Customer Reviews for Pleasant Hearth Brighton Media Electric Fireplace

Pleasant Hearth Brighton Media Electric Fireplace

Please note this item is delivered in 3 boxes These are not to be used as a primary source of heat, only supplemental heat. The Brighton media cabinet is perfect for today's plasma and LCD TV's. It has built-in ventilation and hidden wire management channels to help keep unsightly wires under control. The fireplace includes a center shelf with two compartments for media components and four storage shelves for accessories hidden behind operational doors on either side of the fireplace. Constructed from poplar solids and birch veneers, the Heritage finish is hand applied on this fireplace for beauty and durability. The Brighton is easy to assemble and can be used with TV's up to 52" wide or up to 240 lbs. Features: 1350 Watt heater with thermostat to warm a room up to 400 square feet   120 Volts, 4600 BTU, 12 Amps   Multi-function remote control turns unit on and off, adjusts flame and temperature   Realistic flame and glowing ember bed   Fan-forced heater   Three levels of flame brightness and five temperature adjustments   Beautiful media cabinet holds a TV up to 52 inches or 240 lbs.   Media shelf and side cabinets provide storage for all of your components and accessories   Sturdy mantel composed of poplar solids and wood veneers   7-step hand finishing process for beauty and durability   Easy assembly   Economical operation-operates for pennies a day   No venting, no plumbing   Operates with or without heater   Tempered safety glass front stays cool to the touch   CSA certified   Firebox Dimensions: 24.3" W x 20.3" H x 8.2" D   Overall Dimensions: 57" W x 37" H x 15" D   Weight: 133 lbs.   One year limited warranty   For questions about this product please call Pleasant Hearth/GHP 1-877-447-4768. Model: 237-08-65
Average Customer Rating:
4.16 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
(out of 25 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
24 of 25(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pleasant Hearth Brighton Media Electric Fireplace
Review 1 for Pleasant Hearth Brighton Media Electric Fireplace
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chandler, AZ
Date:May 10, 2014

Love it!

Pros: beautiful finish - good height and depth.
Cons: i'd like to see more blue and red in the flame.
"I am a single woman soon to be 65 years old and I put this together myself, with virtually no carpentry skills. I did buy my first $20 electric drill for this, but it was not necessary. So don't know why the complaints about difficulty in putting together, etc. My cable box and disc player fit on the self with plenty of room as well. The finish is as the picture shows and matches my mission style furniture perfectly. Stand is all 100% wood, even I can tell that. Happy birthday to me!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pleasant Hearth Brighton Media Electric Fireplace
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:December 7, 2012

I love it.

Pros: easy instructions
Cons: no negative comments
"Easy to assemble, It took me less than 2 hrs to put it together. No missing parts. It looks very nice, match with the room and the furniture. I am very satisfied with this purchase."
Review 3 for Pleasant Hearth Brighton Media Electric Fireplace
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:greensboro nc
Date:November 8, 2012

great room addition

Pros: heat and storage
Cons: needs assembly
Model Number: 2370865
"The unit is funtional and the fireplace gives enough heat. Made well-a bit complicated to assemble and missing some screws.Overall it is a very nice piece"
Review 4 for Pleasant Hearth Brighton Media Electric Fireplace
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 30, 2012

Disappointment

Model Number: 501572014
"Original shipment. Top holes didn't line up and was damaged. Was sent 2 right sides. Second shipment. Was sent left side which in no way would holes line up. Top panel also didn't have holes to match. I am sure it would be lovely if it would ever fit together properly. This is going back and we will buy a different product only if we can see in-store."
Review 5 for Pleasant Hearth Brighton Media Electric Fireplace
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:November 28, 2011

