Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System

2 Months Premier Service $50 Int'l Calling Credit Free US Calling: No Monthly Fees
Average Customer Rating:
4.074 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(336 Reviews) 336
(out of 336 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (336 reviews)
5 stars
210
4 stars
49
3 stars
17
2 stars
12
1 star
48
279 of 336(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Review 1 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tenessee
Date:December 12, 2009

Suprisingly Good! Give the phone company the boot!

Pros: great customer service!, great call quality!, easy set-up!, no monthly phone bills!
Cons: alarm system still needs a phone line.
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"I bought the Ooma Telo VoIP box 2 weeks ago from Costco. I have AT&T DSL (6.0 Extreame) Internet Service and operate at 438 kbps (Upstream) and 2.58 mbps (Downstream). I have it installed between my modeum and wireless router and it works great. I have an AT&T wireless phone with 5 extensions plugged into the Ooma Telo and my calls are more clear than my AT&T land line (clear for both me and the party I am calling).
I did need to call their support number for one issue. For some reason I could call anyone except for my parrents (we're in Tennessee and they are in Kansas) which was a U.S. call. When I'd call them their phone would ring but I would immediately hear the unique Ooma Dial Tone and the call would disconnect.
I called support and it took about 5 min's to reach a specialist, but no big deal as once I reached a person she was AMAZING! Seriously, I am the first to complain when reaching people in Tiwan or Inda when I need help but she was incredible. Sweet, kind, knowledgable, and quickly was able to solve my problem. A quick adjustment to the Upsteam and Downstream settings within my Ooma's programing and I was able to call my parrents without any troubles at all.
I am VERY pleased with this product and look forward to porting my phone number over from AT&T.
By the way............. ONCE YOU DISCONNECT YOUR LOCAL PHONE SERVICE YOU CAN PLUG YOUR Ooma Telo INTO ONE OF YOUR TELEPHONE WALL OUTLETS AND IT WILL SERVICE ALL YOUR TELEPHONES JUST LIKE YOUR LOCAL SERVICE DID.
I have used MagicJack in the past and it worked okay, but in no way comes close to the call quality I get from Ooma. I'm extreamly impressed and pleased with their service. I do not have one of their Ooma Telephone handsets as the reviews on them are very poor. I am completely happy using my exsisting AT&T wireless 6.0 phones. They work very well with the Ooma Telo unit."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 26, 2009

OOMA is great

Pros: saves $$$, 2 minute install
"I was a little skeptical when I bought OOMA about 6 months ago, but now I'm a huge fan. Other than the 1 second "OOMA: dial tone, you'd never know it was any different than a regular line. I've had comacast and Verizon digital service, and this is exactly the same. They also have a nice feature (if you get premier) where you can hit a button and send all calls direction to voicemail. Nice if you want to take a nap or have a baby. I had a 90 day trial of premier, but I opted not to pay for the "silence" feature, but it was a nice feature.
I use OOMA with a regular cordless phone system that I bought at Costco for for 5 phones. So I just plug OOMA into the cordless base, and that's it.
I also spent over $200 on an older model, and with the $100 credit they are currently offering, it is a no brainer.
Some people wonder if the company will stay in business, but I only needed them to be around for 6 months to break even from my Comcast/Verizon accounts, and now I'm saving $30 a month.
For those of you with a TRIPLE play bundled packag,e you can bundle just two services (I have TV and Internet) and it will save about $30 a month."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:January 21, 2009

Good product

Pros: reliable and consistent, cool features, call block is as simple as click click via web
Cons: setup has to be by the book
"If you pay attention to the technical requirements and the setup - specifically the broadband speed minimums and the need to place the Ooma box between your DSL or Cable Modem and your Router, then you will be pleased with this product. Works great for my home, the kids etc. I do have a no frills landline from Bell for faxing and home security - but that cost 17 per month vs. the fully loaded home phone service of almost 54."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Florida
Date:February 22, 2009

Superb!

