Customer Reviews for Epic 705 Calorie Trainer Treadmill

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Epic 705 Calorie Trainer Treadmill

Get Fit with Jillian Michaels 16 Quick™ One-Touch Calorie-Burn Workouts CoolAire™ Workout Fan
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
(out of 18 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
14 of 18(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Epic 705 Calorie Trainer Treadmill
Review 1 for Epic 705 Calorie Trainer Treadmill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Moorpark, CA
Date:February 17, 2011

Sweet

Pros: ez assembly ez controls.
Model Number: EPIC 705
"Epic 705 just arrived today via UPS freight. Delivery man brought it into my house. My 18 year old daughter and I assembled it in about 2 hours. All parts were there and extra nuts and bolts on all items. Assembly and directions very clear. Plugged it in and away we went. No real knowledge of Treadmills. Only knew that I seldom get to the gym so thought for this price would give it a try for the family. It has heart rate, pulse, Ipod music plugs right in. Easy controls of 1-10 for speed and incline so you don't have to keep hitting arrows. Sleek design, very impressive. If it holds up, it will be a great investment in our wellbeing."
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Epic 705 Calorie Trainer Treadmill
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Modesto, CA
Date:March 19, 2011

Really Disappointed

Pros: the fan on the unit is a nice touch
Cons: oil stained belt upon delivery, handgrips too low & too far forward for tall users, annoying squeaking sound from belt during workout, really poorly designed electronics
Model Number: Epic CT 705
"First off, I should advise I'm a 50 year old male weighing 220 pounds and am tall at 6' even.
My new treadmill arrived with several oil stains all over the belt. Since I had already gone through the exhausting process of carrying the box to my upstairs bonus room, I decided to live with this first issue.
Assembly of the unit took over 2.5 hours. Some of the assembly seemed like it could have been done by the manufacturer and still fit safely in the box.
On first use, I discovered several disappointing issues with the unit which are not easily known if you don't have the opportunity to test the model in the store.
1. The heartrate monitor handgrips are too far forward on the machine and too low. I could not walk on the unit and hold the handgrips without stepping off the front of the belt and on the deck frame during a normal walking stride. After my first use, I had already skinned up the nice EPIC logo on the front of the unt.
I could also barely reach the handgrips as they were so low. This became even more difficult as the treadmill was inclined. This is likely an issue due to my height, but I have never had this issue with any other treadmill (granted all my past use has been gym quality equipment).
2. When I did manage to use the heart rate monitor, I found it to be worthless anyway. Within a 30 second period, I would get readings of 55, 98, 119 and 135. Nothing I did to keep a steady hand ever gave me a consistent reading even when I set the treadmill to the lowest speed and just concentrated on keeping my grip firm and consistent.
3. I found the electronics to be of extremely poor design and backwards to every professional gym model I've ever used.
A. Pre-programmed workouts count down in time instead of up (DUMB).
B. Calories burned count down from a starting goal instead of up (DUMBER).
C. The graphic display which shows the different "height" the treadmill is at and what it will switch to as of the next segment of your workout references the treadmill speed, not the incline of the belt (DUMBEST).
4. The belt/pully makes a very loud and annoying squeaking sound during the work out.
I have not used the iFit feature on the treadmill and so cannot review this feature.
I don't know if this is the norm for entry level treadmills or not, but I would have gladly given up the fan, speakers and iFit to have a treadmill I could just walk on and get good heart rate numbers without worrying about the placement of every step I take. Strangly, there seems to be plenty of room to move the handgrips up and away from the front of the unit without the user being at risk of slipping off the back of the belt even when running.
This one's a big miss and I suggest you look elsewhere for a good usable treadmill."
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Epic 705 Calorie Trainer Treadmill
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Dickerson, MD
Date:February 28, 2011

Recommended with Reservations

Cons: no pause function
Model Number: EPTL69011.0
"This treadmill works very well when using it in the manual mode and I would recommend it for that mode only. To date, the "ifit" programed mode will not work properly. The company has sent us new program cards and they do not work either. In the programmed mode the unit will appear to start properly but after the first or second change of pace, typically within two minutes, the treadmill will shut itself off. I am now waiting for the company to send out a repairman to solve this problem. If the programmed mode can be made to work reliably I would be willing to improve my rating.
In addition, the sensor on this treadmill used to taking ones pulse rate will only work if one is standing still but there is no pause function on the treadmill. Therefore, you cannot take your pulse AND use one of the automatic "ifit" exercise programs without missing at least 30 seconds of the workout."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Epic 705 Calorie Trainer Treadmill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, Utah
Date:February 19, 2011

Nice!

