Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System

2 Months Premier Service $50 Int'l Calling Credit Free US Calling: No Monthly Fees
Average Customer Rating:
4.074 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(336 Reviews) 336
(out of 336 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (336 reviews)
5 stars
210
4 stars
49
3 stars
17
2 stars
12
1 star
48
279 of 336(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Review 101 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Jackson, NJ
Date:February 5, 2010

bought Ooma Hub at local Costco

Pros: getting rid of optimum voice. no more bills., great to see the blue light glowing.
Cons: just hated paying ov til ported.
Model Number: Ooma Hub
"Very skeptical about buying but when Cablevision had a dispute with HGTV and Food Network, I had enough so I bought the Ooma and Directv from Costco. Although it took a little time to set up, set up is very easy. Porting was easy. Love the Hub for answering messages. Great service when I called Customer Service the first day. Waited less than a minute twice. No problems since. Love forwarding calls from home to cell on Multi-Ring forwarding. Many great features. Love getting the price adjusted today as well since store offered Instant rebate. Gift card for Directv came in 12 days. Installation gentleman was very cooperative and extremely courteous."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 102 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Roswell, GA
Date:January 11, 2010

Great Product if good broadband internet

Pros: quality of call is great-computer can be off, got rid of 2 land lines so saving $1000/year, telo handset would allow an instant second line
Cons: i gave up a distinctive ring fax number
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"I have a small home based business and this is a great cost saver. I have had the ooma Telo for about 50 days at this point. I ported my home office number with no problem. I use charter cable internet with a high meg service and my calls are as good as a land line. Followed instructions and no problem with set-up. I will probably keep the Oooma premier features which cost about $10 a month because I like being able to set the home/office number to ring my cell phone simultaneously and other neat features to directly block tele-marketers. Also, I may do the instant second line by buying a telo handset.
I don't do any international calling.
"
Review 103 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:May 27, 2009

Several Warnings

"1) Poor email response time: Each time I emailed them, it took 5-7 days for a response. This went on for a month. Finally I just solved it myself.
2) If you have voice and DSL service on the same pair of wires, DO NOT SWITCH TO A DRY LOOP until porting has completed. Your voice service must be ACTIVE for OOMA to port your number over. If you call your phone company and ask for a dry loop before the porting is done, you will not be able to port. You will have to re-start voice service (usually costs involved) to get porting to take place. Once porting is done, then make the dry loop phone call to your old provider (using your OOMA phone!)."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 104 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Madison, AL
Date:August 1, 2009

Great Product

Pros: no phone bill, easy to install
Cons: network outage no phone line if you port your #.
"You must have at least a 3.0 mbps internet connection. The faster the better. I've had my Ooma system now for over 6 months and I LOVE it. I ported my previous phone number to Ooma and now I only have an internet bill, no phone bill! Pay the extra ~$100 per year for Ooma Premier, I think it's worth it. Remember though, if you lose your network, you lose your phone line, unless you keep your landline with the phone company. If you keep your landline, you can drop all the extras and just have a basic phone line, which will save you at least some money per month. The Ooma system will eventually pay for itself, most times within one year."
Review 105 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ventura, CA
Date:September 12, 2009

device delivers

"Easy to hook up and did not have any trouble with my home office integration. Even the all-in-one printer was able to be put on line, including the fax. My only troublesome area was dealing with AT&T to create a "dry loop" on my DSL service and to have them unbundle my cell, phone and DSL services and billing prior to requesting Ooma to port over my number. Dealing with AT&T took almost two weeks. It is worth it. I got my last partial bill from AT&T and now look forward to zero monthly phone bills. I calculate the Ooma device will have paid for itself in 4 1/2 months. After 35 years of paying monthly phone bills; I am free of AT&T."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 106 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, California
Date:January 13, 2010

Looks great to me

Pros: costco extras, no monthly fee, set up relatively painless
Cons: need to look closely to see if you have a message
"I was able to activate without any issues and my Costco extras showed up just fine in My Ooma. I configured as per the instructions. The Ooma logo blinked blue. Unfortunately, the instructions didn't tell me if this was a sign that it was updating the firmware or not (which is supposed to happen when you first plug it in). After 4 hours I called support and held for just a few minutes. The rep ran some tests, had me change the configuration and it was up and running. So far I get calls just fine and can make them fine too. The sound is good. The voice mail works fine. The next task to to get the system linked into my home phones."
Review 107 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:March 29, 2010

