Customer Reviews for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision

H.264 DVR w/ 500GB HDD Remotely Monitor via PC and 3G Smartphone
Average Customer Rating:
3.062 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
(out of 32 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
8
20 of 32(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Review 1 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:ABQ, NM
Date:March 23, 2011

Worst service ever!!!!

"We purchased this product back around Sept of 2010 for a work site that needed surveillance. We tried to get the DVR to work and it just wouldn't, so we asked to send it back and if we could get another one sent out right away before we sent this one back so we wwouldn't loose what we had recorded. Of course we had to pay for it. It was paid for by a 2nd person that did not purchase the first. We shipped the old DVR off and in a few days we received what we think was to be the old DVR again. We did NOT open the box, just got a label from the company to return it. We were told it would be refunded back to the 1st person that purchased it. We waited for the refund and we think it was refunded just recently to the 2nd person that purchased it. Needless to say it has been a nightmare in this entire situation. We would call the company to get help and talked by "chat" with them and by phone. We would wait on the phone for over 30 min. most of the time before we even got to speak with anyone. The first guy we spoke to at length, trying to get it to work, did not remember even talking to us, so we'd have to start all over again. The picture is great quality, but we've not had to print out any of the recorded video. If you have problems with your system, hope you don't have to call these people or have to return for a refund!!!"
Review 2 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Phoenix
Date:October 3, 2010

great system-poor tech support-poor manual

Pros: excellent menus, good features, accepable but not great cameras, good remote interface, easy to use once set up
Cons: almost non existent tech support, badly written manual- though improving
Model Number: QT426
"Great features- especially the inclusion of wide angle 3.5mm) cameras with this system (6 mm are too narrow for most applications). Great ability to set up system to record what you want when you want. However, the manual was written by a foreign engineer type person (not a manual writer) educated in English. So it explains almost nothing. Tech support phone calls go to hold for over 1 1/2 hours and emails go unanswered for days. Until this improves I suggest going elsewhere (is ANYONE writing good manuals nowadays since everything went out of the US?) unless you are a real problem solver - for ex., you have PPPoe internet and the DVR has a section for this. But,it turns out, you don't really use it. You have to set up the connection as if it were a static connection, then uncheck that box and set up the DDNS service with Q0See and do as the directions say -- except add the port you opened after the domain you set up at Q-See's web site ( domain.myq-see.com:80). The directions don't say anything about that which cost me another two days until I finally got a response from tech support. Bottom line: if Costco got on Q-See to write a GOOD ACCURATE manual this would be a great system for a great price. Otherwise you have to be an inciteful computer geek to set it up for remote viewing over the internet."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:East Hanover, NJ
Date:October 10, 2010

Well worth it!

Pros: sharpness of picture and cost!
"You can read the other reviews on what comes with this product, I would just like to share my view on the cameras. Firstly, the price is fantastic, years ago as system like this would have cost $4000 or more.
With relative ease, I drilled a hole in the room I wanted to place the memory device. Once that was in place, I ran 5 of the 8 included cables from the brain to the camera locations. Once I knew generally what I wanted to keep under surveillance, the rest was manual labor. High on my roof top, side of the garage, porch facing the doorway etc...
Mounting the cameras was a breeze, adjusting them to where I wanted to face them was made easier by use of my iPad and a program called SuperCam Pro. This is a free app which allowed me to see the cameras and what they were capturing. Minor adjustments and all was rocking.
The quality of the cameras are brilliant and sharp - Night vision is perfect.
The only draw back (for me) is the difficulty setting up the network, meaning using the cameras remotely from my ipad or iPhone. Once I worked out the kinks (mostly I needed to update some drivers on my machines). The rest was easy. I will install the remaining 3 cameras next weekend."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Golden Coast, CA
Date:October 9, 2010

Great Value Entry Level System

Pros: excellent price, good cameras, easy install
Cons: need longer cables
Model Number: QT-428-803-5
"Excellent day time pictures. Decent night time pictures. Cables could be longer. Remote and mobile phone monitoring works great! Email alerts works.Overall, excellent system at an affordable price. My insurance company lower my house insurance premium after the system was installed. More savings! If you're not computer savvy like myself, do yourself a favor and call Q-See's tech support. Great people! You have to call at 9 AM PST, but no later than 10 AM PST and ask for Gordon. Gordon is very professional, courtesy, knowledgable, and attentive. Gordon will give you a follow-up phone call to make sure your system is set-up and program properly like as if that's his own system at his own house. Gordon puts himself in the customer's shoes. The kind of customer service Gordon provides don't really exist anymore these days. Gordon and Q-See actually valued their customers. I now have peace of mind when I'm not at any of my investment properties."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern Calif.
Date:October 5, 2010

