Customer Reviews for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision

H.264 DVR w/ 500GB HDD Remotely Monitor via PC and 3G Smartphone
Average Customer Rating:
3.062 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
(out of 32 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
8
20 of 32(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Review 21 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:October 8, 2010

Not bad for the price

Pros: price
Cons: cables., times support is available
Model Number: QT428-803
"I bought this system even though many reviews gave it a poor rating. For the price it seemed to be a fair deal. The basic connections and software was easy to use. Don't know how it will go when it's time to connect to the internet and smartphone. The Power button on the remote will only shut it down, not power it up. I contacted Q-See to find out if there was a problem with the system and I received and immediate email response. When I called support, in the morning, it took 5 minutes to get help. Unfortunately they are only available during regular working hours. Night vision is fairly good up to about 25 feet. At 40 feet you can make out movement. I ordered the 100' shielded cables from Costo. The 60' cables provided are not shielded and very cheaply made. You get what you pay for, and for me, it is worth $400. I would not pay more. After tax and better cables you are looking at closer to $500."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:October 8, 2010

Best for price

Pros: dvr feature, price
Cons: email setup
Model Number: QT428
"DVR is really good. Video quality and features are good.
Internet setup was easy by following the directions. Email not working for me yet. Maybe I didn't set it up correctly. Still trying. Cameras are good but not great. The better cameras cost about 150 each. But you can pick out people and identify them with the supplied cameras. Very clear picture.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern Calif.
Date:October 5, 2010

great deal for the price

Pros: working internet access, price w/8 cams, quiet small footprint
Cons: cheap cables, really poor documentation, email for movment non-functional
Model Number: QT428
"8 cameras & a dvr for the sale price , great deal for a starter system!
low end cameras, poor mounts & not weatherproof.. but consider one good camera could cost more than this whole system!
Agree about email notification, not sure why because it HAS email & I set it up & it works when tested!...but not on alarm...(maybe there is a hack or upgrade available?)
Was able to set up internet/remote access, after googling for help...included instructions almost worthless!
camera resolution is low to fair, but meets my needs for the cost.
Just don't expect the cops to pick out the bad guys mug at anything over 20 feet or so!
I'm hoping I can add better cameras at a later date... Also, I see that Costco has a great price on better cables! (2x100')
I'm still deciding on bulk or premade, so I just sticking with these for now.
(It would be interesting to see if the better RG59 cables made a big difference!)
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:October 5, 2010

Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System

Model Number: Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras
"Great product for the price. Hardest part was pulling the wires through my attic. Everything was easy to install. Great picture quality. The neat part is being able to see my house from my lap top any place I go."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:California
Date:October 4, 2010

It's okay......

Pros: easy setup plug n play camera is fair.
Cons: cable length should vary (40 60 and 100 feet), in mixture console is for starters and remote, control does not work (out of the box); will be, raplaced asap.
Model Number: QSee with 8 cameras
"I bought this camera for my mom so that she can have a security surveillance. The system is great if you are not expecting too much out of it. Setup was easy but I wish they would include some longer cables with the camera (at least a mixture of 40, 60, and 100 feet cable). The system comes up but I am having a problem connecting it to the network and obviously the remote control DOES NOT WORK at all."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2010

DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY

"This company has the worst customer service - they never answer the phone and keep people on hold forever"
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Phoenix
Date:October 3, 2010

great system-poor tech support-poor manual

Pros: excellent menus, good features, accepable but not great cameras, good remote interface, easy to use once set up
Cons: almost non existent tech support, badly written manual- though improving
Model Number: QT426
"Great features- especially the inclusion of wide angle 3.5mm) cameras with this system (6 mm are too narrow for most applications). Great ability to set up system to record what you want when you want. However, the manual was written by a foreign engineer type person (not a manual writer) educated in English. So it explains almost nothing. Tech support phone calls go to hold for over 1 1/2 hours and emails go unanswered for days. Until this improves I suggest going elsewhere (is ANYONE writing good manuals nowadays since everything went out of the US?) unless you are a real problem solver - for ex., you have PPPoe internet and the DVR has a section for this. But,it turns out, you don't really use it. You have to set up the connection as if it were a static connection, then uncheck that box and set up the DDNS service with Q0See and do as the directions say -- except add the port you opened after the domain you set up at Q-See's web site ( domain.myq-see.com:80). The directions don't say anything about that which cost me another two days until I finally got a response from tech support. Bottom line: if Costco got on Q-See to write a GOOD ACCURATE manual this would be a great system for a great price. Otherwise you have to be an inciteful computer geek to set it up for remote viewing over the internet."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 1, 2010

No email notifications

"It does not look like it has email notifications. You are not expected to keep watching the camera 24 x 7. Email notification is a must have feature and I would NOT recommend any system without this. Also, this has only 420 TV lines camera resolution which is pretty low quality nowadays. If you can spend a little more, go for a Samsung system with 600 TV lines with 50 feet night vision. One of the best electronics brand has now entered the CCTV market and I can't wait for Samsung to market more models."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Corona Ca
Date:October 1, 2010

A no Brainer!

Cons: none yet
"This one is awesome for the price! @ 420 TV lines most of these cameras alone would cost about hundred each, do the math. @ 399 shipped! Costco does it again! I have this system setup for remote view and seems to work flawless. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a quality system @ an astounding price point."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:October 1, 2010

Tech support is non-existent!!

Pros: great low and no-light camera & remote access
Cons: tech support non-existent
Model Number: QT428 plus QSDS14278x8
"Works as advertized. Remote access is great with high speed network. The cameras have good quality under low and no light. Has 4 audio channels but no obvious way of integrating a mic with each camera.
Tech support is non-existent!!
Needed cabling and DC connector info that wasn't in the manual, and the tech support guy kept telling me to talk to customer service and kept hanging up, and customer service kept forwarding me back to tech support.
In summary, it is a great product with non-existent tech support, and since I value good support in the event of trouble or a valid question, this product gets 1 star only."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Coarsegold, CA
Date:September 28, 2010

great system for price

Pros: stable system
Cons: instructions could be more detailed
Model Number: QT428-803-5
"This is the 3rd Q-See system that I have purchased, and is by far the best one yet. I am a do it your self type and found the instructions a bit lacking. Even so The night vision cameras are far better than previous cameras that I have used. Great system for the price."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Flagstaff, Az
Date:September 20, 2010

Great Price/Poor Product

Pros: great price if the system will function
Cons: poor service/ too many camera failures.
Model Number: Camera QSM1424C / DVR H264/500Gb
"I purchased this product approximately 2 months ago. The programming can be a nightmare especially if you are interested in utilizing the remote(Internet) viewing. When the tech support was contacted they had no clue. When a senior tech was finally reached they could not make it work either. The resolution was a patch software from (china). Since the purchase two cameras have failed out of 8. The infrared fails and then the camera fails completely. First unit returned for warranty was replaced with a used unit(unit had rusted bolts & the camera body was doctored with a black felt maker to try and hide the scratches, Plastic connectors were sun faded on one side,). Unit is being replaced with new to their credit."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2