Customer Reviews for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio

Average Customer Rating:
1.881 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
(out of 42 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
30
9 of 42(21%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Review 1 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2010

Junk

"I should have read reviews before I purchased. Worked about 2 months, then dead."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:August 28, 2010

Internal Day Calendar is wrong IP87

Model Number: IP87
"The Alarm Clock features a 2 Day (Sat-Sun), 5 Day (Mon-Fri) or 7 Day (Mon-Sun) setting. I set my alarm for 5-Day and the alarm did not sound on Monday. I later found that it was sounding on Tue - Sat. The year and calendar date are set correctly, there is no option to change the day of the week, so this must be an internal programing error. I will be returning to Costco and will not exchange."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2011

Suddenly broke

"We bought this for my son to dock his Nano iPod. The remote was a great feature for turning off the alarm from across the room without having to get out of bed. It worked fine for 6 months then just broke. However, it just lost its power one day and that was it. Thankfully Costco took it back without a problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:November 29, 2010

dock adapters not available

Model Number: ip87
"I purchased two of these radios. The box indicated they would work for the ipod classic, however the dock adapters for the ipod classic were not included. Ihome is out of stock of the black adapters, and even if they were available, the cost would be an additional $5.95 each, plus shipping. Even if all else is ok with the radios, they are not useable for us."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:West Richland WA
Date:November 2, 2010

Dying Dead Gone

Pros: none
Cons: bad reception
Model Number: iHome IP87
"The iHome has pretty bad reception which I was going to forgive because my favorite radio station comes in OK. Over the past week it keeps turning itself off and resetting everything to Jan 1 at 12:00. Now I have a complete power loss. It goes back to Costco today."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Wisconsin
Date:October 10, 2010

Just Quit Working

Pros: worked for 2 months
Cons: died without warning
Model Number: iP87
"I bought this for my son, and everything worked fine...for 2 months. Then it died without warning. Doesn't turn on at all. The ihome website on the box is no help (does not list the iP87 for product information), and when you call the 877 support number on the box they tell you to call another number."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:September 14, 2010

Alarm Does Not Work - verified with manufacturer

Pros: sound
Cons: alarm does not operate as described
Model Number: iHome iP87
"On my second one as the 5 day alarm was going off on Wed-Sun instead of M-F. Same problem with new one. Just called manufacturer and they verified that the 2 day and 5 day alarm function on this model does not work, only the seven day function. Means you have to turn alarm off on weekend. On the positive side, sound is good."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:September 4, 2010

Disappointing

Pros: good sound, display can be dimmed, remote control
Cons: weekday and weekend alarms don't work
Model Number: ip87
"The sound is good, but as other reviewers say, the weekday alarm goes off Tues-Sat and the weekend alarm goes off on Sun-Mon. I have the date set right, sync'd to my iPhone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:September 4, 2010

Great Purchase - but must read the instructions!

"I must say the first one we purchased we couldn't get to work. We returned it, bought a second one (thinking the first was defective) and then couldn't get the second one to work either UNTIL WE CAREFULLY RE-READ THE INSTRUCTIONS. It is simple, you must create a ihome playlist in itunes in order for your ipod to be used for your alarm. I saw all the bad reviews and I have to say once we figured out we were not properly setting it up the solution was SO easy. We have LOVED ours ever since. We have owned it for three years now with no problems! I would definitely recommend this. We plan on buying two more for our kids now."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:September 4, 2010

DOES NOT WORK WITH IPOD CLASSIC!!

Model Number: iP87
"I was terribly dissappointed that this product does not work with an IPOD classic, although the box claims it works with an IPod!! I am returning this unit back to Costco tomorrow!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:August 30, 2010

Great Sound--Poor Alarm Clock

Pros: sound, style, radio reception
Cons: alarm clock doesn't work
Model Number: IP87
"Was really impressed by the styling, sound quality and radio reception. Unfortunately the alarm clock does not work properly. I double checked all the settings. Set for 5 days a week (M-F), but found that the alarm activated on Saturday morning and not on Monday morning. Too bad, really like the product, but need to get to work on time (and would like to sleep in on the weekend!)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2010

Worth The Money

"Great sound, easy to use, love the remote and for the price here, its worth the cost. If you have an Ifrogz cover on Iphone, it won't fit into the adapter. You don't need the adapter, you just need to be careful not to break the pins on the Iphone when you dock it. Also, to hear SMS tones when docked, put the radio and the Iphone on "IPOD" mode."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:IL
Date:March 23, 2011

Should have listened to other reviews!!

