Customer Reviews for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Widepath™ Hard Surface Cleaner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Widepath™ Hard Surface Cleaner

With folding handle for easy assembly & compact storage
Average Customer Rating:
3.742 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
(out of 31 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
6
22 of 31(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Widepath™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Review 1 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Widepath™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
Date:November 20, 2010

How Did I Live Without This???

Pros: easy to use, great product
"It should be noted that I am a clean freak. I have 3 sons, 1 husband, a downstairs with 1800 sq. ft. of tile and white carpet upstairs (which stays white). I love, love, love having clean floors.
Needless to say, when we moved into this house, I was scared/concerned as to how I was going to keep the entire downstairs of tile (and a little bit of laminate) clean and crumb free. We have a Roomba I-Robot which comes out and vacuums the floors each evening, and I love that machine! However, keeping the floors clean is another story. For years I’ve been using the Shark Steam Mop. I bought 1 from Costco about 2 years ago and that finally stopped working recently. We bought a new one on 8/28/10, which stopped working this week (almost 3 months later). Consumer Reports rated the Hoover FloorMate highly, so I thought I would give it a try.
I ordered on Wednesday and despite the 7-10 day shipping quote online, I received mine on Friday. I immediately opened the box and put it together. I did a test run on the heaviest traffic area of my kitchen, then went over the same area with a white washcloth. The washcloth came out clean. I was thrilled. With all of the years of using the Shark Steam mop, my washcloth never came out completely clean, even immediately after I finished the job. I then proceeded to take the time to really clean my downstairs floors. Every time I emptied the container of dirty water, I got more and more excited.
How did I live this long without this product? The Hoover FloorMate vacuums your floors, scrubs them and dries them. I was amazed at how quickly my floors were dry. You could see how dry they were… and how clean. I had no streaks, no problems. I did notice that on the higher traffic areas, I had to make a few more passes over them to get them completely clean. However, that is really my fault because it’s been so long since I really cleaned these floors. If you do it on a regular basis, you shouldn’t have any problems. Tomorrow I’m taking it to my friend’s house and I’m so excited to do her kitchen.
I do have one small room with laminate in it, which I used the Hoover FloorMate to clean. The unit did a great job cleaning, but didn’t dry them as well as it dried the tile floors. It still dried them fine, but just not as quickly and thoroughly as it did the tile.
Buy this… buy it now. Don’t hesitate. You’ll LOVE how clean your floors are."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Widepath™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:October 13, 2010

Wish I would have purchased this long ago!

Pros: my knees back and shoulders thank you!
Cons: wish i would have discovered this years ago!
"Considering we have 4750 sq. feet of wood floors and other hard surfaces, that it takes major muscle relaxants and my body 2 days to recover from all of the mopping and scrubbing.....I wish I would have purchased this product years ago.
Does a fantastic job!!! We have a farm and have pets in our house so I am very finicky about our floors. I still use my Hoover Wind Tunnel for rugs and other vacuuming projects
For those who commented about their floors still being a bit dirty after using the Floormate, it is because their floors are very dirty and they need to go over their floors a bit more. I too took a rag to the floor after using the Floor Mate and my rag came up clean. I pour a little Caldrea in my clean water (a wonderful all natural cleaning product that has several heavenly scents) and it aids in the cleaning. Plus, when you use a mop, you are always dunking your mop back into dirty water regardless if you use 2 water buckets. With the Floor Mate, you are always cleaning with clean water. The drying takes less than 5 minutes!
I wrote to Hoover after my purchase to let them know how much I think of this product and that they should market it far more than they do as I had no idea the Floor Mate was out there!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Widepath™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NM
Date:September 18, 2010

Great if you don't like drudgery

Pros: no drag on the floor. easy on the body
Cons: brushes could be a bit stiffer.
Model Number: FH40005
"I first bought a Shark steam mop thinking it would really get the floor clean, but just the pumping action you have to do to the mop to produce lots of steam, for a 50+ person with carpal tunnel and the arthritic pain that come on in getting older,it was a LOT of work to steam it up and the drag it produced on linoleum flooring. On ceramic tile flooring it was fine.
But when I saw this, with the rotating brushes, I bought it immediately and returned the steam mop. And it's a pleasure to mop the floors now because the brushes (not your pumping steam and pulling and pushing) do the work and it just rolls back and forth, not drags.
You can use its cleaning product that comes with it. but if all you're going to do is linoleum flooring vinegar, fabuloso ammonia or most any floor cleaner will work. Just so long as its not a solvent it says. Only con is that the brushes could be stiffer but people may want to use this on their parquet wood flooring.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Widepath™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Puyallup, WA
Date:October 3, 2010

Better than most, still not perfect

Pros: great job scrubbing, easy to clean, able to pick up what sweeping misses
Cons: dry pick up not amazing, leave floor damp (dries with in 4 minutes or so), bulky for storage
"I have hard wood floors throughout my home and mopping has always been quite the chore because I also have a 2 year old. I have an in home vaccuum system, so "sweeping" has never been my problem; but the dried on grime that requires scrubbing always ends up having me on my knees with a sponge. The floormate does a great job scrubbing. It does not however, leave your floors perfectly dry. I have tried numerous steam mops (actually returned the shark because it cleaned so little) and while they do a great job at leaving the floor "clean" and dry, they don't get the grime.
I did not use their cleaning solution, and ended up putting about 1 oz of vinegar in the water (less chemicals for my children to be around) So I did not notice a residue (as stated by a previous review) and the wetness dried within 3-4 minutes, and could be better described as dampness, rather than wetness."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Widepath™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Memphis
Date:January 10, 2011

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!!

