Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System

2 Months Premier Service $50 Int'l Calling Credit Free US Calling: No Monthly Fees
Average Customer Rating:
4.074 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(336 Reviews) 336
(out of 336 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (336 reviews)
5 stars
210
4 stars
49
3 stars
17
2 stars
12
1 star
48
279 of 336(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Review 261 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:July 15, 2010

Nice product - but won't work with Security System

Pros: product is well designed looks and feels good;, works without a hitch;
Cons: does not work with home securiy systems;, reactivation fee is $80 if you deactivate anytime;, the led lights can be confusing for casual users;, monthly local taxes amount to $4 or so;
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"This is a good product, well designed and works well for voice. Even though the product is touted as no monthly expenses, there is in fact a $4/month (approx) taxes that need to be paid for 911 support, etc.
The biggest downside is that it does not work with my Ademco home security alarm system. I spent about 3hrs testing it repeatedly before giving up. Ooma tech support cannot provide help in this regard. I am sad. :(
Also, if you deactivate the device and then plan to reactivate it later, expect to pay $80. This motivates me to promptly return the device back to Costco. I wish I didn't need to.
Also, expect to may $4 (four bucks) or so monthly for local taxes, etc."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 262 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Peoria, AZ
Date:May 15, 2010

Sad it didn't work for me

Model Number: Teleo
"Boy I really wanted this to work. To be fair, I might not have given it enough time. It set up really easy, and I thought the voice quality was good. The quality is not as clear as a regular land line, but it was good. I have DSL, and I think it is looped separately from the phone number, if not, OOMA warns that you will lose both if you port. The phone worked good for two days, then incoming calls never rang. I could still call out, but no incoming. During set-up, I chose to keep my same phone number and the caller-id still came from phone company. I think that was my mistake. I should have chosen a new free number, then when I was convinced it worked, then port. I chose to port to soon. The good news is, I didn't lose any service. I emailed OOMA, and they canceled the port process and refunded the porting fee. I don't know if I will try again, I never worked with technical support to be fair, I just want so bad to get rid of my $33 monthly fee from Qwest. I was nervous about losing all phone service, so I am returning and will do research."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 263 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2010

High tech product - not full satisfaction

"I echo the concerns of the users with issues regarding the DTMF...
It is a basic function, needed to call banks, almost anyone... but you cannot use it..
Otherwise, easy to setup. Too bad they charge $40 to port your number... That's too much money.."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 264 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:February 27, 2010

Limited Service If You Don't Port Your Line

Model Number: OOMA TELO
"I am keeping my land line for the alarm system. Free caller-id and others are out of the questions because ooma uses dialing tone from your primary carrier. Only benefit I got is the unlimited free US long distance calls."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 265 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:February 23, 2010

Ooma is not free, $11.75 annual recovery fee

Model Number: Ooma Telo
"The phone system is really good, only if you have a superb router to handle heavy internal network traffic. Some tweaks are needed to adjust data packets size of incoming/outgoing traffic.
Ooma is no longer free as it advertised, the annual fee of $11.75 is applied to all Ooma members, which is still cheaper than traditional land line phone bill, ie Cox, Qwest, ATT...
I think Ooma should refund the porting fee, since they breach the terms of contract and false advertisement."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 266 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:February 7, 2010

Unit is ok

Model Number: ooma Telo
"The unit drops calls and has a huming noise when you make calls. I will keep the unit and see if ooma improves the service. This is why I purchased at Costco."
Review 267 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:December 21, 2009

Great Product, Lack of Tech Support

Pros: awesome system
Cons: lack of tech support
"This is a fantastic product. I have Ooma premier as well. I'm giving it 5 stars for the quality and functionality and 1 star for tech support (it seems that they don't make much money off this product so they can't afford to hire tech support people). I've sent many emails which go unanswered and when I call, I'm on hold for hours."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 268 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bay Area
Date:December 7, 2009

Premier Service misleading

Pros: quality of the call is good
Cons: trial version of premier service is misleading, you cannot add the international package during, this period
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"I had been using the Ooma Hub for past several months and decided to change to the new Telo system. When I tried adding the international call package I was told it was not available to the trial version of the Premier service. This is not mentioned on their product package or on their website. It is a misleading promotion."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 269 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:November 1, 2009

