Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System

2 Months Premier Service $50 Int'l Calling Credit Free US Calling: No Monthly Fees
Average Customer Rating:
4.074 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(336 Reviews) 336
(out of 336 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (336 reviews)
5 stars
210
4 stars
49
3 stars
17
2 stars
12
1 star
48
279 of 336(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Review 81 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:March 20, 2009

Best VOIP

"I have OOMA for the past 2 months and I really like it. Great call quality.
There is no need to pay any monthly bill and it pays for itself after 1 year. I think it is worth to give it a try.
PROS:
--No monthly costs but can only use for 3000 minutes/month
--Great product with High Call quality, cannot make any difference between landline and OOMA
--Easy to setup
CONS:
--Calls are free only subject to the lifetime of the equipment. If the equipment gone bad after 1 year, you need to buy another one. OOMA gives only 1 year warranty for the equipment after that if it goes bad, need to buy a new one.
--Relatively new company
--Cannot make more than 3000 mins/month
--Goes down if no internet
--Customer Service is OK.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 82 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Austin TX
Date:May 4, 2009

Worst purchase ever

Pros: good voice quality, small little features on the web, easier playback on email
Cons: poor support, phone down for over 10 hours, no email support, phoen support takes 30 minutes or so
Model Number: Ooma voip telephone
"Here are the reasons
1. Ooma customer service over phone wait time twice was over 30 minutes and email they do not respond . You are lucky if they respond. So you will be wasting a lot of time
2. Their network and hence my telephone was down over 10 hours one day. I wanted a reliable telephone
3. Quality is same as Vonage. Vonage was easier to set up and handle. Little more expensive but that was ok for me Since Ooma premier was 8 USD a month but highly unreliable.
4. Difficult to cancel or get a refund, Many of the employees are new and do not know the procedure. Costco refund was excellent they did not give me any trouble at all.
5. I simply cannot deal with an unreliable and difficult to get support company.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 83 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:oc--california
Date:July 14, 2009

i dont usually do this review thing--but....

"i waited 3 mos to write this review and feel so strongly about the product---still !
i figgered it would fail eventually but...
i echo all the comments about the quality of service--i do notice the price is going up---not surprising. our only issues -- and one to be aware of--is the # of IP addresses--i understand most service providers allot 5 ip's --if you have wireless TIVO or added computers in you home--it was an issue for us---had to add IP's--small one time fee. i use in my office tho it is sold as a home use product--we have 2 oomas here and no phone bill--down from $300 a month--we do have a fax line on the DSL line--don't wait---it is foolish to pay the phone company---it is really that easy--do it"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 84 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:November 28, 2008

Buy this Product!

"I have been a happy ooma customer for one year and have saved hundreds of dollars as result. My monthly ATT bill has dropped from over $ 80 a month to $10 a month --- and I keep it only for my burglar alarm system, but do all my domestic and international calls through ooma.
The sound quality is excellent; the voicemail system is great and I can even listen to my messages through the web, my email and smartphone.
It is solidly engineered; and their customer support folks are very helpful, though the system works so well, they probably don't have much to do.
Seriously, this is a great way to save money and take control of your phone system. I've heard the founders came from Apple and Cisco - and it shows!"
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 85 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Everett, WA
Date:January 7, 2010

I'm really glad I bought this phone

Pros: good hardware, helpful forums
Cons: want more integration with computer
Model Number: Telo
"I've had no issues with the quality or customer support from Ooma. Read the directions and follow them and most of you will be fine. Here's my setup. Cable Modem to Ooma to Netgear router to Gigabit switch with a Airport Extreme providing wireless. 5 network devices and I got it working just fine. Thanks for the bundle I can call my sister in Germany and not go broke. It also gets better today at CES 2010 Ooma announced coming features for the Telo. How's an iPhone app (with 250 mins of Wifi calls) sound? How about Google Voice integration? You will be able to route your cell calls through the Telo to take advantage of a more comfortable phone or headset.
I'm happy as a clam that I left Vonage for Ooma."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 86 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palo Alto, CA
Date:March 12, 2010

Amazing!!

Model Number: Telo
"We have been using the Telo for about 4 days now. The installation is much easier than described. It was up an running in less than 2 minutes. The upgrade lasted only 10 seconds when the unit was first connected to the internet.
We have U Verse from ATT, 11 Mbps download and 1.5 Mbps upload. We also have ATT U Verse VoIP, so the QoS in our router must help the Ooma.
The voice quality is amazing. We called overseas and the sound was very good.
We are still debating on the Telo handset. It is too expensive for what it is. We love our Panasonic cordless phone that speaks out the caller id. The Telo does not appear to do that basic feature yet. Downloading the contacts from Outlook will be in Q2 2010."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 87 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2009

it's the real deal

"i generally don't post online reviews but i'll make an exception for this product. i love the ooma device. i purchased the product mainly based on the mainly positive reviews on the costo website and I figured if costco sells it, it is probably worth trying. the only difficulty I had was installing the device behind my wireless router but after a few call to the d-link wireless support folks we were up and running. voice quality is excellent, premier features are cool, and today I received notification that my phone number was successfully ported -- it took 2 weeks just like the email from ooma said. I really like this product and plan to install my scout device soon. love it love it love it."
Review 88 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:September 2, 2009

Ooma Really Works!!