Cons: needs a bigger cup for cleaning fluid
Model Number: H3044
"First, I purchased this product, brought it home and didn't use it for 6 months. Finally, I got it out and put it together. It wouldn't work. So I took it back and Costco gave me my money back no questions asked. After another few months, I decided to give it another try. This one works beautifully! I have all real wood floors and after 13 years, they just didn't feel clean enough. Boy was I right!! The water was very dirty brown and there was a ton of sand and grit in the bottom of the cup; I couldn't believe it. Even the tile bathrooms I cleaned were the same. The clean floors felt wonderful and looked great. I even convinced my sister to get one for her brand new home and it worked the same for her. Those who got a dud on the first try should just try again. This machine is absolutely amazing!"
Review 6 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Widepath™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Date:November 11, 2010

Better than my floor steamer!!!

Pros: great product
Cons: costco does not stock hoover cleaning agent
Model Number: FH40010
"My entire downstairs ( 1200 sf ) is tile and when my steamer died I was thinking I should replace it quickly with another steamer. My Costco had a smaller version of a steamer so I hesitatated and delayed my purchase. Am I happy that I did. This unit is clearly superior in cleaning. It washes in the forward stroke and vacuums the water in the pull back stroke. Occasionally there is a bit more water left and I will flip the switch to dry, most often though the area air drys, by the time I finish. It takes three to four fluid changes, but my floor is very large. I spend approximately 1 hour on the chore, but it is immaculately clean. My only complaint is that my Costco does not stock the cleaning fluid and I needed to purchase the tile cleaner online."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Widepath™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Forks, Wa
Date:December 3, 2010

Excellent Product

Pros: easy to use, easy to maneuver
Cons: cleaning fluid not available at costco
"Fast shipping. Product as explained. Minimum and easy assembling everything just popped right into place and was ready for use. Directions were easy just one thing I didnt get at first maybe because I had a ditzy moment was when I went to start washing the floor I failed to squeeze the handle for the brushes to be lowered to scrub the floor. Took my 16 yr old son to show me that. But once I figured that out I got to busy cleaning my floor. When I emptied my section that stored the dirty water in it I could see how well it cleaned..It was so dark. Scrubbed really good!! The cleanser smelled good and wasnt overwhelming like some floor cleaners. I give this product a two thumbs up and recommend it."
Review 8 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Widepath™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Date:October 27, 2010

doesn't work

Pros: looks nice
Cons: but will leave all the water on your floor
Model Number: FH40010 Hoover Floormate Spinscrub
"I looked forward so much to getting this machine after reading all the great reviews, but found that our brand new one will not pick up one drop of water. I have tried several times to reassemble this machine to be sure that is is put together correctly. It does wash the floor, but has extremely weak vacuum suction and absolutely does not pick up any water at all. I have had to get a mop and start trying to get it all up. I can't wait to return this machine to Costco and am so glad I didn't buy it from a mail order place since we couldn't possibly disassemble and repack it. TERRIBLY DISAPPOINTING!!!!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Widepath™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:September 7, 2010

Love this for my travertine

Pros: cleans well & fast
Cons: i didnt buy it sooner!
"I had an older model for many years with our tile floors and I loved it. Recently we put down travertine (about 1200sqft) and the mop was just to much work! I was a little reluctant to use this on the travertine, but I went for it. I LOVE IT! I use the top quality travertine floor cleaner with some hot water and it cleans fast and WELL! It didn't seem like it was doing much, until I emptied the BLACK water out of the tank!! I went back over a cleaned spot with a clean white paper towel to give it the "white glove test" and I was so happy to see how clean it was!! No streaks or problems."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Widepath™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orange County. CA
Date:September 28, 2010

Disappointing

Model Number: Hoover FloorMate
"I was very disappointed in this product. The concept of having an all in one unit is a good idea. In actual use, the dry vacuum is marginal, the cleaning fluid dispenser and rotating scrub brushes work well, but the wet vacuum does not pick up the dirty water and leaves a residue. To test this point, simply take a dry clothe and wipe over the wet floor and you will quickly find much dirty water. The wet floor must be hand mopped to pick up the residue – defeats the purpose and creates double work. I believe this could be a great product if the design is refined to work as advertised."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Widepath™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:December 2, 2010

GREAT FLOOR CLEANER!!!

