Customer Reviews for Sentry®Safe 1.3 Cubic Ft. Key Lock Waterproof Security File

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sentry®Safe 1.3 Cubic Ft. Key Lock Waterproof Security File

Protection from fire and water is yours with every SentrySafe Waterproof Fire File product. A continuous 360 jamb and waterproof seal completely insulate the interior from the threat of water invasion. A full-time latch seals the unit even when it is unlocked. Features: Color: Silver Gray   Key lock for privacy   ETL Verified 1/2-hour fire protection for CDs, DVDs, USB drives and memory sticks up to 1550F   UL Classified 1/2-hour proven fire protection   Waterproof Seal-ETL Verified   Lifetime after fire replacement   1 year Limited Warranty Dimensions: Exterior: 14.1"H x 17.5"W X 20.3"D; Interior 11.5"H x 13.9"W x 14"D; Weight: 72 lbs   Model: H3100
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
(out of 27 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
22 of 27(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sentry®Safe 1.3 Cubic Ft. Key Lock Waterproof Security File
Review 1 for Sentry®Safe 1.3 Cubic Ft. Key Lock Waterproof Security File
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Great Lakes
Date:January 20, 2011

Pack it in, keep it protected

Pros: helpful lid support, rail for legal or letter hanging files
Cons: push to open handle takes a little practice
Model Number: H3100
"This safe proved to be the best bet for our primary need: To protect our important papers and backup media from fire and water.
The manufacturer states that the insulation has a high water content that could harm heirloom photos/paper and jewelery. There are pouches made specifically for canoeing/kayaking that are water tight. I use these inside the safe.
As for its form, I would not expect this to keep a desperate thief from carrying it away. But at 72 lbs it still affords some portability for us.
I've read a dozen reviews of Sentry electronic and dial locks not meeting expectations. The main goal I needed for a lock was to make sure the seal on the lid is maintained. A key mechanism is satisfactory.
If there is a risk that this safe might fall 20 or 30 feet in a building collapse, then I would be looking for a much sturdier locking mechanism with bolts.
Overall, this safe is roomy (1.3 cu ft) and accommodating for our needs and it has proven to be another good Costco value."
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry®Safe 1.3 Cubic Ft. Key Lock Waterproof Security File
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2010

Nothing is perfect

"Best but not perfect as waterproof means it can be difficult to close and heavy contructions means lots of pressure on plastic hinge (weakest part IMHO). Plus, this shouldn't be thought of as a safe but just a fire box - it's too easy to break in. But, I think it's the best combination of size (most fire boxes don't accept papers or binders like this one does) and protection (most are not waterproof) for very low cost (cheapest real safe costs 2-3x more). Again, this is for paper and computer backups and not for valuables."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry®Safe 1.3 Cubic Ft. Key Lock Waterproof Security File
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:So CA
Date:October 6, 2011

Poor Lock

"THe lock of this safe appears to be very cheap, the key is like a luggage key. After my wife placed some stuff inside the safe and closed the cover, she could not open the lid, I tried myself and also could not open it. The key was loose in either vertical or horizontal positions and you can pull it out easily.
There are also no handles to carry/move this heavy object around. I 'd like to return except it is too heavy of old folks
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry®Safe 1.3 Cubic Ft. Key Lock Waterproof Security File
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:March 10, 2012

Needs Handles

Pros: sturdy solid
Cons: no handles hard to move
Model Number: H3100
"This is a good product, well designed and built with one exception. It's large and heavy, but has no handles. You'd think that in a fire, a person might be interested in saving valuable documents that would be kept in such a box. (It only has a 30 minute fire rating.) It takes a man with a strong back and 2 strong hands to move this box. Two handles would make it much more easily carried or moved around."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry®Safe 1.3 Cubic Ft. Key Lock Waterproof Security File
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:November 27, 2013

Second Purchase

Pros: sentry customer support - no issues for 10+ years
Cons: none
Model Number: H3100
"This is my second Sentry safe of the same model purchased through Costco. Sentry support is excellent. Additional keys can be purchased online or through the Sentry service desk. The safe is highly rated for water and fire damage. The model that I purchased is an excellent size for convenient storage. My original Sentry safe purchased over a decade ago works flawlessly."
Review 6 for Sentry®Safe 1.3 Cubic Ft. Key Lock Waterproof Security File
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Santa Maria, CA
Date:January 23, 2011

disappointed

Model Number: H3100 Sentry Security File
"Overall good purchase. I was very disappointed that I was unable to use legal sized file folders, even though the inside is set up for letter and A4 (legal) folders. The standard hanging file folders I purchased did not fit. (too big)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry®Safe 1.3 Cubic Ft. Key Lock Waterproof Security File
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles,CA
Date:August 1, 2011

don't waste your money $$$$$$

Pros: none
Cons: useless
"This is the second safe I purchased from Sentry. The first one lasted a little over one year until the hindges started to break into pieces. The second safe lasted about a year until the lock wouldn't work anymore."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry®Safe 1.3 Cubic Ft. Key Lock Waterproof Security File
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:April 27, 2012

