Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System

2 Months Premier Service $50 Int'l Calling Credit Free US Calling: No Monthly Fees
Average Customer Rating:
4.074 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(336 Reviews) 336
(out of 336 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (336 reviews)
5 stars
210
4 stars
49
3 stars
17
2 stars
12
1 star
48
279 of 336(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Review 261 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:March 26, 2009

Great Product/Customer Service needs work

Pros: inexpensive over the long term
Cons: hub & scout base units do not have wall mounts
Model Number: Ooma Premier (6 mos.) starter package
"BEWARE if you are porting numbers...expect 4-5 weeks of waiting. This product is selling well, it seems. Product works great but getting it set up and working can be complicated and full of various delays (some expected, some not) especially if you are porting existing landline telephone numbers from your current carrier to Ooma. Ooma customer support can take days to get back to you, if at all, with sensible and reasonable answers. They could do a better job of managing expectations upfront. For me, it took a well documented complaint to Costco in order to get to my situation escalated to Ooma's Director of Operations for resolution. By their own admission, they are understaffed for their new found sales success. If you have problems, then be a squeaky wheel...you'll get oil sooner. Overall, be patient while Ooma works thru its growing pains."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 262 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:July 13, 2009

Some Issues

"This is a great item to use. However, if you have an alarm system in your home that is monitored, you need to beware that VoIP can cause some complications. PLEASE call your alarm company BEFORE you purchase this or change to VoIP. Also note that if you loose power- you loose the use of this.
But otherwise- it's been great
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 263 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:May 7, 2009

Awesome reviews, but nothing to WOW over

Pros: e-911, free domestic calls
Cons: customer service isn't great
Model Number: Costco's Ooma
"I received this very quickly! I believe within a few days of ordering it. It works fine, but is nothing special. I don't have phones yet, but borrowed some for testing. I'd recommend waiting to setup if you don't have phones as service (and the free premier 6 months) starts too. The phone number selection isn't great, and I'm debating whether this was worth it still."
Review 264 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ashland, Oregon
Date:September 12, 2009

Good - BUT

Model Number: Ooma Hub with Scout
"I've used the Ooma system for 9 months. Installation was easy and the audibility is great. However, the Ooma hub and some WiFi systems and cordless phone all run at 2.4mhz. We have discovered that if you answer the phone, it cuts off the WiFi connection. You can read about it in various forums on the net. The solution is to change to a phone system on a different band."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 265 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:November 1, 2009

Telo must be better than Hub

Model Number: Telo SN:110-0102-103
"A few weeks ago replaced the Ooma Hub and Scout with Telo, just because I was thinking the Telo device is better. And probably is better, but I could not tell the difference yet. The sound quality is very good.
However, the first think that disappointed me was the fact that the power supply jack has very poor connection (loose) - poor design. It could disconnect from the unit and you might not notice it.
Hub has much better ports connections.
LED display has no option to adjust the brightness. Only off/on touch button.
Before I switch to Telo I use to have two separate phone sets with two separate numbers assigned: one to the Hub, and another to the Scout. Now both my numbers are assigned to Telo devise. I can have incoming calls from both phone numbers, but I can't have two separate lines and make a phone call from second line. Ooma Telo Handset partially will fix this it, but you'll not be able to connect any phone sets to it because it has no ports at all.
I think Ooma is the best deal in the market anyways.
"
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 266 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bay Area
Date:December 7, 2009

Premier Service misleading

Pros: quality of the call is good
Cons: trial version of premier service is misleading, you cannot add the international package during, this period
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"I had been using the Ooma Hub for past several months and decided to change to the new Telo system. When I tried adding the international call package I was told it was not available to the trial version of the Premier service. This is not mentioned on their product package or on their website. It is a misleading promotion."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 267 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:December 21, 2009

Great Product, Lack of Tech Support

Pros: awesome system
Cons: lack of tech support
"This is a fantastic product. I have Ooma premier as well. I'm giving it 5 stars for the quality and functionality and 1 star for tech support (it seems that they don't make much money off this product so they can't afford to hire tech support people). I've sent many emails which go unanswered and when I call, I'm on hold for hours."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 268 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Yakima, WA
Date:August 27, 2009