Pros: ipod charges
Cons: clock doesn't work, radio doesn't work, can't listen to ipod
Model Number: IP87
"Even though I read the reviews, I still purchased this iHome to replace an older model because the alarm no longer worked. Luckily, I purchased the old one from Costco and thanks to their great return policy, they credited the money right back. I used it to purchase this model. When I brought it home tonight and plugged it in, the clock wouldn't light up. I even tried the dimmer button, rotating the batteries, unplugging, etc. There is also no sound from either the radio or iPod. The iPod will charge though."
Review 14 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Date:March 23, 2011

Stopped working after 3 mo

Model Number: iP87
"Purchased as a christmas present like the rest of the reviews. It just stopped working. First it was the clock and then it will not turn on. It will charge my Ipod Touch, that's it. I should of read these reviews before purchasing this product."
Review 15 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:March 19, 2011

Both stopped working

Cons: poor quality
Model Number: ip87
"Bought 2 of these for my kids. First one just went blank after about 1 month. The second one did the same after 21/2 months. Unable to get either working with the trouble shooting guide. Must be more than a fluke to have both go "poof" in such a short time. Wish I read the reviews beforehand. Don't know how a company can stay in buisness with this lack of quality. Maybe Costco should drop this manufacturer."
Review 16 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Whittier, CA
Date:March 16, 2011

Dont buy the ip87

Pros: looks great
Cons: dies after 3 months
Model Number: iHome ip87
"Worked for 3 months, then died. according to "yahoo answers" , unplug it, removed the back-up batteries. Then it should start working again. Well it worked for about an hour, then died again. The ihome web site is no help, they never responded to my emails, and based on so many complaints, it is obvously a factory defect common to all ip87's"
Review 17 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bronx ,NY
Date:March 13, 2011

Don't buy

Model Number: IP87
"I wish I had read the reviews before I purchased this.It worked for exactly 2 months."
Review 18 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CHULA VISTA, CA
Date:March 5, 2011

refurbished !!!!

Model Number: I HOME IP87
"I bought this I home for a christmas present and it worked fine like 2 months but suddenly the radio and the clocks didn't work anymore, then i opened it because i am electronic engineer and my surprise was that is a REFURBISHED product !!! it is not new !!!!!!!!! PLEASE BE CAREFUL !!!!!!!! DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY !!"
Review 19 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV.
Date:February 28, 2011

Works GREAT!!

Model Number: IP87
"What a great clock and charger for my iphone! I dock my iphone at night and listen to my ipod while I sleep, and the alarm goes off in the morning I shut it off and get up and the ipod kicks back on... I love it! The 2 alarm features are great also. The remote is a wonderful feature as well, great range on it."
Review 20 for iHome IP87 iPod/iPhone Clock Radio
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Beaverton, OR
Date:January 31, 2011

Stopped working

Pros: nice looking
Cons: stopped working
Model Number: IP87
"I looked for a long time before purchasing this alarm clock. There were a few quirky things about it from the start... like the 5 day / 2 day alarm setting didn't ever work correctly. And not being able to change the wake-up alarm time with the remote. But that wasn't a deal breaker for me. Just strange. I really like the looks of this clock and the basic functionality. Then yesterday I came home and the clock screen wasn't on. Tried a different plug. Tried changing out the back-up batteries. So after 5 months it completely stopped working... although it seems to still be able to charge my iPod. I thought maybe I'd had a power surge or something, and my clock was the sole casualty. But after reading the new reviews I think the clock must be defective. It's a shame. Don't know what I'm going to do now since, for some reason, there aren't a lot of alarm clocks that rate very well on the market right now."
1 2 3 next>>