Customer Reviews for Westinghouse 42" 1080p 120HZ Edge Lit LED LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Westinghouse 42" 1080p 120HZ Edge Lit LED LCD HDTV

Resolution: 1920 x 1080 Uses 20% Less Energy than a 100 Watt Light Bulb
Average Customer Rating:
3.383 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(120 Reviews) 120
(out of 120 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (120 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
47
3 stars
15
2 stars
11
1 star
21
84 of 120(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Westinghouse 42" 1080p 120HZ Edge Lit LED LCD HDTV
Review 1 for Westinghouse 42" 1080p 120HZ Edge Lit LED LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:September 17, 2010

probably will be returned

Pros: easy to set up, picture o.k.
Cons: unacceptable response time from remote to startup, time lag when changing channels, no "s" cable connections, sound "tinny"
Model Number: LD 4255VX
"Got this yesterday. Setup was very easy. Picture is good, sound is O.K. for senior ears. My problem is the response time; once the TV is turned on ( red light on) it takes 10-12 seconds for the station to come on. When you change stations it takes 5-7 seconds for the TV to respond. I called Westinghouse and they are aware of the problem but no idea if or when a fix will be available. If not available in 30 days I will return TV. I guess you get what you pay for."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Westinghouse 42" 1080p 120HZ Edge Lit LED LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2010

Westinghouse danger

Pros: nice picture
Cons: problems with hdmi inputs
"Be careful with Westinghouse TV's. They are known to have problems with the HDMI inputs. Although the Costco Concierge service is very good, Westinghouse will not admit the problem and takes a long time to replace. After the Warenty is up thats it, your out of a Hi Def TV...."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Westinghouse 42" 1080p 120HZ Edge Lit LED LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Huntsville, AL
Date:September 19, 2010

Not as advertised - Decent TV

Pros: very lightweight thin., decent picture quality
Cons: no component hookup despite specs, pathetic audio quality
Model Number: LD-4255VX
"I was very disappointed with this set upon opening the box. The specification's sheet clearly denoted the set had a YPbPr (component) connection. I was hooking up a PS3, Satellite receiver, and older xbox 360 to this tv. The PS3 and Sat receiver both would tie up the only 2 available HDMI slots. Not a big deal, because I could use the component cable for the xbox 360. EXCEPT THAT the tv doesn't have a component input, despite it being advertised as such. It does have a VGA connector, and an insert with the manual states that in order to a component cable with the tv you must call them (Westinghouse) and order the Adapter kit, which is basically a VGA to female component adapter.
So now I cannot hook up my devices as I had planned until I order the adapter kit from Westinghouse.
Aside from this big negative, Costco shipping was extremely quick. I ordered it and received it one day later via UPS Ground. The unit is very lightweight and has decent color. I'm debating on whether to keep it or take it back and get a different unit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Westinghouse 42" 1080p 120HZ Edge Lit LED LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, Az.
Date:September 20, 2010

Sound and remote problems

Model Number: Westinghouse LED 4255VX
"Great looking and great picture- runs very cool( our former LG screen ran very warm). Big problem is the very poor sound quality - very annoying. Also, the remote only works from a distance of 10 feet!!"
Review 5 for Westinghouse 42" 1080p 120HZ Edge Lit LED LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 21, 2010

Great Picture! Great value!

"Very happy with this TV. The most realistic picture I have seen so far! Lightweight, easy to set up and operate. Doesn't require as much space as bulkier units that cost much more. Great component to a home theater system."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Westinghouse 42" 1080p 120HZ Edge Lit LED LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:DFW
Date:September 22, 2010

Get it while you can.

Pros: nice picture, ultra thin
Cons: sound
Model Number: LD-4255VX
"Excellent picture, weak sound, due to thin body, and price of TV. Recommend using external source for sound. Overall I am happy with my purchase, plus the peace of mind knowing I have 90 days to try it out. I believe Its a rebadged Samsung TV for half the price."
Review 7 for Westinghouse 42" 1080p 120HZ Edge Lit LED LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati
Date:September 22, 2010

Very Poor sound

"Picture is fine but the sound is totally unacceptable I can't listen to it for more than 5 minutes without getting a headache, its going back tonight. I can't beleive Costco didn't catch this issue before promoting the product."
Review 8 for Westinghouse 42" 1080p 120HZ Edge Lit LED LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2010

