Customer Reviews for Black Pearl Ceramic Kamado Grill and Smoker

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Black Pearl Ceramic Kamado Grill and Smoker

Includes: Stand, 2 Side Shelves, 20lb Organic Lump Charcoal, Electric Charcoal Starter & More!
Average Customer Rating:
4.45 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
(out of 20 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
17 of 20(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Black Pearl Ceramic Kamado Grill and Smoker
Review 1 for Black Pearl Ceramic Kamado Grill and Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:August 9, 2010

The Black Pearl is AWESOME!

Pros: color & finish, tons of freebies, free delivery
"All it took was one Sunday afternoon BBQ on the Black Pearl & I have fallen in love. The Black Pearl is AWESOME. Not sure about the comments made regarding poor quality. Sounds like they have this mistaken with something else. I found the Black Pearl to be extremely rugged yet refined. The stand rolls nicely around the patio and it feels strong enough to hold a big rig. The color and finish are equal or superior to a European super car. Not to mention that is includes a bunch of freebies (Stand, Two Side Shelves, Charcoal, Electric Charcoal Starter, & so on). After looking at some of the similar style grills it was no comparison. For instance, the only thing Green about the green egg, is all the green you will be spending to get what you need. After doing some research I found that you will end up spending hundreds more and still have to hide that ugly thing so no one will see it. All in all the Black Pearl is the way to go. Look out Ruth Chris Steak House - here comes the Black Pearl!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Black Pearl Ceramic Kamado Grill and Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Peachtree City, GA
Date:August 10, 2010

Very Impressed with this cooker

Pros: top of the line build quality, stainless steel hinge hardware, thicker ceramic
Cons: wish costco sold a table as an option
Model Number: Black Pearl Ceramic Grill and Smoker
"I was in the market for a Ceramic styled cooker as my Weber Smokey Mountain was using too much charcoal for my liking. I researched a Big Green Egg (BGE) and had my mind set on purchasing one. That was until I started reading up on competitors, and found out where there was room for improvement.
I've never owned a BGE but after my research, I felt the Black Pearl was superior. As far as service after the sale, it's from Costco, enough said. Judging by the way this cooker is built, I doubt I'll have any service issues.
It took a buddy and me about an hour to cart the package to my back patio and assemble the cart and side tables. The main cooker comes fully assembled. As far as things breaking as the previous reviewer mentioned. I can't see how that would happened unless you dropped a piece on the ground. Then again, no ceramic cooker part would survive such a blow.
I have yet to cook from all the meat groups yet but my chickens have turned out very well. I'll update this review after I build my menu on this cooker."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Black Pearl Ceramic Kamado Grill and Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2010

By far the best kamado on market

Pros: stainless steel, hinge design, thickness
Cons: none
"I have been cooking with kamados for a good 15 years now. My last ceramic cooker has been a BGE. I have been in the market for a new cooker for about a month now. I have been visiting stores and comparing with other brands such as the Primo and KJ but I decided to pull the trigger on the Black Pearl about a week ago. I can tell you first hand, the Black Pearl is hands down the best unit I have seen to date. The fit and finish is much superior. The unit has heavy duty stainless steel hinges - very substantial, it even has clips on the back to protect the lid from falling out - a feature I had not seen on any other cooker. Also, the hinge design is much different than all the brands I have seen in person - it actually counters the weight of the lid - a pleasant surprise. The ceramics are much much thicker as well - which I believe does have an effect on the cooking.
I wish I could post pictures on here. My first cook was steaks at 750F - They came out amazing. I also cooked some ribs this past weekend - the family kept asking for seconds - the wife could not be happier.
Thank you Costco!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Black Pearl Ceramic Kamado Grill and Smoker
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Nashville,Tennessee
Date:August 25, 2010

