Customer Reviews for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels

ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels

The ZÜM-CX Balance Bike is the ideal bike for kids 2-5 years old. Kids enjoy all the fun and excitement of learning to ride their first bike without the fear of falling! It has no pedals and no training wheels. The bike rider uses a foot to ground motion as if walking or running to move themselves and the bike forward. The ZÜM bike is perfect for learning balance, steering and developing coordination without the use of training wheels or other balance aids. By learning balance first, the transition to a traditional bicycle with pedals is made very easy. Watch your child walk, run then ZÜM on the bike around the park or neighborhood with a confident smile. Kids will love to ZÜM!   Features: Manufacturer’s suggested ages: 2-5 years   100% clear birch wood   Non toxic lacquer finish   Pneumatic, rubber tires   Padded vinyl seat   Seat and Frame height adjust from 12-17 inches   Children’s comfort handlebar grips   Safety steering limited turn radius   Wipes clean with damp cloth   Designed for riders up to 66 pounds   Assembles in just a few minutes with tool and simple instructions included   Assembled Dimensions: 14.5” Width, 32” Length, 21” Height   ASTM and FSC certified   Made in China Model: Zum Bike
Average Customer Rating:
4.206 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
(out of 34 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
29 of 34(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Review 1 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:August 24, 2014

Great way to learn to balance

Pros: very solidly built bike.
Cons: could be a bit tricky to align the seat holes.
Model Number: ZUM-CX
"In 1 week my daughter mastered this balance bike and she wants a grown up bike for her 4th birthday today.
She improved everyday with her balance and steering."
Review 2 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:August 21, 2014

Bad frame geometry

Pros: leightweight, wood, real rubber tires
Cons: very bad frame geometry
"As the photo already shows, the seat and handle bar are very close together, the handle bar is too low, and the kid looks like he's going to roll over the handle bar.
Unfortunately, that's how is is in real life as well.
It is a very "nice" bike, but the geometry makes the children very shaky and insecure riding it, especially when the seat is set to a higher position, because they are too upright and the hands are too close to the body.
In a good geometry, the seat needs to be further back, the body posture less upright, arms more stretched out. That way, they will be more secure, less shaky and go in a much straighter line.
"
Review 3 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Date:August 15, 2014

Great for what it's intended to be

Pros: it's perfect for what its intended for.
Cons: none i've seen.
Model Number: ZUM-CX Wood Balance Bike
"I ordered one of these last year as a birthday gift for my then turning 2yr old grandson. I am here now ordering another for my soon-to-be 2yr old granddaughter.
In the year the grandson has had it, there have been no problems. it stays in the house or cement driveway/ sidewalks, but he is a typical 2yr old boy and is not gentle with things, but it is not thrashed, fought over, taken camping, etc.
Myself, my son and son-in-law, (the dads of these two grandkids), all ride real mtn bikes, dirtbikes & streetbikes. We know a thing or two about bikes and motorcycles. These wood balance bikes are not a replacement for a bicycle or small motorcycle. They are a young child's first bike to learn balance, how to care for something they love and enjoy, and have a first bike of their very own... like they see their fathers and grandpa have. It is a learning toy they can enjoy in and around the home.
Note: my wife put this together by herself with no issues. (all the proper tools and understanding the instructions are quite helpful). Some ppl have green thumbs, some don't. Some are mechanically inclined, most aren't."
Review 4 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:santa rosa, ca
Date:August 5, 2014

Not as adjustable or as light as other options

Pros: wood nice looking
Cons: weight, not adjustable for smaller kids, limited adjustability
"We returned these after trying out a strider bike at a fair. This bike doesn't adjust nearly as much as the strider. Our kids still couldn't come close to getting on it while with the strider they were able to immediately get on (kids 1 yo). Later on we learned that you end up carrying the bike as much as the kids ride it, so weight and ease of carrying is a huge issue - again we recommend saving your money and just getting a strider bike. You won't regret the extra $30 bucks."
Review 5 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Memphis, TN
Date:May 7, 2014

Bike is good quality but daughter doesn't like

"The bike is a good quality and easy to put together. I had to flip the seat for my 2-year old and didn't have the same problems as some reviewers. Not sure why some people had to drill extra holes?? The instructions are fine and the manufacturer has photos on their website if you need more than what's provided.
The only catch is that my daughter doesn't seem to like it. I chose a balance bike over a tricycle because of all of the glowing reviews so maybe my expectations were a little high. We'll give it another shot.
I picked this one from Costco over other sites because of the great price and comfort that I could return it easily if something was not right."
Review 6 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, Washington
Date:September 7, 2013

The hit of the summer

Pros: height is adjustable lightweight easy to carry
Cons: seat could use more cushion
"My husband and I were trying to find a good balance bike for our son. We both did oodles of research and then compared ALL of the bikes we researched. Honestly, I think we got a little nuts with all of the options out there. When I saw that Costco carried this bike, I felt like this was the bike for us. We really trust the Costco buyers and have always had very good experiences with all of the products Costco carries (and the return policy is top notch, just in case)."
Review 7 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Massachusetts
Date:August 1, 2013

Happy with this bike

Pros: easy assembly, good value
"My son is 37" tall and the lowest setting was surprisingly too short.
Easy to assemble. Flipping it for the smaller height is also easy to assemble. Assembly took about 10-15 minutes.
The quality of the product isn't superior. The wood has a chip here and there which is disappointing, but I feel like it's worth what I paid. It's sturdy enough to have a good life. Overall, I am very pleased with this purchase.
"
Review 8 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:April 22, 2013