great deal for the price

Pros: working internet access, price w/8 cams, quiet small footprint
Cons: cheap cables, really poor documentation, email for movment non-functional
Model Number: QT428
"8 cameras & a dvr for the sale price , great deal for a starter system!
low end cameras, poor mounts & not weatherproof.. but consider one good camera could cost more than this whole system!
Agree about email notification, not sure why because it HAS email & I set it up & it works when tested!...but not on alarm...(maybe there is a hack or upgrade available?)
Was able to set up internet/remote access, after googling for help...included instructions almost worthless!
camera resolution is low to fair, but meets my needs for the cost.
Just don't expect the cops to pick out the bad guys mug at anything over 20 feet or so!
I'm hoping I can add better cameras at a later date... Also, I see that Costco has a great price on better cables! (2x100')
I'm still deciding on bulk or premade, so I just sticking with these for now.
(It would be interesting to see if the better RG59 cables made a big difference!)
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:October 8, 2010

Not bad for the price

Pros: price
Cons: cables., times support is available
Model Number: QT428-803
"I bought this system even though many reviews gave it a poor rating. For the price it seemed to be a fair deal. The basic connections and software was easy to use. Don't know how it will go when it's time to connect to the internet and smartphone. The Power button on the remote will only shut it down, not power it up. I contacted Q-See to find out if there was a problem with the system and I received and immediate email response. When I called support, in the morning, it took 5 minutes to get help. Unfortunately they are only available during regular working hours. Night vision is fairly good up to about 25 feet. At 40 feet you can make out movement. I ordered the 100' shielded cables from Costo. The 60' cables provided are not shielded and very cheaply made. You get what you pay for, and for me, it is worth $400. I would not pay more. After tax and better cables you are looking at closer to $500."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Flagstaff, Az
Date:September 20, 2010

Great Price/Poor Product

Pros: great price if the system will function
Cons: poor service/ too many camera failures.
Model Number: Camera QSM1424C / DVR H264/500Gb
"I purchased this product approximately 2 months ago. The programming can be a nightmare especially if you are interested in utilizing the remote(Internet) viewing. When the tech support was contacted they had no clue. When a senior tech was finally reached they could not make it work either. The resolution was a patch software from (china). Since the purchase two cameras have failed out of 8. The infrared fails and then the camera fails completely. First unit returned for warranty was replaced with a used unit(unit had rusted bolts & the camera body was doctored with a black felt maker to try and hide the scratches, Plastic connectors were sun faded on one side,). Unit is being replaced with new to their credit."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:February 23, 2011

Good System for the Price

Pros: monitor with phones and pc
Cons: not the best but best for price
Model Number: Q-See 8-channel
"We had an older 4 Channel Q-see, and added this 8 Channel a few months ago for 12 cameras total. Cams are better than the older system, and pleased with Night Vision. Because we had some longer than 60 ft runs, my son used ethernet cable and some kind of adapters on most of the cameras. Have had a few minor issues with connections, but very pleased. We can monitor all 12 cams from both DVRs with our Android phones. My son only had to contact customer service once, and got the info he needed at the time. Some are trying to compare these with much more expensive systems, like the Samsung. You would get more but pay about 2x the price to do it."
Review 9 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:UT
Date:October 9, 2010

Very good system for the price!

Pros: cheap, good image quality, full configuration through web interface, night vision is pretty good
Cons: remote control is weak, web console only works with ie, cannot delete recordings only overwrite
Model Number: QT428-803-5
"I was able to setup this system without any big problems. I had a little problem synching timestamps between the dvr and the cameras that was easily addressed by switching the option to sync with the default NTP server. Also I noticed that the dvr menu does show the highlighted activity on the chart when going to see recordings, but the web interface didn't show the activity on the chart. Clicking on play on the web interface does show the recordings. I like the fact that multiple ( > 10) people can access the system simultaneously through the web console. The iPhone app has 3 stars on the app store, but I found it to worked very well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:October 1, 2010

Tech support is non-existent!!

Pros: great low and no-light camera & remote access
Cons: tech support non-existent
Model Number: QT428 plus QSDS14278x8
"Works as advertized. Remote access is great with high speed network. The cameras have good quality under low and no light. Has 4 audio channels but no obvious way of integrating a mic with each camera.
Tech support is non-existent!!
Needed cabling and DC connector info that wasn't in the manual, and the tech support guy kept telling me to talk to customer service and kept hanging up, and customer service kept forwarding me back to tech support.
In summary, it is a great product with non-existent tech support, and since I value good support in the event of trouble or a valid question, this product gets 1 star only."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:March 15, 2011

Good Value

Pros: remote monitoring over the internet and iphone
Cons: camera with audio not included
"This package is a good value overall. I didn't need to call for assistance, but I'm somewhat familiar with this technology. In my opinion, setting up the DVR and the Internet feature is not too user friendly, but I was able to figure it out. I like that I'm able to monitor my cameras from the Internet. The video quality is good ... acceptable. The remote monitoring features don't all work with Win7 64 Bit ... like saving video clips, but controling the DVR remotely works. There is also an app for the iPhone/iPod Touch. And saving video clips does work using the iPod."
Review 12 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Columbia, Maryland
Date:April 14, 2011

'OK' for the price, but........