Mixed Review

Model Number: ooma
"Good: Great sound quality. Free long distance. Easy to install. Connects directly to the internet, so no need to have your computer booted to make or receive calls. Ooma does not list your number for telemarketers to find. When you call your name shows up on caller ID so your friends know it's you. (This takes ten days to happen. Ooma shows up initially.) Lots of other features. Bad: No local numbers available in my area, but can change later, if numbers become available. Start up guide is unnecessarily complicated. If you're not tech savvy, be sure to have someone to help with set up. Ugly: Customer Support. Too many issues to list. Read some of the other reviews on this product. The good news is, you may never need to contact customer support."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 269 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:February 23, 2010

Ooma is not free, $11.75 annual recovery fee

Model Number: Ooma Telo
"The phone system is really good, only if you have a superb router to handle heavy internal network traffic. Some tweaks are needed to adjust data packets size of incoming/outgoing traffic.
Ooma is no longer free as it advertised, the annual fee of $11.75 is applied to all Ooma members, which is still cheaper than traditional land line phone bill, ie Cox, Qwest, ATT...
I think Ooma should refund the porting fee, since they breach the terms of contract and false advertisement."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 270 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:February 27, 2010

Limited Service If You Don't Port Your Line

Model Number: OOMA TELO
"I am keeping my land line for the alarm system. Free caller-id and others are out of the questions because ooma uses dialing tone from your primary carrier. Only benefit I got is the unlimited free US long distance calls."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 271 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2010

High tech product - not full satisfaction

"I echo the concerns of the users with issues regarding the DTMF...
It is a basic function, needed to call banks, almost anyone... but you cannot use it..
Otherwise, easy to setup. Too bad they charge $40 to port your number... That's too much money.."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 272 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:February 7, 2010

Unit is ok

Model Number: ooma Telo
"The unit drops calls and has a huming noise when you make calls. I will keep the unit and see if ooma improves the service. This is why I purchased at Costco."
Review 273 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:July 15, 2010

Nice product - but won't work with Security System

Pros: product is well designed looks and feels good;, works without a hitch;
Cons: does not work with home securiy systems;, reactivation fee is $80 if you deactivate anytime;, the led lights can be confusing for casual users;, monthly local taxes amount to $4 or so;
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"This is a good product, well designed and works well for voice. Even though the product is touted as no monthly expenses, there is in fact a $4/month (approx) taxes that need to be paid for 911 support, etc.
The biggest downside is that it does not work with my Ademco home security alarm system. I spent about 3hrs testing it repeatedly before giving up. Ooma tech support cannot provide help in this regard. I am sad. :(
Also, if you deactivate the device and then plan to reactivate it later, expect to pay $80. This motivates me to promptly return the device back to Costco. I wish I didn't need to.
Also, expect to may $4 (four bucks) or so monthly for local taxes, etc."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 274 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Peoria, AZ
Date:May 15, 2010

Sad it didn't work for me

Model Number: Teleo
"Boy I really wanted this to work. To be fair, I might not have given it enough time. It set up really easy, and I thought the voice quality was good. The quality is not as clear as a regular land line, but it was good. I have DSL, and I think it is looped separately from the phone number, if not, OOMA warns that you will lose both if you port. The phone worked good for two days, then incoming calls never rang. I could still call out, but no incoming. During set-up, I chose to keep my same phone number and the caller-id still came from phone company. I think that was my mistake. I should have chosen a new free number, then when I was convinced it worked, then port. I chose to port to soon. The good news is, I didn't lose any service. I emailed OOMA, and they canceled the port process and refunded the porting fee. I don't know if I will try again, I never worked with technical support to be fair, I just want so bad to get rid of my $33 monthly fee from Qwest. I was nervous about losing all phone service, so I am returning and will do research."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 275 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:September 19, 2010

Still may be a geek toy

Pros: sound quality was good when working
Cons: documentation, not as intuitive as i'd like
Model Number: Ooma Teleo
"I bought this at costco 2 days ago. INstallation instructions were wrong, my friend who has Ooma had to tell me how to place the phone cord in a different port than instrauctions suggested. Got the thing working great on Friday. Saturday, I can't get dial tone. I hope this turns around but the web site is pretty useless and tech forums are not helping. I'll try the support tomorrow. Summary, this is not for technology laggards."
Review 276 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Western Massachusetts
Date:April 16, 2009

