Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System

2 Months Premier Service $50 Int'l Calling Credit Free US Calling: No Monthly Fees
Average Customer Rating:
4.074 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(336 Reviews) 336
(out of 336 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (336 reviews)
5 stars
210
4 stars
49
3 stars
17
2 stars
12
1 star
48
279 of 336(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Review 1 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Corona, CA
Date:May 10, 2010

Ooma left me angry

Pros: cost to own your phone for life!
Cons: does not work!
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"I had high hopes for Ooma. I read all the reviews on the web and knew this had to better than all the rest....I was wrong. I hooked it up in about 10 minutes. I was shocked to have to enter a credit card to pay my taxes (not disclosed anywhere on the reviews). The unit is sleek and very easy on the eyes, but that is about it. I hooked it up "behind" the computer modem like they recommended and voice quality was still terrible most of the time. You could really tell you were not talking on a regular phone most of the time. The nail in the coffin was the callerID: sometimes it worked other times it would say the area code and that's it. I was also not able to see callerID for the second call coming in - ever. Needless to say, boxed it up after 5 days and I will return to Costco tonight. Tip: do not cancel your current phone provider until you make sure you are OK with the quality of Ooma. I am not a picky tech nerd - I just wanted it to work as advertised and it did not. Good luck."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:November 1, 2009

Telo must be better than Hub

Model Number: Telo SN:110-0102-103
"A few weeks ago replaced the Ooma Hub and Scout with Telo, just because I was thinking the Telo device is better. And probably is better, but I could not tell the difference yet. The sound quality is very good.
However, the first think that disappointed me was the fact that the power supply jack has very poor connection (loose) - poor design. It could disconnect from the unit and you might not notice it.
Hub has much better ports connections.
LED display has no option to adjust the brightness. Only off/on touch button.
Before I switch to Telo I use to have two separate phone sets with two separate numbers assigned: one to the Hub, and another to the Scout. Now both my numbers are assigned to Telo devise. I can have incoming calls from both phone numbers, but I can't have two separate lines and make a phone call from second line. Ooma Telo Handset partially will fix this it, but you'll not be able to connect any phone sets to it because it has no ports at all.
I think Ooma is the best deal in the market anyways.
"
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nassau County, NY
Date:January 16, 2009

Great for domestic calls but not Int'l

"The main reason I bought the Ooma phone system was because of their competitive International rates. Unfortunately after hooking up the unit and taking it for a test run, I found out that Ooma was not billing from the time of connection but from when you finish dialing the number. Several calls would never connect on the other end and we still got billed. The Ooma customer service department credited the calls that never made connection but why keep a service if you are going to have to check your phone bill every time you make calls just to make sure you are not getting billed for more calls than what you make? If you attempt to call your country three times and it finally makes a connection on the third time, Ooma bills you for three calls. And depending on if you let the phone ring and nobody ever picks up on the other end, they bill that as a call as well.
These calls were made to Honduras, not one of the typical international countries like Mexico, England, Italy, Canada, France, etc.
I wish there was a service that had cheap rates and didn't play games like the phone card companies do."
29 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 26, 2009

OOMA is great

Pros: saves $$$, 2 minute install
"I was a little skeptical when I bought OOMA about 6 months ago, but now I'm a huge fan. Other than the 1 second "OOMA: dial tone, you'd never know it was any different than a regular line. I've had comacast and Verizon digital service, and this is exactly the same. They also have a nice feature (if you get premier) where you can hit a button and send all calls direction to voicemail. Nice if you want to take a nap or have a baby. I had a 90 day trial of premier, but I opted not to pay for the "silence" feature, but it was a nice feature.
I use OOMA with a regular cordless phone system that I bought at Costco for for 5 phones. So I just plug OOMA into the cordless base, and that's it.
I also spent over $200 on an older model, and with the $100 credit they are currently offering, it is a no brainer.
Some people wonder if the company will stay in business, but I only needed them to be around for 6 months to break even from my Comcast/Verizon accounts, and now I'm saving $30 a month.
For those of you with a TRIPLE play bundled packag,e you can bundle just two services (I have TV and Internet) and it will save about $30 a month."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Baltimore, MD
Date:May 5, 2009

