Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System

2 Months Premier Service $50 Int'l Calling Credit Free US Calling: No Monthly Fees
Average Customer Rating:
4.074 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(336 Reviews) 336
(out of 336 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (336 reviews)
5 stars
210
4 stars
49
3 stars
17
2 stars
12
1 star
48
279 of 336(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Review 21 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:April 29, 2009

Great product, support now much better

Pros: great phone quality at a great price
Cons: none
"I have now had my Ooma box for 2 months, and am about to purchase a second one for my home office phone. It works very well.
I had considerable problems initially. The Ooma box allows keeping a land-line phone number and just using Ooma's service for long distance calls. This requires connecting the land line to the Ooma box. When I did this, I would get a loud buzzing noise on the phone. I tried several times to conact Ooma support, spending a total of 6 hours on hold, and never got to talk to a real person. By searching Google I found a suggestion that if the "tip and ring" wires in a phone jack within my house were reversed, it might cause a buzzing noise on some types of phones. I bought a $5 phone jack tester from Home Depot, and found that one jack in one of my bedrooms had been wired wrong when the house was built 15 years ago. I switched the wires and the buzzing noise went away. Since then, Ooma has worked flawlessly. The sound quality is fantastic, and people we call have not indicated any problems. Three weeks ago I decided to drop our land line altogether, port our phone number to Ooma, and just use Ooma. I called Ooma support multiple times, and got through to a live person within a minute each time. I am confident that they have fixed whatever problems they initially had with providing support."
Review 22 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orange, CA
Date:January 16, 2010

No more Ooma for me!

Model Number: Ooma Telo
"I really wanted to love this product. Received it as a gift, so if it worked, I would have been saving money from ATT right off the bat. On the positive side: the concept is great, impressive packaging and small size of the Telo are all great. However, I have a DVR/Tivo and what they don't tell you, is you will still need to have phone service at $5-$10 per month for your DVR service. Ok, that's fine. I also have a fax/scanner to accommodate. Omma assured me it would be a simple install. After 15 minutes on the phone w/first Tech, I asked for a supervisor. The Tech had to start over several times in the first few minutes w/the setup, because he got confused. After finally gettting a supervisor who also assured me it would be a cinch...after over an hour and a half on the phone with him...still not working. I could get an Ooma dial tone, but no internet service. He sent the issue to troubleshooting and assured me someone would call within 24-48 hours with the fix. Well, no one ever called. Never! What the...??? So I am taking my gift Ooma back as well as the one I bought for a friend, who doesnt want to bother with the inevitable hassle. You would think for the expense of the initial purchase, the Customer Service would be more on top of things. My guess is, unless that changes, Ooma won't be around long!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:North Texas
Date:May 10, 2009

ooma

Cons: out-of-warranty service
"I have used ooma for about two months.
Before making purchase from Costco.com, I checked the local telephone number availability in my area. There were many phone numbers available. I went ahead to order ooma from costco.com.
After I received the unit and started to set it up, I was stunned to find there was no telephone number in my local area. There was not even a single telephone number available in four different area codes that covered Houston, Austin and Dallas in Texas.
I decided to wait for several weeks before returning it to Costco. Fortunately, ooma posted new local numbers two weeks later.
The set up was easy and straight forward. The domestic voice quality is descent. I would say it is about 95% quality compared to my ATT land line.
Depending on the destination city, the international calling rate to the country I want to call is about 20% to 40% higher than Skype's rates. It gives me no incentive to try it.
The no monthly fee is true. However, it seems this promise relies on the hardware, not the subscriber. If ooma hardware is broken after the warranty period, it seems that subscriber has to buy a new unit to keep the service. I don't find any thing about the out-of-warranty repair service on ooma’s website. Hope this is not a hidden secret ooma does not want its customers to know."
Review 24 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:miramar,fl.
Date:March 2, 2010