Very good product, mediocre support

Pros: high quality hardware, great phone features, excellent sound/voice quality
Cons: difficult to get through to customer support
Model Number: Ooma base unit & Scout
"Purchased Ooma March 2009. Hardware set-up was easy (I have wireless router, etc) but somehow could not register Ooma "Lounge", spent better part of 2 hours trying to get customer support. Very frustrating & almost gave up. However, once connected to support, personnel stay with you until everything is working...they are very patient and very courteous. Porting my old phone number to Ooma took several weeks, and my land-line connection was lost entirely beginning April 3, before a call to customer service on April 16 (they picked up the phone after 3 rings) resolved the issue in 20 minutes. Because I have cell service, email and the temporary Ooma-assigned number, I was not concerned about temporary loss of my land-line phone number but for other users this could be an issue.
Call quality is excellent, but Ooma service was disrupted recently for better part of a day for unknown reason (my past Verizon service could be down for days at a time before service technician would show up).
Overall, I am very satisfed. It will take me only 4 mos to break even on the investment which is really outstanding for any capital expenditure, and the phone features are at least as good or better than the extra-cost features offered by Verizon...and I'm only using the Ooma standard version (not "Premier"). I don't know how this company can make money selling the standard product, but after 4 mos. I will be ahead of the cost curve anyway, so anything more that I get is a plus."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 277 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Northern Virginia
Date:April 15, 2009

Still On The Fence

Pros: like the features especially the vmail to email.
Cons: service not consistant, hasn't worked for more than 2 days
"Really wanted this to work-not so sure it will. Voice quality is very good-service reliability very iffy. I bought the Ooma box and hooked it up right away, getting a temporary number. Had the temp number for about 5 weeks and the system worked flawlessly. Had my old number ported over, and ever since it has not worked for more than 2 days straight. Family is getting annoyed with me. If I have to keep a land line from Verizon, then this thing just isn't worth it. I haven't given up yet, but I'm close."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 278 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Dublin, CA
Date:August 15, 2009

Does not support 800 #s

"I just got the Costco online Oomaa with Scout. While acitiviting, I found out that it does not support calling 800 numbers. I work from home and need to use 800 number for conf. calls and calling international. I wonder how people manage this issue with Ooma account."
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 279 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Date:December 8, 2009

Buggy! Do not buy this product

"I had high hopes before purchasing this product. I read lots of online reviews, and determined that all the bad reviews may come from those without IT background. Since I am a computer wizard and have a computer science PhD (may dubug many things with the right research approach), I decided I could give it try. Man I was wrong. I had iTalkBB before, poor voice quality but rock-solid stable service for the past two years. When I turned on the Ooma box, yes, it was exciting to see the fancy lights and bedazzling features (which you could get for free by getting a google voice account mostly by the way). However, incoming calls only come through 20% of the time. I put the box either before the home router or behind the router--no difference whatsoever. Called three times to change number. Representatives were kind and police. However, they couldn't fix the problem. All they did was to keep trying to reach me until 1 out of 5 times the call came through--and they declare success. Overall, the product has potential, but it is poorly tested and buggggggggggy!!!!!! Do NOT buy unless you like to make researching your phone connection problem a daily effort in your life."
4 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 280 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Saint Louis, MO
Date:January 11, 2010

Love the concept but plagued with problems

Pros: one-time fee
Cons: incompetent (but friendly) technical support, dropped call issues
Model Number: Telo
"I had a Hub for 3 months (purchased from a competitor) that was having constant dropped calls for no apparent reason. Ooma blames my DSL service though AT&T said the connection works perfectly. I decided to upgrade to the Telo because of the potential advanced features (sold the Hub), but it took a week of making near daily phone calls before they could activate the Telo. Each tech support person promised me the Telo would be activated in 1 or 2 days and that the prior person missed something; finally the last person did something completely different that made it work that no one else had suggested.
Then I found I could not make outbound calls - the other end would hear the phone ring and hear my voice but I never heard it ring when dialing out and couldn't hear their voice when they picke up. After several days with multiple reboots and mucking around the setup page it finally makes calls in both directions, but I haven't had time yet to test if the Telo is dropping calls the way the hub did previously.
Overall I love the ooma concept. But the only reason I haven't already returned this is because it is only a backup for our cell phones, so I have time to stick with it to see if I can get it to work, especially with Costco's great return policies.
I desperately want this thing to work as promised and ooma to stick around (my wife already hates ooma so if they go out of business I am SOL), but I have not had good luck with the service or the tech support (though they were friendly and tried to help each time I called)."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 12 13 14 15 16 17 next>>