Great Deal - No Regrets

Pros: fast simple reliable, basic voicemail good enough without premium svc
Cons: long wait for porting number, web admin not as sophisticated as vonage's, not recommended for all int'l calls
Model Number: Telo
"Install was fast and convenient. I installed it post router and it works perfectly. This was purchased as a replacement for my Vonage service. Note though that I am using OOMA only for all my US based calls, and for all my international calls, I switched to Skype which I find has the least expensive rate to where I am calling. Get in price is a bit high but I calculated my average monthly expenses from Vonage, it will take me approx 10-11 months to recoup, without premium service. I also found after I bought that I will incur a $11.75 Fed fees etc. so take that into account. Still a good deal I think. reliable service to date."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 108 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clearwater, FL
Date:July 21, 2009

good product

Pros: i fired the phone company
"I've used the basic Ooma for 9 months. No more phone bills, its paid for itself already. Works good on road runner cable. I don't use the scout, nor the premier service. I use my 4 phones on the ooma. The Uniden base phone plugs into the ooma. The 3 other cordless phones operate to the base within the house. In order to fax, I dial *99 in front of the phone # on my fax machine. I simply move my phone line from the back of the phone base to the fax machine. When I get done faxing, I move it back to the phone base. I'm sure there might be an easier way, I don't fax often enough to figure it out.
I love not paying phone bills.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 109 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:July 14, 2010

Love it

Pros: easy set up, good sound, inexpensive, can retrieve phone messages online
Cons: occasional echo, sometimes ring is delayed when placing a call
"I have the older model and premier service. There is an occasional echo on voices but it is inconsequential. The lack of marketing calls may be one of the best features. When my son went overseas I added the $5 a month international plan. For some reason you can add this online but have to call to remove it. However, the call was quick and efficient. I am going to get my traveler children Oomas so they can call wherever they are. My current favorite feature is being able to forward all incoming calls to my cell phone. Now both phones ring whenever a call comes in on my home line. It only took a click online to set that up."
Review 110 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:December 5, 2008

I highly recommend Ooma

Pros: voice mail caller id free calling, free long distance check voice mails on line, calls forwarded to another number
Cons: faxing is unpredictable
"I have had my system for 3 months. Since then, I have disconnected my old phone service and have completely switched over (kept same number). The best feature I like is the fact that I get emails/ text messages when I have a voice mail. Actually the other feature I really like is that I can have my calls also forwarded to my cell phone, so both lines ring at the same time. If I don't pick up, then the Ooma voice mail picks it up.
The only downfall is that I can't send out faxes with this system. I am scanning and emailing to get around this, but it is hardly a fall back considering that now I have absolutely no phone bill.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 111 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Camarillo, CA
Date:April 27, 2009

You can't go wrong

Pros: cheap!, good looking/stylish, ease of use
Cons: no power = no phone
"By far one of the best purchases out there. I’ve owned this for a little while now and can honestly say the phone quality is exceptional (meaning as good as a normal landline and better than most VOIP systems). I have owned two different VOIP phones in the past, and the ooma is by far the best. It didn’t have as many features as some of the other VOIP systems, but it is the easiest to use. From unpacking to hooking up to using the ooma lounge it has been a first class experience. Then buying it from Costco, you have the full backing of the Costco guarantee! I really don’t see any down side to this, it’s a no brainer!"
Review 112 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Georgia
Date:May 7, 2009

Horible customer serv.-poor international quality

Pros: ok for domestic use.
Cons: awful customer service, unrialable, poor international phone quality
"Be aware and lets get is straight.
*The domestic communication quality are excellent.
* The international communication quality is just plain awful (even to Canada) not talking to Europe. In addition Ooma has already increased their rate already twice since I subscribed.
* The lounge feature are nice but nothing exceptional for a VOIP.
* Poor reliability: We have experience service interruption (a full day) after Ooma system crashed.
* Now the worst: I have serious billing issues and tried to contact Ooma by phone and by email over 10 days after still no response.
I really regret switching my service to Ooma now."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 113 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, Arizona
Date:April 17, 2009

Progressive Product

Model Number: Ooma VoIP Phone System
"I think the idea is smart. you have to follow instructions correctly or yu will have problems...like you have to register first before you start plugging stuff in. it took me tops 20 minutes total. setting up the scout was a breeze.
we did have an Ooma outage 4-13-09 but they acknowledged their shortcomings and learned how to correct mistakes for future usage.
i love that you purchase international minutes and that avoids overhead costs in billing...this is brillant.
it may take some more time for all the kinks to get worked out but so far I'm glad i purchased the system.
Thanks to Costco for keeping up to speed.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 114 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2010

So far so good!!!

