Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ Enameled 6-Quart Round Cast Iron Dutch Oven

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Kirkland Signature™ Enameled 6-Quart Round Cast Iron Dutch Oven

Features Self-Basting Lid, Oven-Safe To 500 Degrees
Average Customer Rating:
4.536 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
(out of 28 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
25 of 28(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ Enameled 6-Quart Round Cast Iron Dutch Oven
Review 1 for Kirkland Signature™ Enameled 6-Quart Round Cast Iron Dutch Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:January 20, 2011

A quality dutch oven

Pros: able to use on stove top and oven
Cons: hand wash
"I bought a dutch oven from Macy's which was twice as expensive and 5.5 quarts and only could be heated to 400 degrees. Shortly afterwards I found this on the Costco website for less and it was larger and is oven safe to 500 degrees. I went to the Costco store and it wasn't available, so I ordered it online. The price included shipping and I got it fairly quickly. I turned around after receiving it and returned the Macy's one. I have since made a wonderful boeuf bourguignon that my husband raved over. I am very happy with my purchase."
Review 2 for Kirkland Signature™ Enameled 6-Quart Round Cast Iron Dutch Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Puyallup, WA
Date:January 20, 2011

quality and value

Pros: attractive, heavy duty, incredible value, good size
"i had been eyeing dutch ovens for some time now. We almost purchase a Le Creuset (which are VERY pricey). Then Costco came out with this. My husband bought it for me, and I use it ALL the time. Great for soups, baking. Very heavy duty, and BEAUTIFUL. The color is so rich, I love cooking with it just to see it on my stove. I just wish they had more enameled cast iorn products, cause I would buy them all"
Review 3 for Kirkland Signature™ Enameled 6-Quart Round Cast Iron Dutch Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern, CT
Date:January 20, 2011

Excellent value

Pros: price size and value
Cons: none that i can tell
Model Number: 6-Quart
"This product is an excellent value and looks great. I have used it a few times and the results are impressive. I hope they offer a few more sizes so I can complete this set."
Review 4 for Kirkland Signature™ Enameled 6-Quart Round Cast Iron Dutch Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:January 19, 2011

Does the job well...

Model Number: 6-qt enameled dutch oven
"I have owned this pot for several weeks, using it a few times a week or more. Coq au Vin; Gumbo; ‘Tagine’-style stews; stocks; etc…this pot works. I am an avid cook and like my equipment to perform. I recently went to a well-known/high-end kitchen equipment store, and they had their own brand of cast-iron enameled pots…you could see the uneven enameled surface inside the pot. This Kirkland pot looks way better. One reviewer seasoned her pot w/ canola oil…cast iron can be seasoned, but not enamel. (No wonder why it turned black in spots!) Boil water with thick cut potato skins if you want to ‘season’ it with a first use. (Throw water and potatoes away after boiling for 5-10 minutes.) Just remember, enameled pots (even over cast-iron) are for moderate to low heat cooking, not constant high-heat. Bring your dish up to temperature, then turn the heat down to maintain a low simmer, or put it in the oven. This is where this pot really shines in maintaining good, even heat. Cleans up easily."
Review 5 for Kirkland Signature™ Enameled 6-Quart Round Cast Iron Dutch Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pocatello, ID
Date:January 18, 2011

Beautiful!

Pros: price, color
Cons: none
"I love this pot. It is beautiful, easy to clean and I use it for everything from soup to tempura."
Review 6 for Kirkland Signature™ Enameled 6-Quart Round Cast Iron Dutch Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2011

Better than I had expected!

"I got this pot for Christmas. I have used it 4 times in the last week. The cleanup is so easy and it cooks very evenly. I love it and will probably get myself another one!"
Review 7 for Kirkland Signature™ Enameled 6-Quart Round Cast Iron Dutch Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anderson Island, WA
Date:January 3, 2011

Great Christmas Present

Pros: everything
Cons: none
"Received this for Christmas. Used it yesterday to make a pot roast with vegetables. Wow....is all I can say. It cooked the meat and veggies great and make a wonderful gravy! I love it and would also like to see more of the pots and pans sold at Costco. Beautiful and a great price."
Review 8 for Kirkland Signature™ Enameled 6-Quart Round Cast Iron Dutch Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Detroit, MI
Date:December 31, 2010

Love it!

