Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System

2 Months Premier Service $50 Int'l Calling Credit Free US Calling: No Monthly Fees
Average Customer Rating:
4.074 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(336 Reviews) 336
(out of 336 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (336 reviews)
5 stars
210
4 stars
49
3 stars
17
2 stars
12
1 star
48
279 of 336(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Review 1 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2010

Staticky Calls and Unable to Fax

"I purchased this a couple months back and found calls to be staticky for the person I was calling. I could hear fine but everyone said the signal was staticky. I had my wife call me at work and I noticed the same. Caller ID won't even work when calling certain people. It just tells them UNKNOWN CALLER. I figured I could live with that but now I tried my FAX machine and all the faxes fail to send.
I'd return it but I already paid the fee for porting my number and went through that hassle. Not sure what to do now. What a mess. Not worth the risk or hassle to save $20 a month. Even at that rate, it takes nearly a year just to break even.
Don't buy it. Not worth the risk or the hassle. "You get what you pay for". Remember that. And this is coming from a "techy person" who loves gadgets,"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Whittier, CA
Date:November 13, 2010

$79.99 Account Cancellation Fee

Pros: easy to setup
Cons: makes your network unstable, $79.99 cancellation fee
Model Number: 528825
"There are only two ways to setup the unit, so you would think that this would be a good buy. The problems start after you register and setup:
1. There seems to be a delay between registering the device and making your first call. I couldn't get anything out of the system for the first two hours.
2. Once working the next day, it randomly went into a mode where it was trying to connect to your voice mail account, it took me an hour to get it out of that mode.
3. The day after that, the Ooma telo worked fine, but none of the computers on my network could connect to the Internet. After an hour of that problem, I decided it was time to take the unit back for a refund.
Ooma support indicates that there is a $79.99 fee to reactivate the unit once it has been registered to someone else."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2010

Good product

"Quite happy with this product.
The voice quality is good, and it only took me a week to transfer the number.
keep in mind that if you are in California, you still have $3.xx tax per moth.
If we want to find anything is not perfect, I think the guild to install this device especially the Option A and Option B connection should make a little clear."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:colo springs. co
Date:November 5, 2010

Great Value, worth the risk.

Pros: dummy proof, no need to call cust svc
Cons: im a dummy and forgot to register
"A friend at work validate Ooma really works. This after I saw it featured at Costco. Ooma does work, and work well. No issues and features better than we had with our land line. (such as vmail MP3 files transmitted to our email accounts.)
With the economy being so bad, we needed to tighten our budget at home. I can tell you the $50/month in savings we realized dropping our land carrier for Ooma is well worth the risk. As a matter of fact, there is no risk in going with OOMA, I highly recommend."
Review 5 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Guadalupe, CA
Date:November 5, 2010

Great System and Value

Pros: easy to set up, easy to use, excellent value
Model Number: ooma Telo VOIP Telephone System
"We bought the ooma Telo System July/August and have been waiting to see how we like it before completing a review. It was very easy to set up (we have it going to 2 laptops, a fax, a 4 cordless phone/answering machine set-up and our Dish receiver.....and it was easy)! We have only lost service one time when our DSL went down for some reason overnight. I simply rebooted the DSL modem/router and it all came back as it was installed. Having the second line for the free trial period was nice but we seldom used it so we did not continue with the feature. Being able to access our call log and voicemail on-line is great! We had to travel quite a bit the last few months and being able to access the call log and voicemail on-line saved us from having to use up any cell phone minutes checking our calls and messages. I also like that I can add numbers and information from the call log to my contact list and then sync it to the cordless phone that was included with the Telo System so that my "phone book" on that handset is quite complete. Even though we do not make calls to any international numbers we do have family scattered all over the US and we believe the cost savings from having this system are significant. The fact that there is a small fee that must be charged monthly ($3.47/mo for us)has nothing to do with ooma, it is the taxes and fees that the government insists must be paid....small potatoes compared to what our normal monthly bill would be for regular phone service. I have not had to use the customer service so I do not know if those issues have been corrected. However, the fact that the system (ooma)works so well and has so few problems is more important to me than having a system that has constant problems but great customer service! I would and have recommended ooma to everyone I know."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2010