acceptable investment

Pros: reliable good quality voice calls, will pay for itself, acceptable investment
Cons: expensive initial investment, not landline quality as advertized, fax doesn`t work
Model Number: DVA HUB-101
"I have mixed emotions about this thing. I can tell you that I read several reviews before getting it, basic install was pretty easy as said, but tweaking was necessary in order to improve voice quality. Have had it for about a month now and voice calls are good, unit is sleek, and stylish, can access messages from base without picking up phone, other than that, everything pretty much works as advertized. However,I still think for the cost of the unit it should have been darn near perfect. One thing to definately consider with this is internet speed, will not work well if yours is slow or unreliable. Thankfully, I have at&t uverse 18mgs which is one of the fastest I`ve seen. So I know that wasn`t an issue for me but, still still did experience a drain on internet speed while in a call, speakerphone is about useless now also for some reason, use to be fine before, even with majicjack. Fax also used to work with majicjack, but can`t get it to work with ooma (I spent two days tweaking this thing) still can`t get a successful fax to go through. I was really counting on it working for fax, but overall very good unit to have to kick phone co. to the curb if you are just looking for regular home phone svc. across the U.S. Just don`t really count on landline quality as advertized."
Review 25 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, Ca.
Date:April 23, 2009

Great hardware, Awful customer Service.

Pros: nice hardware and features
Cons: awful awful customer service
Model Number: Ooma
"I used OOMA for about 1 month. Sound quality was near landline and worked great until i had to do some changes that was not possible by using OOMA LOUNGE so naturally i called Ooma customer service by phone. In 2 weeks i tried and tried about 15 times. No one picked up the phone and i send e-mail one after another one just to ask them for 1 issue. Finaly after 3 weeks in total i return OOMA to costco and thank for costco they accept return and money was refunded. Also if you have couple children at home that they use the phone too much, be carefull because there is a limit (3000 minutes) how long to can talk (out going) on Ooma. After you have reached the limit, Ooma will charge you at much higher price.
Bottom line is: If you are going to use Ooma 3000 minutes or less and not going to contact customer service, then that is a right product for you.
As long as ooma is in business you have service and if they go out of business, well good luck with service and get your money back. In order to have ooma, you need to have cable or DSL internet service so if you disconnect you phone and wants only internet, phome company will charge you a higher price for DSL.
Just do the math before you buy. Specialy younger generation.
Without Servive after sale this product is useless.
"
2 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:May 6, 2010

Ooma

"We were early users of VOIP technology switching to Vonage from AT&T after the 2006 Consumer Electronics Show (CES) in Las Vegas. There were issues initially with Vonage but they solved them as technology advanced. Enhancements have allowed new players into the VOIP market such as your local cable providers (Comcast/Charter, etc.) but none have the clarity of the service that Ooma provides. With Vonage we had to slow our fax machine down to the slowest speed to enable us to use it. With Ooma we are able to put our fax machine on the highest speed and transmit/receive with no issues. Our phone clarity is far superior to prior service and actually better than a land line (without the costs). It is also compatible with our home security system with no special setup. The instructions included with the Ooma system are super and allow for setup within 10 to 15 minutes. We are so thrilled with the service that we have recommened it to our friends and neighbors. It is amazing that we can have superior phone service beyond the initial small hardware investment for years to come for free. We can recoup our hareware investment in less than 4 months and never ever have a phone bill again. We also ported over our phone number with no issues in less than 3 weeks. Way to go Ooma."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2010

So Far So Good

Pros: simple setup, simply works.
Cons: pricey up front, international rate is slightly higher than i thoug, flimsy connection for power on the back
"Phone service is a very subjective topic, however the product has delivered so far. It was extremely easy to hook up. I simply registered on-line and activated my account. I plugged the unit onto a LAN port on my Apple Airport Extreme and hey presto it worked first time. It takes a few minutes to down load and set itself up (lots of blinking lights) so be patient. Sound quality was great, tried some international calls without any issue. Some people reported my voice quality was a bit scratchy but others say it was better than my land line. There is a little interference if I do a lot of heavy surfing while using the phone at the same time, but not too bad and you can definitely use both simultaneously.
After a few days I moved the unit so that it was 'in-line' between my modem and Airport Extreme as recommended to improve voice quality. I figured that i would have to do some extensive re-configuration as it would have to learn PPoE versus DHCP but no. I even left the Airport Extreme alone without any config changes. (WOW Plug & Play really does exist)
I'm currently paying $50 monthly to the phone company, but the OOMA will soon be putting a stop to that, infact I have already begun the porting process. I should make my money back in 4-5 months.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North OC, Southern CA
Date:April 13, 2009

