Customer Reviews for Assembly Included EPIC EL 2980 Elliptical

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Assembly Included EPIC EL 2980 Elliptical

Extra-long 20" Stride Length, iFit® Fitness Journal, iPod® Compatible Music Port
Average Customer Rating:
3.783 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
(out of 60 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
11
42 of 60(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Assembly Included EPIC EL 2980 Elliptical
Review 1 for Assembly Included EPIC EL 2980 Elliptical
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2011

Happy with Purchase

"I really rely on having a good eliptical around because it is about the only way I can consistently get good exercise which is essential to may health.
My old eliptical broke. I needed a new one as soon as possible. This was a very good deal because the eliptical is heavy duty and the delivery/ installation was very easy and efficient.
Delivery team did a good job although they arrived at the very end of the five hour delivery window. Only thing that could have made this better is if they would have just called and said that they would be a little late - that way I wouldn't have to wait around all day.
Eliptical is smooth. It is a bit oversized which is perfect for me and my wife. I am 6 feet, 210. She is 5'9 155. Perfect for our sizes. Pre-sent workouts are nice. Speakers nice feature. Very sturdy."
Review 2 for Assembly Included EPIC EL 2980 Elliptical
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boydton, VA
Date:December 4, 2011

Sweet Deal

Pros: value, delivery & setup, quality, well built and silent
Cons: none
Model Number: EPIC EL 2980
"I was very suprised just how fast this transaction was. I ordered it one day... and only a few days later I had a truck at my house with 2 men carrying it to the 2nd floor and it's done. NICE. Well built and delivery to the 2nd floor was not even a issue. Highly Recomend."
Review 3 for Assembly Included EPIC EL 2980 Elliptical
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:October 17, 2011

Great for tall/big people!

Pros: great for my large size, quiet operation, like the electronic features, great value!
Model Number: 2980
"We had a smaller unit and my wife talked me into getting on it, as I lift weights every other day, but have done nothing aerobic. I struggled with the older/smaller one as it impacted the tops of my thighs heavily and I could hardly get 5 minutes on it before my legs were screaming. It didn't take 6-7 of my workouts before a couple bolts sheared off.
My wife bought this as a replacement as she is 5' 10" 160 lbs and I am 6' 3" 290 and this is advertised as having a longer stride. That it does! It is considerably bigger, although it really doesn't take up much more room. The huge upside at my height and weight is that I was able to start out day-1 with a 30-minute workout, unlike the smaller unit that impacted my legs predominantly at one point only, this bigger unit is a more fluid all-over workout like it's supposed to be.
Although I am very mechanically astute, I'm glad it included installation. I did go through all of the connection points after the delivery guys took off and found a couple loose bolts that I tightened up, but no biggie. You should check them out routinely anyway, since it is mechanical, and has many moving points on it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Assembly Included EPIC EL 2980 Elliptical
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:October 12, 2011

Make Sure you purchase the Assembly

Pros: sturdy for big people
Cons: must buy the assembly package, takes up a lot of space
"Never would have gotten it together by myself. It is extremely well built (Heavy Duty for us BIG guys) but also very heavy to move around if you try to put it together by yourself.
Works great, very surprised with all the extra features on it (radio speakers for I-Pod, MP3 , etc. ) Very impressed with it so far. Took 2 guys 1 and 1/2 half hours to set-up.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Assembly Included EPIC EL 2980 Elliptical
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:October 9, 2011

Gave it as a gift - I heard good things

Pros: fan
"Hear it works great. Assembly included makes it very convenient."
Review 6 for Assembly Included EPIC EL 2980 Elliptical
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Woodland, CA
Date:May 31, 2011

Faulty Console

Pros: unit is well made
Cons: console is junk
Model Number: EL 2980
"We purchased this in Nov 2010, assembled it ourselves and initially were pleased with purchase. Soon began having difficulties with console, until it eventually stopped working altogether. EPIC customer service quickly responded to our March 2011 email and replaced console. Two weeks later, fan stopped working on replacement. Now, EPIC customer service is non-responsive to our email requests for second replacement. Considering returning to COSTCO."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Assembly Included EPIC EL 2980 Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San juan Bautista, CA
Date:May 23, 2011

poor workmanship

Pros: great costco customer service
Cons: incompetent assemblers
"Delivery people assembled the ellitical which came with the wrong parts..two right arm pieces so they could not finish the job.They left a mess of styrofoam pieces everywhere. Missing piece was delivered and assembled by different person.First time on the elliptical there were squeaking loud noises...some bolts were not totally screwed in...I am returning this product...very unsatistied. On a positive note the Costco customer service has been most helpful with the return. I am now ordering the top-of line eliptical and hopefully new and better assemblers"
Review 8 for Assembly Included EPIC EL 2980 Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:ILLINOIS
Date:May 21, 2011