"I have to say, I was a skeptic but I thought I'd give it a shot. What the heck... knocking off my $42 a month phone bill sounded like a good ROI to me. Well, Ooma has exceeded my wildest expectations. Calls are clear as a bell. Installation was a snap. Packaging was some of the best I have ever seen and device itself looks and feels of real quality.
It took about 3 weeks to port my home number but that was no big deal since I simply forwarded my old phone to my new Ooma temporary number. Ooma's technical team kept me well informed the entire time with regular periodic status and an expected port date. I would highly recommend this product to friends and family.
Living phone bill free!!!"
Review 89 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:MI
Date:November 27, 2009

Good for extra phone

Pros: no monthly bills, good for vacation home
Cons: not as clear as a landline
"I ordered the ooma for our vacation home. It also allows me to have two lines at home, and when we travel to our vacation home, I just take it with me. It does work quite well, but it does not perform up to the standards of a landline. I never had any trouble with being able to make a call. I do have a fast internet connection, but sometimes there is a slight hissing. I am very happy not to be paying for two phone bills. Again, remember when your internet connection is down, your phone will not work. Your calls will be answered by voice mail. If you have the premier service, your calls can be forwarded. This is a good addition to a landline, but it is not an equal replacement."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 90 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SLC, UT
Date:May 25, 2010

Works great - very satisfied customer

Model Number: Telo
"I've had my Telo about 3 weeks now, and LOVE it. Took only about 5 minutes to hook it up and get running. Ooma website is really nice for call logs, voice mail and various options including Q&A if you have any concerns prior to purchasing. I have Qwest DSL 1.5 m silver service and it works wonderfully for me with the Telo. Great call clarity. I chose not to port my old #. Very happy to see so many free phone #'s available for my city and they even let select your new # from about 20 choices. New users should realize ooma now charges monthly govt. tax/fees (which includes 911 service), for me it is $3.47 a month. So no longer "free" but a bargain compared to the phone company."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 91 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tucson
Date:October 22, 2009

Not Ready for Prime Time

Pros: never got to use it we'll never know
Cons: poor instructions, poor technical support, poor web site
"I am a current Vonage customer. Instructions did not cover how to configure the device with Vonage modem while waiting for your phone number to port. Porting phone number costs $40 which they don't tell you until you open the box. Tech support did not help solve my problem. Web site had numerous hangups and glitches. I couldn't get to the page to begin the porting process. It was down/not available with no redirection to other helpful pages. After registering I logged on to "My Ooma" where I saw a message from Ooma waiting for me. I tried to play it. It also was just hung up and wouldn't play. I feel bad that I'll never know how well this product works, but I'm returning it."
3 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 92 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Shawnee, KS.
Date:April 20, 2009

Not the 1st VOIP I've Used

Pros: works as advertised
Cons: get some buzzing or static at times.
Model Number: 100-0104-101
"I have been looking at this company for a couple of years, and when Costco went to marketing it, I decided it was time to try it.
I've used a total of 4 different VOIP services, and Ooma is by far the best one that I have used. You are able to fax w/o lots of issues, where some of the others tried would let you fax 1 page, maybe 2, but definitely not 7 pages.
I set mine up with two different wireless phones and both are working great.
I've had some issues, but in the process of porting so expect some issues.
For the ones that have the big concern about not being able to call 911, all cell phones charged are able to make that call w/o service with the cell phone company."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 93 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Arlington, Va
Date:December 29, 2009

Well worth the money

Pros: easy & quick setup, good quality product, easy to use web site, good call quality
Cons: brief jingle/sound prior to placing a call
"I have had Ooma for about three months. I found the installation very easy that took no more than about 15 minutes. I have had to contact technical support twice and have had no issues dealing with them. I find the web based account manager very easy to use. I also have Vonage- comparing the two, I find the voice quality pretty much equal.
I highly recommend it...and there is no monthly fee! Woohoo!! I don't use this for international calls, so can't speak to that.
The only thing I am not crazy about is there is a very short jingle/sound when you first pick up the phone to make a call. I am used to it now, but would be happy without it. Not sure if that can be turned off."
Review 94 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:July 15, 2010

