Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System

2 Months Premier Service $50 Int'l Calling Credit Free US Calling: No Monthly Fees
Average Customer Rating:
4.074 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(336 Reviews) 336
(out of 336 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (336 reviews)
5 stars
210
4 stars
49
3 stars
17
2 stars
12
1 star
48
279 of 336(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Review 161 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hillsboro, OR.
Date:October 21, 2009

Ooma great product

Pros: ease of use., excellent voice quality
"Bought Ooma from costco warehouse, very simple to set up. I have Verizon FIOS and just hooked it up straight from the provided FIOS router to the OOMA hub. I ported my # from Verizon and it took 3 weeks. Porting was very easy just fill the online form on the OOMA lounge site and they do it all for you. The system works great I hooked up my Uniden 5.8 Ghz phone system and plugged in the 4 other phones to it and they all work perfectly. Say goodbye to the $35 a month phone bill."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 162 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:February 23, 2010

Ooma is not free, $11.75 annual recovery fee

Model Number: Ooma Telo
"The phone system is really good, only if you have a superb router to handle heavy internal network traffic. Some tweaks are needed to adjust data packets size of incoming/outgoing traffic.
Ooma is no longer free as it advertised, the annual fee of $11.75 is applied to all Ooma members, which is still cheaper than traditional land line phone bill, ie Cox, Qwest, ATT...
I think Ooma should refund the porting fee, since they breach the terms of contract and false advertisement."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 163 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:TX
Date:January 26, 2010

Ooma hub + extra hub

Pros: great service, sends faxes
Cons: echo but not often
"We use U-verse for our internet connection and have not had any problems other than an a little echo only occasionally. It happens very rarely and goes away as quickly as it comes. Most VoIP users are unable to send faxes, but we have had no problems with that either. I think it all has to do with your internet provider as to your success with this system. We have been using the Ooma for about 9 months now. We love NOT paying the phone co. anymore and their outrageous prices!"
Review 164 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Suburban Atlanta, GA
Date:March 23, 2010

Great Product Very Simple

Pros: no need for customer service, easy number porting
Cons: none yet
Model Number: ooma Hub bought in warehouse
"LOVE IT! (reviews with complaints must be from people who don't know how to set up the product.) It is simple. This product will pay for its self in 6 months. No more phone bill for the house! If we could just do something similar with mobile phones!
Ported # in 3 weeks time - had emails from ooma that kept me current on the progress. Crystal Clear sound with dect 6.0 phones attached to it. Did I say I LOVE IT. Don't be afraid of this product it does what it says it will do."
Review 165 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2009

Excellent Product

"I just purchased this product and it is fantastic. I have it plugged into my phone system in my house so all of my phones are connected to this one ooma base. Sound quality is on par with regular landline. I called tech support and they answered quickly and were helpful. People have complained about their tech support in other reviews, maybe since Ooma has expanded they have increased their support. I definitely would recommend this product if you want to save money."
Review 166 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:February 4, 2010

Excellent Product

Pros: great refund policy
Cons: lack of knowledgeable csr's
Model Number: Ooma Telco
"Excellent product if it works. My first unit did not work after my internet modem failed. Ooma Telco unit kept going through boot cycles after the internet provided replaced my internet modem. Customer service could not resolve the issue nor did they recommend replacing the unit.
Thanks to the great refund policy of Costco as well as Ooma - I got a full refund of all charges with which I ordered a new unit from Costco and got it to work under a new Ooma account."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 167 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Twin Falls, ID
Date:August 21, 2009

Why wouldn't everybody want Ooma?

"We had a little bit of trouble getting it installed because our modem is different than the ones in the instructions. But I called the next day and got help. The phone was answered after only 2-3 rings and I was pleasantly surprised that a real person was talking to me. He helped me figure it out in 5-10 minutes, and It's worked great ever since. I love the way the message system works. No more waiting through messages to listen to your messages or delete them."
Review 168 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Arlington, VA
Date:May 26, 2010

Don't waste your time!

Cons: poor phone service quality
"I had such high hopes. I liked the features, but I had to return this since I had trouble with the call quality - echo and hang up in the middle of calls, and when 2 parties speak, it is like a cell phone and doesn't work well.
I should never have ported my phone # over since now I need to un do everything.
Idea is good, but execution not ready for prime time! And I have very strong Verizon internet FOIS, so that is not why the VOIP service is no good."
2 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 169 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Milford, Pa
Date:January 16, 2010

Very Disappointing

Model Number: Ooma Telo
"Hooked up the Ooma Telo today and was not able to receive any calls from a landline or a cell phone. After 3 hours on the phone with Tech Support, the issue could not be resolved as they mumbled something about a known issue with existing phone numbers. I had registered and requested Porting my number 2 days ago. I only hope they can cancel that request or I will be left with no phone service. What a disappointing experience. Returning phone to Costco."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 170 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2009

Outstanding value!

