Customer Reviews for Philips iPhone Battery Charging Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Philips iPhone Battery Charging Case

Compatible w/ iPhone 3G & 3GS Convenient integrated stand Nearly Double The Talk Time!
Average Customer Rating:
3.15 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
(out of 20 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
7
12 of 20(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Philips iPhone Battery Charging Case
Review 1 for Philips iPhone Battery Charging Case
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nor CA
Date:June 17, 2011

It will do your iphone more harm then good.

Pros: good idea
Cons: it fried by iphone's battery, case is too slippery, little bulky (but expected)
"I used it once after being fully charged on my iphone 3gs that lasted 12hrs (mostly standy) on this extended battery (during these time phone was warm). After all the juices have have ran out, it started running on iphone's own battery and that's when real problem starts. I was using GPS (at battery level at 90%) and it shuts down my iphone with out a warning. It restarts but soon shuts down again. I've return it back to costco, but my iphone's battery lasts ~6hrs less than what it used be."
Review 2 for Philips iPhone Battery Charging Case
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ontario, CA
Date:December 22, 2010

Bad design

Pros: none
Cons: cheap
"Never got to use it. Tabs on the side are way too flimsey. Couldnt even get it on without breaking it. Returned it the next day. Look for battery extenders instead."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Philips iPhone Battery Charging Case
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:December 14, 2010

Poor choice

"Tried this item for 1 month. Full recharge would take hours and would not last as long as advertised before the iPhone battery would kick in."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Philips iPhone Battery Charging Case
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:So Cal Beach
Date:December 14, 2010

Phone goes all day without recharge

Pros: it works. not bulky.
Cons: strange message
Model Number: iphone 3gs
"I don't know if it DOUBLES the battery life, but I'm sure it is at least 50% more! Still have to charge every night, but not before bedtime. The case fits very nicely, and does not exceed the size of the stretchable carrying case I was using before. It is very attractive.
Strangely, there is a warning message on the phone, indicating that I am charging with a non-iphone device. This only happens when the auxilliary battery is down to zero charge, and the iphone 3gs is still at 100%. The message goes away after a while, and appears to be harmless.
I strongly recommend this battery, espeially at this price!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philips iPhone Battery Charging Case
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:LOS ANGELES, CA
Date:December 13, 2010

GREAT PRODUCT

"I LOVE IT, PERSON DID NOT KNOW HOW TO PUT IT TOGTHER OR FIGURE HOW!! THEY NEED TO LEARN HOW TO PUT THINGS TOGTHER, A 3 YEAR OLD CHILD CAN DO IT IN NO TIME... IT IS A GREAT PRODUCT AND I RECOMMEND IT TO EVERY ONE HAS IPHONE 3G.."
Review 6 for Philips iPhone Battery Charging Case
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2010

Best yet

"I love this product. I can go all day without having to worry about charging my phone. I use the charger that came with my phone without having to connect it to my computer. It was easy to open to me. I never had a problem with it."
Review 7 for Philips iPhone Battery Charging Case
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:December 7, 2010

Good Purchase

"First I did read the reviews before ordering this product, seems most of the cons where around opening the case. Well I find all the hard cases a little hard to open, the same with this one. I was able to open it without any problems, plugged my Iphone into the case and it started charging,
With the charging being a standard mini USB I now have more option to charge my IPhone well in the case.
I have only had the unit for a few days but at this point I am happy with the product. I use GPS to track my walking on a APP and now I can go out more then two hours."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Philips iPhone Battery Charging Case
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Davis, CA
Date:December 2, 2010

nothing is perfect!

"I agree with all the reviews. Let's sum it up:
nice to have a kick stand. Very pretty. Better than the mili i bought which never worked when I needed it. I will use it only for travelling. For every day use I prefer my silicons otter case, because it is too slick, I am worried i will drop it. Why is there no paperwork about the lights?
"
Review 9 for Philips iPhone Battery Charging Case
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tampa, Florida
Date:December 2, 2010

Very Poor Instructions

Pros: it's cheap
Cons: it's a piece of junk
"It took forever to figure out how to get the phone into the case. It come apart but there are literally no instructions on it. It has NO information about it that is of any value. It is cheaply made. For me, it is still in the box because most probably it will go back. I am really surprised Costco put this one out there. Great idea....bad implementation."
Review 10 for Philips iPhone Battery Charging Case
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:November 24, 2010