Very Solid Product

Pros: no more phone bill, two outgoing calls at once is a nice feature
Cons: call waiting use is not always so smooth, sound quality is probably 90% of what ex-telco had
"We have been using the Ooma hardware now for six weeks. Overall, we're quite satisfied.
We have a cable modem, and our connection speed is advertised at 10 MB/sec down x 1 MB/sec up. We usually get a minimum of 75% of the advertised speed. The Ooma hardware works very well over this connection.
Prior to Ooma, we were spending about $75/month for our landline with a big, well-known telephone company (Telco). At this point we have completely closed our Telco account, and we're using Ooma for all of our calling at home.
The sound quality via Ooma is a little bit poorer than what we experienced with our Telco landline. If I had to rate it, I'd say it sounds about 90% as good. You occasionally hear echo, and it seems to be set at a lower overall volume. We have one phone which is hard to hear even when the volume on the phone is dialed up 100%, and it's a little harder to hear with Ooma carrying the call than when Big Telco carried the call. But considering how much we're saving, and how gratifying I find the "please come back" letters from Big Telco, I can happily live with the sound quality of Ooma.
Ooma is very good. I'm delighted to be getting such good value from my cable modem connection."
Review 29 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Date:December 8, 2009

Buggy! Do not buy this product

"I had high hopes before purchasing this product. I read lots of online reviews, and determined that all the bad reviews may come from those without IT background. Since I am a computer wizard and have a computer science PhD (may dubug many things with the right research approach), I decided I could give it try. Man I was wrong. I had iTalkBB before, poor voice quality but rock-solid stable service for the past two years. When I turned on the Ooma box, yes, it was exciting to see the fancy lights and bedazzling features (which you could get for free by getting a google voice account mostly by the way). However, incoming calls only come through 20% of the time. I put the box either before the home router or behind the router--no difference whatsoever. Called three times to change number. Representatives were kind and police. However, they couldn't fix the problem. All they did was to keep trying to reach me until 1 out of 5 times the call came through--and they declare success. Overall, the product has potential, but it is poorly tested and buggggggggggy!!!!!! Do NOT buy unless you like to make researching your phone connection problem a daily effort in your life."
4 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:October 19, 2009

Great System

Pros: no monthly phone bill
Cons: none yet... works like a normal land line.
"I installed this system about 3 weeks ago. I installed the system into my homes structured wiring system... although Ooma doesn't include instructions for how to do this type of configuration it is very simple. For those interested you follow the setup instructions but instead of plugging your phone into the Ooma Hub as instructed you patch it into your structured wiring system / panel that connects all your phones and it will deliver a dial tone to all your phones. (this also bypasses the need to install an ooma scout at each phone... we have 6 phones and no ooma scout installed). When I first looked at Ooma six months ago they had a presentation on how to do this online... but with there new website it seems to have gotten lost.
Also, I only have a 512K internet line and do active day trading and my wife is often on the phone during these periods. I have seen no impact to internet performance and we have not had any technical issues with phone calls.
Note: ooma does try and sell you premier service for a monthly fee. If you need the premier features I believe it is an annual cost of about $60, but I'm not sure because I didn't get them."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas
Date:August 11, 2009

Works Great! No Problems Here!

Pros: excellent sound quality, no monhly $, good web site for customization
Cons: tricky to set up occasional call drop, fee for international, told it won't work well with alarm systems, charge for certain premium features
Model Number: Ooma with Scout
"I've been using Ooma for about 7 months. Setup was a bit tricky but the instructions are detailed and the pictures are helpful.
My installation setup was a bit different than normal because I have a doorbell intercom that needs to use a phone line in order to get it to work. I had to call my electrician to spice into the phone line but once I got through all that, I've been using a free phone since.
I purchased a 5 unit cordless phone system. The base unit (usually the one with the answering machine) needs to be connected to the Ooma device. The rest of the cordless phones just plug into the walls throughout your house. The Scout unit is attached to my fax/printer. Even though the instructions tell you that you cannot use the fax machine on the Scout you can. In order to fax, you need to dial *99 before the area code and number.
Occasionally, the call will drop. On average, it will happen 1 time in 3 weeks. If the call drops, you immediately get another dial tone and can make the call again.
Sound quality is just like using any other phone. I love it. Callers can hear me and I can hear them clearly.
I highly recommend this product."
Review 32 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 26, 2009

