Customer Reviews for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels

ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels

The ZÜM-CX Balance Bike is the ideal bike for kids 2-5 years old. Kids enjoy all the fun and excitement of learning to ride their first bike without the fear of falling! It has no pedals and no training wheels. The bike rider uses a foot to ground motion as if walking or running to move themselves and the bike forward. The ZÜM bike is perfect for learning balance, steering and developing coordination without the use of training wheels or other balance aids. By learning balance first, the transition to a traditional bicycle with pedals is made very easy. Watch your child walk, run then ZÜM on the bike around the park or neighborhood with a confident smile. Kids will love to ZÜM!   Features: Manufacturer’s suggested ages: 2-5 years   100% clear birch wood   Non toxic lacquer finish   Pneumatic, rubber tires   Padded vinyl seat   Seat and Frame height adjust from 12-17 inches   Children’s comfort handlebar grips   Safety steering limited turn radius   Wipes clean with damp cloth   Designed for riders up to 66 pounds   Assembles in just a few minutes with tool and simple instructions included   Assembled Dimensions: 14.5” Width, 32” Length, 21” Height   ASTM and FSC certified   Made in China Model: Zum Bike
Average Customer Rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
(out of 30 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
26 of 30(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Review 1 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Allen, TX
Date:July 1, 2010

Great bike at a great price.

"This is a well made bike at half the cost I have seen elsewhere. The ages may be a little off. We bought this for my 2 year old and he can't touch the ground. The hight at the lowest level is about right for my average size four year old."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area, CA
Date:November 26, 2010

Not correct age range

Pros: seems well built and sturdy construction
Cons: instructions could be more clear, bike is too big for average 2 year old
"I am mechanical enough that I could figure out how to assemble this bike. The instructions could be a little more clear for those who aren't so good at figuring things out. I bought this bike as a late birthday present for my 25 month old twins (over 2 years old) They are both around 50th %ile for height and weight but they still have a long way to go before they can ride this bike. It is not meant for the average 2 year old child. be aware of that if you plan to buy this for a 2 year old, it may take a while before they are big enough to ride it. :-("
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 20, 2010

Super Value

Pros: easy to assemble, better value than others, adjustable "frame"
Cons: not made in the usa, age listing is not accurate
Model Number: 531189
"We are in our first week of owning this and my son loves it. It took less than 3 minutes to assemble before he was zipping around.
He just turned three, and although the age appropriateness lists 2 years, it would have to be a tall child to work.
Compared to other wood balance bikes (Skuut, Wishbone, Smart Gear) this is a excellent value! Additionally the wheel assembly is plastic which is more durable and stays cleaner than a plywood wheel. It also give more space around the tire stem for inflating."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:July 22, 2010

Solid value

Pros: value, quality
Cons: a little tall for a 2 year old
"My in-laws gave my 2 year old son a different brand bike and I bought this for my 4 year old. The other one was a lot more expensive and not significantly different. This was easy to assemble, the quality is excellent and this is a great way for the little ones to learn balance. He is better on this than his bike with training wheels. I highly recommend this product, (plus at costco you can always return it if not happy)"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:February 11, 2011

BEWARE the tires!

Pros: inexpensive, easy assmebly, quality bike
Cons: tires mark surfaces
"We just got this bike today. It was a snap to put together. Both tires were low on air and needed to be pumped up.
Regarding the size of this bike - my daughter is 2.5 years old and 90% for height, with long legs. She just fits this bike.
One big problem with this bike - it's made for young riders, which means it may be ridden indoors as kids learn to use it.
BEWARE -- this bike completely marked and potentially ruined our wood laminate flooring (the ones sold at Costco). In this regard, I am VERY unhappy, as the marks weren't visible from where I was sitting but when standing above them or on the other side of them, you can see they are everywhere. They do not seem to be coming off when I clean them.
"
3 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2010

Fine if only the tires could hold air

Pros: cheap
Cons: flat tires
"One tire deflates over the course of 2 weeks. One over the course of 2 days. This is not from a lack of understanding in how to use the product (we have 9 other bikes in our house with presta and schrader valves, numerous pumps)
Bike is otherwise satisfactory.
The tire nuisance, however, is not acceptable. I will return this next time I go to Costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, Washington
Date:September 7, 2013

The hit of the summer

Pros: height is adjustable lightweight easy to carry
Cons: seat could use more cushion
"My husband and I were trying to find a good balance bike for our son. We both did oodles of research and then compared ALL of the bikes we researched. Honestly, I think we got a little nuts with all of the options out there. When I saw that Costco carried this bike, I felt like this was the bike for us. We really trust the Costco buyers and have always had very good experiences with all of the products Costco carries (and the return policy is top notch, just in case)."
Review 8 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2012

Great little bike

"This bike was bought for a three year old. As soon as he saw it he wanted to ride and within a week he was starting to try coasting. There's room to grow so he'll be able to use it for a while."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2012

Good bike

"For the reviewer who said they couldn't get it back together after flipping over the middle bar - the spacers are not perfectly square. Put the smaller end toward the front of the bike. :)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2010

A Sturdy toy bike

Pros: sturdy toy bike
Cons: only when broken
Model Number: ZÜM Balance Bike
"My son loved it. There is rarely a moment when he is not parading on it. He finds it a little too sturdy at times but enjoys his little toy bike a lot and treats it like a precious possession."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Elk Grove, California
Date:June 20, 2011

Just what the Doctor ordered!