Not up to Costco Standards

"The battery comes with very limited information. There are no directions on how to get the case apart. The case is made of fragile plastic and the top piece has already fractured. It also doubles the size & weight. I'm disappointed with the charging sequence. It can only be charged through your computer with a USB cord and not an external charger -- very inconvenient. I love Costco and have never returned any thing. This is going back."
Review 11 for Philips iPhone Battery Charging Case
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:November 19, 2010

Just What I needed

Pros: double power
Cons: iphone buttons more recessed with the case on
"OK I am glad I read the other reviews because it is very hard to get the case apart the first time. I used two kitchen towels, one in each had to get some leverage and pulled the two pieces apart. There are no directions on how to get the case apart so I suggest you watch the DEMO so you can see how the case comes apart. Also not mentioned is that the added battery actually charges the battery in your iphone. So if your phone is at 60% when you connect it to the external battery, you will see that percentage slowly start to climb until it gets to 100%. There is a led indicator on the external battery that shows how full it is. The sound chamber actually improves the sound coming from the phone. I bought this extra battery to use the GPS feature of the Iphone for golf. The iphone usually won't last the whole round of golf while using the power hungry GPS. The external battery works perfect... now I can play a whole round of golf using my Golf GPS app."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Philips iPhone Battery Charging Case
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:So Cal
Date:October 30, 2010

Mixed Reviews

"I love the battery charging case concept. This seems to be fine and good.
However the hard plastic case has failed.
First the little stand piece broke off, then another piece broke off near the volume. I had it replaced with a new case--that new case did not open and close properly; the grooves were badly imperfect, so I returned it immediately. Now, I've requested my 3rd case.
Meanwhile, for the car, you will need to invest in new chargers that fit mini usb battery case (same as blkberry). (Unless you want to take off the case each time to charge).
I cannot find an attractive battery case that includes a stand. This was the closest. I feel I need the extra battery so I put up with the flaws for now."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Philips iPhone Battery Charging Case
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:August 11, 2010

Great Product !!!!

"This is 1 great product. I purchased 1 for myself and then 2 days later purchased another for a friend. Now no more "loss of battery life" time..Works from morning till night. It is pretty delicate so you must be carefull taking it apart when it arrives but once on the phone it's great and even makes your phone look good....."
Review 14 for Philips iPhone Battery Charging Case
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:August 9, 2010

Very Good Product

Pros: iphone charged all day
Cons: too slick could have a better grip
"This is a very good product to buy for the money. It keeps my iphone charged all day long."
Review 15 for Philips iPhone Battery Charging Case
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vero Beach, FL
Date:August 7, 2010
"Definately not up to Costco standards. I ordered two. No information about how to install the product on the phone. I, like one other, broke the case trying to install. In addition, after installing the other case (I finally figured it out) my wife dropped her phone and the case cracked. All this on the first day. Needless to say, I returned both cases."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Philips iPhone Battery Charging Case
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Alaska
Date:August 6, 2010

great concept

"Bought 2, and 1 works flawlessly. The other will have to be exchanged. It caused endless pinging when on the phone (as if I had just plugged in the phone charger). Probably just a lemon.
Overall I love the concept of double mileage on battery life, and some phone protection as well. A bit bulky but worth it for the benefit.
"
Review 17 for Philips iPhone Battery Charging Case
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:August 2, 2010

3G Phone Stays Charged all day

Pros: charges phone really, protects case
"I bought this product because my phone would start to die on my evening commute from work. I had a case on my phone already but it did not charge my phone. When I saw this item I was excited to see that it was a case plus could charge my phone.
Results: My phone is staying charged on the way home from work and it protects my cell phone from falls.
"
Review 18 for Philips iPhone Battery Charging Case
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Franklin, TN
Date:July 29, 2010

Love this Battery Charging Case

"Bought this a while back. It actually does what is advertised and almost doubles your talk time. Works great with my 3GS phone."
Review 19 for Philips iPhone Battery Charging Case
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 27, 2010

Great iPhone accessory!

"Wow! What a great accessory for my iPhone. It’s super easy to use (just slide it on) and it provides excellent protection… plus it doubles my battery life. The really cool thing is that even when the case is on, it’s still small enough carry my phone in my pocket. Charging it is simple using a USB cable. I connected it to my computer, but you could also use any of your other USB chargers that you have. Protection and additional battery life all in one place. I would definitely recommend this to others."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Philips iPhone Battery Charging Case
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:West Nyack, NY
Date:July 14, 2010

can do better

"It is very flimsy for the price. Hard to separate the two halves. I broke the side part trying to get it apart. I returned it."
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.