OOMA is great

Pros: saves $$$, 2 minute install
"I was a little skeptical when I bought OOMA about 6 months ago, but now I'm a huge fan. Other than the 1 second "OOMA: dial tone, you'd never know it was any different than a regular line. I've had comacast and Verizon digital service, and this is exactly the same. They also have a nice feature (if you get premier) where you can hit a button and send all calls direction to voicemail. Nice if you want to take a nap or have a baby. I had a 90 day trial of premier, but I opted not to pay for the "silence" feature, but it was a nice feature.
I use OOMA with a regular cordless phone system that I bought at Costco for for 5 phones. So I just plug OOMA into the cordless base, and that's it.
I also spent over $200 on an older model, and with the $100 credit they are currently offering, it is a no brainer.
Some people wonder if the company will stay in business, but I only needed them to be around for 6 months to break even from my Comcast/Verizon accounts, and now I'm saving $30 a month.
For those of you with a TRIPLE play bundled packag,e you can bundle just two services (I have TV and Internet) and it will save about $30 a month."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:April 20, 2010

Horrible Customer Service

Cons: customer support
"I purchased Ooma back in Jan 2010 and used for a little more than a month before porting my telephone number. Phone had been working just fine until 4/15/10 when I noticed red logo was flashing. Now anyone calling my number hears message that number is disconnected.
I called Customer Support on 4/15, 4/16, 4/18, and 4/20 trying to resolve problem, but all I hear are apologies. Telehone support only offer basic steps remedies like unplugging or factory reset----nothing has worked.
I was told that the "Level 2" technician will call ---he didn't. Then I was told my trouble ticket was sent to a "level 3" technician and that he would call me---he didn't. Spoke to supervisor today who could only offer a weak, "I'll see what I can do." It appears phone support, including supervisor, have little or no clout in expediting repairs.
In summary, my phone worked just fine for a while, but now I've been without a phone for 5 days. I'm not sure how Ooma can survive with this kind of technical support, especially with the limited revenue generated by their "free telephone service" business model.
I plan to return to Costco for a refund."
Review 34 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New England
Date:April 20, 2010

Once you set it up, it is excellent

Pros: no more phone bills!
Cons: requires some patience to set up but worth it.
Model Number: The original Ooma (pre-Telo) and scout, from Costco.
"If you're no good with electronics, get a friend or technician who is.... and treat yourself to an Oooma. We've had ours for about 6 months and it is fantastic, particularly because we have no more phone bills!
We decided to add the Premier component because it allowed us to have a second line (and second phone number) using the Scout.
But we also kept our original phone number (Verizon took their sweet time in porting it over to our ooma system) which is nice.
The phone crashed a couple times due to minor problems with our wireless network, but it was easy to reset the phone and get it working, and in fact we haven't had any second-thoughts about it for a long time.
incidentally, you can also have your the telephone wiring in your house set up so that every jack connects to the ooma system. (And you can do this with two lines also, and one can be a landline if you need it, and the other an ooma line).
But for these extra benefits it is helpful to have a trustworthy electrician (or phone technician) help with the wiring. There are good do it yourself VOIP home wiring guides on the internet too.
Everyone should get an Ooma.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Durham, NC
Date:February 23, 2010

Do not expect ANY customer support

Pros: slick device/well designed, call quality is good
Cons: non existent customer support, customer support is not responsive
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"The product works well, however, if you should run into issues, do not expect any customer support. On day one I had submitted online questions regarding setup process for clarification, they didn't impede me from continuing through the setup. I was shocked to discover that 3 weeks AFTER having submitted my inquiries I was actually getting responses. Fortunately they were not critical.
My current problem is I wanted my home number ported to Ooma. My previous service provider completed their portion of the number port (I initiated the process through Ooma as required). Ooma still has not completed their process and now I'm fearing I have lost my home number completely (I "owned" that number for over 15 years and had already ported it once before). I've been trying to work with Ooma customer support and they really do not have a handle on customer support. They receive concerns and promise to get back to you by email with a response. I've been trying to get status of my number port for over a week since my old provider confirmed they handed my number off to Ooma and Ooma has yet to provide any explanation or update."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:March 25, 2010

bye bye phone bill

Pros: easy setup and break even in 2.5 months
Cons: none so far
Model Number: OOMA Telo
"Fantastic.....Bought this about 4 weeks ago online and tested it for 2 weeks while keeping my old line and number just to be sure. I'm 2 weeks into the number port and can't wait to cancel my Verizon service. I had to reboot the system one time since installation and it wasn't a big deal. Besides, for $15 a year in taxes as my only cost after purchase, I wouldn't complain if I had to reboot it once a month. Crystal clear voice reception....wouldn't even know that your using VOIP.
After telling my father-in-law about it he made me get him one and he's had no issues and loves it. He didn't port his number, just picked a new one and everything is good.
I don't understand while some people have problems. The setup was a piece of cake and other than 1 reboot between the 2 systems, no issues. (we both have cable internet modems)
Plus with the free 6 months of Premier and the $100 international credit, you can't go wrong. That brings your price down to around $150. I'll break even in 2.5 months by not having to pay Verizon. Why pay a monthly fee for VOIP through a provider when you can get it for free!"
Review 37 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nassau County, NY
Date:January 16, 2009