Not good so far

"I bought this TV for our bedroom as a second TV with my Dish HD DVR. Westinghouse requires you to activate the tuner to use the cable and set up the TV to work with a cable connection. This is so lame. They provide you a web url or a phone number to activate. And neither of it worked since they won't recognize the serial number. I spent 30 mins with the customer service and none of the activation codes they gave me worked. This is pathetic and unacceptable to make me activate the tuner. I don't think any other TV puts you through this pain of activation.
Also, as other users complained, sound quality is poor. I am returning it.
Few good things: Product is light, good looking and was shipped fast by Costco."
Review 9 for Westinghouse 42" 1080p 120HZ Edge Lit LED LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lancaster, CA
Date:September 22, 2010

Great Picture - Easy Set Up

Pros: picture, super fast delivery, light weight, easy set up
Cons: only 2 hdmi connectors, no composite video
"This TV, for the money, provides a great picture. I hooked it up through my cable box and surround sound receiver and it works very well this way - by passing what others have said about the slow channel changing and the bad sound. It was easy to set up and provides a much better picture quality than the Vizio that we replaced."
Review 10 for Westinghouse 42" 1080p 120HZ Edge Lit LED LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fairfax, VA
Date:September 23, 2010

Westinghouse LD-425 - 42in LCD TV - Good Option

Pros: great picture; fantastic price
Cons: speakers are small and not capable of full range.
Model Number: Westinghouse LD-425
"I purchased this HDTV one week ago from Costco.com. UPS delivered it on time and in perfect condition. I purchased this TV as a replacement for a failing 37in CRT. I was seeking an inexpensive flat panel and this appeared to be a great deal.
This TV is offers a good value because of the quality of picture, updated LED technology, screen size (42in) and special price from Costco. Similar HDTV sets that use florescent backlighting cost more. The TV cabinet is thin and very light. The LED backlighting is very good, but you will need to make picture adjustments to suite your room conditions or viewing preference. The picture quality is equal-to or better-than similar products that use a CCF (florescent) backlight. Use of LED should provide this HDTV a good service life since it runs very cool in comparison to CCF type backlights. The sound quality is not great. The TV cabinet is very thin and this does not leave much room for large full-range speakers. I suggest connecting the audio output to a stereo system or set of self-powered speakers to get a much better sound experience. The connections on the rear of the cabinet are layed out well and positioned downward and sideways for wall mounting. Nintendo screens look great on a 42in display.
This product is manufactured by the “new” China-based Westinghouse. Westinghouse has a reputation for selling cheap low quality TV’s. I think this HDTV is an improvement over previous products and is priced very low to get attention. The product looks great; appears to be a good value and I hope it lasts past the 2yr warranty.
"
Review 11 for Westinghouse 42" 1080p 120HZ Edge Lit LED LCD HDTV
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2010

buy another tv

"First off, buy another TV. Costco should drop their contract for Westinghouse. I usually trust the products that Costco carries, but Westinghouse has a poor product. My advice to people who purchase a Westinghouse TV keep your box and packaging because when you return it to Westinghouse if Fedex damages your TV it is on you. I spent a day arguing with Westinghouse that Fedex damaged the TV even after I sent photos of the TV prior to shipping and in the packaging in perfect condition. Once they conceded that Fedex was at fault, it took 6 weeks for them to replace the TV. Please look at other reviews and you will find out that the TV has common problems."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Westinghouse 42" 1080p 120HZ Edge Lit LED LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lake Isabella, CA
Date:September 23, 2010

Great picture and sound, fantastic buy.

Pros: great tv, very satified
Cons: no cons
Model Number: TW-61601-KO425
"Fantastic buy on this tv. The picture and sound are really great. It was easy to set up and looks very nice. This is the first tv we have that has an ac-dc adapter. When tv is first turned on a Westinghouse Logo appears and it takes about 8-10 seconds to come up, after that the channels come in just as fast as our other flat screen tvs. We have no cons, very happy and pleased with this purchase."
Review 13 for Westinghouse 42" 1080p 120HZ Edge Lit LED LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pasadena, CA
Date:September 23, 2010

