Customer Reviews for Sport-Brella 2-pack

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sport-Brella 2-pack

On the sidelines or at the beach, the Sport-Brella gives you instant protection from the sun, rain, and wind with its domed shape, side flaps and UPF 50+. It sets up in just three seconds and fits the family or the whole team. Opens 8' wide. Sport-Brella Includes: Carry bag Tethers 4 heavy duty stakes 3 tie down cords Sport-Brella Features: Available in blue, green or red Protection from sun, wind and rain Easiest setup shelter available thanks to umbrella action Rugged umbrella structure with side flaps for full cover protection Top wind vents and side zippered windows for efficient airflow Maximum sun protection UPF 50+ and water repellent Protects over 99.5% of UVA and UVB rays Internal pockets for stakes, valuables and gear
Average Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
(out of 14 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
13 of 14(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sport-Brella 2-pack
Review 1 for Sport-Brella 2-pack
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nashville, TN
Date:April 23, 2012

Great product meets expectations

"Great product. For what this is, it is great. It is a huge umbrella that rests on the ground to provide shade. It is not a hurricane shield or a thunderstorm shelter. Some things like the telescoping spike could be better designed for durability in harder soils, but I am more than happy with the shade provided for the cost. 3 second setup is not a lie, and that for me is the most value adding feature: portability and quick setup. Much faster and lighter than my old EZ-Up that I used to hall around."
Review 2 for Sport-Brella 2-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2011

Awesome for little kids

Pros: very portable, quick & easy assembly
"We bought ours in the store last year and couldn't be happier. We mostly use it at the beach for protection from the FL sun. It's great because the kids can play in the sand, run in and out and still have fun without getting fried. Also have used it in our back yard for a shady play house in the grass. We love that it is so portable and doesn't take up a lot of storage space. Other people have purchased after seeing ours."
Review 3 for Sport-Brella 2-pack
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:TX
Date:January 8, 2011

quality issue

Pros: great size easy set up portable
Cons: tips are fragile and crack
"First product had broken tips - thought just a fluke and exchanged at Costco. When we first initially used it was a great product - easily provided shelter for 2 adults and 2 children. Set up is very easy. Slight wind is no problem. Stored away for a while and reused and tips had cracked. Still liked the product and exchanged but still same problem with plastic tips. If the tips were exchanged for silicone or rubber this would be a better product"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sport-Brella 2-pack
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Memphis, TN
Date:October 7, 2010

Forget it if there is wind

Cons: can't handle windy conditions
"Works well as a shade if it's not windy. However, like most umbrellas, with a little bit of wind it wants to take off or collapse. Even after using the stakes and tie down points, I had to physically hold it to keep it on the ground in a light wind."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sport-Brella 2-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Iowa
Date:October 5, 2010

nice to have when you need it

Pros: easy to use and keep in the car
Cons: 2 adults and a few kids max capacity.
"Having 3 kids in youth sports can be pretty brutal spring-summer-fall. My husband calls it the skybox because it makes games much more comfortable on the bad days. It has held up well even being used on some very windy days. It is light and easy carry in the bag. It fits (barely) across the back of the minivan."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sport-Brella 2-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Palos Verdes Peninsula, CA
Date:September 21, 2010

Best portable sun block

Pros: light and easy to carry., very easy to set up., very easy to take down
Cons: if sun is facing opening legs will be in the sun.
Model Number: Sport-Brella #410398
"Very easy to carry. Takes only seconds to set up. The only down side is if the sun is facing the front of umbrella, it is not blocked."
Review 7 for Sport-Brella 2-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Longmont, CO
Date:August 23, 2010

Huge and Versatile Umbrella

"Our umbrella has sheltered a dozen kids and 2 adults from a torrential summer storm. It's huge! That couple in the photograph is fully covered from head to toe! It has kept the sun and wind off our backs at many sport events. We use it in the lean-to position mostly and with the stakes it is very sturdy. As a standing umbrella it works great too.
If I was to complain, I'd say the stakes and umbrella aren't in the same carry case. This has almost meant losing the stakes a few times, but we're used to it now. And you can make replacement stakes from long thin bolts and a couple washers at the hardware store.
I'm writing this review because we want another umbrella. Buying two is more than we want, but I know a bunch of friends that would appreciate one as a gift."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sport-Brella 2-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:August 15, 2010

Amazing Umbrella

"This umbrella folds up and down easily. It stores to the size of a fold up chair and it provides amazing shade. I have used it at football practice, on the edge of a river sipping cocktails and everywhere in between. Everytime I bring it out everyone asks me where I got it and they want one. HURRY - get one, you will love it!"
Review 9 for Sport-Brella 2-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Billings, MT
Date:August 8, 2010

LOVE IT!

"This is the best product ever. We saw a family using one of these at some fireworks for the 4th of July. They absolutely loved it. I bought it for my husband for his birthday and we used it right away! Its great for blocking the sun, camping, hiking, hunting!! Its so easy to put up. Best Purchase Ever!!"
Review 10 for Sport-Brella 2-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:August 2, 2010

Handy for camping

Pros: light weight, quick setup
Cons: some concern about strength of ribs in wind
Model Number: 8 ft wide model
"Got one at the Costco store a few weeks ago and took it camping. It started to rain, and we set it up in a jiffy, in the lean-to position. A heavier rain would have required the "umbrella" position to protect us better, but we were fine in the light rain. This thing is much, much easier to use than a shelter, although it's obviously more limited in size. Great for two people."
Review 11 for Sport-Brella 2-pack
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:July 13, 2010

easy to use and it works

Pros: ease of use, lightweight/easy to carry
Cons: less coverage than easy up
"I lent my sport brella to a neighbor going to the Town Jubilee on a hot, sunny day. My neighbor said it worked, he wanted to get one and it was so hot the umbrella was a big hit.
I live in a small town and am now known by a few people as the lady with the big umbrella.
I bought a few more and these were great for our group at a local outdoor music festival. Of course it doesn't provide the same amount of coverage as an easy up but it is so much easier to set up and carry!! In this case the pros outweigh the con.
"
Review 12 for Sport-Brella 2-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:July 13, 2010

Better than expected

"Having read mixed reviews on the product in regards to the tips breaking and not holding up to adverse weather I was hesitant to purchase these however it seemed to meet my needs and with Costco’s ability to return to the local center I figured I had nothing to lose. After purchasing I immediate wanted to setup the sport-brellas and found them to be extremely easy and straightforward to setup and found no issues with the tips or anchors. The anchors were acceptable and rugged and although I will purchase some sand anchors for our days at the beach I really like the ability to pull both umbrellas in almost overlapping at the top, blocking all weather at all angles. I’m exceptionally pleased with the purchase and can only hope to enjoy them for years to come."
Review 13 for Sport-Brella 2-pack
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2009

Nice product with 1 issue

Pros: lightweight portable
Cons: durability
Model Number: 447371
"The product itself is a great concept, is very practical and easy to use. The only issue is that the tips of the umbrella are plastic and can break easily under the normal stress of opening the umbrella. I recommend the product, but also recommend that it be opened slowly."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sport-Brella 2-pack
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area, CA
Date:June 7, 2009

Works great for us.

"I purchased this as a sunshade at the beach. We have a baby so needed some way to keep him out of the sun. Haven't gotten it to the beach yet but have been to a park. We did the side set up where 1/2 the umbrella is on the ground (as in picture). It worked great, kept the sun off of us and also kept the slightly annoying breeze from bothering us. Everyone at the park commented on how "cool" our setup was. Seems well made and durable."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.