Sturdy, inexpensive and fun

Pros: easy to assemble sturdy
Cons: hardware not the highest quality
Model Number: ZUM CX
"We bought this for our 26 month old son. Our son is tall and at 90th percentile for height. The higher setting was to tall for him to use so my husband flipped the body/frame around to accommodate the lower setting. VERY easy to assemble and took just a few minutes to do the body/frame flip. Bike is of high quality sturdy material, however hardware is not of the highest quality. Went together great and was at minimum half the cost of other bikes like this that we looked at."
Review 9 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Riverbank, Ca
Date:April 14, 2013

Kid loves it

Pros: easy to assemble, great learning experience for kids, solid construction
Cons: bolts and nuts are specialty made, when you leave it somewhere kid is sad
Model Number: zum balance wood bike
"Purchased it after reading reviews. Purchased about a year ago and its still going strong with a little lube and tightening the screws every once in a while. Assembly was easy. I read on some that it was hard to assemble. On the tight fitting spots its good to jam it in and make it tight since loose is bad. And on the wheels you need to tighten down and then loosen 1/4 turn up for the wheels and bearings to work the way they supposed to. As for my experience it was great from the start and hasnt changed yet. kid loves it and rides it everywhere. he learned balance on it in a week at less than 2 years old and now he flies everywhere."
Review 10 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:December 17, 2012

Bad assembly instructions - great customer service

Pros: well made
Cons: lousy instructions
"What do you do when the assembly instructions are worthless? Send an email to their service department, and they tell you how to do it.
The seat shims are tapered and must be forcefully inserted; as in pounded into place after loosening the front screws."
Review 11 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:December 12, 2012

Have your sandpaper ready

Pros: seems solid
Cons: assembly very difficult
"I ordered two of these for my twins, and I just managed to get one together after quite a bit of frustration. First the front wheel was way too tight to fit, so I emailed the help line (they provide no phone number), and they suggested sanding it a bit or they would send a replacement. I decided to sand it and I was finally able to get it to fit. Then I had to switch the seat around for a smaller child. Ugh. That was a nightmare, trying to line up several moving pieces in a very very tight space. I finally got it, but I'm still on the fence about whether I should keep them or try something else."
Review 12 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:July 13, 2012

Horrible Instructions

"We are 2 hours in trying to flip the seats for our smaller boys and about to give up. Instructions show 2 holes on the sides...there are 3. Just a lot of 'oh that's how it goes' that should be documented as well as too many things to line up and force in place that don't happen easily. Probably a good bike once together, not sure we'll make it to that point. Had I known this frustration was looming, I would have bought something already assembled."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2012

Great little bike

"This bike was bought for a three year old. As soon as he saw it he wanted to ride and within a week he was starting to try coasting. There's room to grow so he'll be able to use it for a while."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2012

Good bike

"For the reviewer who said they couldn't get it back together after flipping over the middle bar - the spacers are not perfectly square. Put the smaller end toward the front of the bike. :)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:April 12, 2012

We LOVE It!

"Its been wonderful to watch my son gain his balance in just a few short days of riding his Zum. He's 3 and a half and it fits him perfect!"
Review 16 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2012

Great product

Pros: great price, lightweight but sturdy
"My 3 year olds have adapted to these quickly. They are enjoying them greatly and I can see where they are going to be able to learn to ride a standard pedal bike quickly after having these for awhile. Your kids do need to be at least three or on the tall side in order to have these work though as on the lowest setting they just fit my 3 year olds."
Review 17 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, Az
Date:April 6, 2012

Perfect for my Almost 3-yr-old

Pros: serves its purpose well!
Cons: takes a bit of patience to put together.
"Love this bike. Much more cost effective than another similar bike that I found at another local outdoor store. My daughter is pretty tall for her age, but we still ended up setting up the seat on the lowest setting (the portion where the seat sits is reversible to accommodate larger/smaller kids). She is learning to balance much quicker than my 5-yr-old son did w/ training wheels. It DOES take a bit of patience to get put together, but it's well worth it. Great purchase!"
Review 18 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area
Date:March 15, 2012

very hard to adjust so could not even ride it.

Pros: seems environmental and relatively light
Cons: hard to adjust
"I got this for my 2 y.o.,unfortunately he never got to use it because I could not adjust the bike for him.
Basically, it ships in a configuration for bigger kids. There are instructions which explain how to change the configuration (basically you flip the seat on the as-shippeddownward curving frame so that it becomes a seat on an upward curving frame).
I took the seat and the spacers out (they were really tight) and tried to flip as instructed but the seat and the spacers are EXTREMELY hard to get back in. Looking at the widths of the seat post and spacers and comparing with the actual gap in the frame where they are suppose to go, I feel it is almost impossible to do. I returned the bike rather than risk breaking it."
Review 19 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2012

works for 2 year old

"was worried that it wouldn't set up small enough for a two year old but it easily does! My two year old is not tall and she does just fine on it. In fact, her cousin who is 25 months (and a little small) does fine on it as well and so does their 20 month cousin. big hit with all of them! Some reviews expressed difficulty making it small enough for a young toddler, my only guess is that they didn't realize that you can edjust both the seat hieght and you can flip the main rail over for a lower seat level. directions come to explain this fit for the smaller riders."
Review 20 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clifton, NJ
Date:October 22, 2011

Teach them to ride early.

Pros: great way to teach balance
Cons: directions for the wheel assembly drawn slightly w
Model Number: 25010
"I bought this for my 20 month old daughter. She does need help with it now but she's already getting the hang of it.
For all the reviews where people are saying it's too high for their kid I wonder if they didnt try flipping the seat and the middle banana shaped part the seat attaches to. I didn't have to do this as my daughter is in the 115%ile in height for her age. However flipping the piece that attaches to the seat and the rear wheel will significantly lower the seat height. These bikes go for as much as $90 so for what I paid delivered this was a no brainer purchase for me.
"
1 2 next>>