Very Good

Pros: easy setup, good voice quality, sleek-looking
Cons: web interface could be better, wacky dial tone, scout may not be necessary
Model Number: Ooma hub + scout
"The device and service were very easy to set up -- I was making and receiving calls in 10-15 minutes. Voice quality is just as good as any other VoIP service I've used.
Some thoughts to consider:
You may not need the Scout device if, like me, you have the phone lines inside your house disconnected from the phone company's lines. In this case you connect the hub's "phone" jack to any phone jack of your house, complete the network connections, and you are done -- all the phone jacks in your house are now connected to the ooma service!
A small annoyance is the fancy custom dial tone you hear when you pick up the phone to make a call -- I guess it's there to tell you that you are using the ooma service and not the regular phone line, but I wish I could turn it off and just hear a normal dial tone.
One feature I found missing on the web interface is the ability to assign names to known phone numbers so that they would show up on the caller ID. I've grown used to that from my previous VoIP provider."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2009

Great purchase- have owned for 10 months

Pros: cost savings, bundled svc features (e.g. website call fwd'ing), great call quality
Cons: a few svc outages in 10 months of use
"As you read reviews, please consider that some reviewers who have complained of poor service have not owned Ooma for very long. I have had Ooma since June 2008, and have only had a handful of outages. Two of those came within the last week or so, and I feel confident that Ooma will address the underlying problem and resolve it.
We ported our home phone number to Ooma, and have been paying $0 for 6 or 7 months (versus $75 from the telco previously). My family also has plenty of cell phones, so we knew we could use those if there ever was a system outage. In the few downtimes that we've experienced, while slightly annoying, they are way outweighed by the savings and otherwise excellent service that we've had the other 99.99% of the time.
In the rare event that I've had a problem with the system (e.g., my Scout failed a few weeks ago), I found customer service to be very helpful. They shipped me a new Scout at no charge and all is good as new.
I highly recommend this device if you have a decent high speed internet connection and want to save money!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:October 19, 2009

Great System

Pros: no monthly phone bill
Cons: none yet... works like a normal land line.
"I installed this system about 3 weeks ago. I installed the system into my homes structured wiring system... although Ooma doesn't include instructions for how to do this type of configuration it is very simple. For those interested you follow the setup instructions but instead of plugging your phone into the Ooma Hub as instructed you patch it into your structured wiring system / panel that connects all your phones and it will deliver a dial tone to all your phones. (this also bypasses the need to install an ooma scout at each phone... we have 6 phones and no ooma scout installed). When I first looked at Ooma six months ago they had a presentation on how to do this online... but with there new website it seems to have gotten lost.
Also, I only have a 512K internet line and do active day trading and my wife is often on the phone during these periods. I have seen no impact to internet performance and we have not had any technical issues with phone calls.
Note: ooma does try and sell you premier service for a monthly fee. If you need the premier features I believe it is an annual cost of about $60, but I'm not sure because I didn't get them."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:RPV, CA
Date:March 6, 2009

GOOD PRODUCT BUT READ THE FINE PRINT FIRST

Pros: solid build quality, good sound
Cons: annoying chime-like sound when connecting, free for life may not really be free
Model Number: OOMA Core w/ Scout
"I've done a bit of research before buying OOMA. Overall I am satisfied with the product quality and sound but there are a couple of issues with it:
a) The system makes a very annoying chime when you pick up and/or connect
b) Read the fine print since "Free U.S. Calling w/ No Monthly Fee" may not be really free. According to OOMA's terms of use if you make more than 3,000 minutes of outbound calls per month they reserve the right to charge you or disconnect your service. FYI, that's less than 2 hours per day. So if you plan on making more than 3,000 minutes of outbound calls per month I suggest you review OOMA's Terms and Conditions section 5.a carefully."
38 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:November 2, 2009