"Got this as a Christmas gift....LOVE IT! My husband looked at many name brand dutch ovens but was shocked at the prices. Nice and heavy, pretty color and cleans up great. Made red enchilada sauce and the inside was spotless after a qucik rinse. Great product and value."
Review 9 for Kirkland Signature™ Enameled 6-Quart Round Cast Iron Dutch Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:December 24, 2010

As Good as High End Name Brands

"For the price, this is the best bang for your buck. I used this pot today to make Coq au vin and it performed flawlessly. Very even stove top cooking from the bacon slices to the browning of the chicken to the simmering. I've seen comparable dutch ovens for upwards of $300 and this performs the same for a fraction of the cost. No chips in the paint or porcelain and after a dozens of uses now, it cleans as good as new without staining or discoloration. Thinking of getting a high-end dutch oven? Save your money."
Review 10 for Kirkland Signature™ Enameled 6-Quart Round Cast Iron Dutch Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wilmington, Delaware
Date:December 16, 2010

Great Value

"I searched for a pot like this for a while and was so happy when I saw it at Costco. Great color, great value! This is very solid, well made, we use it all the time - for soups, sauces, etc.
I would highly recommend!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kirkland Signature™ Enameled 6-Quart Round Cast Iron Dutch Oven
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Utah
Date:December 15, 2010

Dutch Oven

"I bought this when they were first available in the warehouse. I have had an execellent experience with this item. I have had no chipping, no discoloration and no rust. I also use barkeeper to clean the tough spots. The key for the upkeep of all good cookware is to let the pan return to room temperture before adding any water or attempting to clean"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kirkland Signature™ Enameled 6-Quart Round Cast Iron Dutch Oven
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lake Stevens, WA
Date:December 15, 2010

Can't beat the Value

Pros: price, enamel easily chips
"Great price for this Dutch Oven style. The edge of the handle was chipped right out of the box. There are several more that have occurred on the edges after frequent use.
I seasoned the pot by rubbing canola oil while heating it over the stove before first use. Notice that the interior became black in places and wondered if it was any elements from producing the pot seaping through the white interior. Took some scrubbing to remove after cooling and used the pot for the first time.
First use instructions were not included so I did my own conditioning to ensure that my braised short ribs did not have extra exotic oils from China (Made in China). Great pot for the money!"
Review 13 for Kirkland Signature™ Enameled 6-Quart Round Cast Iron Dutch Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SFO Bay Area, CA
Date:December 15, 2010

Awesome

Pros: everything
Cons: to me nothing
Model Number: 6Qt Round
"As a kid my aunt had a set of very heavy weird looking pots. 45yrs later I read your reviews then realized what a Dutch oven really is. Wks ago I saw chefs using them on TV. Saw the fire red one about 1yr ago at Costco. Got this one 2wks now n use it every day. My 14yr old daugtr wants to know if tha's the only pot I'm going to use now. I told her why, n xplained the care plan to her n my 22yr old Son. I agree: We need the full Set of Kirkland Cast Iron Pots. I want to buy all in diff colors. And please, don't make it xpensive. I'm not turning back. Thank U Costco Family."
Review 14 for Kirkland Signature™ Enameled 6-Quart Round Cast Iron Dutch Oven
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:December 11, 2010

Chips in enamel upon opening

Pros: lovely color
Cons: chips in enamel, so fragile needs tabs, tabs are supplied so the lid doesn't touch the pot
"I was so happy to purchase this lovely pot and so sad to open it and find 2 chips on the lid and one on the pot :( I took it back and will now spend the extra bucks to get the best."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kirkland Signature™ Enameled 6-Quart Round Cast Iron Dutch Oven
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Petaluma. CA
Date:December 7, 2010

