Customer Reviews for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar

SRS TruSurround HD SRS TruVolume Virtual Surround Table Top or Wall Mount
Average Customer Rating:
3.177 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
(out of 34 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
9
19 of 34(56%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Review 1 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2011

Not good

"This product looked like good value, but it is not worth the gas it will take to return it.awful sound, when it works. Never had anything from vizio before, not likely to buy again. Don't waste your time on this product"
Review 2 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:October 28, 2011

Too Many Drawbacks

Model Number: Vizio VSB200
"I have a 47" Vizio TV and the speakers on it are average. I feel Vizio does that on purpose to make people buy a soundbar. Hopefully, one of their's. The change in volume level from the programs I'm watching to the commercials is so bad, I'm constantly raising the volume for the shows and lowering it for the commercials. I understand this isn't Vizio's fault though. I thought a soundbar would solve the problem and this one claimed to do so. I read the thirty reviews on Costco's site and many said it worked well, while others had negative comments. I thought I'd give it a try for $90 and because Costco has a great return policy. After ONE day, it's going back. My reasons aren't new. The many reviewers before me, hit the nail on the head. The sound level problem was less noticeable but the following problems were deal-breakers--The tiny remote does not work most of the time unless you stand directly in front of the soundbar. The cloth that covers the soundbar also covers the IR sensor, making it even less receptive to the remote's signal. There is no ON LED light to let you know the soundbar is ON. If you forget to turn it OFF, it gets warm. The mode LED lights on the soundbar go OFF after 2-3 seconds and are basically useless. The manual states the soundbar can be programmed to a Vizio remote or DVR Universal remote. I called Vizio to walk me through the programming and was told it wouldn't work with my Vizio TV remote and to call AT&T (my cable provider) reference my DVR remote. (The Vizio Customer Service person I spoke to in Florida didn't sound too knowledgeable or enthusiastic about the product either.) I called AT&T and was told the DVR remote could not be programmed to work the Vizio soundbar, although it could be programmed to work other brands.
On a final note, I returned the Vizio VSB200 today and bought a Panasonic SC-HTB15 sound system for $200 from Costco. It has a separate subwoofer, reliable remote, ON LED's, auto standby-shutoff and came with an optical connection cable, unlike the Vizio where I had to buy one. It sounds very good, just as the Vizio did, but without the headaches mentioned above. I got what I paid for in this case."
Review 3 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:October 27, 2011

An unreliable piece of junk

Pros: looks good, decent sound
Cons: unreliable, poor remote, quit working after a few months
"I bought this summer 2011 looking for some cheap good sound. The unit looks good and sounds nice but quit working in 3 months. I exchanged for another one and in one month it quit working. I am returning tomorrow for my money back. Stil with better brands Vizio can't make a reliable soundbar."
Review 4 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:AZ Boondocks
Date:October 18, 2011

Worth the Money

Pros: nice looking unit
Cons: loses settings with a power loss.
Model Number: VSB200
"Improved the sound quality for more understanding of the speech. Have not purchased the S/PDIF cable yet. Had to build a stand to raise the TV a couple inches for the remote eye to clear."
Review 5 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:September 12, 2011

Sounded great but quit....

"We had this bar for about three weeks before it died. It sounded great but we had to buy the optical cable for it to hook up to our tv. It suddenly stopped working and no sound would come out of the speakers. We tried reconnecting it, switching inputs etc. but it would not work. The lights lit up but no sound. I really liked it when it worked and was sad it quit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, New Mexico
Date:September 12, 2011

BAR GREAT! REMOTE JUNK! STILL LOVE THE SOUNDS!

Pros: sound is absolutely great!
Model Number: VSB200
"The bar is great. Easy setup - simple to use - excellent sound. Some folks say it is so large it blocks the IR sensor on the HDTV; I resolved this by mounting it ABOVE the HDTV and amazingly the sound from the bar is even better - at least75% better! Theater sound ina smallish 20 x 22 foot room!
THE REMOTE is a membrane type and is without a doubt the biggest drawback to the unit. VIZIO dropped the eggs on this remote. I was able to program function into my Fishy Network IR20 remote and it works OK . UPGRADE the remote VIZIO and you will see how we appreciate the efforts!
Again - Wall mount is best - sound bounces and is directed all around the room. For the price it is a winner. The additional sub-whoofer would be an even bigger asset - but is NOT a requirement for SUPERB SOUND!"
Review 7 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Yosemite, CA mountain area
Date:September 10, 2011

So GREAT, bought another!

Pros: movie theater sound quality!, aesthetically sleek look, price, unobscure size
Cons: seperate purchase/added expense of s/pdif cable
Model Number: VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
"I don't understand what the low reviewers are talking about unless they didn't call Vizio like I did and didn't bother to get the S/PDIF cable required! I remodeled and incorporated this bar right into my newly built rocked LR wall I loved it so much and bought a second one a few months later for my bedroom!
I was dissappointed that the included cable rendered the unit non working but the after purchase S/PDIF cable produces movie theater sound quality with all friends impressed. AND the price was reduced when buying my second one. Just got my new monster S/PDIF cable ordered online and am ready to fire her up!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Livermore, CA
Date:September 10, 2011
"I bought this sound bar in Feb. 2011. It's now September 2011 and the unit died. Right in the middle of a movie the sound cut out. It's under warranty but I have to ship the unit toa service center. Not sure if its worth getting it fixed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:July 26, 2011

great sound

Model Number: vsb200
"just wanted something not too expensive to increase vol and clarity. this sound bar did the trick. easy to set up and control vol."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:July 25, 2011