Great Value, Nice Picture, Light Weight

Pros: great value, great picture, thin and light, save energy, easy set-up
Cons: poor sound quality
"I bought this TV a few days ago. While I was waiting for it to arrive, I saw the first couple of very poor views and was worried that I might have bought a problem TV. I received mine a couple of days ago. I was very pleased to find out that this is actually a great TV for me.
It connected to my Cable box and DVD player easily. When first turned on, the picture was not very impressive. But after some adjustments, the picture turned out to be great. I mean really great. Considering the money I spent on this TV, I am very very satisfied with the purchase.
The sound quality was only acceptable. It comunicated the content of speach and music, but it sounded very distorted. I connected my cable and DVD to an external sound system that I already have and the end result was a system of nearly perfect picture and great sound.
I guess this TV would be more expensive if it also has good sound quality. I am totally satified with the TV for the money I spent. I am hoping that it will last a long long time, like my SONY did. Will it?"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Westinghouse 42" 1080p 120HZ Edge Lit LED LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:September 23, 2010

good for the price

Pros: image
Cons: sound
"I'm not sure why so many people gave it one star,,,, yes the sound is horrible! but the picture is great!(better than my previous Vizio) I think that balances out... Its also really thin and light, but you have to web activate the tv tunner... (I think this is a ploy to get you to register your product).. Unless you plan on buying a sound system or already have one I'd buy another TV as the sound is plain horrible.. Im still debating on whether to buy a sound system or return this and get the 42" Vizio....."
Review 15 for Westinghouse 42" 1080p 120HZ Edge Lit LED LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2010

Excellent Budget TV

Pros: picture settings, picture quality, value
Cons: limited imputs, sound quality of reverse speakers
Model Number: LD425
"There are too many whiners on here expecting full feature TV for half the price.
Lets start off with the negatives: only 2 hdmi, no component which was misleading. The sound is subpar due to the reversed speakers on the back of the TV.
The positives are, excellent picture quality, a lot of picture setting options to get the color the way you want it, dynamic contrast is excellent.
The lack of component is a minor issue because you can easily buy a $10 adapter cable to solve it.
If you have multiple systems, this TV won't be able to handle them due to the lack of inputs. All I have is a HD cable box and DVD player (soon PS3) and thats all I need.
The sound issue is resolved by having a sound bar, which I am happy with. I can get sound from the TV output for both TV and DVD without having to switch the settings around.
I give the TV 4 stars because its a great value, and I knew what to expect from doing RESEARCH. Be honest with yourself and your needs. Do not buy based on price but by what your needs and wants are.
Don't be an impulse buyer."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Westinghouse 42" 1080p 120HZ Edge Lit LED LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Winchester, VA
Date:September 24, 2010

Nice looks, use another sound system

Pros: great picture quality
Cons: sound system lacks bass
Model Number: LD-425
"I, like others, find the sound very 'tinny.' With all the technology advancements in sound. You'd think they'd have put a nicer quality sound system in place. I've run the treble all the way off, and bass all the way up and still sounds like an AM radio. Guess I'll have to run it through the surround system all the time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Westinghouse 42" 1080p 120HZ Edge Lit LED LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:September 24, 2010

Perfect for my setup

Pros: great picture quality
Cons: none
Model Number: LD-4255DF
"This TV was a perfect buy for my setup. I use an external sound system so the TV’s audio is not an issue. Also watch TV via 1080p HDMI from Direct TV for the best possible picture. This was the thinnest LED for the price and can be mounted with a mirror hanging kit!
Think about how you are going to use the TV….you may not even care about the TV’s speakers.
"
Review 18 for Westinghouse 42" 1080p 120HZ Edge Lit LED LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:September 24, 2010

VERY SURPRISE

Model Number: LD-4255VX
"I have to say that I normally don't write reviews for anything but I was so happy with the performance of this TV that I figure I would let people know. I receive the TV as a gift from my father and was first shock how super thin the TV is. I was also impress how simple it was to set up. I recently upgraded my cable with an HD Cable box and currently using HDMI to connect to the TV. I have to say that the picture quality is impressive, the best I have seen. I connected my PS3 via the second HDMI connection along with my sorround system and currently have a blast watching Blue Ray movies. I have to say that I was scared soon after I got the TV I notice some negative reviews and was worried that I had been given a bad TV but I can say now that it has been a great gift so far."
Review 19 for Westinghouse 42" 1080p 120HZ Edge Lit LED LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2010

What a Deal!

"This is an awesome value for 42" LED HDTV! Costco has found another great deal and this time hit it out of the park. Love this one and find that the cons mentioned in other reviews are far outweighed by the Pros...especially the great price."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Westinghouse 42" 1080p 120HZ Edge Lit LED LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston
Date:September 26, 2010

Westinghouse 42" LCD

Pros: slim profile great price
"This is a really good value for $600. We think it compares favorably with other brands. It fits well in our home and has a very nice slim profile. The quality of the picture is superb and we are quite happy with the TV and the service from Costco. We highly recommend this TV."
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>