Customer Reviews for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels

ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels

The ZÜM-CX Balance Bike is the ideal bike for kids 2-5 years old. Kids enjoy all the fun and excitement of learning to ride their first bike without the fear of falling! It has no pedals and no training wheels. The bike rider uses a foot to ground motion as if walking or running to move themselves and the bike forward. The ZÜM bike is perfect for learning balance, steering and developing coordination without the use of training wheels or other balance aids. By learning balance first, the transition to a traditional bicycle with pedals is made very easy. Watch your child walk, run then ZÜM on the bike around the park or neighborhood with a confident smile. Kids will love to ZÜM!   Features: Manufacturer’s suggested ages: 2-5 years   100% clear birch wood   Non toxic lacquer finish   Pneumatic, rubber tires   Padded vinyl seat   Seat and Frame height adjust from 12-17 inches   Children’s comfort handlebar grips   Safety steering limited turn radius   Wipes clean with damp cloth   Designed for riders up to 66 pounds   Assembles in just a few minutes with tool and simple instructions included   Assembled Dimensions: 14.5” Width, 32” Length, 21” Height   ASTM and FSC certified   Made in China Model: Zum Bike
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
(out of 30 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
27 of 30(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Review 1 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Memphis, TN
Date:May 7, 2014

Bike is good quality but daughter doesn't like

"The bike is a good quality and easy to put together. I had to flip the seat for my 2-year old and didn't have the same problems as some reviewers. Not sure why some people had to drill extra holes?? The instructions are fine and the manufacturer has photos on their website if you need more than what's provided.
The only catch is that my daughter doesn't seem to like it. I chose a balance bike over a tricycle because of all of the glowing reviews so maybe my expectations were a little high. We'll give it another shot.
I picked this one from Costco over other sites because of the great price and comfort that I could return it easily if something was not right."
Review 2 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, Washington
Date:September 7, 2013

The hit of the summer

Pros: height is adjustable lightweight easy to carry
Cons: seat could use more cushion
"My husband and I were trying to find a good balance bike for our son. We both did oodles of research and then compared ALL of the bikes we researched. Honestly, I think we got a little nuts with all of the options out there. When I saw that Costco carried this bike, I felt like this was the bike for us. We really trust the Costco buyers and have always had very good experiences with all of the products Costco carries (and the return policy is top notch, just in case)."
Review 3 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Massachusetts
Date:August 1, 2013

Happy with this bike

Pros: easy assembly, good value
"My son is 37" tall and the lowest setting was surprisingly too short.
Easy to assemble. Flipping it for the smaller height is also easy to assemble. Assembly took about 10-15 minutes.
The quality of the product isn't superior. The wood has a chip here and there which is disappointing, but I feel like it's worth what I paid. It's sturdy enough to have a good life. Overall, I am very pleased with this purchase.
"
Review 4 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:April 22, 2013

Sturdy, inexpensive and fun

Pros: easy to assemble sturdy
Cons: hardware not the highest quality
Model Number: ZUM CX
"We bought this for our 26 month old son. Our son is tall and at 90th percentile for height. The higher setting was to tall for him to use so my husband flipped the body/frame around to accommodate the lower setting. VERY easy to assemble and took just a few minutes to do the body/frame flip. Bike is of high quality sturdy material, however hardware is not of the highest quality. Went together great and was at minimum half the cost of other bikes like this that we looked at."
Review 5 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Riverbank, Ca
Date:April 14, 2013

Kid loves it

Pros: easy to assemble, great learning experience for kids, solid construction
Cons: bolts and nuts are specialty made, when you leave it somewhere kid is sad
Model Number: zum balance wood bike
"Purchased it after reading reviews. Purchased about a year ago and its still going strong with a little lube and tightening the screws every once in a while. Assembly was easy. I read on some that it was hard to assemble. On the tight fitting spots its good to jam it in and make it tight since loose is bad. And on the wheels you need to tighten down and then loosen 1/4 turn up for the wheels and bearings to work the way they supposed to. As for my experience it was great from the start and hasnt changed yet. kid loves it and rides it everywhere. he learned balance on it in a week at less than 2 years old and now he flies everywhere."
Review 6 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:December 17, 2012

Bad assembly instructions - great customer service

Pros: well made
Cons: lousy instructions
"What do you do when the assembly instructions are worthless? Send an email to their service department, and they tell you how to do it.
The seat shims are tapered and must be forcefully inserted; as in pounded into place after loosening the front screws."
Review 7 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:December 12, 2012

Have your sandpaper ready

Pros: seems solid
Cons: assembly very difficult
"I ordered two of these for my twins, and I just managed to get one together after quite a bit of frustration. First the front wheel was way too tight to fit, so I emailed the help line (they provide no phone number), and they suggested sanding it a bit or they would send a replacement. I decided to sand it and I was finally able to get it to fit. Then I had to switch the seat around for a smaller child. Ugh. That was a nightmare, trying to line up several moving pieces in a very very tight space. I finally got it, but I'm still on the fence about whether I should keep them or try something else."
Review 8 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:July 13, 2012

Horrible Instructions

"We are 2 hours in trying to flip the seats for our smaller boys and about to give up. Instructions show 2 holes on the sides...there are 3. Just a lot of 'oh that's how it goes' that should be documented as well as too many things to line up and force in place that don't happen easily. Probably a good bike once together, not sure we'll make it to that point. Had I known this frustration was looming, I would have bought something already assembled."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2012

Great little bike

"This bike was bought for a three year old. As soon as he saw it he wanted to ride and within a week he was starting to try coasting. There's room to grow so he'll be able to use it for a while."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2012

Good bike

"For the reviewer who said they couldn't get it back together after flipping over the middle bar - the spacers are not perfectly square. Put the smaller end toward the front of the bike. :)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:April 12, 2012

We LOVE It!

