Customer Reviews for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar

SRS TruSurround HD SRS TruVolume Virtual Surround Table Top or Wall Mount
Average Customer Rating:
3.177 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
(out of 34 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
9
19 of 34(56%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Review 1 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Yakima, Wa.
Date:February 27, 2011

Frustrating!!!

Pros: price and looks.
Cons: read my review
Model Number: VSB200 40" Sounbar
"I was excited at the prospect of a low priced answer to expensive surround sound, instead I ended up nearly pulling my hair out. I bought the soundbar to compliment my 47" Vizio TV thinking I would just plug it in and go. I wanted optimum sound so I purchased the S/PDIF digital cable. Plugged it in and nothing. After trying to turn on the PCM audio output I was advised by VIZIO that to enable the PCM I had to be hooked up to the coaxil, turns out I was. Tried again to no avail and had to settle for an analog connection. What a waste of time, and I find it unacceptable that VIZIO's components are not compatible. I then tried the soundbar on my LG TV, also to no avail. I called LG's customer support, informed the tech of the situation and before I said the product name he asked if it was the VIZIO soundbar. They have had multiple callers with the same question. LG tech informed me this LG TV is automatically set up in PCM mode but there is something in the soundbar that has yet to be pinpointed. I hope someone figures it out, what a letdown."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 28, 2010

Just what the doctor ordered

Pros: price, costco warranty, easy to hookup, compliments base model vizios well, looks sleak
Cons: absolutely none!
Model Number: VSB200
"I recently purchased the E320VA Vizio 32 Inch HDTV and I was disappointed by the sound. This sound bar is just what the doctor ordered. Affordable, easy to hookup (I recommend the optical cable and not the RCA cables that come with it), and provides excellent sound. Overall great value. You can play the sound bar and television speakers at the same time. I hooked up an old subwoofer and my Ipod docking station to it. HOLD ME! Comes out the box ready as a stand or easy to mount on wall."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Huntsville, AL
Date:January 18, 2011

A skeptic converted...

Pros: value, sound quality
Cons: led lights, mode selection, remote
Model Number: VSB200
"I have been looking at these for a bit. They really range in quality, price and features. I wanted something I could set up for a bedroom where my options were limited and I didn't want to spend a whole lot of money. I figured that this would be an improvement over the television speakers, but didn't realize just how much. Using an optical and a generic sudwoofer, it now feels like I am right in the movie. This thing is loud, crisp, and made me very excited hearing it for the first time. Now with that all being said, there are better options out there, there are a few things I don't like -- e.g. the LED lights which you need to know/understand the sequence to see which mode you are in -- and its mounting options appear limited. Overall, I feel that it is a excellent option for the budget conscious needing the next best thing to full surround sound."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2011

Improves Sound

"Was somewhat disappointed with the quality of sound from my new Vizio LCD TV, but I was forewarned by reviews so was not surprised. The Vizio Soundbar was an excellent upgrade. I do not need or want wall-shaking, teeth-rattling sound. If that's what you want, this is not for you. But the sound is definitely richer and deeper, even I think some good bass. I did buy an SPDIF cable. Everything hooked up quickly and worked well. Did not give the product 5 stars because of the remote. It is tiny and keeps getting wedged in the sofa or recliner. And, as mentioned in other reviews, it is not real responsive."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2011

Excellent, except....

Pros: sound quality excellent, clean design nice looking without a million wires, decent price
Cons: had problem with soundbar's sensor for the remote
Model Number: VSB200
"The soundbar sound quality is great. Actually, its stupendous for its size.
However, I had a problem with the remote. It did not communicate well with the sensor on the soundbar. Sometimes I would sit right in front of the soundbar and it wouldn't register the buttons I was pushing on the remote.
Vizio quickly sent me a new one but it didn't work either.
Then, it occurred to me that maybe the remote control was fine and that the sensor on the actual soundbar was at fault. Took it back to Costco and exchanged it for a new soundbar. This one works fine. I'm a happy camper now.
So, if the signal from your remote seems really weak, it may be the soundbar's receptor's fault.
If you buy one you will be pleased with the sound quality, and hopefully you won't need to exchange it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:February 5, 2011