Good Safe

Pros: good product
Cons: hard to lock unless top is slammed or dropped
"At first I couldn't get this to lock and thought I would have to return it. After several attempts, I slammed it shut and could lock it. To unlock it you have to use some pressure on the top as it "seals" itself when closed. It's a good safe and I feel secure about valuables when not at home."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sentry®Safe 1.3 Cubic Ft. Key Lock Waterproof Security File
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:O'Fallon, MO
Date:October 9, 2010

Larger than expected

"This is much larger than expected and also much heavier. It is very convenient to use with things being organized instead of just dumped in a box. It seems very sturdy and know I will enjoy it. Shipping was quite fast.
This is a file box and will hold quite a large number of hanging files.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sentry®Safe 1.3 Cubic Ft. Key Lock Waterproof Security File
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tampa, Fl
Date:October 4, 2010

excellent safe for the money

Model Number: H3100
"This safe is huge. You can put in hanging files and there is plenty of room for you valuables, jewelry, hand guns, even a laptop computer. Very happy, great value and free shipping to boot."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sentry®Safe 1.3 Cubic Ft. Key Lock Waterproof Security File
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:October 24, 2011

Great Safe

Pros: lots of space
"This is a great product at a great price.
It has lots of space, came delivered to the front door, holds legal and letter sized folders.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sentry®Safe 1.3 Cubic Ft. Key Lock Waterproof Security File
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:October 4, 2010

Roomy, solid looking

"It's bigger than I thought. A lot of room for files and stuff. Construction looks solid, easy to use."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sentry®Safe 1.3 Cubic Ft. Key Lock Waterproof Security File
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southern CA
Date:March 28, 2011

Good Buy

Pros: size & weight
"I would buy again. Good Quality, nice size to fit 8.5 X 11 Files."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sentry®Safe 1.3 Cubic Ft. Key Lock Waterproof Security File
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2012

Great safe

"This safe has lots of room inside and seems very sturdy and reliable. Obviously I cannot prove its safety ratings and hopefully I will never have to, but I have some piece of mind knowing important documents are that much safer. I have not noticed any problems with the locking mechanism as others mentioned, however I have only used it for just over a week opening it about once a day. Overall it is exactly what I wanted...A fire proof safe with plenty of room and the convenience of storing files. I would recommend it to everyone."
Review 15 for Sentry®Safe 1.3 Cubic Ft. Key Lock Waterproof Security File
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2012

Better purchase than expected.

"This Save arrived within a short time after I placed my order. This larger than expected is heavy..so I put it on a small dolly so it can be moved easily. It fits nicely in my closet. I followed the instructions to open, close and lock - there was no problem. The safe filing structure is excellent....got all my hanging files in with ease. The pricing is great which includes delivery. I have never been disappointed by any of my Costco purchases."
Review 16 for Sentry®Safe 1.3 Cubic Ft. Key Lock Waterproof Security File
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wisconsin
Date:August 18, 2012

Why did I wait?

Pros: a great value, delivery was quick, not so hard to haul around
Model Number: Sentry® Safe Fire-safe Waterproof Security File
"I've misused a bank safe deposit box for years. Some vital stuff is in, some is at home sitting in a desk. I don't know what's where. So I bought this not too big, not too heavy (but not too light) box, canceled my bank box, found a good spot in my basement, put all my vital papers inside...and I have simplified my life. Quite a bargain!"
Review 17 for Sentry®Safe 1.3 Cubic Ft. Key Lock Waterproof Security File
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sunnyvale
Date:October 9, 2011

Very bad lock, watch out ...

Cons: poorly designed lock
"The lock on this safe is poorly designed. It can be tough to lock without putting significant pressure on the lid, and we had one circumstance when we couldn't get the safe open after it was locked ... I had to file away at part of the lock to prevent this from happening again!!!
Based on our experiences with it over a long period, I absolutely would not recommend this safe.
"
Review 18 for Sentry®Safe 1.3 Cubic Ft. Key Lock Waterproof Security File
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:March 28, 2012

Perfect!!

Pros: perfect!!!
Cons: bulky-but that's a good thing-harder to steal.
Model Number: H3100
"This is the perfect size and configuration for us. It is heavy duty and easy to use. Like any other water proof container with a seal, you have to make some downward pressure on the lid when locking, opening and closing. This is very reassuring confirming it is fully closed and water tight."
Review 19 for Sentry®Safe 1.3 Cubic Ft. Key Lock Waterproof Security File
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Parker, CO
Date:September 22, 2011

Good Safe

Pros: simple & easy to use., hidden hinges.
Cons: folder inserts do not slide easily.
Model Number: H3100
"This safe is simple & easy to use while matching our needs to keep important documents & portable disk drives safe. We found that folder inserts do NOT slide easily due to poor interior side molding design. The inserts touch the side thus preventing free movement. Otherwise, an excellent safe."
Review 20 for Sentry®Safe 1.3 Cubic Ft. Key Lock Waterproof Security File
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:April 24, 2012
Model Number: H3100
"The finish has tiny scrap sticking out so it is scratchy when handling it. Inside wall where the file folders hang has a slight bulge so the folders are pushed up a little resulting in not hanging securely. Sincce it is too heavy for me to return to Costco, I'll keep it."
1 2 next>>