Nice Relative To Price

Pros: good looks realistic flames, value, 3 day select free ups shipping, easy assembly
Cons: one speed fan, heat venting should be closer to the floor
Model Number: 238-07-65 Pleasant Hearth Brighton
"This media center looks good for knock-down furniture and assembles rather easily. With a better fireplace I would have given it 4 stars. The flames look realistic but there is only one speed on the fan which is fairly loud. The vent for the heat is narrow which probably increases the noise and is located at the top. It would be better for the heat to blow from the bottom, closer to the cold floor.
Some people might complain about the depth of the unit at 15" but that is clearly stated in the description online and it was not an issue for my equipment and advantageous for our space. I enjoy having the flames on without heat as it adds atmosphere to the room. All in all, I'm satisfied with this purchase.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pleasant Hearth Brighton Media Electric Fireplace
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:UT
Date:November 26, 2011

nice but difficult to assemble

Model Number: 23-29-65
""45 minutes assembly time" -- HAHA... please!! 4 hours and 1 trip to lowes later.... it is finally put together.... it looks very nice and yes, the fireplace heats well.... BUT -- putting it together was more than just a little challenging. After assembling the entire entertainment center with no mention of when to install the fireplace, we discovered that it needed to be mounted in place BEFORE putting the whole thing together... so we had to disassemble it all and put the fireplace in. Then after getting it all together again, the top piece of the entertainment center was missing the anchors for the screws to hook into... so off to lowes we went to buy some anchors and drill bigger holes to make it fit.
Also, the wood finish is MUCH lighter than the photo makes it appear... I have a feeling that will bug me... I'm trying to ignore it, but it is significantly lighter than the hardwood in my house :( hopefully I can handle it."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pleasant Hearth Brighton Media Electric Fireplace
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2011

Good value and appearance.

"This unit is an attractive and functional piece of furniture. The fireplace features state of the art LED technology and is visually attractive and realistic.
The Pros: Sturdy construction, Easy wire and component concealment, Good height for accommodating a wide screen TV.
The Cons: Whoever said this does not contain particle wood doesn’t know what they’re talking about. This product is well engineered but is made mostly from particle wood and press board with veneering throughout. The Top plate is solid wood.
The depth of the shelf could be a bit deeper as a normal DVD player or Satelite/Cable box will come out slightly over the edge in front due to the cable room needed at the back.
It was slightly frustrating that they left out a couple of bolts and gave me extra dowels and shelf clips.
We’re glad we purchased this piece and would recommend it to others.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pleasant Hearth Brighton Media Electric Fireplace
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:November 10, 2011

Wonderful!

Pros: super
"This fit our needs perfectly - said it would take 45 minutes to assemble and they were right on. We like it very much"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pleasant Hearth Brighton Media Electric Fireplace
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2011

Wood tone not as expected

"Finish was not as expected. Costco is very vague in their description as to the actual wood tone. I ordered anyway, hoping for the best. I opened box and took out one piece and it was way lighter in tone than pictured. I repacked and took back to our local warehouse. Costco needs to be more descriptive in terms of wood tones and finishes, so as not to disappoint. I would still recommend this product as far as function and quality are concerned."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pleasant Hearth Brighton Media Electric Fireplace
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bonita Springs, Fl
Date:November 10, 2011

Beautiful addition to my family room

Cons: difficult to stabilize fire box in cabinet.
"This is good looking, very well made and relatively easy to put together. It is priced very well and I am very happy with it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pleasant Hearth Brighton Media Electric Fireplace
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brighton, MI
Date:November 10, 2011

Very Well Made

Pros: solid wood construction
Cons: a little noisy
"We purchased this unit for a bedroom that just doesn't seem to get warm enough in the winter. We saw this and it not only warms the room quickly, it's so attractive and gives the ambiance of a fire without the soot, mess, and danger. It also holds quite a lot of video/sound components. Very glad we made this purchase!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pleasant Hearth Brighton Media Electric Fireplace
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Clinton, Tennessee
Date:November 9, 2011

Pleasant Hearth Brighton Media Electric Fireplace

"I love this product. It is in the bedroom and works great and looks wonderful."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pleasant Hearth Brighton Media Electric Fireplace
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ames, IA
Date:November 9, 2011