Great product, service could be a little better

Pros: no more phone bills!!, seemless operation
Cons: spotty customer service
"I've been using the Ooma system for about 10 months now -- I figure it paid for itself in about 6 months. I have no complaints with the operation. The system has been rock solid and the only issues I've ever had with my phone were a product of a bad DSL connection. When I bought the Ooma, shortly after the holidays, the service was not good. I couldn't get anyone on the phone, they answered emails slowly, and I couldn't enter a credit card in their system to pay to port my phone number. Eventually I got someone on the line and got my hiccups sorted out (incidentally they recognized that they had problems with customer service and they apologized, which goes a long way with me). After that one successful phone call (out of about 10) I've been very pleased. I couldn't tell you about their customer support now because I haven't had to call them back in 9 months. The only complaint is that the flashing red lights seem to attract two-year-olds with Sharpies -- that's probably more a complaint about my two-year-old!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:texas
Date:April 30, 2009

NEED To read full description

"First of all if people took the time to read everything that they buy they would understand the product. ooma is a wonderful product that saves you money now and in the future . In this economy we need all the savings that we can get. I know in the past there were some issues with customer service not answer, but we must remember that ooma is a growing company and its going to have some growing pains. We must also stop and think that its not a huge corporation with 1000's of people there working and if I do recall that we are suppose to support small business and make sure that they succeed. So people have some patience and restraint and understand. I call now and never have to really wait for anyone to pick up the phone. Just an FYI the 3000 minutes if u read fully pertains to if you are trying to run a full business on ooma. People if your going to quote quote correctly and read everything fully. I hate when people don't it really shows your intelligence."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City,UT
Date:July 17, 2009

internet phone junkie

"I had vonage for 5 years. and i tried magic jack for 1 day. I've had ooma for a month and I love it. The call quailty is excellent.
I need to make 3 way calls so I had to go with the premier plan. But I don't mind the 99 dollars compared to 300 for vonage.
I live outside the U.S. so I need it to place phone calls to the U.S. (for free).
also people can call me (for free) even though I am in another country.
I love the blue light that tells you it is working. With vonage, I didn't know it was out until I picked up the phone.
I like the feature that I can send a caller to voice mail after I have answered the call. I also like the call screening feature which vonage doesn't have. I also like being able to hit a button to listen to my messages. again, vonage doesn't have.
and call blocking is awesome. i don't think vonage has a call blocking feature.
I also think calls are cheaper on ooma to the international countries that i call.
I am a hugh fan of ooma. If you are sitting on the fence, I encourage you to take the leap.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Date:July 17, 2009

Worst Costco purchase

Pros: friendly customer service
Cons: it doesn't work
Model Number: ooma hub and scout
"OOMA did not work, even after 7 hours of troubleshooting. Called OOMA and my ISP several times to rectify. OOMA device plugged directly into gateway device. Reset gateway and OOMA several times after changing settings, turning off the firewall, configuring ports as listed on the OOMA website, etc. Nothing suggested by techs from OOMA or my ISP worked. The fourth and final call I made to OOMA ended when the rep said he had other calls and had to go. I was sent an email afterward with suggestions that only an IT expert would understand. OOMA reps did answer the phone quickly each time and were friendly, but of course could not fix the problem. What was supposed to take 15-20 minutes took 7 hours of my day. My other VOIP service and VOIP modem device are "plug and play" - very simple (I have used it with two different ISPs and two different routers with different firewalls). Not so with OOMA so the box is going back to Costco."
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Date:March 26, 2009