Disapointed

"This was my first ceramic cooker. I found out it is mfg by Grill Dome. If you go to Grill domes site you can see the Infinity series sells for $629.95. Therefore the stand, and accessories that are included in the pkg equal out to $370.04. Not quite a bargain in my book because the stand has basicly terrible instructions on assembly. Also the cooker does not fit snug in the base. When I open the lid the cooker has a tendancy to want to tip. I called Grill Dome because I wanted to build a table for it. They said I had to use the legs that came with the unit to keep air circulating under the cooker even if I placed it on a slate slab nit directly on the wood. What legs? They show them in the pictures but when asked why I did not get them customer service said they were not included in the pkg since I have the stand. When asked if I could purchase a set they told me they do not stock them. Also there is a ceramic cap that fits over the metal chmney top pictured in both Costco and Grill Dome literature. Not included once agaion and not available. The Top chimney metal flap keeps closing when I open the grill, a pain to have to keep opening it. The BGE has better adjustments on their metal tops.The bottome air flow door is not a tight fit like on the BGE. AIr flow is detrimantal to temp control. The warranty is nice but if you need parts you ahve to order them and wait on mail. Also no literature what so ever on use and set up. Taking mine back, bought a Big Green Egg today with table. Egg was comparable price wise $700.00. Comes with 50 mn video, I f I need parts I can go to a local dealer and pick them up."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Black Pearl Ceramic Kamado Grill and Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:BBQer
Date:July 27, 2010

Great Product.

Cons: i didn't have one sooner
Model Number: Plaack Pearl
"Having owned a"Green Egg", I have experience with this type of grill/Smoker.
Costco's Black Pearl is significantly better than anything I have seen. The product arrived well packed and set up took me about 20 minutes. The quality and finish is OUTSTANDING and with the accerrories including lump charcoal I was good to go. First dinner was a salmon I caught about 2 hours earlier infront of my home. I used alder chips for smoke flavor - results were thumbs up all the way around. Thanks Costco for finding such a great product.....
"
9 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Black Pearl Ceramic Kamado Grill and Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:sunnyside ca
Date:July 24, 2010

Best Oven

Pros: best buy no doubt
Model Number: black pearl oven
"from this retired life cycle engineer:
this oven is perfect.
peerless temp' range w/ precise control.
most efficient oven.
top quality stainless hardware.
top quality glaze.
designed/built for a lifetime
smart design, made in india - imo-
thoughtful shipping method-packaging.
luv the costco goodies: grill tool, rake, electric fire, side shelves, casters and stand that sweeten the deal.
have not done pizza YET!
"
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Black Pearl Ceramic Kamado Grill and Smoker
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:East Wenatchee, WA
Date:July 31, 2010

Too much money for too little

Pros: shelves are included
Cons: small sized grill surface, ease of temperature control, price
"I've used or have owned most of the 'kamado'-style ceramic cookers available: the Big Green Egg, the Kamado, the Primo, the Kamdo Joe, the Komado-Kamado, the Dragon Fire, the Meteor.....et al. The Black Pearl does its job no better or worse than any of the others, although it does tend to be more difficult to dial-in a specific temperature (temperature should always be measured at the grill surface, NOT in the dome where it will measure 30 to 50 degrees hotter than the true cooking temp). It takes a bit more watching and fiddling around with than most other ceramic pits. Since temperature control, and the lowest possible fuel useage are the two most important aspects of this style of bbq pit and grill, it is merely average in this regard.
I also think that when one is contemplating smoking a turkey, or bbqing pork shoulders or briskets for a get-together, an 18" grill is too small. 22" is a better size.
It is nice that a stand and shelves are included, but lump charcoal is cheap and I do not care for electric starters. Give me the can-style starter any day....they're quick, cheap, and allows one the ability to better control the placement of burning charcoal to the charcoal supply in order to get the longest-lasting burn possible from a single load.
I guess my bottom line is this: while the Black Pearl does an OK job, it is neither remarkable nor is it a great value for its size and performance among ceramic bbq pits/grills."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Black Pearl Ceramic Kamado Grill and Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2010

Fantastic!! Must have for a Serious Griller!

