Customer Reviews for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision

H.264 DVR w/ 500GB HDD Remotely Monitor via PC and 3G Smartphone
Average Customer Rating:
3.062 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
(out of 32 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
8
20 of 32(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Review 21 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:October 9, 2010

Dont buy their product

Pros: costco has 18 mo warranty
Cons: bad customer service they make you wait forever., have not shipped my replacement dvr after 10 days, cameras become blurry after 14 months
Model Number: 8 camer dvr
"I purchased the 8 camera system 14 months ago. The first month, the DVR failed which they replaced. Last week I had a burglary. According to my monitor, the DVR was recording. When I reviewed the drive, it has not recorded for several months. Bottom line, it did not do what it was supposed to. Called tech support, was advised I have a bad DVR. 10 days later still no replacement. In addition, the cameras started to be blurry. Dont waste your time and $ and false security."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:ABQ, NM
Date:March 23, 2011

Worst service ever!!!!

"We purchased this product back around Sept of 2010 for a work site that needed surveillance. We tried to get the DVR to work and it just wouldn't, so we asked to send it back and if we could get another one sent out right away before we sent this one back so we wwouldn't loose what we had recorded. Of course we had to pay for it. It was paid for by a 2nd person that did not purchase the first. We shipped the old DVR off and in a few days we received what we think was to be the old DVR again. We did NOT open the box, just got a label from the company to return it. We were told it would be refunded back to the 1st person that purchased it. We waited for the refund and we think it was refunded just recently to the 2nd person that purchased it. Needless to say it has been a nightmare in this entire situation. We would call the company to get help and talked by "chat" with them and by phone. We would wait on the phone for over 30 min. most of the time before we even got to speak with anyone. The first guy we spoke to at length, trying to get it to work, did not remember even talking to us, so we'd have to start all over again. The picture is great quality, but we've not had to print out any of the recorded video. If you have problems with your system, hope you don't have to call these people or have to return for a refund!!!"
Review 23 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:February 23, 2011

Good System for the Price

Pros: monitor with phones and pc
Cons: not the best but best for price
Model Number: Q-See 8-channel
"We had an older 4 Channel Q-see, and added this 8 Channel a few months ago for 12 cameras total. Cams are better than the older system, and pleased with Night Vision. Because we had some longer than 60 ft runs, my son used ethernet cable and some kind of adapters on most of the cameras. Have had a few minor issues with connections, but very pleased. We can monitor all 12 cams from both DVRs with our Android phones. My son only had to contact customer service once, and got the info he needed at the time. Some are trying to compare these with much more expensive systems, like the Samsung. You would get more but pay about 2x the price to do it."
Review 24 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:TX
Date:October 8, 2010

Q-See Ccustomer suport really bad

"Really Bad Customer suport
I bought the equipment and some of the cameras came Bad after have waiting on line for 30 minutes they want me to pay for the shipment of the cameras that they send bad in the box.
I just return Everything at the local Costco Store
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:March 15, 2011

Good Value

Pros: remote monitoring over the internet and iphone
Cons: camera with audio not included
"This package is a good value overall. I didn't need to call for assistance, but I'm somewhat familiar with this technology. In my opinion, setting up the DVR and the Internet feature is not too user friendly, but I was able to figure it out. I like that I'm able to monitor my cameras from the Internet. The video quality is good ... acceptable. The remote monitoring features don't all work with Win7 64 Bit ... like saving video clips, but controling the DVR remotely works. There is also an app for the iPhone/iPod Touch. And saving video clips does work using the iPod."
Review 26 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Columbia, Maryland
Date:April 14, 2011

'OK' for the price, but........

Pros: all of the hardware is included.
Cons: instructions are not for a novice. it took hours.
Model Number: QT428-803-5
"I started April 8, 2011 installing 2 camera's to the DVR to test the system. I have 2 desktop Windows computers, one with Vista and the other Windows 7. Both have Internet Exployer 9 (IE9) connected to Verizon FIOS. The camera's worked immediately on the attached monitor, but I could not setup a remote connection to either computer or my Samsung TAB or HTC Thunderbolt smartphone. On April 13th, I finally read that the software only works with IE 8 and below. The remote software does work with my Androids. I will try IE8 on a Laptop later."
Review 27 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:North Hills, California
Date:March 15, 2011

Best Purchased Ever

Pros: best price
Cons: 40ft cable
Model Number: QSEE Model 428
"This is one of the best security monitoring in the market. The camera had a very good quality. its a CCD not cheapy CMOS camera . This is very ideal for any residence wanted to have a security monitoring system. The Q-See Model 428 had many great features and the hard drive is 500GB but can be changed or upgrade to a larger 1TB! Had USB socket for your backup too. I do recommend this product to anyone. I will try the networking this week to see if i can view it on Android.."
Review 28 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2011

piece of mind

Pros: price, quality, good picture, remote monitoring from cell or computer is easy
Cons: phone support takes a long time., need at least one longer cable wire
Model Number: QT-428-803?
"This is our second system (2 locations) and it gives us great piece of mind to view homes remotely. Easy to install and once you get thru to a level 2 support tech, they configure everything for you. Would give it 5 star, but waiting for support is way too long. Good picture quality. They should include at least one longer cable wire, but do not. Have not had long enough to notice any problems, but everything came as stated."
Review 29 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New North Davis, CA
Date:March 11, 2011

Once Set Up, It Works Well

Pros: clear cameras
Model Number: QT-264
"My son and I used the set up manual (printed off the CD) and online videos to get most of the system working. I had to call the support guy to get the remote monitor feature working. It took him five minutes to tweak my setup, and now it works fine.
Call early in the day or you'll get stuck in their customer help queue. The support guy was extremely competent and efficient!
Since then, everything has worked perfectly."
Review 30 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:March 15, 2011

Q-See 8 chnl video

Pros: simple. easy setup, focus could be better.
Model Number: H.264
"Good product. Would like better focus, but not at this price. EZ setup with instant help from Manufacturer. Arrived as stated in good shape. No problems. Ordered additional cable and price was very fair and instantly shipped.."
Review 31 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Amazon, South America
Date:March 18, 2011

Grainy picture, system crashes

Pros: better than nothing
Cons: only after 1 month of operation the system dired, waste of money, wont even record the bad video now...
"Only after 1 month of operation the system stoped showing the real pictures and became all grainy and lines all over each windoe, something went wrong inside and I am too far away to justify shipping cost back"
Review 32 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tampa, FL
Date:March 23, 2011

These are great

Pros: ease of install and everything included
Cons: the only con is that i didn't find it sooner.
Model Number: QT-428
"For the price these cant be beat. The set comes with everything needed to install and be up and running.
with a static IP address you can monitor from anywhere. PC and on your smart phone."
<<prev 1 2