Already paid for itself

Pros: sound quality great
Cons: won't work during power outage
Model Number: Telo
"Saved enough to pay for the Telo in 7 months. Sound quality excellent. Set up simple. After cancelling MaBell, disconnected landline and fed Ooma into household phone wiring. Rings all phones. Never had to call customer service but did check their forum on the one day we had two disconnects (other calls were OK). Ooma acknowledged the problem and fixed it by next day. Using Telo for 11 months now."
Review 7 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Selah,Wa
Date:November 2, 2010

Ooma Telo is Excellent

Pros: customer service
Cons: none
Model Number: Telo
"I have T-mobile@Home VOIP and love it, but
not the monthly bill. I tried the NetTalk Duo but the voice lag was horrible. I have been using the Ooma Telo for a few days and it works excellent. I have used voip phones for the past 4 years and would highly recommend the Ooma Telo.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:October 28, 2010

Great value No downside

Model Number: Ooma hub and Scout
"Purchased an older Ooma unit from Costco about a year ago. Absolutly no complaints. I'm using cable internet. Needed some tweaking at setup however not that tough at all. No more phone bills no contracts or hidden charges. No regrets. Highly recommended."
Review 9 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara, Ca.
Date:October 27, 2010

great product

"I love my Ooma service. I bought the older style for more money, but am still totally satisfied. You can keep your existing phone number by paying an additional fee. I've had it for about a year and a half, now it's just money in the bank. The sound quality is good too."
Review 10 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:October 27, 2010

Saves A Ton of Money

Pros: voice quality and $ savings per month
Cons: answering machine message playback is too quiet
Model Number: Unknown
"I purchased the Ooma Telo last month and have had good success with it so far. Voice quality is excellent and the one interaction with the customer service dept. was positive. I highly recommend this product to anyone who wants to save at least $35.00 per month by dropping their current telephone provider.
The only flaw I have found with the Ooma Telo is the answering machine message playback is too quiet."
Review 11 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
Date:October 9, 2010

Excellent Purchase

Pros: savings, quality, features
Model Number: Don't Remember
"I purchased an older model and I have had it for about a year. It has worked flawlessly and saved me about $720 compared to the phone company. I was nervous to purchase; however, I figured that Costco would take it back if I had any problems, which I did not. Quality is very good; occasionally I do get an echo which has been rare and minor. In addition to the cost savings, you get a number of features that are not available on traditional phone services. I like getting my voicemails as emails wherever I am."
Review 12 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:October 3, 2010

PERFECT FOR THE THRIFTY CONSUMER

Pros: saves a ton of money, no overpriced bill from the cable company, no more equipment rental fees, have i mentioned that i save a ton of money yet?
Cons: slight delay-more pronounced on calls 2 cell phone, works best with faster internet connection, if internet goes down no phone service
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"I purchased the Ooma as a way to escape from the excessive and recurring fees that I was being charged for phone service. The device does have some drawbacks - a slight delay/lag on calls and no service during internet/power outages. But I feel that the pros (my phone bill dropped from over $50.00 a month to less than $4.00 a month with the Ooma) definitely outweigh the minor annoyances. I'm a happy camper!"
Review 13 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:September 29, 2010

One of the best among VOIP

Pros: easy set-up, pretty good voice quality, least expansive if you use it over 1 year, low international l/d rates
Cons: high up-front cost, does not work with fax machines, does not work with credit card terminal, customer service is below par
"I have used VOIP from several companies over the years. Ooma is among the top for easy set-up and phone quality. The best part is that once you pay the 1 time upfront cost for the equipment, there is almost nothing else to pay for the rest of your life (only ~$11/yr for taxes). The $50 bonus credit on int'l L/D will probably last years for me.
The set-up was straight forward and smooth. But if you ever have to call customer service, be prepared to get frustrated at times.
Ooma can not work with fax machines or credit card terminals because it is giving a different dial tone than any other phones.
If you have 2 phone #'s and want them to ring separately, forget it. It doesn't work even with their Ooma Telo Handset. Their multi-line basically works out 1 main #. The remaining #'s (can be up to 7 or 8) are "spares". I had to get 2 separate Ooma devices for my 1 personal line and 1 business line so that I can tell if the caller is calling for business or personal.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:September 19, 2010