Pros: way cheap phone costs, great features, costco backed
"I have had this product for almost two months. It installed easily right out of the box. The quality of and ease of use of the equipment is great. The sound quality is superior to former (AT&T) land line. I use a cordless DECT6.0 system. The premier service is worth the money. Full time forward to my cell phone, call blocking, fantastic call and message logs, messages to email."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:MI
Date:November 27, 2009

Good for extra phone

Pros: no monthly bills, good for vacation home
Cons: not as clear as a landline
"I ordered the ooma for our vacation home. It also allows me to have two lines at home, and when we travel to our vacation home, I just take it with me. It does work quite well, but it does not perform up to the standards of a landline. I never had any trouble with being able to make a call. I do have a fast internet connection, but sometimes there is a slight hissing. I am very happy not to be paying for two phone bills. Again, remember when your internet connection is down, your phone will not work. Your calls will be answered by voice mail. If you have the premier service, your calls can be forwarded. This is a good addition to a landline, but it is not an equal replacement."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:October 19, 2009

Great System

Pros: no monthly phone bill
Cons: none yet... works like a normal land line.
"I installed this system about 3 weeks ago. I installed the system into my homes structured wiring system... although Ooma doesn't include instructions for how to do this type of configuration it is very simple. For those interested you follow the setup instructions but instead of plugging your phone into the Ooma Hub as instructed you patch it into your structured wiring system / panel that connects all your phones and it will deliver a dial tone to all your phones. (this also bypasses the need to install an ooma scout at each phone... we have 6 phones and no ooma scout installed). When I first looked at Ooma six months ago they had a presentation on how to do this online... but with there new website it seems to have gotten lost.
Also, I only have a 512K internet line and do active day trading and my wife is often on the phone during these periods. I have seen no impact to internet performance and we have not had any technical issues with phone calls.
Note: ooma does try and sell you premier service for a monthly fee. If you need the premier features I believe it is an annual cost of about $60, but I'm not sure because I didn't get them."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Grayslake,Il
Date:February 3, 2009

Its a Winner

Pros: design
Cons: no wall phone option
"Hookup easy and quick. Performance on a scale of 1-10-- a strong 9. One small disappointment was no support for a wall mounted phone. Even my fax machine worked with my setup. I love being able to use my existing cordless phones. This should pay for itself within 3 months."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los angeles, CA
Date:November 28, 2008

calculate ten (10) mos. of current bill.

Pros: no computer req'd, no special knowledge needed, no dsl router req'd
Cons: must always maintain dsl at service location.
"I’ve owned and used ooma since August 2007. The install is simple you use it just like your phone. No special phones to buy. I tell all of my friend and family to estimate their current expanses in increments of 10 months. And decide if you’d benefit from having ooma."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chapel Hill, NC
Date:March 9, 2009

love it

Pros: hooks up easily, can use my fax machine, the scout adds another corded phone
Cons: none
"I really enjoy my Ooma. I used Vonage for many years and then when I moved I had a bad customer service experience and decided to try something else. I have never looked back. At this point the device has paid for itself because I don't have to pay any subscription fee.
My setup is that the hub is connected to a base which has 5 floating cordless phones. The scout is hooked up to corded phone for when I can't find the other 5 phones (I have kids and do lose all the phones sometimes)"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:July 15, 2010

Nice product - but won't work with Security System

Pros: product is well designed looks and feels good;, works without a hitch;
Cons: does not work with home securiy systems;, reactivation fee is $80 if you deactivate anytime;, the led lights can be confusing for casual users;, monthly local taxes amount to $4 or so;
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"This is a good product, well designed and works well for voice. Even though the product is touted as no monthly expenses, there is in fact a $4/month (approx) taxes that need to be paid for 911 support, etc.
The biggest downside is that it does not work with my Ademco home security alarm system. I spent about 3hrs testing it repeatedly before giving up. Ooma tech support cannot provide help in this regard. I am sad. :(
Also, if you deactivate the device and then plan to reactivate it later, expect to pay $80. This motivates me to promptly return the device back to Costco. I wish I didn't need to.
Also, expect to may $4 (four bucks) or so monthly for local taxes, etc."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chico, CA
Date:January 8, 2009