Pros: might just be one of the best investments ever
Cons: nothing so far
Model Number: Ooma Hub
"So far so good!!! I've bought the Ooma hub from costco about 3 months ago and it has worked pretty flawlessly except for maybe a few dropped calls. (Not sure if it was me or the other side of the connection)
Sound quality is excellent. My old phones worked well with the system even though I finally upgraded to the new dect 6. Set up was real easy and when I called up tech support, I was handled promptly and efficiently. I also used their e-mail system for a question and they also replied promptly.
It sure is nice not to have to pay the monthly phone bill with all their extra charges and taxes for who knows what.
"
Review 115 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Detroit MI
Date:February 16, 2010

Works but lacks some details

Pros: quick and easy
Cons: no cwcid, music for dial tone
"I purchased this in December 2009 just before Christmas. I dropped my DSL line and started using Cable. The porting of my phone line worked great it was active on Jan 14th, just like they said it would. I had to purchase a battery backup for the router, cable modem and OOMA unit. This battery backup & filter, cleared up the "Humm" I was hearing in the line.
This was not a fault of the OOMA unit, but dirty electrical current.
Would I do it again? Yes
The Unit does not support CWCID (Call waiting Caller ID) if you need this feature it does not work. I may in the future.
My break even point is about 6 months.."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 116 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lake Forest, CA
Date:September 10, 2010

This Ooma Telo product is awesome

Pros: save money
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"Picked this Ooma Telo up at the local Costco warehouse a couple of months ago. The Telo has been in service for a couple of months in the house now and it has been great. Installation was extremely easy. Just make sure you have high speed internet and you are all set for good voice quality and free calls to all of US. I do have to pay local tax and fees, but it's only $3.47/mo for my area. I dump my old phone provider immediately after I got my Ooma and save a bundle on my monthly phone bill. Not to mention voice quality is great. My family and friends didn't notice any difference during phone conversations."
Review 117 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Colubmus, OH
Date:April 3, 2009

Purchase this great product now!!!!! Save Money!!!

Pros: easy setup, works well, looks good, customer service, costco return policy if anything were to go wrong, no monthly fee, free long distance to anywhere in us, instant second line
Cons: none
Model Number: Omma Hub and Scout
"As easy to setup and easy as Apple products. Makes sense since some of the head people at OOMA are former Apple employees. I purchased this in December of 2008. I have been using it since either December or January. I have no problems with it at all. The setup took less than 10 minutes. The call quality is excellent. I was so happy I ported my home phone number to it. If you are going to port your home phone number opt for one year of premiere service for $99 which includes phone number porting otherwise OOMA will charge you $35.00 to port. Customer service is some of the best I have dealt with at a company."
Review 118 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2009

Great when it works

Pros: great sound quality when it works
Cons: "are you there?" stinks
"This was an incredible product for about three months. Great sound quality in both directions, features from fantastic to pretty darn good. Then I started hearing "wait, wait, are you still there" from people on the other end, randomly. I tried everything to fix it. The Ooma tech supoort people were reasonably responsive and very friendly, but when their canned recipe didn't work, I was stuck. I suspect the problem is my cable service, but it doesn't matter; what I learned is, a phone that works 90% of the time is a disaster. I'm spending twice the money to have a second regular old landline installed"
Review 119 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:July 31, 2009

Ooma is a Top Notch Phone System

"We don't use our home phone all that often and I was getting irritated paying $35 a month for this service.
I tried Skype but I didn't like the fact that you had to plug the phone into a functioning computer that was connected to the internet.
I ordered the Ooma package and once it arrived I spent no more than 20 minutes unboxing and getting the device to function.
The Ooma base station plugs directly into your cable modem. You can then attach a router/access point into the Ooma station for additional network connectivity.
The reception is excellent and the system has paid for itself after 6 months.
"
Review 120 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dublin, OH
Date:August 1, 2009

Excellent quality and value!

Pros: quality, features, premium service, free basic service, easy setup, very reliable service, hardware will pay for itself within 1 year.
Cons: initial cost higher than monthly voip provider.
"I have had my Ooma with premium service for over a year. Before Ooma I used Sunrocket VOIP, and Vonage VOIP. Sunrocket went out of business and while Vonage worked just fine, the monthly fees were $35. Ooma works just as well and basic service is free. If you need more features like e-mail delivery of voice mail messages, then you can purchase premium service which runs about $100 per year. The quality is great and the price for ongoing service can't be beat. If you're looking for a good VOIP solution to replace or supplement your existing phone service, this device will fit the bill."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... 17 next>>