Customer Reviews for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio

Average Customer Rating:
1.881 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
(out of 42 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
30
9 of 42(21%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Review 1 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:August 28, 2010

Internal Day Calendar is wrong IP87

Model Number: IP87
"The Alarm Clock features a 2 Day (Sat-Sun), 5 Day (Mon-Fri) or 7 Day (Mon-Sun) setting. I set my alarm for 5-Day and the alarm did not sound on Monday. I later found that it was sounding on Tue - Sat. The year and calendar date are set correctly, there is no option to change the day of the week, so this must be an internal programing error. I will be returning to Costco and will not exchange."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2010

Junk

"I should have read reviews before I purchased. Worked about 2 months, then dead."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:September 4, 2010

Disappointing

Pros: good sound, display can be dimmed, remote control
Cons: weekday and weekend alarms don't work
Model Number: ip87
"The sound is good, but as other reviewers say, the weekday alarm goes off Tues-Sat and the weekend alarm goes off on Sun-Mon. I have the date set right, sync'd to my iPhone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Wisconsin
Date:October 10, 2010

Just Quit Working

Pros: worked for 2 months
Cons: died without warning
Model Number: iP87
"I bought this for my son, and everything worked fine...for 2 months. Then it died without warning. Doesn't turn on at all. The ihome website on the box is no help (does not list the iP87 for product information), and when you call the 877 support number on the box they tell you to call another number."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:September 4, 2010

Great Purchase - but must read the instructions!

"I must say the first one we purchased we couldn't get to work. We returned it, bought a second one (thinking the first was defective) and then couldn't get the second one to work either UNTIL WE CAREFULLY RE-READ THE INSTRUCTIONS. It is simple, you must create a ihome playlist in itunes in order for your ipod to be used for your alarm. I saw all the bad reviews and I have to say once we figured out we were not properly setting it up the solution was SO easy. We have LOVED ours ever since. We have owned it for three years now with no problems! I would definitely recommend this. We plan on buying two more for our kids now."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:September 14, 2010

Alarm Does Not Work - verified with manufacturer

Pros: sound
Cons: alarm does not operate as described
Model Number: iHome iP87
"On my second one as the 5 day alarm was going off on Wed-Sun instead of M-F. Same problem with new one. Just called manufacturer and they verified that the 2 day and 5 day alarm function on this model does not work, only the seven day function. Means you have to turn alarm off on weekend. On the positive side, sound is good."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:August 30, 2010

Great Sound--Poor Alarm Clock

Pros: sound, style, radio reception
Cons: alarm clock doesn't work
Model Number: IP87
"Was really impressed by the styling, sound quality and radio reception. Unfortunately the alarm clock does not work properly. I double checked all the settings. Set for 5 days a week (M-F), but found that the alarm activated on Saturday morning and not on Monday morning. Too bad, really like the product, but need to get to work on time (and would like to sleep in on the weekend!)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:West Richland WA
Date:November 2, 2010

Dying Dead Gone

Pros: none
Cons: bad reception
Model Number: iHome IP87
"The iHome has pretty bad reception which I was going to forgive because my favorite radio station comes in OK. Over the past week it keeps turning itself off and resetting everything to Jan 1 at 12:00. Now I have a complete power loss. It goes back to Costco today."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2010

Worth The Money

"Great sound, easy to use, love the remote and for the price here, its worth the cost. If you have an Ifrogz cover on Iphone, it won't fit into the adapter. You don't need the adapter, you just need to be careful not to break the pins on the Iphone when you dock it. Also, to hear SMS tones when docked, put the radio and the Iphone on "IPOD" mode."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2011

Suddenly broke

"We bought this for my son to dock his Nano iPod. The remote was a great feature for turning off the alarm from across the room without having to get out of bed. It worked fine for 6 months then just broke. However, it just lost its power one day and that was it. Thankfully Costco took it back without a problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:November 29, 2010

dock adapters not available

Model Number: ip87
"I purchased two of these radios. The box indicated they would work for the ipod classic, however the dock adapters for the ipod classic were not included. Ihome is out of stock of the black adapters, and even if they were available, the cost would be an additional $5.95 each, plus shipping. Even if all else is ok with the radios, they are not useable for us."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:September 4, 2010

DOES NOT WORK WITH IPOD CLASSIC!!

