Customer Reviews for Luigi Bormioli 18-piece Beverage Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Luigi Bormioli 18-piece Beverage Set

Luigi Bormioli’s proprietary new material called SON.hyx® allows the glasses to be extremely break resistant and transparent.  SON.hyx® is obtained through advanced technological processes, and it is a high performance crystal glass with a sonority index (acoustic properties) typical of that of precious glass. In addition to having ideal bowl shapes, fine rims, and beautifully drawn stems that are synonymous with Luigi Bormioli, glassware made with SON.hyx® is extremely brilliant in color, has a beautiful sound, maintains its clarity after thousands of industrial dishwashing cycles, and possesses an extremely high level of durability and strength. Set includes:   Set includes Six 20-ounce All Purpose Goblet 3.5" x 9.25"   Six 22-ounce Balloon Wine Stem 4.25" x 9"   Six 20-ounce Beverage Glass 3.25" x 6"   Break Resistant   Titanium Reinforced Stems for Increased Strength   Certified to Withstand 4000 Commercial Dishwashing Cycles   Dishwasher Safe   Lead Free   25-year Guarantee! The guarantee covers chipping on the rim or foot as well as any discoloration or cloudiness resulting from dishwashing.   Made in Italy  
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 of 13(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Luigi Bormioli 18-piece Beverage Set
Review 1 for Luigi Bormioli 18-piece Beverage Set
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Pullman, WA
Date:June 27, 2012

Nice but inconsistent

Pros: thin glass, long and thin stems, great value
Cons: inconsistent quality
"I ordered two sets within 1 week. The first set was flawless. The glasses were beautiful and very well-packaged. When the second set arrived I noticed that the white wine glasses were different. They did not have "Luigi Bormioli" engraved on their bases, and their quality was questionable. I am going to ask for replacements. Even with the inconsistency, I think this is a really good deal, and the quality is still comparable to higher end wine glasses."
Review 2 for Luigi Bormioli 18-piece Beverage Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Napa, CA
Date:March 7, 2012

Great purchase!

"Very nice glassware. High quality and beautiful to look at. This set at this price cannot be beat anywhere else I've seen."
Review 3 for Luigi Bormioli 18-piece Beverage Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2012

Very Nice

"Excellent purchase, very good looking set of glasses. One of the red wine glasses was damaged on arrival but Costco took care of the issue."
Review 4 for Luigi Bormioli 18-piece Beverage Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2011

EXCELLENCE !

"This glasses are the best ones so far for the money. I have been haunting for them after I got the first box. Love them, easy to mantain, incredibly strong and beautiful. CHEERS!"
Review 5 for Luigi Bormioli 18-piece Beverage Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:September 1, 2011

Inconsistent Quality

Pros: elegant thin stems
Cons: cloudy wobbly base inconsistent quality
"After reading all of the great reviews, I decided to make the purchase. The glasses were well packaged and arrived safe and sound. However, when I took out the wine and beverage glasses out of the boxes, I found that about 10 of them were wobbly because of an uneven bottom. Unacceptable.
Not only that, all three designs aren't completely clear, even after I did a vinegar soak; they seem to be very lightly clouded. The glasses are thin at the top, but quickly graduate to a thickened base, causing that unattractive "wave" like feature in the glass from the inside at the lower body near the stem/base. The look is not streamlined at all and the picture shown is quite deceiving, although I do love the elegant stem.
I will be returning this set to Costco and am very hesitant to order a second set, as 10 defective glasses in a box of 18 is quite discouraging. I hope Costco will begin offering special stemmed sets from Riedel or Schott Zwiesel (a quality brand also known for their scratch, chip, and break resistant glassware made from titanium crystal)."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Luigi Bormioli 18-piece Beverage Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minnesota
Date:May 3, 2011

Unbelievable!

Cons: tough to fit the long stems in dishwasher
"Unbreakable?! Really. These durable wine glasses were recommended by a friend. She dropped her glass by accident on their cement patio and it didn't break! We entertain on our patio a considerable amount, and this was our glass.
Also like that the set came with cocktail glasses, as well as wine.
"
Review 7 for Luigi Bormioli 18-piece Beverage Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:April 25, 2011

Very Nice Purchase

Pros: very good buy
Cons: no cons
"These glasses are beautiful, top quality and great price. We love them. I wish I had ordered two sets and may order another. They come out of the dishwasher perfect!"
Review 8 for Luigi Bormioli 18-piece Beverage Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:February 15, 2011

Good Value , But......

Pros: high quality, nice shape
Cons: too tall for dish washer
"Good quality crystal and nice shape. The volume in the wine glasses could have been a little less and the the glasses should have been a little shorter. Will not fit in the top rack of my diswasher without taking some of the upper rack out and slider out."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Luigi Bormioli 18-piece Beverage Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:February 10, 2011

Nice glasses... one DOA

Pros: elegant, high-end, low cost
Cons: one arrived broken
"Really nice set of glasses -- exactly what we were looking for (bought 3 sets of 18 glasses). Very nice shape, lovely tone on the wine glasses, and seem to be sturdy... but remember that these are pretty high-end, thin wine glasses, so sturdy is a relative term. Compared Reidel, Fusion and others and prefer these."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Luigi Bormioli 18-piece Beverage Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL.
Date:February 8, 2011

Good Glasses

Pros: look size feel
"We haven't had these long enough to know if they cloud with use and multiple washes, but so far they look, sound and feel great. We might buy more."
Review 11 for Luigi Bormioli 18-piece Beverage Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:November 8, 2010

Cheers!

Pros: dishwasher safe
Cons: grouped as 6 each rather than 8 each
Model Number: Luigi Bormioli 18-piece Beverage Set
"We have only had these for a couple of weeks but so far they are nice. I like the fact that they can be washed in the dishwasher and are supposed to remain free of streaks and other discolorations that occur to other crystal stemware. We had friends over for dinner and they ended up ordering this set. The water glass is heavy, almost too heavy for me. But that's better than being too light. I wish this set came in groups of 8 rather than 6."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Luigi Bormioli 18-piece Beverage Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. James, NY
Date:October 16, 2010

Really nice glasses

"These are perhaps the best wine glasses available at this price. We just wanted the wine glasses only; but even if we don't use the drinking glasses, this is an excellent value. The glasses are thin, sound good, wash well in the machine and the wine even seems to taste better. What more could you ask for?"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Luigi Bormioli 18-piece Beverage Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cape Cod, MA
Date:September 27, 2010

Elegant

Pros: great for the money., durable
Cons: wine glasses are quite large.
"These glasses are gorgeous. For the money they are thin and elegant. Have washed in the dishwasher several times and they stand up to heavy use as promised."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.