Great for domestic calls but not Int'l

"The main reason I bought the Ooma phone system was because of their competitive International rates. Unfortunately after hooking up the unit and taking it for a test run, I found out that Ooma was not billing from the time of connection but from when you finish dialing the number. Several calls would never connect on the other end and we still got billed. The Ooma customer service department credited the calls that never made connection but why keep a service if you are going to have to check your phone bill every time you make calls just to make sure you are not getting billed for more calls than what you make? If you attempt to call your country three times and it finally makes a connection on the third time, Ooma bills you for three calls. And depending on if you let the phone ring and nobody ever picks up on the other end, they bill that as a call as well.
These calls were made to Honduras, not one of the typical international countries like Mexico, England, Italy, Canada, France, etc.
I wish there was a service that had cheap rates and didn't play games like the phone card companies do."
29 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:midwest
Date:April 8, 2010

Worth It

Pros: save on the cost of telephone and fax service
Cons: ooma's tech support not helpful beyond most basic
Model Number: OOMA TELO VOIP Phone System w/ Handset
"I am extremely happy with OOMA TELO! I used to have my telephone service through comcast and they are getting too big and powerful (note that they won in court against the FCC which was trying to force ISP's to maintain web neutrality). I ported both my home phone number and dedicated fax line number to OOMA. It took me a while to figure out that OOMA tech support people did not have the knowledge to help me (1) figure out that I was having problems with my Motorola surfboard SBG 901 wireless gateway--it had to be configured to let the Telo get and send all the information through all the ports in the modem that it needed; and (2) how to set up my OOMA Telo settings & fax machine Canon MF 4150 so that it would work with the TELO. When regular TELO tech support could not help, my questions were kicked up to a higher level but they took a very long time to respond and by then I had solved the problems with help from Motorola, Canon and the on-line community at Ooma. I posted my solutions on that website.
Be sure you buy an extended warranty on the Telo handset. I had to replace mine."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2009

Great purchase- have owned for 10 months

Pros: cost savings, bundled svc features (e.g. website call fwd'ing), great call quality
Cons: a few svc outages in 10 months of use
"As you read reviews, please consider that some reviewers who have complained of poor service have not owned Ooma for very long. I have had Ooma since June 2008, and have only had a handful of outages. Two of those came within the last week or so, and I feel confident that Ooma will address the underlying problem and resolve it.
We ported our home phone number to Ooma, and have been paying $0 for 6 or 7 months (versus $75 from the telco previously). My family also has plenty of cell phones, so we knew we could use those if there ever was a system outage. In the few downtimes that we've experienced, while slightly annoying, they are way outweighed by the savings and otherwise excellent service that we've had the other 99.99% of the time.
In the rare event that I've had a problem with the system (e.g., my Scout failed a few weeks ago), I found customer service to be very helpful. They shipped me a new Scout at no charge and all is good as new.
I highly recommend this device if you have a decent high speed internet connection and want to save money!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Peoria, AZ
Date:May 15, 2010

Sad it didn't work for me

Model Number: Teleo
"Boy I really wanted this to work. To be fair, I might not have given it enough time. It set up really easy, and I thought the voice quality was good. The quality is not as clear as a regular land line, but it was good. I have DSL, and I think it is looped separately from the phone number, if not, OOMA warns that you will lose both if you port. The phone worked good for two days, then incoming calls never rang. I could still call out, but no incoming. During set-up, I chose to keep my same phone number and the caller-id still came from phone company. I think that was my mistake. I should have chosen a new free number, then when I was convinced it worked, then port. I chose to port to soon. The good news is, I didn't lose any service. I emailed OOMA, and they canceled the port process and refunded the porting fee. I don't know if I will try again, I never worked with technical support to be fair, I just want so bad to get rid of my $33 monthly fee from Qwest. I was nervous about losing all phone service, so I am returning and will do research."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>