Analog Works - Optic Audio Does NOT

Pros: improved analog sound
Cons: poor set-up instr for optical/digital connections, poor led set-up explanation
Model Number: VSB200
"Purchased the soundbar couple of weeks ago and had an analog hook-up from Comcast cable box to soundbar - worked fine. Thought I'd try the optical/digital connection. Connected the Comcast DVR digital out to the soundbar - nothing! Only have TV sound. The Phillips 47" LCD has no S/PDIF out only a RCA-type digital out. Tried to set the soundbar input to S/PDIF and can't get anything. Anyone have a solution. Going tp the Vizio web page for help."
Review 11 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Memphis, TN
Date:July 23, 2011

Background noise louder than voice

"We have a visio 42" 5 yr old TV. We are 45 yrs old and are having trouble hearing the voice over background. Bought this hoping to fix but did not. Just made background noise louder. Will be returning after trying to make work for 6 mos. Going to spend more and get blue ray DVD with speaker system."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:July 21, 2011

More than decent sound...

Pros: cost, good sound quality, set up
Cons: chrome pieces, size of unit, you will probably still need a sub
Model Number: VSB200
"The sound on the VSB200 is very solid and set up could not be easier. If you have the space or ability to wall mount this is likely a good option for you.
For me, not so much. I have a SONY SXRD set and if you have a similar set with a limited height in front of it this sound bar will not work for you. The main problem here is that the sound bar covers the IR sensor for controlling the TV. Which is an issue for power and volume if you are driving the unit from the TV."
Review 13 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Tustin, CA
Date:July 12, 2011

A "No Regrets" Purchase

Pros: great sound in a small room
Cons: cheap remote
Model Number: VSB200
"When considering the VSB200's price and the sound it produces, it is quite a bargain. While not providing the best sound I have ever heard, it is superior in every way to the downward-firing speakers on my Panasonic plasma.
I did not experience any of the difficulties about which other reviewers wrote. Set up and wall mounting were both simple and fast. I chose to use the optical hook up rather than the RCA jacks - which improved the sound quality (though not dramatically). Additionally, my Harmony 700 remote easily controls the VSB200, TV, and DVR."
Review 14 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Delaware
Date:June 26, 2011

Good Choice

Pros: quality sound using optical cable for cheap price
Cons: can't program fios remote to control sound using, code provided.
Model Number: VSB 200
"I wasn't looking for anything fancy, just better sound than Tv sound. I am using this with my Samsun 46 HDTV, and an optical output from the TV to the VSB 200. The sounds quality is pretty good at louder volumes and ok at lower volumes. Only frustrating thing is that I can not program my Verzion Fios remote to control the VSB 200. May have to invest in universal remote."
Review 15 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2011

Sound Bar

Pros: easy to install
"Average.
Cannot be operated with Verizon Fios remote.
"
Review 16 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:The O.C.
Date:March 23, 2011

Bad sound quality

Model Number: VSB200
"The product looks great and excellent quality. The sound of this speaker is so strange and muddy that I think I prefer my TV speakers. I had high hopes for this product and Vizio products are generally excellent in every way, except for speakers."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2011

mistake

Cons: do not buy
Model Number: VS 200 Soundbar
"To have a unit that does not power up once is something the Costco return policy covered but when the replacement unit had the same problem then Visio has lost a customer for ever."
2 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:March 16, 2011

Worth the Money

Pros: sound is crystal clear, easy setup
Cons: cheap remote, remote also operates my q-see security system
Model Number: VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
"I was skeptical at first to buy this since many other sound bars like Sony and Samsung are around $300.00. But I knew I needed something to get the sound to the front of the TV on my LED tv since most of the time I could not hear or understand what was being said. BAd design by Samsung putting the tv speaker on the back of the tv up against the wall.
I am glad I purchased this sound bar. It is like night to day. Crisp sound and clear as a bell. Even has a subwoofer out to add a subwoofer later.
One strange thing though, the cheap remote that is included also works my Q-see security dvr. Hit a button on the remote to change volume and my security camera screens change on my security DVR.
All in all worth keeping. Will work out changing my security dvr to another location.
"
Review 19 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Henderson, NV
Date:March 15, 2011

Best sound bar

"This is the best soun bar for the money! So easy to install, just a few minutes and boom I had great sound coming from from Plasma in my bedroom that I never had before! I love it and the price was perfect!"
Review 20 for VIZIO VSB200 40" Soundbar
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2011

Improves Sound

"Was somewhat disappointed with the quality of sound from my new Vizio LCD TV, but I was forewarned by reviews so was not surprised. The Vizio Soundbar was an excellent upgrade. I do not need or want wall-shaking, teeth-rattling sound. If that's what you want, this is not for you. But the sound is definitely richer and deeper, even I think some good bass. I did buy an SPDIF cable. Everything hooked up quickly and worked well. Did not give the product 5 stars because of the remote. It is tiny and keeps getting wedged in the sofa or recliner. And, as mentioned in other reviews, it is not real responsive."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>