Pros: really cleans well!!, can use own liquid floor cleaner, floors are dry in minutes!!
Cons: have to take machine "apart" afterwards to clean, water receptacles do not hold enough
Model Number: HOOVER FLOORMATE SPINSCRUB
"I purchased this floor cleaner because it has a moving scrub brush head and cleans tile and grout very well! I LOVE the wet vacuum feature that sucks up the water from wet floor and leaves floor almost dry. I have over 1000 sq. feet white tile and this machine does a GREAT job!!!
The only negative comment I have is that the clean water receptacle doesn't hold enough water. I have to refill the receptacle about 3-4 times to do all my floor, but than again, I have over 1000 sq. feet of tile! I should mention. that this machine will allow you to use your own liquid floor cleaner."
Review 12 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Widepath™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Issaquah, WA
Date:October 12, 2010

Great Product

Pros: it is great
"I have used the wet mops and dry mops and even the steamer. The FloorMate has been an excellent product. I love how is actually can get to the grim of the kitchen floor just like when I use to be able to get down on my hands and knees this works great. I have a granddaughter and if any of you know how messy they can be when they are just learning to eat by their selves they can be very messy. Well the FloorMate is great it will vaccuum up the dry stuff and then I can scrub the area then dry it up with just the one machine.
It is great!! I recommend highly!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Widepath™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2010
"I have. been looking for a long time for a product like this. I have procilen tiles and you would not believe how much dirt it picked up. I payed 700.00 last year to have my tile cleaned. This is going to save me a lot of money. It was so easy to use. I would buy one every year, that is if I wear it out from so much use. I will now have clean floors without getting on my hands and knees scrubbing. Love it. But do wish they would come out with stiffer brushes for hard to clean tiles. But it stills does a great job."
Review 14 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Widepath™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:October 10, 2010

Excellent Floor Scrubber!

"The Hoover FloorMate worked awesome for me! I have had to scrub my floor with a scrub brush on my hands and knees to get dirt out of the little indentations in the linoleum. I've also tried the Shark steamer thing which cleaned ok, but I still had to scrub with a brush for a good clean. The FloorMate makes cleaning so much easier!! I highly recommend it!! Oh, and odd though it may sound, I enjoy watching the grime that I just scrubbed off the floor go down the drain. It's very satisfying! :)"
Review 15 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Widepath™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2010

Not sure how I lived without this before...

"This thing is fantastic. Not only does it leave the floors sparkling clean, it also sweeps up all the dry debris before "mopping." I used to spend a bit over an hour cleaning my various hard floor surfaces throughout the house, not including drying time. Now it takes me about 35 minutes to clean the kitchen, both bathrooms, entry way and in front of the fireplace. And the best part is- you can walk on the floor right after cleaning it, it's dry!"
Review 16 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Widepath™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:October 12, 2010

BOOOO to Hoover

Model Number: floormate spinscrub hard surface cleaner
"what a dissapointment. really, I was won over by the commercials and believed this would be a solution to my kitchen floor dillema. NOT. as a mom to twin toddlers, I need a product that does what it says and does it fast. I noticed that it did not pick up all debris, that wet streaks were left behind and that to get it to do something, I had to go ohhh so slowly, not what I have time for. I could have swept and mopped in half the time."
Review 17 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Widepath™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Sacramento, CA
Date:September 24, 2010

Should have bought this years ago

Pros: replaces broom mop and bucket, the floor is instantly dry
Cons: no hand tools, needs a bigger clean water container
Model Number: H3044
"My floor has never been cleaner. I used the hoover steamvac on my tile the week prior, but this thing still got up more grime. The steamvac was loud, heavy and couldn't get under the cabinets. I don't even have hardwood, just a big kitchen. I have a crawling 8 month old, and after she snuck into my dirty kitchen her hands smelled like feet. Now she can go everywhere without me having to worry. About dirt anyway :)"
Review 18 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Widepath™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:October 12, 2010

Waited a Year - So Glad I bought It!

"I hate to mop and have had my eye on this for 2 years. We replaced 90% of the flooring in our home with hardwood and ceramic tile. I was shocked how dirty the water was after the first time I used it on the tile. The tile had been mopped just a week before! I haven't tried it on the hardwood yet. I love not using a mop and seeing the dirt come up and not redistributed like it is with a mop."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Widepath™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Grimes, IA
Date:September 30, 2010

Very Good Purchase

Pros: cleans very well!!
Cons: a little noisy
Model Number: Hoover Floormate H3044
"I saw the commercial on tv awhile back and it caught my eye. A week later it was on the Costco website along with a great price and I had to give it a try.
It is an amazing machine. It is a little loud but if it keeps me off my hands and knees and the sponge out of my hands I am fine with the noise!! It is shocking to see how dirty the water is when you go to empty the container.
"
Review 20 for Hoover FloorMate™ SpinScrub™ Widepath™ Hard Surface Cleaner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:October 2, 2010

very dissapointed

Cons: didn't do the job
"Granted, I live with dogs & mud, but this machine didn't make a dent in the grime. I worked on tile kitchen & livingroom floors for several hours--many passes over same areas--using regular & grout brushes & lots of cleaner. I still had to get on my hands & knees (OUCH! my back) to get up spots. When finished, there were dirty streaks over the entire floor. I am returning mine."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>