Beats Your TV Speakers

Pros: style, ease of use, set-up, price
Cons: no power indicator, cheap feel of remote
Model Number: VSB200
"Purchased this as a option over the speakers of the bedroom TV. Was surprised of the sound quality over the TV. Replaced it over the 2.1. Movies are great as well. A great speaker system if space is an issue an/or a small apt & a 5.1 is kinda out of the question.
Happy w/ it so much that I purchased a second one for the living rm upgrade.
The down side is that I wish that some kind of indicator (power light) was placed on the speaker (top, side, etc...) a small indicator stating its still on. Don't trust the remote for the on/off. Deliberately go up to turn off."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2011

Vizio Sound Bar

Pros: makes watching t.v. a pleasure!
"I purchased the Vizio sound bar at Costco to accompany the new 42" Vizio I had previously bought during the summer and hooked it up myself. (I'm 64 years old, and a woman) This sound bar more than does the job for me. My hearing doctor wanted to charge me $8,000 for a hearing aid. I believe the sound bar MORE THAN PAYS FOR ITSELF. I'm now going to purchase a new one for the bedroom Vizio."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:September 12, 2011

Sounded great but quit....

"We had this bar for about three weeks before it died. It sounded great but we had to buy the optical cable for it to hook up to our tv. It suddenly stopped working and no sound would come out of the speakers. We tried reconnecting it, switching inputs etc. but it would not work. The lights lit up but no sound. I really liked it when it worked and was sad it quit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, New Mexico
Date:September 12, 2011

BAR GREAT! REMOTE JUNK! STILL LOVE THE SOUNDS!

Pros: sound is absolutely great!
Model Number: VSB200
"The bar is great. Easy setup - simple to use - excellent sound. Some folks say it is so large it blocks the IR sensor on the HDTV; I resolved this by mounting it ABOVE the HDTV and amazingly the sound from the bar is even better - at least75% better! Theater sound ina smallish 20 x 22 foot room!
THE REMOTE is a membrane type and is without a doubt the biggest drawback to the unit. VIZIO dropped the eggs on this remote. I was able to program function into my Fishy Network IR20 remote and it works OK . UPGRADE the remote VIZIO and you will see how we appreciate the efforts!
Again - Wall mount is best - sound bounces and is directed all around the room. For the price it is a winner. The additional sub-whoofer would be an even bigger asset - but is NOT a requirement for SUPERB SOUND!"
Review 10 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:The O.C.
Date:March 23, 2011

Bad sound quality

Model Number: VSB200
"The product looks great and excellent quality. The sound of this speaker is so strange and muddy that I think I prefer my TV speakers. I had high hopes for this product and Vizio products are generally excellent in every way, except for speakers."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Livermore, CA
Date:September 10, 2011
"I bought this sound bar in Feb. 2011. It's now September 2011 and the unit died. Right in the middle of a movie the sound cut out. It's under warranty but I have to ship the unit toa service center. Not sure if its worth getting it fixed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Keller, TX
Date:March 6, 2011

Worth the price

Pros: nice price and sound, easy to setup
Cons: remote
"Easy to setup, nice sound. Looking forward to pairiing it with a subwoofer. Remote is fickle, doesn't seem to work regularly. Maybe the battery that came with it is bad or maybe Vizio just added the remote as an after-thought."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Springfield, VA
Date:February 1, 2011

Worth the Money

Pros: sounds great
Cons: none
Model Number: Vizio VSB200 40" Sound Bar
"I was looking for speakers to complement my new 40" Sony flatscreen. This sound bar hits the mark. It was easy to set up using an optical cable that I purchased separately. Overall, it looks good and sounds great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:March 16, 2011