Pros: all of the hardware is included.
Cons: instructions are not for a novice. it took hours.
Model Number: QT428-803-5
"I started April 8, 2011 installing 2 camera's to the DVR to test the system. I have 2 desktop Windows computers, one with Vista and the other Windows 7. Both have Internet Exployer 9 (IE9) connected to Verizon FIOS. The camera's worked immediately on the attached monitor, but I could not setup a remote connection to either computer or my Samsung TAB or HTC Thunderbolt smartphone. On April 13th, I finally read that the software only works with IE 8 and below. The remote software does work with my Androids. I will try IE8 on a Laptop later."
Review 13 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 1, 2010

No email notifications

"It does not look like it has email notifications. You are not expected to keep watching the camera 24 x 7. Email notification is a must have feature and I would NOT recommend any system without this. Also, this has only 420 TV lines camera resolution which is pretty low quality nowadays. If you can spend a little more, go for a Samsung system with 600 TV lines with 50 feet night vision. One of the best electronics brand has now entered the CCTV market and I can't wait for Samsung to market more models."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:North Hills, California
Date:March 15, 2011

Best Purchased Ever

Pros: best price
Cons: 40ft cable
Model Number: QSEE Model 428
"This is one of the best security monitoring in the market. The camera had a very good quality. its a CCD not cheapy CMOS camera . This is very ideal for any residence wanted to have a security monitoring system. The Q-See Model 428 had many great features and the hard drive is 500GB but can be changed or upgrade to a larger 1TB! Had USB socket for your backup too. I do recommend this product to anyone. I will try the networking this week to see if i can view it on Android.."
Review 15 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:October 9, 2010

Dont buy their product

Pros: costco has 18 mo warranty
Cons: bad customer service they make you wait forever., have not shipped my replacement dvr after 10 days, cameras become blurry after 14 months
Model Number: 8 camer dvr
"I purchased the 8 camera system 14 months ago. The first month, the DVR failed which they replaced. Last week I had a burglary. According to my monitor, the DVR was recording. When I reviewed the drive, it has not recorded for several months. Bottom line, it did not do what it was supposed to. Called tech support, was advised I have a bad DVR. 10 days later still no replacement. In addition, the cameras started to be blurry. Dont waste your time and $ and false security."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:March 7, 2011

Poor quality

Pros: cheap, good image quality.
Cons: poor product quality.
Model Number: QT 428
"I purchased this product during thanksgiving and had it professionally installed.
Right in 1 week after installation, one of my cameras went bad. I had to send it to qsee on my expense and received a replacement after 15 days.
After 1 month of usage, now my DVR itself has gone bad.
I have to send it to them at my expense before they would send me a replacement!!
It takes atleast 30 minutes to wait for a customer service agent!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2011

piece of mind

Pros: price, quality, good picture, remote monitoring from cell or computer is easy
Cons: phone support takes a long time., need at least one longer cable wire
Model Number: QT-428-803?
"This is our second system (2 locations) and it gives us great piece of mind to view homes remotely. Easy to install and once you get thru to a level 2 support tech, they configure everything for you. Would give it 5 star, but waiting for support is way too long. Good picture quality. They should include at least one longer cable wire, but do not. Have not had long enough to notice any problems, but everything came as stated."
Review 18 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New North Davis, CA
Date:March 11, 2011

Once Set Up, It Works Well

Pros: clear cameras
Model Number: QT-264
"My son and I used the set up manual (printed off the CD) and online videos to get most of the system working. I had to call the support guy to get the remote monitor feature working. It took him five minutes to tweak my setup, and now it works fine.
Call early in the day or you'll get stuck in their customer help queue. The support guy was extremely competent and efficient!
Since then, everything has worked perfectly."
Review 19 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:California
Date:October 4, 2010

It's okay......

Pros: easy setup plug n play camera is fair.
Cons: cable length should vary (40 60 and 100 feet), in mixture console is for starters and remote, control does not work (out of the box); will be, raplaced asap.
Model Number: QSee with 8 cameras
"I bought this camera for my mom so that she can have a security surveillance. The system is great if you are not expecting too much out of it. Setup was easy but I wish they would include some longer cables with the camera (at least a mixture of 40, 60, and 100 feet cable). The system comes up but I am having a problem connecting it to the network and obviously the remote control DOES NOT WORK at all."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Q-See 8-channel Surveillance System 8CCD Cameras w/ 40 Ft. Night Vision
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2011

Complicated Install and Not Complete

Pros: cost
Cons: extra parts needed
"The is a good value for the price, but... To actually use the system, one must buy additional pieces, the largest a VGA monitor. Also, the wiring seems questionable as far as quality and I doubt most install can be done using only the short wiring sets provided. The "Install Card" lists the Q-See install at $100-$200 per camera. The paid install would be considerably more than the unit itself."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>