Great Product/Customer Service needs work

Pros: inexpensive over the long term
Cons: hub & scout base units do not have wall mounts
Model Number: Ooma Premier (6 mos.) starter package
"BEWARE if you are porting numbers...expect 4-5 weeks of waiting. This product is selling well, it seems. Product works great but getting it set up and working can be complicated and full of various delays (some expected, some not) especially if you are porting existing landline telephone numbers from your current carrier to Ooma. Ooma customer support can take days to get back to you, if at all, with sensible and reasonable answers. They could do a better job of managing expectations upfront. For me, it took a well documented complaint to Costco in order to get to my situation escalated to Ooma's Director of Operations for resolution. By their own admission, they are understaffed for their new found sales success. If you have problems, then be a squeaky wheel...you'll get oil sooner. Overall, be patient while Ooma works thru its growing pains."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:MI
Date:November 27, 2009

Good for extra phone

Pros: no monthly bills, good for vacation home
Cons: not as clear as a landline
"I ordered the ooma for our vacation home. It also allows me to have two lines at home, and when we travel to our vacation home, I just take it with me. It does work quite well, but it does not perform up to the standards of a landline. I never had any trouble with being able to make a call. I do have a fast internet connection, but sometimes there is a slight hissing. I am very happy not to be paying for two phone bills. Again, remember when your internet connection is down, your phone will not work. Your calls will be answered by voice mail. If you have the premier service, your calls can be forwarded. This is a good addition to a landline, but it is not an equal replacement."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:September 29, 2010

One of the best among VOIP

Pros: easy set-up, pretty good voice quality, least expansive if you use it over 1 year, low international l/d rates
Cons: high up-front cost, does not work with fax machines, does not work with credit card terminal, customer service is below par
"I have used VOIP from several companies over the years. Ooma is among the top for easy set-up and phone quality. The best part is that once you pay the 1 time upfront cost for the equipment, there is almost nothing else to pay for the rest of your life (only ~$11/yr for taxes). The $50 bonus credit on int'l L/D will probably last years for me.
The set-up was straight forward and smooth. But if you ever have to call customer service, be prepared to get frustrated at times.
Ooma can not work with fax machines or credit card terminals because it is giving a different dial tone than any other phones.
If you have 2 phone #'s and want them to ring separately, forget it. It doesn't work even with their Ooma Telo Handset. Their multi-line basically works out 1 main #. The remaining #'s (can be up to 7 or 8) are "spares". I had to get 2 separate Ooma devices for my 1 personal line and 1 business line so that I can tell if the caller is calling for business or personal.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oceanside, CA
Date:April 2, 2010

Ooma Telo works well

Pros: great call quality, great features, easy setup, great value
Model Number: Telo
"This review is for the base Teleo, and not the handset. I am very pleased with the purchase. Easy to setup. I have a fast cable connection, and call quality is excellent. No problems with the telephone number port which took about 2 weeks to complete. My teleo is connected after my router, which is the less recommended since the teleo can not prioritize bandwidth, but I have had no comprise i call quality, even when downloading large files. Before purchase I checked my connection for VOIP call quality using the visualware voip test. Just search google to find the link. What I found that is cool is if you have an interenet connection issue, the calls go to voicemail, which you can retrieve later. You can also setup a forward number if you like and calls can be routed to an alt number so you do not miss important calls."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2009

great way to divorce your phoneco, no alimony

Pros: free phone service, upgrade to premium still a great deal, premium gets 2nd line and black listing telemarket
Cons: sounds like customer service is in the phillipines
Model Number: ooma hub and scout
"Perfect, got rid of 125.00 monthly phone bills + lots more features! Save numerous taxes and surcharges!
Works well with my panasonic dect 6.0 phones.
Remember to port your numbers and do not disconnect phone co until the port goes through. If you have two numbers make sure you are clear that they are porting both numbers etc. I had issue determining what number was ported when I requested two numbers to be ported. After discovering that they only ported my secondary fax number and all my numbers got disconnected I had to call phone co. back reconnect my main line and wait for the port to complete again for my main number. Of course it took phone co. a week to reinstall but the kind gal did place a forward to my fax number on the disconnect. Within 6 days of the reconnect the port was finished. An inconvenience for sure, but after all is fixed and done I believe the service at no cost is worth it.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tenessee
Date:December 12, 2009

Suprisingly Good! Give the phone company the boot!