"Have had this for 6 months and couldn't be happier. Saved $70 a month for equal or better service and just about any calling feature you could want. Sound quality is excellent. Set up wasn't idiot proof for a non-techie like me, but still had it up and running within an hour.
The only real issue is the amount of time for porting your old number. Customer service has been great the one or two times I've had to call--courteous and knowledgeable."
Review 171 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago Suburbs
Date:March 11, 2010

Ooma Phone System

"To sum it up...Vonage without the monthly bills. Everything works perfectly and great...good bye AT&T and Comcast Phone Service. Fax Mode works normal like a traditional phone/fax line. Have to increase my internet speed from AT&T Elite to AT&T Max which is now up to12mbps download speed....to get incoming faxes consistently and to not drop incoming fax transmissions...if you are with comcast internet you don't have to worry about it........."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 172 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:December 16, 2009

Ooma Telo

Pros: the voice is crystal clear, save me monthly bills, once installed no hassel, good customer service once a rep available, 100 international calling credit for this order, no need to turn on pc only modem, transfer existing phone number with no problem
Cons: installation takes me about 1 hour, 100 calling credit is only for 3 months
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"I bought Ooma on 12/4/2009 and just installed it last Saturday. I've testing the product to call anywhere in US with my friends and international calls as well since I get 100 calling credit. I am very happy with the quality of this product and highly recommend anyone who wants to save phone bills to go for it. The calling quality is better than Magic Jack and as good as my landline. Like many of the commenter said "the voice is crytal clear""
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 173 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:December 31, 2009

I'm so happy

"I was wary of this systems but my dislike for Comcast/Verizon was so strong that I took the leap and made the purchase. The phone was relatively simple to set up and works perfectly. My number was ported to Ooma and I canceled my phone account with Comcast saving more than $60 a month. I'll get my money back in 4 months. I set up a second phone number with area code near my friends and family so it is a local call for them.I am really happy."
Review 174 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, Idaho
Date:July 23, 2009

Works great

"We haven't had a phone bill for months and the call quality is as good as our old landline. We didn't port the number because the $40 charge for porting is outrageous. It set up very easily, 20 minutes might be a push but inside of an hour you can get it working unless your internet setup causes a conflict. The light on the scout doesn't seem to work but the scout is working just fine. We have recommended this to several of our friends."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 175 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:April 27, 2010

Ooma--terrific--almost

Pros: money saver
Cons: handset not holding a charge
"I bought the ooma to use as my new office phone figuring i could keep my old number when we moved and also save a bunch on a phone bill. I've been thrilled with the call quality and ease of set up. Only complaint is that the handset doesn't seem to hold a charge. I'll be calling Costco for a solution, which I know they will offer as they are the best. I would definitely recommend the Ooma and thinking about switching my home phone too!"
Review 176 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Gig Harbor, WA
Date:September 9, 2009

free calls - why aren't you doing this?

Pros: no bills, two numbers, all the goodies the phone company charges for, call blocking
Cons: long time to port your number over
"Been using this a year now. A few headaches in the beginning, but I think they were growing pains for a rather new company. They've added service techs and customer service agents, and getting them to respond is pretty routine now. They worked hard on one particular problem I was having. Took them a while, but they got it straightened out and things have been as good as any other phone company with one glaring difference - NO BILLS."
Review 177 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:December 31, 2009

Good product

Model Number: Ooma Telo
"We order this product before the Christmast time and received it couple days later. It was fast shipping from Costco.
The installation is pretty straight forward if you follow the instructions. I have been used other VOIP products before like Vonage, SunPack, etc... and recently with Packet 8 for my office. In my opinion, this Ooma Telo is an alternative way to the telcos. And I would strongly recommend this Telo to all my friends.
"
Review 178 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:April 2, 2009

I still can't believe it!

Pros: computer does not have to be one for phone to work, online messaging allows you see/hear msg. anywhere
"This system is way too cool! The set up was very easy. So easy that when it was up and running, I still felt the need to call customer support to make sure that I installed it correctly. They answered in minutes. I ported my number. I also use the phone with U-verse and All-in-One Printer/Fax. It has been about a month and absolutely no problems to date. Customer support is awesome! I wish I had heard of this system much sooner."
Review 179 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:September 19, 2010

Still may be a geek toy

Pros: sound quality was good when working
Cons: documentation, not as intuitive as i'd like
Model Number: Ooma Teleo
"I bought this at costco 2 days ago. INstallation instructions were wrong, my friend who has Ooma had to tell me how to place the phone cord in a different port than instrauctions suggested. Got the thing working great on Friday. Saturday, I can't get dial tone. I hope this turns around but the web site is pretty useless and tech forums are not helping. I'll try the support tomorrow. Summary, this is not for technology laggards."
Review 180 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:January 21, 2009

Good product

Pros: reliable and consistent, cool features, call block is as simple as click click via web
Cons: setup has to be by the book
"If you pay attention to the technical requirements and the setup - specifically the broadband speed minimums and the need to place the Ooma box between your DSL or Cable Modem and your Router, then you will be pleased with this product. Works great for my home, the kids etc. I do have a no frills landline from Bell for faxing and home security - but that cost 17 per month vs. the fully loaded home phone service of almost 54."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 ... 17 next>>