Pros: everything
Cons: a little heavy to get into the house
"I just got this delivered to my house two days ago. I hired someone to put it together for me, which was well worth it. I immediately got on it and away I went! I love the ifit workout programs it came with. That makes all the difference in the world. It feels as though you have someone there cheering you on the throughout the entire program. It comes with a cord to plug into your ipod so you can listen to your music and it even has a fan.
Speaking of fan, I love this thing, it is my new best friend!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Epic 705 Calorie Trainer Treadmill
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Madison, WI
Date:February 22, 2011

Poor Packaging

Model Number: As advertised on site
"Very heavy, and the instructions are ok. However, the parts (small ones) that are needed to keep it together were missing!
It took a very long time to get, and weather did not help, but then to get it and few screws, bolts, etc. are included?
Its a package, and I would think if you are going to package it, you get all the pieces. I don't mind putting things together, but this is goofy. Now have to wait even longer to get the parts in order to use the product.
I would very much like to give this a better review, but since I can't use it....."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Epic 705 Calorie Trainer Treadmill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:February 21, 2011

Love it!

Model Number: Epic 705 Calorie Trainer Treadmill
"Arrived in record time! Assembly instructions were very clear - you definitely need two people to put this together. We had it up and running in about 2 hours. It is very quiet - the fan is great. The IFit workouts are absolutely fantastic. The pre-set calorie-burn workouts are also great. I like the fact that even though they are pre-set, you can still adjust the speed/incline if you want to. I am really glad I purchased this treadmill."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Epic 705 Calorie Trainer Treadmill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Luray, VA
Date:March 1, 2011

Good purchase

Pros: fan is nice and work out programs are nice
Cons: no body weight entry
Model Number: Epic 705
"Assembly instructions were organized and easy. The treadmill is relatively quiet and appears to be a good piece of equipment. I am very pleased with it. Shipping experience was excellent; shipping company kept in touch with me and Costco sent the equipment quicker than stated. Another good experience dealing with Costco."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Epic 705 Calorie Trainer Treadmill
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:February 23, 2011

Only buy if you can move 187 lbs

Pros: affordable, has preprogrammed workouts and ifit, i-pod plug in, fan
Cons: very heavy and unwieldy to move, delivery inside not an option, assembly option not revealed until you've unpacked
Model Number: Epic 705
"Delivery deposits it on the doorstep - you can't even pay them additional money to carry it upstairs - motor does not detach from belt so you need 2 or 3 strong people to carry it if it's going upstairs as mine was. Would like if Costco offered inside delivery option as it was a pain having to find someone to hire to cart it upstairs. Assembly was 2 hrs. ifit 1 is great but reviews reveal that ifit 2 is much faster pace so is pretty much running but they retail for $20-$30 and were included. Nice features but not sure how durable the treadmill will be"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Epic 705 Calorie Trainer Treadmill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:July 14, 2011

Pleased

"I must say that I was somewhat hesitant about purchasing this treadmill. I wasn't familiar with the brand, and the fact that I couldn't try it before I bought it made me leery. After I read some of the negative reviews, I was worried about what i'd find when I opened the box. First, let me say that I am a 24-year-old, petite female. I put this treadmill together by myself in 2 hours without any problems. The directions were easy to read and there were plenty of extra bolts and screws if you happen to lose a couple. It looked a lot nicer and more sturdy than I expected once it was assembled. I think this treadmill is fairly quiet compared to some of the models within the same price range I tried at other stores. I really like the fan feature- it keeps me a lot cooler during my workouts. I prefer working out in the manual mode because I like to make my own adjustments as needed, but I did play around with some of the calorie burn workouts and they were okay. The only complaint I have for this model is that you cannot program your age and weight to get a more accurate calorie count. I can tell that the machine estimates my calories burned as much higher than they actually are. This is a let down for me because it makes that feature useless. I cannot comment on the ipod or ifit features because I have yet to use either of them. Overall, I have been very pleased with this purchase. It is a great treadmill for the money and I am really enjoying it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Epic 705 Calorie Trainer Treadmill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rolling Meadows, IL
Date:February 25, 2011

