Customer Reviews for Champion 3000 Running / 3500 Peak Watts Wireless Remote Electric Start Portable Generator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Champion 3000 Running / 3500 Peak Watts Wireless Remote Electric Start Portable Generator

CARB/EPA Approved Includes: Push-button Electric Start ,Wireless Remote Control & Wheel Kit
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
(out of 21 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
14 of 21(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Champion 3000 Running / 3500 Peak Watts Wireless Remote Electric Start Portable Generator
Review 1 for Champion 3000 Running / 3500 Peak Watts Wireless Remote Electric Start Portable Generator
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:December 19, 2010

Not So Electric Start

Pros: price, customer service
Cons: louder than advertised, electric start system faulty
Model Number: 46538
"Beware!! Don't buy this for the fancy remote/electric start. Champion has problems with the electrical on this thing. A bit ironic?
After the Champion 3000 heats up it shuts off. You can start it again but it will keep shutting off after 5 minutes. After a few calls to the excellent service/tech department. I was told that this is a common problem. I was instructed to disable the remote/electric start system, then use pull start. It worked! Runs great and powers everything I need it too. Handles 3000 watt load with ease. I didn't test beyond that.
So, great generator. I'm sure you could take it in to one of their repair shops and get it fixed, maybe. But if not, your purchasing a pull start generator, not electric start.
Oh, and it's loader that they say it is. The engine noise is fair, but the rattle from the unit adds a lot of extra noise."
Review 2 for Champion 3000 Running / 3500 Peak Watts Wireless Remote Electric Start Portable Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:central Wisconsin
Date:September 26, 2010

performance and best value

Pros: remote start feature, continous start cycle feature, light weight, resonably quiet for the price point
Cons: oil not provide with the unit
Model Number: 46538
"This is my second generator, i have a large 8500 watt for backup to my home power and wanted a smaller light weight and economical generator for running my 30ft 5th wheel camper. I read the reviews on the Champion 3000/3500 and was impressed by the value and the performance of the unit. when i received the generator, i followed the quick setup instructions. I put gas and oil in and used the remote starter to power up the unit. it took a couple of cycles to get the gas to the carb and then it started right up. The remote start is a fantastic feature "I love it" . I hooked it up to my camper and was able to deploy the 1000 lb slide out with no problem as well as power all the lights, run the microwave and it even ran my air conditioner. It did bog down a little but i know that i was exceeding the power rating. I am very happy with my purchase. I think for the money this generator is well worth it. The remote feature is unreal and it works every time. Now I can sit in my camper in the rain and i don't have to worry about having to go out side to start the generator. I would not hesitate in recommending this unit."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Champion 3000 Running / 3500 Peak Watts Wireless Remote Electric Start Portable Generator
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ramona, Ca.
Date:September 22, 2010

Champion Gen. have short life span

Model Number: C46540
"Have less than 50 hours on my Champion and the stator needs to be replaced-$250.00
It could not charge any where close to the rating of 3000 watts. The repair facility had several in the repair shop and said that they were a really poor investment-(I'm being polite!)
Spend more money and buy a brand name. Champion is not up to the quality expected from buying at Costco. Don't do it.
"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Champion 3000 Running / 3500 Peak Watts Wireless Remote Electric Start Portable Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tazwell, TN
Date:September 20, 2010

Happy With Purchase

Pros: appears very sturdy and well built
Cons: battery runs down when not used for awhile
Model Number: 46538
"We bought one of these generators. Put gas and oil in it as directions said and it would not start. I was really mad and called the customer service number on the generator to complain. A guy listened to me rant and rave then asked if the valve on the gas tank was turned on. He waited on the phone while I checked. Dumb me forgot to turn gas on! With gas on started up right away. He asked if I needed help with anything else and reminded me to send in my warranty registration card. Very nice and helpful guy. We used the generator at our cabin on Norris Lake several times in August without problems. Then last week when we tried to start it the battery was dead. Pulled rope and it started. I Called company again about dead battery this time. They said I should disconnect the battery when sitting for a week or more with no use. Told me he would send a free kit so I could easily disconnect battery when sitting for a long time. Also recommended my using a float charger on battery to keep it charged up when not being used. Very good customer support from Champion company."
Review 5 for Champion 3000 Running / 3500 Peak Watts Wireless Remote Electric Start Portable Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Upper Midwest
Date:September 20, 2010

Great product!

Pros: it does what it says it will do
Model Number: 46538
"Purchased my Champion 3500/3000 Wireless remote start generator
I got it home opened it up and was real impressed with what I had bought. The quality appears very good. The instructions we in good English. Support was great and once I followed all the directions it start like a champ. Hooked up My RV and low and behold it ran everything. I am impressed. If it lasts and runs as good as it looks I will promote your products everywhere I go.
Just a happy guy here."
Review 6 for Champion 3000 Running / 3500 Peak Watts Wireless Remote Electric Start Portable Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Charlottesville, VA
Date:September 17, 2010

Excellent Machine for the Money!