Pros: great customer service!, great call quality!, easy set-up!, no monthly phone bills!
Cons: alarm system still needs a phone line.
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"I bought the Ooma Telo VoIP box 2 weeks ago from Costco. I have AT&T DSL (6.0 Extreame) Internet Service and operate at 438 kbps (Upstream) and 2.58 mbps (Downstream). I have it installed between my modeum and wireless router and it works great. I have an AT&T wireless phone with 5 extensions plugged into the Ooma Telo and my calls are more clear than my AT&T land line (clear for both me and the party I am calling).
I did need to call their support number for one issue. For some reason I could call anyone except for my parrents (we're in Tennessee and they are in Kansas) which was a U.S. call. When I'd call them their phone would ring but I would immediately hear the unique Ooma Dial Tone and the call would disconnect.
I called support and it took about 5 min's to reach a specialist, but no big deal as once I reached a person she was AMAZING! Seriously, I am the first to complain when reaching people in Tiwan or Inda when I need help but she was incredible. Sweet, kind, knowledgable, and quickly was able to solve my problem. A quick adjustment to the Upsteam and Downstream settings within my Ooma's programing and I was able to call my parrents without any troubles at all.
I am VERY pleased with this product and look forward to porting my phone number over from AT&T.
By the way............. ONCE YOU DISCONNECT YOUR LOCAL PHONE SERVICE YOU CAN PLUG YOUR Ooma Telo INTO ONE OF YOUR TELEPHONE WALL OUTLETS AND IT WILL SERVICE ALL YOUR TELEPHONES JUST LIKE YOUR LOCAL SERVICE DID.
I have used MagicJack in the past and it worked okay, but in no way comes close to the call quality I get from Ooma. I'm extreamly impressed and pleased with their service. I do not have one of their Ooma Telephone handsets as the reviews on them are very poor. I am completely happy using my exsisting AT&T wireless 6.0 phones. They work very well with the Ooma Telo unit."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:January 21, 2009

Good product

Pros: reliable and consistent, cool features, call block is as simple as click click via web
Cons: setup has to be by the book
"If you pay attention to the technical requirements and the setup - specifically the broadband speed minimums and the need to place the Ooma box between your DSL or Cable Modem and your Router, then you will be pleased with this product. Works great for my home, the kids etc. I do have a no frills landline from Bell for faxing and home security - but that cost 17 per month vs. the fully loaded home phone service of almost 54."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:midwest
Date:April 8, 2010

Worth It

Pros: save on the cost of telephone and fax service
Cons: ooma's tech support not helpful beyond most basic
Model Number: OOMA TELO VOIP Phone System w/ Handset
"I am extremely happy with OOMA TELO! I used to have my telephone service through comcast and they are getting too big and powerful (note that they won in court against the FCC which was trying to force ISP's to maintain web neutrality). I ported both my home phone number and dedicated fax line number to OOMA. It took me a while to figure out that OOMA tech support people did not have the knowledge to help me (1) figure out that I was having problems with my Motorola surfboard SBG 901 wireless gateway--it had to be configured to let the Telo get and send all the information through all the ports in the modem that it needed; and (2) how to set up my OOMA Telo settings & fax machine Canon MF 4150 so that it would work with the TELO. When regular TELO tech support could not help, my questions were kicked up to a higher level but they took a very long time to respond and by then I had solved the problems with help from Motorola, Canon and the on-line community at Ooma. I posted my solutions on that website.
Be sure you buy an extended warranty on the Telo handset. I had to replace mine."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>