Pros: heat stablity at low and high heats, quality parts and material used, very stable stand, beautiful glaze it's a bbq you can brag about., ease of use
"I LOVE THIS GRILL!!! Ok I usually don't write reviews but this grill is so good I have to share my excitement! I've owned the green egg, a komodo, which fell apart in just a couple weeks, smokers and all and this grill is the best I have tried thus far. My husband and I are serious grillers, have competed in BBQ cook offs and are so pleased with this purchase. The quality of the product is far superior to any others I have seen., The lid comes up and down smoothly and it is far less heavy than my old green egg, a plus for the female griller.
The heat stays nice and constant, grilled a pizza the other night that came out nice and crisp, not to mention the lid is high enough up that I can safely grill a 20 Lb turkey. Best grilled turkey ever.
The stand it's on is well worth the price and I'd also like to say to the person reviewing below, are you sure you are talking about this grill, for it's not in stores, only on line as far as I know. I had no problems with any of the parts and was really impressed with the packaging. Not a scratch on it. The glaze is stunning.
Can you tell we're happy?? :) My husband loves showing off his new pride and joy and looking forward to another party with it this weekend.
Do yourself a favor and buy buy buy while you can!
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Black Pearl Ceramic Kamado Grill and Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sterling Heights, MI
Date:August 28, 2010

Great Cooker

Pros: stays cool to the touch, everything needed is shipped with the unit
Cons: very heavy, allen wrench to adjust the lid is not included
Model Number: Black Pearl
"This is my first ceramic cooker and I really like the fact that the temperature can be controlled and the cooking time is more predictable. Cooking with the lid closed gives the food a greater smoky flavor and I no longer get that burnt food taste in my mouth. The cooking grate is easy to clean and the ash from the charcoal is simple to maintain. The two aluminum tables with hooks for hanging tools are very handy and you have a nice flat surface to set things on. This unit is very well built and should not leave rust stains on my patio after a few years out in the weather.
Some of the difficulties I encountered are:
Once you build the stand it takes two very strong people to set the cooker in the stand. My wife and I actually laid the cooker and the stand on their side, slid the cooker into the stand and then stood the two units up together.
The rear hinge screws were loose and the lid would open too far back and cause the cooker to tilt slightly in the stand. I closed the lid and tightened the hinge screws and the tilt problem went away.
The cooker lid would not close completely and left a gap in the front for heat to escape. Adjusting the hinge stops fixed that problem.
The fire control plate on the top of the cooker was too loose and would change position every time I opened the lid. I installed a high temp plastic washer between the screw head and the control plate and tightened it enough to allow the plate to be moved by hand but stay in place when the lid is opened.
I wish there was a cover available to help keep this beautiful ceramic cooker looking as good as the day I received it.
Another positive is that this ceramic grill stays cool to the touch and is safe around small kids and animals.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Black Pearl Ceramic Kamado Grill and Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO
Date:April 13, 2011

Best Grill ever

Pros: nothing to rust, easy to use and clean, versatile
Cons: wish you had bought one sooner
Model Number: 535268
"Was tired of replacing parts on my gas grills, so I started looking for a different type of grill. Went to the Costco web site and found the Black Pearl Kamado grill. I did not know anything about these types of grills, but after doing some research decided to buy it. Glad I did! This grill is very versatile. I have had it for 3 weeks now and have cooked hamburgers, pizza, and ribs with great success. The ribs were the best I have ever cooked on a grill! Smoked ribs for 6 hours and then opened the vents and heated it up to cook burgers and chicken without having to add more charcoal. The temperature is very easy to control. This grill is very high quality and there nothing inside or outside that will rust and very easy to put together,"
Review 11 for Black Pearl Ceramic Kamado Grill and Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:May 2, 2011

