Customer Reviews for Optoma HD180 1080p Home Theater Projector

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Optoma HD180 1080p Home Theater Projector

1700 ANSI Lumens True HD 1080p 2 Year Warranty
Average Customer Rating:
4.367 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
(out of 30 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2
27 of 30(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Optoma HD180 1080p Home Theater Projector
Review 1 for Optoma HD180 1080p Home Theater Projector
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:August 15, 2010

OPTOMA HD180 Is Fantastic !

Pros: outstanding picture quality, versatility of controls, whisper silent fan (bright setting off)
Cons: is not 3-d ready
Model Number: HD180
"If anyone is thinking on installing a home theater or switching from a TV to projector and screen, this is the unit to buy.
When I decided to go with the projector/screen route, I purchased a View Sonic PDJ6531w projector, mainly for it's features and reasonable price ($700.00). Well, I had used it less than a week and had to return it due to HDMI Input failure.
I did my research for an alternate choice and decided to purchase the Optoma HD180. I was thrilled with the picture quality, performance and features of this unit. Almost completely silent cooling system (when bright setting is off), more controls( to tailor picture to your screen and home theater setup), great remote control, a much better projector than the View Sonic and well worth the additional $200 in price. (By the way, a great price at Costco)
Again I say, this is the projector of choice for anyone who is particular about picture quality for their home theater.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Optoma HD180 1080p Home Theater Projector
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:August 12, 2011

Best Purchase Ever

Pros: love everything from this projector.
Cons: very minor that screen is little tilt
Model Number: Optoma HD180 1080p
"I got this two days ago and ran 3movies through which I watched in Theater and found I got the same colors as I have seen in theater. I love this projector. I watch all Bollywood movies through this and my friends are surprise to watch the movie in my house with exact same as Theater screen and experience. Technology made the things happening can't believe. I was always found of projectors and always thought they are very expensive but now it's past. Now I love to watch movies at home."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Optoma HD180 1080p Home Theater Projector
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2010

Great Buy!

Pros: great picture, best price anywhere
Cons: black color is a little distorted to a trained eye
"I bought this projector as an upgrade from my old school 480i Sharp projector.
Shipping was fast and payment was easy (3 buisness days standard shipping).
I am using a 120 inch Screen (also purchased from Costco.com), and I couldn't be more impressed!
My throw distance is about 15 feet to utilize the full 120 inches. The picture is great, bright and solid colors. 1080p with my Blu-Ray and 7.1 Surround Sound makes this better than a movie theater. Although I am using a darker room, I still get some daylight in the room and the video shows up great.
All around, a great buy, the best bang for your buck and deffinatly the best deal online for this particular projector (I researched alot)."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Optoma HD180 1080p Home Theater Projector
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:July 18, 2011

Outstanding!

Cons: none
Model Number: Optoma HD180 1080p Home Theater Projector
"I never reviewed a product before, but this time I will take the time. I am a loyal fan of Costco and I have never been dispointed. I am a big TV fan with 2 Sharp Aquos 120hz. I alway hesitated about a projector. I finally made the move and purchased the Optoma HD 1080p with the Mustang 120" inches electric screen. Sincerely this is simply an outstanding duo! I read all the reviews like one said people just dont leave when they see it. The image is as clear as my Aquos. The only regret is that I hesitated so long..
Watched the British Open this past week-end and I was blown away! can't wait for football to start!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Optoma HD180 1080p Home Theater Projector
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Redomond
Date:January 11, 2011

Excellent

Pros: cost, performance
Cons: doesn't like 1080i input from fios. had to go 720
Model Number: Optoma HD180
"My wife and I are really happy with this projector. Images are very crisp. Colors are deep and rich.. It seems as though we are watching a 100" (our screen size) Plasma. Combined with a good sound system (We purchased a Yamaha 7.1 AV Rcvr from Costco).. and an old fashioned popcorn maker (also from Costco!) and you have a really great home theater. Just make sure and tell your friends to bring food... because they'll all be over for the big games !!
We get full 1080p from our Xbox and Blu-Ray DVD. Xbox Kinect is awesome on this. For some reaon, the projector does not like the 1080i signal from our FIOS DVR so we had to throttle it back to 720p. Could be a problem with the DVR?
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Optoma HD180 1080p Home Theater Projector
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:December 28, 2010

Awesome

"I compared this model to several others in person and this one takes the cake. The colors are very very vivid, looks like you are watching a lcd or plasma TV. The picture is so incredibly crisp with blueray. I do not have any complaints about the fan noise. I used a board painted white with a bolt going through it and into the tripod mount to mount this on the ceiling. Cost-$0 to mount! I have it setup on a 120" screen and couldn't be happier."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Optoma HD180 1080p Home Theater Projector
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:October 31, 2011

Do not buy OPTOMA products!!

"We purchased 2 of these this year. Both of them had the bulbs go out in the first 100 days. Although the machines carry a 2 year warranty, the manufacturer only covers the bulb for 90 days. I found out today that replacement bulbs are over $350 each. The Conceirge Service from Costco was very helpful but even they could not get them to replace the bulbs. I'd recommend staying away from this company."
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Optoma HD180 1080p Home Theater Projector
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angels, CA
Date:November 22, 2010

Quality Control must be BAD!!!