Pros: good customer service from champion
Cons: heavy to lift into the back of a truck
Model Number: 46538
"I purchased one of these just before the 4th of July. The meter now shows a little over 200 trouble free hours. I have an older Champion without electric start that has the same engine and over 1,000 trouble free hours.
Some complaints are about the manual and CPE not providing a bottle of oil. Come on guys, you can't be that picky. If you do not understand something in the manual call the Tech support line with the 800 number on the generator. I called and received an immediate answer from a knowledgeable person. The tech line is manned 24/7.
The generator is loud compared to a much more expensive inverter model. But, the ability to start or stop the generator without going outside in the rain or wind makes it OK by me. It will run our refrigerator, freezer, TV, microwave and a bunch of lights easily. We were without power in late July when a truck ran into a pole and broke the lines. The generator was a lifesaver.
I use it with our RV and no one has complained about the loudness. We have a small farm and I power lights, saws, a small air compressor, hedge trimmer all from this generator in a small trailer behind my tractor.
I think it is all about understanding and expectations. If you want a reliable work horse generator and can live with a little extra engine noise and distortion on the AC wave then this is an excellent product. It is not as loud as a smaller Coleman my brother has. If you want quite and a perfect sine wave then spend 4x more and buy a Blue or Red 3,000 watt inverter generator."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Champion 3000 Running / 3500 Peak Watts Wireless Remote Electric Start Portable Generator
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northern Nevada
Date:September 9, 2010

what a letdown!!

Model Number: 3000/3500 w / remote control
"This looked like what we were looking for to power our 30' travel trailer which has a 30 amp. hookup. This miserable thing would not run a 900w microwave & 1000w coffee maker @ the same time. Not to mention that the remote control would neither start nor stop said generator( yes the battery was installed correctly !) . Don't even think of running an Ac unit !! Maybe the gen was mislabelled---should be sold as a 35 watt unit."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Champion 3000 Running / 3500 Peak Watts Wireless Remote Electric Start Portable Generator
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lehi, Utah
Date:September 8, 2010

problem right out of the box

"right out of the box the generator didn't work. After a long conversation with the manufacturer and finding that the wiring was installed wrong . I took the generator to a service location which kept the generator for 2 weeks during which time parts were replaced and wiring redone. The generator worked great for a weekend camping trip. 2 weeks later when taken on another camping trip the electric start failed to work. The generator worked well with the pull start and provided appropriate power but is requiring another trip to the service location. I do not recommend this product for any dependable requirement"
Review 9 for Champion 3000 Running / 3500 Peak Watts Wireless Remote Electric Start Portable Generator
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2010

Had to return product

Pros: great return policy
Cons: noisy
Model Number: Champion 3000/3500
"Costco is great, maybe I got a lemon.
The generator would not run unless you played with the choke. This made the remote kinda useless. After the unit ran and got warm it would not restart until it cooled. Other than that when it ran it did produce the rated power, with a very high noise level.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Champion 3000 Running / 3500 Peak Watts Wireless Remote Electric Start Portable Generator
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Marysville, WA
Date:July 2, 2010

Poor workmanship

Pros: remote start, price
Cons: poor quality
Model Number: 46538
"This is not the product that I would expect Costco to sell. After adding oil and gas I started it up to see how noisy it was (not bad but not great). After shutting it off I saw fuel dripping out of the carburetor. Called the number for warranty work and they gave me the name of a local shop to work on it.
I’ll post another review when I get it back. I see that they are out of stock already; it will be interesting to see if Costco continues to sell this product."
Review 11 for Champion 3000 Running / 3500 Peak Watts Wireless Remote Electric Start Portable Generator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Renton, WA
Date:July 1, 2010

Decent generator for the money

Pros: electric start works well, easy assembly
Cons: dirty power. output not sinusoidal
Model Number: TB80EC
"For the money, this is a great buy.
I tried to run a 1500VA UPC battery backup for a computer off of the output, but found it wouldn't charge. It kept clicking between generator power and battery mode. I hooked up an oscilloscope to see the power output, and it was more triangular than sinusoidal, with some noise and ringing near the peaks. Apparently, the battery backup saw the generator output as a 'brownout', so wouldn't charge from it.
Despite a rather 'dirty' power output, the generator should still be useful for my needs, which are to run a refridgerator during a power outage. I'm happy with the purchase, and would have given it 5 stars if I could run computer equipment off of a battery backup (I can't)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Champion 3000 Running / 3500 Peak Watts Wireless Remote Electric Start Portable Generator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Palm Springs, Ca
Date:July 1, 2010
Pros: simple to assemble
Cons: noisey for pm camping
Model Number: 3000
"Good value. Bought for emergency situation only. Would not recomend in a camp ground at nite. Louder then I hoped it would be."
Review 13 for Champion 3000 Running / 3500 Peak Watts Wireless Remote Electric Start Portable Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:June 30, 2010