What A Deal

Pros: works like a charm., easy to control the temperature., it really can do great grilling and smoking., look around the net - it's an awesome price
Cons: should have gotten it earlier.
"I love this grill! Got got it Friday afternoon. Assembled the stand. The grill was too heavy to put into the stand by myself. Saturday mornig a friend came over to help me put the grill into the stand. Put the shelves on. Very easy to assemble. Saturday evening I grilled the best steak I have ever gilled before. Was able to sear the steak at 650 degrees! Sunday, I smoked some ribs for four hours at 225 degrees. Smoke lasted the whole time. Admittedly, the ribs I had bought were anythink but high quality (on sale for $2.39) but they turned out delicious. Moist, tender, and lots of smoky flavor. Go to Grill Dome's forum for excellant tips on how to use this type of grill (they're the ones who make the grill)."
Review 12 for Black Pearl Ceramic Kamado Grill and Smoker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pacific Northwest
Date:July 31, 2010

Beautiful but some quirks

Pros: well packaged, super fast shipping, beautiful glaze finish, beautiful legs, full kit includes bottom grill
Cons: instructions, handle installed crooked, side tables don't lie flat, warranty??, no cover
"I've own a kamado.xxx ceramic cooker for years and wanted a second for a vacation home. Unfortunately kamado.xxx is no longer a reliable manufacturer (see all of the fraud claims on the web before you fall in love with them). I was considering the alternatives like big green egg or Primo but didn't love the looks of them. The cookers at komodokamado.xxx are beautiful but cost an arm and leg.
We ordered this cooker shipped to an island in the northwest and it arrived less than a week later with no hassles about having to take a ferry. Impressive!
Be advised that the cooker is heavy. Getting it from curbside to your BBQ location is challenging.
It comes very well packaged. Inspecting the legs, the welds seem very solid. The wheels are excellent also. The ceramic firebox was solid - no cracks which is very important. I was relieved because it would have been a bear to try to take it back to Costco.
My biggest gripe is that for a $1000 cooker the assembly instructions were in bits and pieces. The sheet for the legs was terrible - poor quality photocopy, unclear instructions and pictures. Also be advised that you must download part of the instructions from the Costco website or you'll be scratching your head.
You'll definatley need two people to lift the cooker onto the legs. We then tinkered with the side tables for some time. Ultimately we couldn't get them to sit flat so they have a bit of "flying nun" effect. The handle was not installed straight but this wasn't a deal breaker. It has a small scratch on the side, which could have happened when we moved it though we were super careful. So be forewarned. We'll just use some magic marker on it.
You need to put caulk (provided) on the top cap and wait 24 hours before your first cook.
Our first cook was steaks. I used the charcoal fire starter which worked fine. Overall I'm guessing it took 25-30 minutes total to reach temp of 500. The flavor was very smoky but that is primarily from the lump charcoal - I'm used to a milder coconut extruded charcoal. However, the smoke flavor can be adjusted by opening the top cap.
The instructions on temp control and cooking recommendations are very good, so if this is your first time using ceramic you'll have the info you need.
I saw in the leg assembly sheet that the legs (?) included six month warranty. However the costco.com site says lifetime. I tried to find the manufacturer or ANY info on this cooker on the web - nothing. That's a bit of a concern to me if we ever need replacement parts. I made sure to print the info on the costco site because costco has a good return policy ... tho transporting it would be a problem.
I've learned from experience to buy a cover for a kamado style cooker in the northwest. Unfortunately there are no cover options so I'll try to find one that fits. Perhaps the cover a kamadojoe will fit.
Overall, I'd definately recommend this cooker for its beauty and function. I would give it a 4 1/2 stars if I could. I just couldn't get to stars due to the things I've mentioned. Happy cooking!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Black Pearl Ceramic Kamado Grill and Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eugene, Oregon
Date:May 5, 2011