Pros: price, 1080p
Cons: qulity control
Model Number: Optoma HD180
"I purchased this model one month ago. The picture quality and everything was excellent for the price.
Little less than 3 weeks of use; however, the projector is start turning itself off every 10 minutes or so. We ceiling mounted and the over-heating is not the issue.
We ended up returning it to Costco then bought another exact model because I didn't wanna mess with the current ceiling mount fixture.
Alas! Fresh out of the box, the new one has vertical lines all over the place.
It's so annoying and I have to return this, tooooo!!!
"
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Optoma HD180 1080p Home Theater Projector
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:April 1, 2011

Figured out brightness problem

Pros: can't beat the price for the resolution.
Model Number: HD180
"I normally never review things online, but I thought I would do it this time because I figured out why the projector seems to change the brightness level randomly. There is a feature called Dynamic Image Performance Enhancer that is supposed to adjust the brightness based on the current scene in the movie, but it doesn't work very well. If you turn that off the problem goes away, and the brightness stays constant. It is in the menu under System --> Image AI. Just turn it off if it isn't working well for you."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Optoma HD180 1080p Home Theater Projector
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:August 11, 2010

Two Defective Units

Pros: great picture., great value.
Cons: quality control seems lacking.
Model Number: HD180
"A qualified YES recommendation. First unit had tearing at the top of the screen in 24p mode from Blu Ray player. My Toshiba TV did not have this problem with the same cable and Blu Ray player.
The second unit had no problem with 24p, but had vertical lines in the picture.
The image is great, however."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Optoma HD180 1080p Home Theater Projector
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Fairfax, VA
Date:December 1, 2010

Good picture quality but not as quiet as expected

Model Number: HD180
"Just got this from Costco. My home theatre room is about 10'x115'. The HD180 is hung from an 8' ceiling with 12 inches long mount. The projector is located right above where I'd sit to watch a video. Even in low power/brightness mode, the fan noise is noticeable when no sound is being played. With low volume sound, the fan noise whinning can still be heard. The remote control is extremely brightly lit when a button is pushed. This unit may be returned because of the fan noise."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Optoma HD180 1080p Home Theater Projector
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2012

No built-in speakers

Cons: no built-in speakers
Model Number: Optoma HD180
"Unfortunately this model has no built in speakers. Didn't realize this until went to show a presentation."
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Optoma HD180 1080p Home Theater Projector
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PA
Date:February 15, 2012

best projector

"this best projector, i just got it before read too many good reviews about this projector,
i waiting for optoma 3d home theater , if some body know where is best price, please let me know, i want upgrade to 3d.
and i playing with xbox, but the cable too short for connect to projector please let me know how to solve"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Optoma HD180 1080p Home Theater Projector
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:January 20, 2011

Optoma HD180 1080p Home Theater Projector

"did an initial testing. so far pretty good picture, considering I still do not have the screen set up yet but the projection picture on the textured wall with non-HD picture is good."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Optoma HD180 1080p Home Theater Projector
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:mercer island, wa
Date:December 3, 2010

GREAT PURCHASE!

Pros: exceptional value
Cons: not 3d ready
Model Number: Optoma HD180
"I ceiling mounted the projector myself and have been living with it for 3 weeks. Great color, good detail, noise not a problem for me. Am using a 120 inch motorized screen also from Costco. Viewed from 13 feet away, this setup gives a real theater experience with my 7.1 speaker setup. Recommended!!!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Optoma HD180 1080p Home Theater Projector
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Roxbury, CT
Date:May 24, 2012

Excellent HD Projector

Model Number: Optima HD180
"I purchased my first HD projector from COSTCO in 2004 it was an InFocus. After 8 years of flawless service the color wheel broke. This purchase was its replacement. What an improvement over the InFocus. This is a great HD Projector for the money. Granted I have only had it for just over a week but I am impressed with the quality of the HD picture, ease of use and set up."
Review 17 for Optoma HD180 1080p Home Theater Projector
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olympia Washington
Date:May 2, 2012

Beautiful picture!

Pros: bright crisp picture
Model Number: HD 180
"I replaced an Optoma projector that was at least 8 years old. It came with the house we bought 2 years ago. The new HD 180 is brighter and far sharper than the old unit. We project on a 120 inch screen. The set up was very intuitive. We mount our projector from the ceiling and once we entered that in the menu it not only flipped the picture the right way but automatically keystoned the image to correct for the angle!! Nice!"
Review 18 for Optoma HD180 1080p Home Theater Projector
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego CA
Date:April 21, 2012

Loved it

Pros: price, size, easy to use, picture, brightness
Cons: no built in speakers, daughter took over : (
Model Number: HD180
"We love this projector, picture was all i wanted and best price."
Review 19 for Optoma HD180 1080p Home Theater Projector
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Avon, MA.
Date:February 26, 2012

Great Projector when it works

Pros: easy setup perfect color right out of the box, price/ value
Cons: defective unit out of the box
Model Number: HD180
"I would have given this projector a five stars if it wasn't for the fact that the first one I got from Costco has black vertical lines all over the scene after about twenty minutes of use. Talked to the customer service dept. at Optoma and they tell me I will have to ship the unit back for repair. Thank goodness for Costco return policy. The second unit is working perfectly so far and I am extremely pleased with the picture quality of the projector. Watching "Avatar" at home has the same visual effect as in the movie theatre...only complaint I have is that my Onkyo TX-609NR remote does not have a code for the optoma remote."
Review 20 for Optoma HD180 1080p Home Theater Projector
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:February 6, 2012

Great value, excellent quality

Pros: clear and bright image
Cons: does not come with mount
"Very sharp and bright image, easy controls, simple to set up and mount (need to purchase ceiling mount separately)"
1 2 next>>