Nice product - but won't work with Security System

Pros: product is well designed looks and feels good;, works without a hitch;
Cons: does not work with home securiy systems;, reactivation fee is $80 if you deactivate anytime;, the led lights can be confusing for casual users;, monthly local taxes amount to $4 or so;
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"This is a good product, well designed and works well for voice. Even though the product is touted as no monthly expenses, there is in fact a $4/month (approx) taxes that need to be paid for 911 support, etc.
The biggest downside is that it does not work with my Ademco home security alarm system. I spent about 3hrs testing it repeatedly before giving up. Ooma tech support cannot provide help in this regard. I am sad. :(
Also, if you deactivate the device and then plan to reactivate it later, expect to pay $80. This motivates me to promptly return the device back to Costco. I wish I didn't need to.
Also, expect to may $4 (four bucks) or so monthly for local taxes, etc."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 95 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Date:December 10, 2009

Best VoIP Device

Pros: price, quality, ease of installation, features, design, convenience
Cons: none that i could find
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"I purchased this item after reading 100s of reviews over a 1 year period. I was to install/configure in 5 minutes and I had a dial tone and used the device to make a call in about 5 minutes. Quality is outstanding. I purchased last week for $329.99 (with $100 off) and I noticed today that COSTCO is giving back $130. I called and received the additional $40 refund.
I have recommended this product to all my family and friends.
I have already called my phone/internet provider (AT&T) and requested a "dry loop" DSL line so I can de-activate my land line and have already requested that Ooma transfer my land line number.
Excellent device and an excellent price. MUST HAVE.."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 96 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:April 2, 2009

Great Buy & Great Customer Service

Pros: easy to install, no monthly bills, reliable, high quality
Cons: initial cost, no extended warranty offered, pay for premier service
Model Number: Ooma Hub and Scout with Premier Service
"I have always had a land line and was skeptical of getting Voip at first but when I saw this (Ooma) product on costco, I purchased it with confidence that costco stands behind all their products. Installation of hub, scout, and getting a second line was very easy.
I had read some bad reviews about customer service and was concerned, but was pleasantly surprised when called Ooma for the first time for a minor technical support. The call was answered immediately with no wait at all, and the representative was extremely courteous and knowledgeable. My question was answered and the issue resolved in less than a minute. Needless to say, I am a very satisfied customer."
Review 97 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:RPV, CA
Date:March 6, 2009

GOOD PRODUCT BUT READ THE FINE PRINT FIRST

Pros: solid build quality, good sound
Cons: annoying chime-like sound when connecting, free for life may not really be free
Model Number: OOMA Core w/ Scout
"I've done a bit of research before buying OOMA. Overall I am satisfied with the product quality and sound but there are a couple of issues with it:
a) The system makes a very annoying chime when you pick up and/or connect
b) Read the fine print since "Free U.S. Calling w/ No Monthly Fee" may not be really free. According to OOMA's terms of use if you make more than 3,000 minutes of outbound calls per month they reserve the right to charge you or disconnect your service. FYI, that's less than 2 hours per day. So if you plan on making more than 3,000 minutes of outbound calls per month I suggest you review OOMA's Terms and Conditions section 5.a carefully."
38 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 98 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:September 10, 2010

Nice! On our way to dumping Comcast!!

Pros: good value!
Cons: can't review vm from existing cordless phone.
"Heard about this from a neighbor down the street. Picked one up installed it. Since I already have Comcast VOIP, I wasn't quite sure about the set up, but I posted a question on the forum and had an answer and resolution within about 15 minutes. Had to call CS because I entered wrong phone number...but never had a wait for more than a minute. Probably only negative I can think of is that you have to retrieve your voice mails off of the base rather than your cordless phone (unless you have the Ooma handest, which you can do that from). Also, it is not totally "Free"...you have to pay applicable taxes and fees based on your state each month...couple of bucks"
Review 99 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Huntington Beach, Calif
Date:August 3, 2009

Great item

"I want to tell all my friends about this great little system so they to can get rid of there phone bills. I was going to try Magic Jack but opted for Ooma and I am glad I did. Really easy to hook up and let me tell you if I can do it anyone can do it I am totally challenged when it comes to technical devices. I have it up and have already made and recieved calls and can tell no difference in this service than my regular telephone service except for the dialtone is a little different-no biggie though. Money in my pocket is better than in someone elses. Try it you won't be disappointed. I rarely write reviews either but I thought this product warranted one."
Review 100 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:E Brunswick, NJ
Date:January 3, 2010

One of the wisest choices

Pros: extremely quick setup, fantastic service support, crystal clear call quality
Cons: none so far !
Model Number: OOMA Telo
"A great product (OOMA) from a a great store (Costco) !!.
We had been paying the phone company through the nose for years. Finally we will be able to avoid the phone company and their ridiculously high charges and poor service.
The only hesitation was what happens if OOMA goes out of business for any reason. But the flip side is if we can get 4 months of use out of OOMA equipment it will have paid for itself, and the fact that Costco is carrying this product gives a lot of comfort as well.
With this kind of product that allows users to save money without compromising quality, there is every reason to believe OOMA will be around for a long long time !!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 17 next>>