Superior product excellent value

Pros: value & warranty
Cons: assembly not included
Model Number: Epic 705
"I looked at most brand name treamills with most more than $2,000. What sold me on the Epic was its technical specs, motor warranty and price. I called the 800# on the paper work and was able to get it assembled by Icon health systems a few days afte it arrived. They assembled it in 1.5 hours that would have taken me twice the time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Epic 705 Calorie Trainer Treadmill
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Jose, Calif.
Date:February 26, 2011

A lot of machine

Model Number: EPTL69011.0
"A better product than we expected, and are very pleased. The short coming for us, was the assembly that had to be done. The service man that came was very good. We now have the machine up and running.
Thank You
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Epic 705 Calorie Trainer Treadmill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:February 25, 2011

Great!!

Pros: quiet
Cons: weak speakers
"Great treadmill. It definitely takes two people to put it together. The speakers are pretty dorky...but the treadmill is all it advertises to be. Very quiet also."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Epic 705 Calorie Trainer Treadmill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Leesburg, VA
Date:March 18, 2011

Excellent Value

Pros: compact, folds to save floor space, quiet
Cons: none yet ...
Model Number: Epic 705
"Delivered on schedule & no parts were missing; there are a lot of parts, but the instructions were complete and easy to follow. My 75 year old husband & I easily assembled it in about 2 1/2 hours ... and it worked perfectly the first time.
We use it regularly and find it to be a very good product. It has all the options we want & more of the "bells & whistles" than we will likely use."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Epic 705 Calorie Trainer Treadmill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:February 24, 2011

Great Treadmill for the price

Pros: quality construction, good user interface, excellent value
Cons: speakers just so-so
Model Number: Epic 705
"Treadmill was delivered to my house within about 2 weeks. It took about 2 hours to put it all together, definitely need two people. We've had it for a few days now and my initial impression is that this is an excellent treadmill for the money. It is well built and feels solid, the motor is quiet, and the speed controls are easy to use. The included Jillian Michaels workout is only a walking workout, so anything more advanced you'll have to buy. The speakers are clear but pretty weak, no bass at all. The fan is a nice feature, however it won't blow you away with its power. We'll see how it holds up going forward but initially this looks to be an excellent purchase."
Review 15 for Epic 705 Calorie Trainer Treadmill
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Yelm WA
Date:July 31, 2011

good investment

Pros: love the ifit features
Cons: speakers not great
Model Number: Epic 705
"this is the 1st treadmill I have purchased and I was concerned about the reviews already given. However, having used it now for 3 weeks I think it was a good investment.
I LOVE the Jillian Micheals training feature. It will keep you motivated to push yourself.
Having been a couch potato for the last 2 years I really enjoy using the IFIT workouts.
Was not hard to put together but will need 2 people as other reviewer have indicated.
I wish there was a way to increase the volume of the speakers. It is sometimes hard to hear the voice of the trainer.
Using my Ipod for music is no problem but the trainer seems to have a limited volume.
Very happy with my purchase.
"
Review 16 for Epic 705 Calorie Trainer Treadmill
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2011

Epic 705 treadmill

"Takes a couple hours to put together but a value for the price. Manual could be a little better on assembly."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Epic 705 Calorie Trainer Treadmill
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2011

Good workout

Pros: numerous workout options, need to assemble
Model Number: Epic 705 Calorie Trainer Treadmill
"I love the Epic 705. It has many options for a workout, preset and manual. It has a nice fan if you need a little pump up with cool air. It came in several pieces and a tad overwhelming to look at. It says it will take 2 people and while that would make it easier, I did it alone in 3-4 hours and I am a middle aged woman. Just don't let it intimidate you. Once it is set up, it is a great treadmill. It folds up for better storage while not in use."
Review 18 for Epic 705 Calorie Trainer Treadmill
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:July 10, 2011

Epic 705

Cons: noisy when it is stepped on during exercises.
Model Number: Epic 705
"1.- It took several hours to install it, since it was delivered in parts in a flat type box.
2.- Motor went dead after just four months of using it, at the most for only an hour a day.
3.- Noisy ! When stepped on it squeaks during exercise.
4.- Speakers are of bad quality, static noise is annoying.
"