Great console

"Quick and easy to assemble and looks great in my living room. Easy enough for my kids to safely turn on and off. Takes the chill out of the room."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pleasant Hearth Brighton Media Electric Fireplace
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Albany, OR
Date:November 9, 2011

Beautiful piece of furniture

Pros: the heat does not need to be on.
"Was well packaged to prevent damage. Very easy to assemble. The piece makes a beautiful addition to the room and puts the TV at a good height for viewing. I love, the fireplace. It has a variety of heat and flame settings. Some of the heat settings turn the fan on and you need to adjust the volume control up on the TV if you are watching it at the time."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pleasant Hearth Brighton Media Electric Fireplace
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Huntsville, AL
Date:November 9, 2011

Beautiful Piece

Pros: perfect size for my family room, storage is a great plus, the color of the logs change like real wood
Cons: don't really like the yellow flames
"I purchased this Fireplace about 3 weeks ago online, I was a bit skeptical having not seen it in person, but all my fears were erased when I opened the box. The wood is beautiful, and the fireplace relaxing. Everyone who visits compliments it. It is the focal point of my family room."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pleasant Hearth Brighton Media Electric Fireplace
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Yakima, WA
Date:November 7, 2011

Love it! Looks beatuful, have it on every night.

Pros: easy to put together
Cons: would like a little more heat but works good.
"It was easy to put together an looks beautiful on the wall. Very functional with the side cabinets and the TV looks so much better on it than our other stand. Looks like a real fire going :)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pleasant Hearth Brighton Media Electric Fireplace
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:October 28, 2011

Well Built

Pros: well built
Cons: no thermostat for the heat setting.
Model Number: Pleasant Hearth Brighton Media Electric Fireplace
"Well built. Made of solid wood.
Component shelf required different holes to be drilled in the back because rear holes are too high for components to be slid all the way back.
Instructions on how to put the doors on the unit were VERY poor!
Heating unit looks good and puts out a good amount of heat to warm up an average size room.
I wish the heating unit was controlled by a thermostat. Setting the heat on low results in the heat shutting off after 15 minutes and not coming back on until the heat is raised or the unit is restarted. I've just resorted to setting it on the second heat setting. But without a thermostat you still have to shut the heat off when the room warms up."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pleasant Hearth Brighton Media Electric Fireplace
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Date:November 16, 2010

like my electric fireplace/media center

Pros: quality of wood, electric fireplace
Cons: firebox attachment brackets, depth of shelves
Model Number: #23-08-65
"I agree with 'pcguru' about assembly and heat output. The brackets to secure the electric firebox are impossible to tighten with any tools I own. (Mine are finger tightened only.)
However, this is a very good quality unit with well written instructions that I was easily able to follow as I assembled the unit by myself using minimal tools. A strong warning: mark your cable cords very well if transferring components from one media center to your new unit. The cutout spaces behind the components leave little room to transfer cables if incorrectly hooked up.
Also, the cabinet is not deep enough for the components to slide in far enough away from the heat source. All 3 of my components extend beyond the depth of the shelves.
I searched in brick/mortar stores and the internet for months looking for a fireplace + media center. There are few available; but this unit was 1/3 of the cost of comparable units. The wood is solid and not particle board which was offered in most big box stores at similar prices. I am happy with the look, quality, and comfort of this unit. The heat source allows me to turn down the thermostat 4-5 degrees."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pleasant Hearth Brighton Media Electric Fireplace
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Prospect, KY
Date:November 6, 2010

Nice Find Good Looking

Pros: quality material, easy assembly
Cons: firebox install detail
"Fireplace adds a warm feeling to a darkened room even when the heat is turned off. The off the floor firebox is exactly what we were looking for because it sits over our return vent. The assembly instructions came in two parts: one for the media center and one for the firebox. A detailed description of installing the firebox into the media center is missing."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pleasant Hearth Brighton Media Electric Fireplace
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:November 4, 2010

great item

"Good assembly instructions and easy to put together. Very sturdy piece. Perfect size for any room. Love that it actually is a heater but that you can use it for just the looks of a fire it you don't want the heat."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>