Best BBQ ever

Pros: very high quality compared to other ceramic bbq's, excelent all natural charcoal came with the unit., total temperature control
Cons: charcoal takes time to get up to temp.
"I was looking for a new bbq after I discovered my 7 year old Weber built in unit was rusted out. I first considered the Big Green Egg but the price for a fully equipped unit was too high, and the quality was lacking somewhat. Then I found the Black Pearl on Costco.Com and it looked much nicer than the BGE and at a much better price.
One week after ordering, the Pearl arrived and the wife and I assembled it. All I can say about the BBQ's appearance is WOW. The only thing better than it's great looks is the way it BBQ's.
I have been bbqing for over 30 years and this thing makes the best ribs, chicken and steak I have ever tasted. Thank You Costco.
"
Review 14 for Black Pearl Ceramic Kamado Grill and Smoker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2010

Poor Quality

Pros: costco was great with the refund
Cons: very poor quality, add a con
Model Number: Black Pearl Ceramic Grill and Smoker
"This product has very poor quality. The internal parts fractured the first time I used it. Costco was great about replacing the part from another on the shelf. The next time I used it the same part broke again as well as the little grid at the bottom that holds the charcoal. I went back and decided 2 times in 2 cooks was enough. Costco was astounding about refunding my money. The clerk told me this was the third unit refunded in 2 weeks because of the same problem."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Black Pearl Ceramic Kamado Grill and Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2011

Love it!

Pros: cost, pretty
Cons: takes a little longer to get hot than i would like
"This is a beautiful grill! I thought I wanted the BGE but once you add the accessories it was $250 more than Costco. The black is so much prettier than the green. It is well made and sturdy. We had a little bit of a struggle putting the sides on but it was fine. I'm hoping I don't have to buy a gas grill but this takes longer than I expected to get to searing temperature but I'm still learning. My male room mate who used to only cook once in a while has taken over the grill....We love it!"
Review 16 for Black Pearl Ceramic Kamado Grill and Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:August 23, 2010

Great Grill so easy to use

Pros: awesome product
Cons: none yet and i cooked 50 lbs of pork and beef
"Absolutely THE easiest grille/smoker ever. Just put the electric lighter in for 8 minutes, then pile your meat on the grille, close the top watch the tempature then leave it for a couple hours for the best Rib Roast or Pork roast you will ever taste. Tender juicy and delicious. Want to grille steaks open the vents the tempature will climb to 600 degrees and cook your steak in 6-10 minutes perfectly seared tender and juicy. Better than my Viking grille or iron box smoker"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Black Pearl Ceramic Kamado Grill and Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Parkland, Fl
Date:April 3, 2011

Easy set up quality fit and finish

"I just finished the set up on my Black Pearl and can only say it was as easy as it gets. The stand was simplistic as was the addition of the shelves. I walked away for 15 minutes to take the dog out and my daughter was finishing on her own. The fit and finish is impressive and it will get its first workout tomorrow night. So far a very positive experience, but of course it's Costco."
Review 18 for Black Pearl Ceramic Kamado Grill and Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:April 27, 2011

Nice...

Pros: very pretty, arrives securely packaged
Model Number: Black Pearl
"Had been looking at Big Green Egg...but didn't want green on my patio. Ordered this less than 2 weeks ago. Arrived via truck....packaging was very good...not a scratch anywhere on this very heavy unit. Had a bit of trouble attaching the side tables...but got them on after a bit of work. Unit seems very well buiilt...lots of stainless steel for that "manly" feel."
Review 19 for Black Pearl Ceramic Kamado Grill and Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:August 24, 2010

Awesome grill

Pros: comes with shelves and a stand
Cons: the shelves do not fold down
"I have used regular charcoal and gas grills for years. This is my first ceramic grill and I love it. It is easy to regulate the heat and the lump charcoal adds a great flavor. Excellent quality despite some of the negative reviews."
Review 20 for Black Pearl Ceramic Kamado Grill and Smoker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Issaquah Wa
Date:August 10, 2010

So good I'm buying for family members as a gift!!

Pros: esthetically pleasing, great for small patios
"I love this thing, its so great, steaks come out smokin' yummylicious!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.