"Its been wonderful to watch my son gain his balance in just a few short days of riding his Zum. He's 3 and a half and it fits him perfect!"
Review 12 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2012

Great product

Pros: great price, lightweight but sturdy
"My 3 year olds have adapted to these quickly. They are enjoying them greatly and I can see where they are going to be able to learn to ride a standard pedal bike quickly after having these for awhile. Your kids do need to be at least three or on the tall side in order to have these work though as on the lowest setting they just fit my 3 year olds."
Review 13 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, Az
Date:April 6, 2012

Perfect for my Almost 3-yr-old

Pros: serves its purpose well!
Cons: takes a bit of patience to put together.
"Love this bike. Much more cost effective than another similar bike that I found at another local outdoor store. My daughter is pretty tall for her age, but we still ended up setting up the seat on the lowest setting (the portion where the seat sits is reversible to accommodate larger/smaller kids). She is learning to balance much quicker than my 5-yr-old son did w/ training wheels. It DOES take a bit of patience to get put together, but it's well worth it. Great purchase!"
Review 14 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area
Date:March 15, 2012

very hard to adjust so could not even ride it.

Pros: seems environmental and relatively light
Cons: hard to adjust
"I got this for my 2 y.o.,unfortunately he never got to use it because I could not adjust the bike for him.
Basically, it ships in a configuration for bigger kids. There are instructions which explain how to change the configuration (basically you flip the seat on the as-shippeddownward curving frame so that it becomes a seat on an upward curving frame).
I took the seat and the spacers out (they were really tight) and tried to flip as instructed but the seat and the spacers are EXTREMELY hard to get back in. Looking at the widths of the seat post and spacers and comparing with the actual gap in the frame where they are suppose to go, I feel it is almost impossible to do. I returned the bike rather than risk breaking it."
Review 15 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2012

works for 2 year old

"was worried that it wouldn't set up small enough for a two year old but it easily does! My two year old is not tall and she does just fine on it. In fact, her cousin who is 25 months (and a little small) does fine on it as well and so does their 20 month cousin. big hit with all of them! Some reviews expressed difficulty making it small enough for a young toddler, my only guess is that they didn't realize that you can edjust both the seat hieght and you can flip the main rail over for a lower seat level. directions come to explain this fit for the smaller riders."
Review 16 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clifton, NJ
Date:October 22, 2011

Teach them to ride early.

Pros: great way to teach balance
Cons: directions for the wheel assembly drawn slightly w
Model Number: 25010
"I bought this for my 20 month old daughter. She does need help with it now but she's already getting the hang of it.
For all the reviews where people are saying it's too high for their kid I wonder if they didnt try flipping the seat and the middle banana shaped part the seat attaches to. I didn't have to do this as my daughter is in the 115%ile in height for her age. However flipping the piece that attaches to the seat and the rear wheel will significantly lower the seat height. These bikes go for as much as $90 so for what I paid delivered this was a no brainer purchase for me.
"
Review 17 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Elk Grove, California
Date:June 20, 2011

Just what the Doctor ordered!

Pros: inexpensive and lightweight
Cons: the bolts strip easy, not for children that are vertically challenged
"I purchased this ZUM to get my 5 year old son over his fear of not having me as his safety-net. He received it as a Christmas present and less than 20 days he was riding on his own. He had previously ridden his bike without training wheels, but got "freaked out” when I wasn't behind him. Well, my 3 year old had been riding it for about 3 months and was getting pretty good at balancing on the ZUM, so I had taken his training wheels off his bike as well and he got it on his first try just like his older brother. My gripes are that the hardware can strip easily and my 3 year old had a hard time reaching the ground initially. Two boys down and one to go; my youngest son is only 11 months old, so I got a ways to go before he can ride…or do I?"
Review 18 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Covington, TN
Date:June 20, 2011

Great quality

"Easy assembly. I ordered 2 and they were quickly put together. I was very pleased with appearance. They are for birthday presents so they haven't been tested yet. I expect the boys will be very excited!"
Review 19 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, WA
Date:June 10, 2011

Awesome

Cons: the tires do seem to lose air but no biggy.
"We got this for our son for Christmas (he was 2 1/2) and at its lowest setting it was still a little hight so I took my drill and added another notch, but was still a little high.
This didn't stop my son from trying. He loved it from the get go and now that he's grown a little, he loves it that much more.
He totally picked up balancing on two wheels completely on his own!"
Review 20 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area CA
Date:March 28, 2011

great balance bike

"My toddler is "a riding ad" for this bike.
If the sales of this particular bike will go up in the Bay Area CA - it is (joking of course but lots of truth) due to us - me an my toddler - advertising it. We should get some royalties from Costco!
We had to add another hole though - he was about 86cm when he started riding it. The original lowest hole was too high for him. We did not think it was a big deal to make an extra hole. He loves the bike! Mastered riding it in just couple of days.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>