Telo must be better than Hub

Model Number: Telo SN:110-0102-103
"A few weeks ago replaced the Ooma Hub and Scout with Telo, just because I was thinking the Telo device is better. And probably is better, but I could not tell the difference yet. The sound quality is very good.
However, the first think that disappointed me was the fact that the power supply jack has very poor connection (loose) - poor design. It could disconnect from the unit and you might not notice it.
Hub has much better ports connections.
LED display has no option to adjust the brightness. Only off/on touch button.
Before I switch to Telo I use to have two separate phone sets with two separate numbers assigned: one to the Hub, and another to the Scout. Now both my numbers are assigned to Telo devise. I can have incoming calls from both phone numbers, but I can't have two separate lines and make a phone call from second line. Ooma Telo Handset partially will fix this it, but you'll not be able to connect any phone sets to it because it has no ports at all.
I think Ooma is the best deal in the market anyways.
"
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 270 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ashland, Oregon
Date:September 12, 2009

Good - BUT

Model Number: Ooma Hub with Scout
"I've used the Ooma system for 9 months. Installation was easy and the audibility is great. However, the Ooma hub and some WiFi systems and cordless phone all run at 2.4mhz. We have discovered that if you answer the phone, it cuts off the WiFi connection. You can read about it in various forums on the net. The solution is to change to a phone system on a different band."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 271 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Yakima, WA
Date:August 27, 2009

Mixed Review

Model Number: ooma
"Good: Great sound quality. Free long distance. Easy to install. Connects directly to the internet, so no need to have your computer booted to make or receive calls. Ooma does not list your number for telemarketers to find. When you call your name shows up on caller ID so your friends know it's you. (This takes ten days to happen. Ooma shows up initially.) Lots of other features. Bad: No local numbers available in my area, but can change later, if numbers become available. Start up guide is unnecessarily complicated. If you're not tech savvy, be sure to have someone to help with set up. Ugly: Customer Support. Too many issues to list. Read some of the other reviews on this product. The good news is, you may never need to contact customer support."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 272 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:July 13, 2009

Some Issues

"This is a great item to use. However, if you have an alarm system in your home that is monitored, you need to beware that VoIP can cause some complications. PLEASE call your alarm company BEFORE you purchase this or change to VoIP. Also note that if you loose power- you loose the use of this.
But otherwise- it's been great
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 273 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:May 7, 2009

Awesome reviews, but nothing to WOW over

Pros: e-911, free domestic calls
Cons: customer service isn't great
Model Number: Costco's Ooma
"I received this very quickly! I believe within a few days of ordering it. It works fine, but is nothing special. I don't have phones yet, but borrowed some for testing. I'd recommend waiting to setup if you don't have phones as service (and the free premier 6 months) starts too. The phone number selection isn't great, and I'm debating whether this was worth it still."
Review 274 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Western Massachusetts
Date:April 16, 2009

Very good product, mediocre support

Pros: high quality hardware, great phone features, excellent sound/voice quality
Cons: difficult to get through to customer support
Model Number: Ooma base unit & Scout
"Purchased Ooma March 2009. Hardware set-up was easy (I have wireless router, etc) but somehow could not register Ooma "Lounge", spent better part of 2 hours trying to get customer support. Very frustrating & almost gave up. However, once connected to support, personnel stay with you until everything is working...they are very patient and very courteous. Porting my old phone number to Ooma took several weeks, and my land-line connection was lost entirely beginning April 3, before a call to customer service on April 16 (they picked up the phone after 3 rings) resolved the issue in 20 minutes. Because I have cell service, email and the temporary Ooma-assigned number, I was not concerned about temporary loss of my land-line phone number but for other users this could be an issue.
Call quality is excellent, but Ooma service was disrupted recently for better part of a day for unknown reason (my past Verizon service could be down for days at a time before service technician would show up).
Overall, I am very satisfed. It will take me only 4 mos to break even on the investment which is really outstanding for any capital expenditure, and the phone features are at least as good or better than the extra-cost features offered by Verizon...and I'm only using the Ooma standard version (not "Premier"). I don't know how this company can make money selling the standard product, but after 4 mos. I will be ahead of the cost curve anyway, so anything more that I get is a plus."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 275 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:March 26, 2009

