Customer Reviews for Bionaire® Digital Cool Mist Humidifier with Permanent Filter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Bionaire® Digital Cool Mist Humidifier with Permanent Filter

Programmable Digital Humidistat, 24-hour Run Time, & 16 hour timer
Average Customer Rating:
1.867 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
(out of 15 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
10
3 of 15(20%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bionaire® Digital Cool Mist Humidifier with Permanent Filter
Review 1 for Bionaire® Digital Cool Mist Humidifier with Permanent Filter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Rio Rancho, NM
Date:December 2, 2010

Product Leaked

Pros: did humidify room
Cons: noise, leaked, bright light when operating
"The product started off pretty well. While it was noisier than expected the water level did drop under max output operation. The problem occurred in the middle of the night when I could hear dripping. I got up to find the unit was leaking all over the chair it was on and the floor. I will be taking it back."
Review 2 for Bionaire® Digital Cool Mist Humidifier with Permanent Filter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2010

Just about useless

Pros: costco return policy
Cons: loud fan brightlight does not humidify
"I bought this two days ago as we were coming down with something and also as we are heating the house the air is much drier. The is fan loud, the lights are bright. I placed a humidity gauge 2 feet above the unit to test it's effectiveness. No change, in other words, it does not work. About all it does is create a little cold spot around itself. This will be going back. I'd rather pay more for one that actually humidifies the air."
Review 3 for Bionaire® Digital Cool Mist Humidifier with Permanent Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:November 28, 2010

Works great for us!!

"The previous poor reviews are surprising to me because this humidifier has worked great for us in our living room. We live in Colorado where it is extremely dry and this humidifier cycles on and off according to the desired humidity level."
Review 4 for Bionaire® Digital Cool Mist Humidifier with Permanent Filter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:November 28, 2010

At best an expensive fan

Pros: cheap if it actually worked
Cons: it doesn't
"I wanted this to work. It was cheap, had a reusable wick, and was evaporative. So I disregarded all of the negative reviews and thought...well maybe they just weren't doing it right. Lesson learned! This thing really doesn't work. I tried it on setting 2- 60% humidity the 1st night because it was the only setting that would click on (and there is no way the actual humidity in my house is that high....my nose and mouth don't lie). In the morning, only about an inch of water was gone. The next day, I put in on the 'stay on' setting and still, there was absolutely no humidification of the room. Costco should not even stock this, to be honest. It must keep their returns people very busy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bionaire® Digital Cool Mist Humidifier with Permanent Filter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2010

DOA

Model Number: BCM7910PF
"Though the box does a good job of warning you will not actually see the moisture emanating from this device, and the enclosed materials warn to give up to 30 minutes for the wick to become saturated before expecting performance, nothing can come out if the fan never spins up.
Bad motor out of the box. Now we need to return the unit.
And, yeah, as another review mentions, the blue lights are very bright."
Review 6 for Bionaire® Digital Cool Mist Humidifier with Permanent Filter
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Longmont, CO
Date:November 12, 2010

You get what you pay for

Pros: cheap running time programmable
Cons: very noisy, doesn't humidify very well
Model Number: Item # 518478
"We had a (not so cheap) air-o-swiss humidifier for almost 2 years for our boys bedroom and it has run wisper quiet with without any issues since we bought it. We purchased a cheap humidifier for our bedroom when we had to run the furnace last winter. It barely made it through the winter and then quit working. Now we bought this one a couple of weeks ago, but to our disappointment it runs so noisy that you can hear it from downstairs, and everytime it switches on/off when it reaches its desired humidity level, it wakes us up. We will be returning it tomorrow and purchase a better rated model."
Review 7 for Bionaire® Digital Cool Mist Humidifier with Permanent Filter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Spokane WA
Date:November 7, 2010