Still may be a geek toy

Pros: sound quality was good when working
Cons: documentation, not as intuitive as i'd like
Model Number: Ooma Teleo
"I bought this at costco 2 days ago. INstallation instructions were wrong, my friend who has Ooma had to tell me how to place the phone cord in a different port than instrauctions suggested. Got the thing working great on Friday. Saturday, I can't get dial tone. I hope this turns around but the web site is pretty useless and tech forums are not helping. I'll try the support tomorrow. Summary, this is not for technology laggards."
Review 15 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lake Forest, CA
Date:September 10, 2010

This Ooma Telo product is awesome

Pros: save money
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"Picked this Ooma Telo up at the local Costco warehouse a couple of months ago. The Telo has been in service for a couple of months in the house now and it has been great. Installation was extremely easy. Just make sure you have high speed internet and you are all set for good voice quality and free calls to all of US. I do have to pay local tax and fees, but it's only $3.47/mo for my area. I dump my old phone provider immediately after I got my Ooma and save a bundle on my monthly phone bill. Not to mention voice quality is great. My family and friends didn't notice any difference during phone conversations."
Review 16 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:September 10, 2010

Nice! On our way to dumping Comcast!!

Pros: good value!
Cons: can't review vm from existing cordless phone.
"Heard about this from a neighbor down the street. Picked one up installed it. Since I already have Comcast VOIP, I wasn't quite sure about the set up, but I posted a question on the forum and had an answer and resolution within about 15 minutes. Had to call CS because I entered wrong phone number...but never had a wait for more than a minute. Probably only negative I can think of is that you have to retrieve your voice mails off of the base rather than your cordless phone (unless you have the Ooma handest, which you can do that from). Also, it is not totally "Free"...you have to pay applicable taxes and fees based on your state each month...couple of bucks"
Review 17 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:MI
Date:September 7, 2010
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"I ordered one Ooma Telo. The speaker and push-icons did not work, and had to return it. Called couple of times to service support, and average waiting time 20-30 minutes. The touch-tone feature does not work with this system."
Review 18 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:July 22, 2010

Works for us

"Simple as that. It works and provides great value as a inexpensive base line for our home.
On rare occasions we get a bit of static, but I can live with that in order to avoid the big monthly bill from Qwest for basic service."
Review 19 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rutherford, NJ
Date:July 16, 2010

Very good Purchase

Model Number: Telo
"Its one of the best VoIP services. Very easy to setup. I was up and running in less than 7 minutes. Even though the basic service does not have too many features, its a steal. I would recommend this product"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ooma Telo VoIP Phone System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:July 15, 2010

Nice product - but won't work with Security System

Pros: product is well designed looks and feels good;, works without a hitch;
Cons: does not work with home securiy systems;, reactivation fee is $80 if you deactivate anytime;, the led lights can be confusing for casual users;, monthly local taxes amount to $4 or so;
Model Number: Ooma Telo
"This is a good product, well designed and works well for voice. Even though the product is touted as no monthly expenses, there is in fact a $4/month (approx) taxes that need to be paid for 911 support, etc.
The biggest downside is that it does not work with my Ademco home security alarm system. I spent about 3hrs testing it repeatedly before giving up. Ooma tech support cannot provide help in this regard. I am sad. :(
Also, if you deactivate the device and then plan to reactivate it later, expect to pay $80. This motivates me to promptly return the device back to Costco. I wish I didn't need to.
Also, expect to may $4 (four bucks) or so monthly for local taxes, etc."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>