Worth the Money

Pros: sound is crystal clear, easy setup
Cons: cheap remote, remote also operates my q-see security system
Model Number: VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
"I was skeptical at first to buy this since many other sound bars like Sony and Samsung are around $300.00. But I knew I needed something to get the sound to the front of the TV on my LED tv since most of the time I could not hear or understand what was being said. BAd design by Samsung putting the tv speaker on the back of the tv up against the wall.
I am glad I purchased this sound bar. It is like night to day. Crisp sound and clear as a bell. Even has a subwoofer out to add a subwoofer later.
One strange thing though, the cheap remote that is included also works my Q-see security dvr. Hit a button on the remote to change volume and my security camera screens change on my security DVR.
All in all worth keeping. Will work out changing my security dvr to another location.
"
Review 15 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:July 26, 2011

great sound

Model Number: vsb200
"just wanted something not too expensive to increase vol and clarity. this sound bar did the trick. easy to set up and control vol."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boston
Date:January 28, 2011

The Power cord would not work!

Pros: looks nice on the table
"It has a 2 piece AC power supply. Plug into the elec outlet then insert the 1st cord into the power pak which lights up green. Assume this means power is being received.
The oher end goes into the back of the speakersAC input but nothing happens. Even called support to see if there was an issue but they would not help me unless I gave them address, phone number, and names and was not into giving all the personal info. So guess what, they did not help me!
Maybe the speakers are bad and electric is ok, but this is my only guess.
Was really looking forward to trying this so back to Costco it goes.
Not sure how I feel about the VISIO brand for next time!"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Centreville, VA.
Date:January 21, 2011

Nice

Pros: sound, easy setup, easy on the eyes
Cons: can't really think of anything
"We really love our new purchase. For Christmas we bought a new LCD tv but as we all know LCD tvs are very lacking in sound quality. Sound bars are quite pricey and I'm not to thrilled about the aesthetics of a surround system. so when I saw this I was excited. My husband however was expecting it to be a cheap piece of equipment. The price definitely does not reflect the quality. It works great! The only complaint we have is that we needed to purchase an audio y-cable but it's not vizio's fault. Our tv just doesn't take the rca cables it came with. Of course the buyer does have to be realistic and not expect too much from it."
Review 18 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Yosemite, CA mountain area
Date:September 10, 2011

So GREAT, bought another!

Pros: movie theater sound quality!, aesthetically sleek look, price, unobscure size
Cons: seperate purchase/added expense of s/pdif cable
Model Number: VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
"I don't understand what the low reviewers are talking about unless they didn't call Vizio like I did and didn't bother to get the S/PDIF cable required! I remodeled and incorporated this bar right into my newly built rocked LR wall I loved it so much and bought a second one a few months later for my bedroom!
I was dissappointed that the included cable rendered the unit non working but the after purchase S/PDIF cable produces movie theater sound quality with all friends impressed. AND the price was reduced when buying my second one. Just got my new monster S/PDIF cable ordered online and am ready to fire her up!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:January 8, 2011

Silence Ain't Golden!

Model Number: VSB200
"Maybe this sound bar does produce good sound. I don't know. Despite having hooked it up exactly as described, I am getting no sound out of it at all. I tried to get help the Chat feature on the Vizio website during their business hours, but a message came up saying it wasn't their Chat hours. Unless you are a techie, be prepared for a set-up headache."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:February 4, 2011

Wow! Fantastic sound, looks and value!

Pros: big sound, digital in
Cons: none
Model Number: VIZIO VSB200
"I own several pair of professional near-filed monitors. I’m using these with a personal computer running some music recording software and not with a TV. It’s Toshlink/optical digital input, SRS surround encoding, 3-inputs, sub-woofer outputs and wireless remote control put this system heads and shoulders above most multi-media speaker systems. The sound is big and smooth without a sub and setup is quick and easy. Adding a sub creates a compact playback system that looks good and sounds even better. I’d say they will rival some professional grade computer and studio monitors."
1 2 next>>