Model Number: iP87
"I was terribly dissappointed that this product does not work with an IPOD classic, although the box claims it works with an IPod!! I am returning this unit back to Costco tomorrow!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Manhasset, NY
Date:September 13, 2010

Great for the Money

Cons: must download software
"If you download "iHome + Sleep" and sinc to your iphone. This product works great and very easy to program with iphone 3G & 4G. Sound is good, and remote is perfect size."
Review 14 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Huntsville, AL
Date:September 15, 2010

Low Quality

Pros: nice features - dual alarms - 5 or 7 day settings
Cons: too bright
"Radio stopped working after 10 months of use as an alarm clock. The unit has nice features but the quality isn't there. The display dims but is still bright enough to use as a night light on the lowest setting."
Review 15 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:south texas
Date:October 4, 2010

Great Product

Pros: great sound
Model Number: IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
"We bought this iHome a little more than a month ago and love it. Not only is it nice looking, the sound is superb. Works well with our iPod and iPhone, and the radio sounds great too. Overall just a great product and really pleased with it."
Review 16 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV.
Date:February 28, 2011

Works GREAT!!

Model Number: IP87
"What a great clock and charger for my iphone! I dock my iphone at night and listen to my ipod while I sleep, and the alarm goes off in the morning I shut it off and get up and the ipod kicks back on... I love it! The 2 alarm features are great also. The remote is a wonderful feature as well, great range on it."
Review 17 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2010

SOUNDS GOOD

"Comes w/a variety of adapters for various Ipods, sounds good and ez to set up."
Review 18 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:IL
Date:March 23, 2011

Should have listened to other reviews!!

Pros: ipod charges
Cons: clock doesn't work, radio doesn't work, can't listen to ipod
Model Number: IP87
"Even though I read the reviews, I still purchased this iHome to replace an older model because the alarm no longer worked. Luckily, I purchased the old one from Costco and thanks to their great return policy, they credited the money right back. I used it to purchase this model. When I brought it home tonight and plugged it in, the clock wouldn't light up. I even tried the dimmer button, rotating the batteries, unplugging, etc. There is also no sound from either the radio or iPod. The iPod will charge though."
Review 19 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cypress, CA
Date:October 8, 2010

a personal choice

Pros: price
Cons: bad radio reception
"It's not the BEST thing I have ever purchased, but I liked it enough that I bought one for work after having one at work for awhile.
It doesn't have the best sound - the bass is pretty bad. But it works - the alarm, telling time, calendar, recharges all my iPods, plays all forms of the iPod (because I have had students use it with their iPods, and I can comfortably say that every iPod has been used), etc.
The radio doesn't have the best reception. In fact, it's pretty terrible from time to time. But everything ELSE works just fine.
I bought this on coupon and for me it's a great buy with the discount."
Review 20 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Francisco Bay Area
Date:September 9, 2010

Junk

Pros: sounds great dimmer nice alarm
Cons: does not work properly
Model Number: IP87
"I picked this up in the Costco Warehouse and after about an hour of working on it and talking to ihome support I am giving up. I should have read the reviews first. This unit has some serious programming code issues. The alarms only work on the 7 day mode, the radio works very good after doing a factory reset on the unit then when I program it for the first time and set the alarms the clock jumps 2 hours forward and when I reset the clock to the correct time the Radio no longer has reception. Just static. It looks like Ihome has a newer model IP90 that has much better reviews. Looking over various reviews on the internet on the IP87 Costco should stop selling it and junk their stock."
1 2 3 next>>