POOR

Model Number: EPL 2980
"purchased this is OCT2010 and returned it APR 2011 - this came with installation - the very next day - started making noises - had to call service department - excellent turn around time - started making noises again after 2 months / console went bad - had to get a new console from the service department - noise would not go - decided to return - not worth it - just ordered livestrong 13.0"
Review 9 for Assembly Included EPIC EL 2980 Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:May 18, 2011

Badly Built Machine - Lemon

Pros: sturdy built
Cons: chains get off stride easily causing a loud sound, non-working digital face, heart rate monitor not accurate
"I bought this machine on October 2010. After 5 weeks it started squeaking really loud and unbearable. Also, the digital face was not functioning and the log was also not working. I asked for a replacement and the replacement came in December. After 4 months the, I thought that it will be a keeper but going to the fifth month it started having this loud noise once again. I have to return it and get a refund."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Assembly Included EPIC EL 2980 Elliptical
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2011

EPIC EL 2980

Model Number: EPIC EL 2980
"Hi ,
I got the elliptical last Monday. Assembly was included in the purchase.
After 2 days we realized that the fan is not working. Also there is a little bt of noise (ok to live with it)."
Review 11 for Assembly Included EPIC EL 2980 Elliptical
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CantonmMichigan
Date:April 18, 2011

Oversized.

"Overall the Elliptical is build solid overall and good quality if assembled correctly. However, the in home installation leaves much to be desired.
I am about 5'9 and my wife is 5'2. It fit me OK and I believe I would be comfortable using the elliptical, my on the other hand , wife was unable to even reach the handlebars! The model shown in the picture must be at least 5' 9 or 5'10 easily. If you have a shorter person who may use the elliptical stay away from this one.
The reason I said I believe is because I was not able to use the elliptical after the assembly. I jumped on and to give it a try and found the the handlebars to be loose. Upon further inspection, I noticed that there were several washers on the floor where the product was assembled. I looked at the manual and looked at the handlebar assembly and realized none off the washers that the picture were installed.
I thought of fixing it myself but found quite a few left over washers in the box (which they said they left for warranty purposes) and did not want to take the time to do a job that I paid someone to do.
I called Costco.com and they are sending someone to disassemble and take the elliptical from my house. Thank God I bought form here! A+ customer service.
Lesson learned: next time i buy an elliptical I will be putting it together myself."
Review 12 for Assembly Included EPIC EL 2980 Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:April 18, 2011

Disappointing

Pros: customer service responsive
Cons: unreliable
Model Number: EL 2980
"I purchased this item in November 2010. The console was erratic from the start and failed completely after a few weeks. The distributor mailed me a new one about a week later.
The resistance control just stopped working and 'a technician will contact me in 3-5 days' about scheduling a visit to repair it. I've used the unit for a total of about 30 hours so far and it has needed 2 major repairs. I dread to think how it will hold up long term.
The item is big and heavy. It seems somewhat clunky mechanically, and does not have a particularly smooth motion.
"
Review 13 for Assembly Included EPIC EL 2980 Elliptical
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Newark DE
Date:March 22, 2011

We love our Elliptical

Model Number: EPIC EL 2980
"We purchased our Epic El on a Sunday online. We recieved notice on Wednesday that it was shipped. The following Tuesday it was delievered and assembled! We love it! Quiet, easy to use, and a great workout!"
Review 14 for Assembly Included EPIC EL 2980 Elliptical
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:March 14, 2011

