get a few stations if I pointed the antenna in the correct position. When I performed the Auto-Scan it found 15 stations, but when we tried to view them they would either pixellate and freeeze, or not show at all. I tried changing the cable, but had similar results. My opinion is that this is clearly an urban antenna, and if you live in the suburbs you would do well to consider one of Wineguard's many other higher-end antennas that are better suited for the application."
Review 13 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:La Mesa, CA
Date:April 16, 2011

My Grandparents had a tv antenna

Pros: easy setup, amazing picture
Model Number: FV HDCO
"I bought two FreeVision antennas, one for each of two rooms 150 feet apart. The assembly, mounting, grounding, and cabling took some time, but was all very easy. I mounted both on the eaves, and used my compass app on my Fascinate for azimuth. The desired channel range was 116 degrees to 280 degrees so I thought that might be pushing it, but I aligned the FreeVisions at 198 degrees, and despite living at the bottom of a big hill, received upwards of 70 channels (many in Spanish). I selected 12 digital favorites, and the picture on the plasma is cleaner and clearer than before. And now it is free. I ditched my satellite dish, signed up for HuluPlus and Netflix, and cut my tv bill by $92/month to $23/month. Since I can still record local channels, I have more options than I had before."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Renton, WA
Date:March 7, 2011

Good Antenna, Actually made in USA!

Pros: very good performance for the price, made in usa
Cons: does not come with a table top stand
Model Number: Model FV-HDCO
"We just bought a New 46 inch flat screen TV and needed a way to hook it up as we do not have cable. With the attractive price we thought we would give it a try. We also purchased the Antennas Direct Clear stream 2 antenna from the warehouse for over double the cost. I tried both and I found that the Winegard pulled in a solid 80%+ of the signal that the much higher gain (and price) Antennas direct model did. Both antennas gave picture quality that exceeded our Neighbors cable. In the end we used the Clear Stream Antenna only because we mounted it in out attic and wanted the extra signal strength as a buffer in case we split the cable to multiple TV's in the future. If you have a good place to mount it and reasonable signal strength, save yourself some money and buy this antenna."
Review 15 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:February 2, 2011

Total Disappointment!

Pros: none
Cons: sorry costco this lemon doesn't meet your stds.
"I bought this item because I hoped to get better reception on a kitchen TV where we spend our early evenings catching up on the news. Here are the problems:
1. The unit requires a digital converter-the ad didn't say that. I had one on the TV, but I had hoped to avoid buying another for an idle TV in the family room... No go (:o(
2. The unit did not pick up the on the air channel I had problems with before...the ABC affilliate. Furthermore, the unit did not perform as well as the bat-wing antenna I had before, which cost half as much. Bummer...(:o(
3. This thing looks like an overgrown hairless tarantula, not subtle in an indoor application.Yuck...(:o(
4. If I had more time and initiative, I would pack it up and send it back. Oh well...(:o(
"
Review 16 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:December 25, 2010

Happy we made the plunge

"We are so pleased we tried this. We live in Salt Lake, and are able to easily receive all of the regular broadcast channels, including extra public TV stations that were not included in our satellite package. At our house, the antenna worked indoors just fine, but we moved it outdoors, following the lead of an earlier reviewer who put the antenna on the mast that had held his satellite dish. I stream Netflix through a new Apple TV and we have now lived happily satellite-free for a month. I will be saving LOTS of money with the new arrangement, and encourage others to give it a go. What have you got to lose? I haven't written reviews before, but I carefully read the ones about this antenna, and figured I should add my two cents' worth."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Date:February 5, 2011

Better than expected!

"Thanks to all who bought this antenna before me and for posting your reviews. I am a very satisfied customer after using this antenna. This don't even compare to the previuos ones that I was using for the same Samsung HDTV/PC Monitor I got from Costco, I tried other brands, the amplified and the one with signal booster and the this Winegard FreeVision HDTV antenna alone, not connected to signal amplifier has bested everything I had, I was able to pull Ch. 13-1 which is weird because I only live less than a mile from the Town Center. Oh by the way, my antenna is not even properly set up yet, it's still sitting on the table next to the TV but I'm extremely satisfied with results, thank you Costco for another quality product."
Review 18 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clallam County, WA
Date:October 15, 2010

Antenna is fabulous

Pros: excellent documentation., easy assembly and installation., hooked up to my satellite dish cable.
Cons: not a single one
Model Number: Winegard FreeVision Indoor Outdoor Antenna
"We live in a rural area in WA state and our closest big city is across the water in Victoria BC. It is just amazing that such a small antenna can perform so well especially because we are at least 80 miles from the Canadian stations so we had little hope that it would work.
We immediately picked up 9 HD digital channels from both Canada and the US. The reception is perfect. We were also surprised to get 11 analog channels including one in French.
We put the antenna on the roof near our existing satellite dish and simply disconnected the dish and then connected the antenna's coaxial cable in its place. This enabled the antenna to connect to our existing house TV cabling. It worked like a charm."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, Texas
Date:October 1, 2010

Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Model Number: Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna
"I didn't know what to expect when I bought the Antenna. But I was not happy with the indoor amplified antenna, I paid more for, than I did for the Winegard. I got the antenna, took about 15 minutes to assemble and I connected it to my TV. I immediately noticed an improvement in the channels that sometimes were pixelated due to fading signals. And after I rescanned my TV I had 9 more channels than I was able to get before I got the Winegard. I use the antenna indoors and the mounting hardware allows me to stand the antenna up in my living room on the same small stand I had my previous antenna on. So needless to say The price and performance have made this a great buy for me."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Winegard FreeVision Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna Includes Mounting Bracket
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2010

Well worth it

"I bought one of those little flashdrive sized TV tuners that plug into a USB port so I could watch TV on my computer. It wet my appetite to get 4 to 6 stations with the little 6 inch antenna it came with. After buying the Winegard antenna I get 17. Five of them are religious but that may be a plus for some folks. I'm using the antenna inside but I'm in a third floor apartment in an urban setting (Salem, OR) which can't hurt.
I figure it like this: I was paying $65 a month for 150 stations and couldn't find anything good to watch on TV. Now I get 17 stations, there still isn't anything good to watch, but it's free. You decide."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>