Great Product, Great Customer Service, Five Stars

Pros: will find you a local number, great features, much cheaper that the phone company
Cons: none
Model Number: Ooma Core
"I debated, for a week before buying an Ooma system, I contacted Ooma's customer service via email, they were quick to respond, and answered all of my questions. My main concern was that when I searched Ooma's site for phone numbers, none came up in my calling area. I then called customer service and asked if I could keep our number and add a second number (with premier service) that is local to our town. They have since found us a local number and we will be ported in 5 days. I can't wait to drop our local service! Sound quality is good, and features are great!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, Albuquerque, Houston
Date:March 14, 2009

Still best after 2 years

"I was one of the first users of the Ooma system and can say that my opinion of the system only goes up as they keep adding features. I have a two phone wireless system on the main number for my business number and a second number with a special ring on a three phone wireless system for the home number. I moved to a new location and they got me new local phone numbers when I asked for them, and the old numbers continued to work flawlessly at the new city location until then! Love it!!!!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:March 20, 2009

Best VOIP

"I have OOMA for the past 2 months and I really like it. Great call quality.
There is no need to pay any monthly bill and it pays for itself after 1 year. I think it is worth to give it a try.
PROS:
--No monthly costs but can only use for 3000 minutes/month
--Great product with High Call quality, cannot make any difference between landline and OOMA
--Easy to setup
CONS:
--Calls are free only subject to the lifetime of the equipment. If the equipment gone bad after 1 year, you need to buy another one. OOMA gives only 1 year warranty for the equipment after that if it goes bad, need to buy a new one.
--Relatively new company
--Cannot make more than 3000 mins/month
--Goes down if no internet
--Customer Service is OK.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:March 26, 2009

Great Product/Customer Service needs work

Pros: inexpensive over the long term
Cons: hub & scout base units do not have wall mounts
Model Number: Ooma Premier (6 mos.) starter package
"BEWARE if you are porting numbers...expect 4-5 weeks of waiting. This product is selling well, it seems. Product works great but getting it set up and working can be complicated and full of various delays (some expected, some not) especially if you are porting existing landline telephone numbers from your current carrier to Ooma. Ooma customer support can take days to get back to you, if at all, with sensible and reasonable answers. They could do a better job of managing expectations upfront. For me, it took a well documented complaint to Costco in order to get to my situation escalated to Ooma's Director of Operations for resolution. By their own admission, they are understaffed for their new found sales success. If you have problems, then be a squeaky wheel...you'll get oil sooner. Overall, be patient while Ooma works thru its growing pains."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:June 19, 2009

Goodby POTS hello Ooma

Pros: more features then the pots with almost no cost., easy install, kept my old phone number
"We have been looking at VOIP (Voice over Internet Phones) for a while but never took the leap. When Costco first offered Ooma we tried it. Stayed with out POTS (plain old telephone system) for a month while we checked out Ooma. Call quality was as good or better then our old system. We could use our old phone number that we had had for years. We were so excited about O that we told our friends how great it was. One time while telling a friend how great O was, we lost the connection. Seems to have been a nation wide disruption that lasted for a few hours. Despite that our friend also went to Ooma. We had a bit of a hassle with our old provider since they also provided our DSL and did lose the phone service and internet for a few days. Used our cell phones until everything got sorted out. Easy installation even for an mature guy that as a kid listened to the Lone Ranger on radio. Check out the Ooma site for all the features. Really like the call block and blacklist. One click and your phone will never ring from those turkeys that have been bugging you. It seems that Ooma has had some great success especially with Costco and other stores offering specials. There have been some slow customer service at times but very minimal in my experience. Most times its less then a minute wait for connection to a person I can understand that is located in California. Toughest part is cutting the cord to the phone company and jumping into VOIP. Its great!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clearwater, FL
Date:July 21, 2009

good product

Pros: i fired the phone company
"I've used the basic Ooma for 9 months. No more phone bills, its paid for itself already. Works good on road runner cable. I don't use the scout, nor the premier service. I use my 4 phones on the ooma. The Uniden base phone plugs into the ooma. The 3 other cordless phones operate to the base within the house. In order to fax, I dial *99 in front of the phone # on my fax machine. I simply move my phone line from the back of the phone base to the fax machine. When I get done faxing, I move it back to the phone base. I'm sure there might be an easier way, I don't fax often enough to figure it out.
I love not paying phone bills.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:December 4, 2009