Great for emergency preparedness

Pros: wheels and handles allow ease of movement, price
Cons: poor instructions but not too hard to figure out
"I ordered this generator last month, and although that said to expect delivery in about 3 weeks, I received it via UPS in 3 days. The delivery person asked where I would like to put it, and handtrucked it into my garage. The outer cardboard casing was slightly damaged, causing me to open it to check for damage, which there was none, although I wanted to leave it in the shipping case for disaster preparedness. As others have said, the instructions are not well written, and as other generators I've purchased have also contained a quart of oil, it is your responsibility to purchase this on your own (1 qt. of 10-30w in my area) is needed. Once assembled, it started right up. This is a strong and good looking generator, and the quick start key fob is a luxury. It would have been nice to include a plastic pouch to hold the key fob, spark plug wrench and important papers attached to the generator for future use."
Review 14 for Champion 3000 Running / 3500 Peak Watts Wireless Remote Electric Start Portable Generator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2010

Love the electric start!

"Seems fine. Started right up. Tested briefly. Everything worked as expected."
Review 15 for Champion 3000 Running / 3500 Peak Watts Wireless Remote Electric Start Portable Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:East Texas
Date:June 29, 2010

It Worky!

"Easy to assemble. Started right up. Battery is a big plus.
Wish it had oil delivered with, but added Mobil 1 for long time use.
Great product."
Review 16 for Champion 3000 Running / 3500 Peak Watts Wireless Remote Electric Start Portable Generator
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:June 25, 2010

highly overrated

Pros: attractive price, loaded with features
Cons: quality not there
Model Number: 45638
"I bought this generator based on comments found on a RV thread. Started right up and immediately noticed it did not sound right. Pretty noisy internal engine clatter. Cut it off to double check oil level again. Restarted and noise persisted.
Does not measure up to the Onan Cummings Homesite 6500 that I bought several years ago from Costco and is still performing strong. Will return for refund and buy a Homesite 2400.
Won't trust comments found online again-too much brand influence there.
"
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Champion 3000 Running / 3500 Peak Watts Wireless Remote Electric Start Portable Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Castle Rock, Co
Date:June 24, 2010

Best generator for the money!

"Received the generator last night. Timely shipping. Product arrived in perfect condition. Installed the wheel kit and handle, filled her up with gas and oil and fired up on the 1st try! To my great surprise the machine is VERY quiet. I consider this purchase the best money I ever spent-BUY IT!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Champion 3000 Running / 3500 Peak Watts Wireless Remote Electric Start Portable Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gilbert AZ
Date:June 23, 2010

Incredible Bargain

Pros: price, features, quality
Cons: shipping packaging, instructions
Model Number: 45638
"I have used traditional contractor grade generators as well as high priced Honda inverter generators.
This generator is most definately quieter than a standard run of the mill generator, and definately louder than the Honda eu3000i. At idle, two people can have a normal volume conversation while standing on either side of it. When it idles up, not so much.
I was able to run my 13,500btu AC, microwave, and 20" CRT television all at the same time in my travel trailer.
The remote start and stop works great. The build quality is good.
I have two complaints. First is that the box didn't do enough to protect the generator during shipping. The ground terminal was bent over, as well as one of the battery terminals. Second, the instructions for assembly were a little weak. Not so much so that a little common sense would not see you through.
All together a great buy. I challenge anyone to find a better bargain. Champion is NOT a Chinese company. Headquarters/Ownership, Engineering, Quality Control, and Customer Service are all in the US. They are built in their own factory in China. No, I don't work for them. I only just researched them when I found this bargain.
A great product."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Champion 3000 Running / 3500 Peak Watts Wireless Remote Electric Start Portable Generator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:June 22, 2010

Excellent Purchase!

Pros: very fast delivery, easy to assemble the wheel kit
Cons: a bit loud, did not come with any oil to put in.
Model Number: 46538
"I ordered my generator on 6/12 and by 6/17 it was sitting on my doorstep. I finally had a chance to open it and put it together (very minor work) and once I added fuel and oil it fired right up. It also runs my air conditioner (13,500) and my Microwave. I'm very pleased!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Champion 3000 Running / 3500 Peak Watts Wireless Remote Electric Start Portable Generator
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ukiah, CA
Date:June 19, 2010

Remote Start is the best feature

"Remote Start works great. Generator louder than most. Tends to be a gas hog compared to the Honda generators I've used. However the price cannot be beat. Gets the job done, just wish it had an economy switch."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>