Great Product/Customer Service needs work

Pros: inexpensive over the long term
Cons: hub & scout base units do not have wall mounts
Model Number: Ooma Premier (6 mos.) starter package
"BEWARE if you are porting numbers...expect 4-5 weeks of waiting. This product is selling well, it seems. Product works great but getting it set up and working can be complicated and full of various delays (some expected, some not) especially if you are porting existing landline telephone numbers from your current carrier to Ooma. Ooma customer support can take days to get back to you, if at all, with sensible and reasonable answers. They could do a better job of managing expectations upfront. For me, it took a well documented complaint to Costco in order to get to my situation escalated to Ooma's Director of Operations for resolution. By their own admission, they are understaffed for their new found sales success. If you have problems, then be a squeaky wheel...you'll get oil sooner. Overall, be patient while Ooma works thru its growing pains."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 276 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:RPV, CA
Date:March 6, 2009

GOOD PRODUCT BUT READ THE FINE PRINT FIRST

Pros: solid build quality, good sound
Cons: annoying chime-like sound when connecting, free for life may not really be free
Model Number: OOMA Core w/ Scout
"I've done a bit of research before buying OOMA. Overall I am satisfied with the product quality and sound but there are a couple of issues with it:
a) The system makes a very annoying chime when you pick up and/or connect
b) Read the fine print since "Free U.S. Calling w/ No Monthly Fee" may not be really free. According to OOMA's terms of use if you make more than 3,000 minutes of outbound calls per month they reserve the right to charge you or disconnect your service. FYI, that's less than 2 hours per day. So if you plan on making more than 3,000 minutes of outbound calls per month I suggest you review OOMA's Terms and Conditions section 5.a carefully."
38 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 277 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:MI
Date:September 7, 2010
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"I ordered one Ooma Telo. The speaker and push-icons did not work, and had to return it. Called couple of times to service support, and average waiting time 20-30 minutes. The touch-tone feature does not work with this system."
Review 278 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2010

Works with a few flaws/bugs

Pros: no monthly fees
Cons: do not disturb bug, other sometimes hear garbled speech
Model Number: Telo
"When I print with my Canon laser all in one printer, my Ooma Telo goes into "do not disturb mode". If I am talking when I print, the call immediately goes to voicemail. Other than these bugs which Oomas support has been unable to fix, the unit works well with the occastional bad connection where people on the other end cannot hear well/hear garbled speech."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 279 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:seattle
Date:April 27, 2010

Bad customer service

Pros: cheap alternative
Cons: bad customer service, overcharging for international use, does not work with security, slows down internet
Model Number: 512727
"We made an international call for 20 minutes only and OOMA charged us for 3 hours and 40 minutes instead. We called customer service and they didn't credit the money back. OOMA doesn't even take into account the fact that during the 3:40 minutes timeframe, we received 2 other international calls had conversation for about 10 & 15 min each."
Review 280 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Longmont, Colorado
Date:March 18, 2010

No Incoming Touch Tones!

Pros: no monthly fee, good voice quality
Cons: no touch tones on incoming calls, can't use own answering machine with it., can't hook it up to thermostat, can't open or close my gate with it, can't operate anything that uses touch tones
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"Normally a telephone line allows you to speak and to send touch tones. Dual Tone Multi Frequencies (DTMF tones) are what let you use menus when you make phone calls. I got two Ooma Telos and the voice quality is great, but DTMF tones are NOT working when I call into my home. They work when you have to call out, but if you have a device hooked up in your home that you operate using DTMF tones like a thermostat, gate or a regular old answering machine, this system will NOT WORK!!
I have posted this about 4 weeks ago, but I think that the Costco reviewers assumed that DTMF was an acronym for something raunchy. This is a technical term and I am communicating something very important about this product. Incoming DTMF tones don’t come in clearly enough to work any electronics! Be aware of this! Ooma is very aware of this issue and they swear up and down that they will be fixing this problem shortly. Well, until then, I am stuck with a product that would be PERFECT if it had incoming DTMF tones (like all other phone systems out there). I have been waiting on this since December on 2009.
Asking if something has incoming DTMF tones is not typical to do since it is a basic. If it did not have outgoing DTMF tones (which it luckily has) it would be just like having a pulse dial phone. Ooma is banking on having customers not hooking anything up to these systems other than a regular telephone (this works fine) they are also hoping that you will use their answering machine system since hooking one up to the Ooma Telo will not work to its fullest (because you will not be able to retrieve your messages by calling in).
If you go to Ooma’s website and look at their forums you can find out about this by typing in DTMF in the search field.
Costco, don’t eliminate this review again! This is important!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 12 13 14 15 16 17 next>>