Have tried the others but like this the best

Pros: excellent sound quality, easy to set up, no hidden fees or fine-print, no computer needed to run it
Cons: pricey up-front cost of unit
"I have had my Ooma for 3 weeks now and I'm extremely happy with it. It is the best VoIP I've used to-date. And I've tried several others:
- Vonage: pricey, by comparison over time,
- Skype phone adapter: dialing was too awkward for the rest of the family to get used to,
- MagicJack: annoying popup software that made my PC unusable for anything other than running MagicJack,
My Ooma installed in less than 15 minutes and the quality is excellent. The only noticeable difference between this service and landline service is the dial-tone when you first pick up the handset -- it plays a 1/2 second tune to let you know that you're using Ooma.
I would highly recommend Ooma, based on my experience so far. Despite the $200 up-front cost, it can pay for itself in 6-7 months."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Longmont, Colorado
Date:March 18, 2010

No Incoming Touch Tones!

Pros: no monthly fee, good voice quality
Cons: no touch tones on incoming calls, can't use own answering machine with it., can't hook it up to thermostat, can't open or close my gate with it, can't operate anything that uses touch tones
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"Normally a telephone line allows you to speak and to send touch tones. Dual Tone Multi Frequencies (DTMF tones) are what let you use menus when you make phone calls. I got two Ooma Telos and the voice quality is great, but DTMF tones are NOT working when I call into my home. They work when you have to call out, but if you have a device hooked up in your home that you operate using DTMF tones like a thermostat, gate or a regular old answering machine, this system will NOT WORK!!
I have posted this about 4 weeks ago, but I think that the Costco reviewers assumed that DTMF was an acronym for something raunchy. This is a technical term and I am communicating something very important about this product. Incoming DTMF tones don’t come in clearly enough to work any electronics! Be aware of this! Ooma is very aware of this issue and they swear up and down that they will be fixing this problem shortly. Well, until then, I am stuck with a product that would be PERFECT if it had incoming DTMF tones (like all other phone systems out there). I have been waiting on this since December on 2009.
Asking if something has incoming DTMF tones is not typical to do since it is a basic. If it did not have outgoing DTMF tones (which it luckily has) it would be just like having a pulse dial phone. Ooma is banking on having customers not hooking anything up to these systems other than a regular telephone (this works fine) they are also hoping that you will use their answering machine system since hooking one up to the Ooma Telo will not work to its fullest (because you will not be able to retrieve your messages by calling in).
If you go to Ooma’s website and look at their forums you can find out about this by typing in DTMF in the search field.
Costco, don’t eliminate this review again! This is important!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oceanside, CA
Date:April 2, 2010

Ooma Telo works well

Pros: great call quality, great features, easy setup, great value
Model Number: Telo
"This review is for the base Teleo, and not the handset. I am very pleased with the purchase. Easy to setup. I have a fast cable connection, and call quality is excellent. No problems with the telephone number port which took about 2 weeks to complete. My teleo is connected after my router, which is the less recommended since the teleo can not prioritize bandwidth, but I have had no comprise i call quality, even when downloading large files. Before purchase I checked my connection for VOIP call quality using the visualware voip test. Just search google to find the link. What I found that is cool is if you have an interenet connection issue, the calls go to voicemail, which you can retrieve later. You can also setup a forward number if you like and calls can be routed to an alt number so you do not miss important calls."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:December 5, 2008

I highly recommend Ooma

Pros: voice mail caller id free calling, free long distance check voice mails on line, calls forwarded to another number
Cons: faxing is unpredictable
"I have had my system for 3 months. Since then, I have disconnected my old phone service and have completely switched over (kept same number). The best feature I like is the fact that I get emails/ text messages when I have a voice mail. Actually the other feature I really like is that I can have my calls also forwarded to my cell phone, so both lines ring at the same time. If I don't pick up, then the Ooma voice mail picks it up.
The only downfall is that I can't send out faxes with this system. I am scanning and emailing to get around this, but it is hardly a fall back considering that now I have absolutely no phone bill.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>