Excellent value as good as the over price brand

Pros: cleans easily
Cons: edges will begin to rust if left in water.
Model Number: 6 quart
"I've cooked several items in it and it performs very well, with a great drip lid feature to keep moisture in. Also, cleans up easily. Need more shapes and sizes. Shipping was included...that's a plus."
Review 16 for Kirkland Signature™ Enameled 6-Quart Round Cast Iron Dutch Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stafford VA
Date:December 6, 2010

Excellent Value/Durable Piece/Color

Pros: price, beautiful color, heavy weight & generous size, multi-purpose
Cons: a little staining on interior
"I purchased this oven about a month ago. For years, I've been coveting the well-known industry standard brand of similar size, but just couldn't bring myself to pay the crazy price. Yes, this other brand is stunning, lasts forever, great for the "serious cook"... but honestly, I'm a serious cook on a serious budget and my family needs to eat NOW... not years from now when I can finally afford the other brand!! This enameled oven is what I went with and I am SO happy with it. The beautiful color drew me in.... the price sealed the deal... and the rest is just awesome gravy!!
I've made soup, chili, beef stew &chicken started on the stove & taken to the oven, stuffing for turkey, rice krispy treats...you name it, I've been using the pot several times a week... and I'm so thrilled with my purchase.
I've had no problems with chipping or exterior staining.... the sugar in my sweet potatoes tinged the bottom of the interior slightly orange/tan...I've not tried that hard to get it out... maybe a little liquid cleanser with bleach? Or baking soda?? Eventually... But for now, the pot is in heavy use, so I really don't make the time to try to deal with such a minor problem.
My hope is that Costco will come out with a set of cookware in this style... as I'm looking to replace mine... and since using the enameled cast iron, I'm really hooked. It heats evenly, retains heat while cooking, can go into the oven.... I just love this pot!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kirkland Signature™ Enameled 6-Quart Round Cast Iron Dutch Oven
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, WA
Date:December 3, 2010

Well made, limiting design

Pros: price finish
Cons: small interior for browning
"The one I received, and have since returned, was well made with a nice finish.
The only real issue I had was the shape/design. The sides of the oven are more tapered then higher end brands. This resulted in a very small bottom/interior dimention which limits the space needed for effective browning, a very important step in developing complex flavors.
I am sure this was a production decision. The tapered sides allow the ovens to be nested during production/bulk shipping (prior to packaging). I am sure this is one area they created some cost savings.
The idea of a dutch oven is versatility and this one has a significant limitation. I am willing to spend extra, knowing that it will last for generations."
5 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kirkland Signature™ Enameled 6-Quart Round Cast Iron Dutch Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2010

Best value for your money

Pros: fantastic price
Cons: very heavy
"I bought one last year and couldn't be happier. I use it for most of my cooking, and especially love it for braising and then oven cooking. The Dutch oven heats up quickly and stays hot for quite a while, after you take it off of the stove or out of the oven.
Best Dutch oven you can buy for the price, which is fantastic. I love, love, love it!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kirkland Signature™ Enameled 6-Quart Round Cast Iron Dutch Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2010

Great Value

"Best value around for a Dutch Oven. Why pay so much more when you can get quality like this at an amazing price. Bought 2 extra for gifts."
Review 20 for Kirkland Signature™ Enameled 6-Quart Round Cast Iron Dutch Oven
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:MA
Date:November 17, 2010

Enamel Pot

Pros: heavy duty and cleans up great, compares to the "other" castiron company
Cons: hoping for matching colors!
"Love the pot! Cooks great and cleans up beautifully. Would have given it 5 stars but for one flaw - it doesn't match up in color to the gorgeous candy red oval shaped pot I purchased last year from our Costco warehouse. I'm hoping a "collection" of styles is forthcoming from the Kirkland brand - it is a super product - but guys, please work on getting that beautiful candy red color!"
1 2 next>>