Pros: inexpensive and lightweight
Cons: the bolts strip easy, not for children that are vertically challenged
"I purchased this ZUM to get my 5 year old son over his fear of not having me as his safety-net. He received it as a Christmas present and less than 20 days he was riding on his own. He had previously ridden his bike without training wheels, but got "freaked out” when I wasn't behind him. Well, my 3 year old had been riding it for about 3 months and was getting pretty good at balancing on the ZUM, so I had taken his training wheels off his bike as well and he got it on his first try just like his older brother. My gripes are that the hardware can strip easily and my 3 year old had a hard time reaching the ground initially. Two boys down and one to go; my youngest son is only 11 months old, so I got a ways to go before he can ride…or do I?"
Review 12 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Massachusetts
Date:August 1, 2013

Happy with this bike

Pros: easy assembly, good value
"My son is 37" tall and the lowest setting was surprisingly too short.
Easy to assemble. Flipping it for the smaller height is also easy to assemble. Assembly took about 10-15 minutes.
The quality of the product isn't superior. The wood has a chip here and there which is disappointing, but I feel like it's worth what I paid. It's sturdy enough to have a good life. Overall, I am very pleased with this purchase.
"
Review 13 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Riverbank, Ca
Date:April 14, 2013

Kid loves it

Pros: easy to assemble, great learning experience for kids, solid construction
Cons: bolts and nuts are specialty made, when you leave it somewhere kid is sad
Model Number: zum balance wood bike
"Purchased it after reading reviews. Purchased about a year ago and its still going strong with a little lube and tightening the screws every once in a while. Assembly was easy. I read on some that it was hard to assemble. On the tight fitting spots its good to jam it in and make it tight since loose is bad. And on the wheels you need to tighten down and then loosen 1/4 turn up for the wheels and bearings to work the way they supposed to. As for my experience it was great from the start and hasnt changed yet. kid loves it and rides it everywhere. he learned balance on it in a week at less than 2 years old and now he flies everywhere."
Review 14 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area
Date:March 15, 2012

very hard to adjust so could not even ride it.

Pros: seems environmental and relatively light
Cons: hard to adjust
"I got this for my 2 y.o.,unfortunately he never got to use it because I could not adjust the bike for him.
Basically, it ships in a configuration for bigger kids. There are instructions which explain how to change the configuration (basically you flip the seat on the as-shippeddownward curving frame so that it becomes a seat on an upward curving frame).
I took the seat and the spacers out (they were really tight) and tried to flip as instructed but the seat and the spacers are EXTREMELY hard to get back in. Looking at the widths of the seat post and spacers and comparing with the actual gap in the frame where they are suppose to go, I feel it is almost impossible to do. I returned the bike rather than risk breaking it."
Review 15 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:December 12, 2012

Have your sandpaper ready

Pros: seems solid
Cons: assembly very difficult
"I ordered two of these for my twins, and I just managed to get one together after quite a bit of frustration. First the front wheel was way too tight to fit, so I emailed the help line (they provide no phone number), and they suggested sanding it a bit or they would send a replacement. I decided to sand it and I was finally able to get it to fit. Then I had to switch the seat around for a smaller child. Ugh. That was a nightmare, trying to line up several moving pieces in a very very tight space. I finally got it, but I'm still on the fence about whether I should keep them or try something else."
Review 16 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:April 22, 2013

Sturdy, inexpensive and fun

Pros: easy to assemble sturdy
Cons: hardware not the highest quality
Model Number: ZUM CX
"We bought this for our 26 month old son. Our son is tall and at 90th percentile for height. The higher setting was to tall for him to use so my husband flipped the body/frame around to accommodate the lower setting. VERY easy to assemble and took just a few minutes to do the body/frame flip. Bike is of high quality sturdy material, however hardware is not of the highest quality. Went together great and was at minimum half the cost of other bikes like this that we looked at."
Review 17 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oakton, VA
Date:October 24, 2010

Balance Balance

"my 4 yr old twins learned to balance w/in wks. they're small for their size and this bike is nice and low for them. just wished it had pedals since they're now ready for real bikes!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clifton, NJ
Date:October 22, 2011

Teach them to ride early.

Pros: great way to teach balance
Cons: directions for the wheel assembly drawn slightly w
Model Number: 25010
"I bought this for my 20 month old daughter. She does need help with it now but she's already getting the hang of it.
For all the reviews where people are saying it's too high for their kid I wonder if they didnt try flipping the seat and the middle banana shaped part the seat attaches to. I didn't have to do this as my daughter is in the 115%ile in height for her age. However flipping the piece that attaches to the seat and the rear wheel will significantly lower the seat height. These bikes go for as much as $90 so for what I paid delivered this was a no brainer purchase for me.
"
Review 19 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2012

works for 2 year old

"was worried that it wouldn't set up small enough for a two year old but it easily does! My two year old is not tall and she does just fine on it. In fact, her cousin who is 25 months (and a little small) does fine on it as well and so does their 20 month cousin. big hit with all of them! Some reviews expressed difficulty making it small enough for a young toddler, my only guess is that they didn't realize that you can edjust both the seat hieght and you can flip the main rail over for a lower seat level. directions come to explain this fit for the smaller riders."
Review 20 for ZÜM-CX Wood Balance Bike No Pedals or Training Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area CA
Date:March 28, 2011

great balance bike

"My toddler is "a riding ad" for this bike.
If the sales of this particular bike will go up in the Bay Area CA - it is (joking of course but lots of truth) due to us - me an my toddler - advertising it. We should get some royalties from Costco!
We had to add another hole though - he was about 86cm when he started riding it. The original lowest hole was too high for him. We did not think it was a big deal to make an extra hole. He loves the bike! Mastered riding it in just couple of days.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>