Poor Design, Poor Quality

Pros: costco warranty
Cons: unit has a poor quality fan, poor quality humidity output, short lifespan
"Seemed ok but mediocre at first. As time went on the airflow decreased even on high and the fan got louder, with a rasping noise like the bearings in the fan were going out. I opened the unit and found that only the bottom 1/4 of the filter was maintaining moisture, which is probably why the humidity output of this unit is so poor. The fan has now developed a "rasping" noise to it, and it putting out next to no air.
Needless to say, it's going back to Costco."
Review 8 for Bionaire® Digital Cool Mist Humidifier with Permanent Filter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:November 6, 2010

Stay away from this product

Pros: sleek design
Cons: hard to fill, hard to clean, doesn't humidify, bionaire poor customer service
Model Number: BCM7910
"This humidifier is poorly designed, hard to fill, hard to clean. I just threw them all out and replaced them, it's not worth the money or the trouble. Runs out of water fast and doesn't humidify. Tried to contact Bionaire and they had very poor customer service. I'm surprised Costco sells such an inferior product, usually I find that the models they sell are of better quality."
Review 9 for Bionaire® Digital Cool Mist Humidifier with Permanent Filter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Michighan
Date:November 4, 2010
Model Number: BCM7910PF
"Now that the furnace is running I thought that the Bionaire Humidifier would give me some relief for my dry mouth. I don't find that happening at all. There is no "Cool Mist". It's not as good as a drink of water. I wish I would not have made the purchase."
Review 10 for Bionaire® Digital Cool Mist Humidifier with Permanent Filter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2010

Garbage

"Don't waste your money. Doesn't humidify. Bad design. Water leakage."
Review 11 for Bionaire® Digital Cool Mist Humidifier with Permanent Filter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Alamos,NM
Date:October 24, 2010

Humidification is Weak

Pros: easy to fill tank filter cleaning is convienent
Cons: somewhat noisy unit fan low humidity output, very disappointed
"We replaced our 4 year old Humidifier with this "Ultra Sonic Unit:" expecting a change for the better. Unfortunately, we are disappointed. The "Ultra Sonic Mist" does not humidify our bedroom 12x24. The mist although "Ultrasonic" is very weak. Living in a high altitude "Dry" climate we expected more. We are on the lookout for a replacement model that will humidify our living space."
Review 12 for Bionaire® Digital Cool Mist Humidifier with Permanent Filter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:October 23, 2010

Um, it doesn't humidify

Model Number: BWM7922-UM
"We have used this for two nights now to help our son with his cold/cough. We can't feel any moisture coming out of the vent, nor does the room feel moist, and hardly any water has been used in the tank. Our son keeps coughing and this thing keeps blowing cold air and we keep having to rock him back to sleep. LAME. We'll be returning this."
Review 13 for Bionaire® Digital Cool Mist Humidifier with Permanent Filter
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:October 21, 2010

Does not humidfy

Pros: sleek design
Cons: blue light cannot be turned off too bright., insufficient humidity even at max setting
"We switched to Bionaire because we had an ultrasonic humidifier earlier and it was getting too much of a hassle to clean it almost daily. We liked the fact that this had a permanent filter. Unfortunately, even with the fan working at the max setting, it did not humidify the room like our old humidifier did. The old humidifier always goes through a huge tank of water by the morning, whereas this one pushed only 1/4 of a tank of water out over 8-10 hours! We tried it for 3 nights so far now and I woke up every single night with a parched throat and have to drink water to get back to sleep. And this was on their Max setting!
I don't know if it is just this unit that is inefficient but we will be returning this."
Review 14 for Bionaire® Digital Cool Mist Humidifier with Permanent Filter
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Manteca, CA
Date:October 12, 2010

Great Product

Pros: easy to use, filter is permanent
"Very easy to use and the filter is great and easy to clean. Programming is simple and the controls are no problem to learn. Works great in our bedroom."
Review 15 for Bionaire® Digital Cool Mist Humidifier with Permanent Filter
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:October 7, 2010

Poor design

Pros: does the job, quiet, timer, permanent filter
Cons: water container
Model Number: BCM7910PF
"The water container is poorly designed. I've been trying to dry the inside for a week and there is still lots of moisture. For the price, it does the job. You have to be careful when lifting the water container to refill as water could spill."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.