Loud Machine

"It has been making loud clanking noises sinced the day it was delivered. It appears after reading other reviews that this is just a loud machine and not that the guys who assembled it did anything wrong. We loosened up some of the bolts as the reviews told us to do and it helped a little but this is still such an annoying sound to have to listen to when you're working out."
Review 15 for Assembly Included EPIC EL 2980 Elliptical
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:pagosa springs , CO
Date:December 15, 2010

great value

Pros: value, price, solid, great workout
Model Number: EPIC EL 2980
"Excellent value for the money. I did not get the assembly as it took me 2 hours by myself and its a heavy product so beware if you do it alone maybe get help but its not hard to do.
A few minor tweaks fixing some noises but it work great.
I am a very active person and I get a excellent workout and so does my 110 pound wife she also loves it.
A plus !!!
"
Review 16 for Assembly Included EPIC EL 2980 Elliptical
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Murrieta, CA
Date:December 4, 2010

Not bad but not good either

Pros: good ergonomics and stride, lots of options
Cons: squeaky arms, faulty power cord, intensity should lessen with longer workout
Model Number: Epic EL 2980
"Went together pretty easily and started off working fine. The right handle started squeaking pretty good after a while. Maybe if I take it off and regrease it is will be quiet again but I don't think I should have to do that after 2 months. Also it kept shutting off in the middle of my workouts because I had a bad power cord. They sent me a new one and that works well now. I like the music, the fan and other than the handle it is pretty smooth. The range feels good too and ergonimically it is well designed. I dislike that the 20 minute programs are least intense, the 30 are more intense and the 45 are the worst. I would prefer to do shorter higher intensity workouts and have the 45 be at a more moderate pace since I am going longer."
Review 17 for Assembly Included EPIC EL 2980 Elliptical
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, OH
Date:November 22, 2010

Does the job for the money

Pros: smooth operation, durability
Cons: cheap head unit
Model Number: EPIC EL 2980
"With managed expectations this is a very nice machine for the cost. Super smooth motion provides a pleasant workout - very quiet.
The electronic head unit is of very poor quality, but the physical machinery itself is very nicely made. Fan is sufficient to get things stirring.
My head unit broke almost immediately and needs to be replaced. Now when I'll have time to do that I don't know.
I felt the assembly was worth the fee. It's a hefty machine and the boxes were massive. The local setup guys were very professional. It took them tweny minutes because they make two or three a day. I could have built it, but my children would have picked up on a lot of curse words."
Review 18 for Assembly Included EPIC EL 2980 Elliptical
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:November 17, 2010

got me off the couch!

Pros: sturdy, versatile, many options
Model Number: EL2980
"I am very pleased with this purchase. It was not difficult to assemble, and the display is easy to read. The speakers, ipod dock, and integrated fan are options that facilitate a longer workout. I am very pleased with the quality, nearly noiseless operation, and for little speakers (in the console) they have fairly good sound! In addition, I had to contact EPIC for a replacement part shortly after I received the unit. They shipped it promptly, no questions asked, and were very easy to work with. I would recommend this machine to anyone looking for a piece of quality home exercise equipment."
Review 19 for Assembly Included EPIC EL 2980 Elliptical
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tucson, Arizona
Date:November 17, 2010

Poor Assembly

Pros: great sturdy machine
Cons: don't pay to have it assembled!
"We paid the extra to have this machine assembled for us. The delivery people were who put it together, not anyone from the manufacturer. The machine wasn't working properly so we contacted the manufacturer. They sent a repairman out this morning, who was amazed at how poorly the Elliptical had been put together. All of the bolts were loose for one. Assembly was very poor. Basically it needed to be re-assembled this morning and 3 parts are on order for what the delivery guys did wrong. Certainly not worth the extra money to have had it put together. We will be asking for a refund of our assembly fee and hope that we get it. Definately not worth all of the hassle it has caused. We could have done a better job ourselves. The machine itself is great. Very sturdy. Great pre-programmed work-outs. Hope now that its put together correctly we can use it, and enjoy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Assembly Included EPIC EL 2980 Elliptical
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Fremont, CA
Date:November 16, 2010

Unfortunate

Pros: looked like a great machine
Cons: online measurements are incorrect
"I looked for a long time to find something to meet all my requirements....ordered this...waited a week...THE ONLINE MEASUREMENTS ARE WAY OFF!! They said 48 inches long - it was twice that long! Come on guys!
I had to send it back. I did not have enough room for it."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>