Customer Reviews for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Designed for long life and quiet operation, the KitchenAid® stand mixer is the one mixer that generations have depended on for power, performance and durability. Built to handle large batches easily, this professional mixer features a rugged, all-metal construction, a powerful 575-watt motor, and KitchenAid's unique planetary mixing action that reaches every part of the bowl Attachments (Included):   Burnished flat beater   Burnished professional dough hook   Professional wire whip Features:   Colors available: Silver, Empire Red, White or Onyx Black   Durable, all-metal construction designed for long life and quiet operation   Powerful 575-watt motor mixes large batches easily   Unique KitchenAid 67 point planetary mixing action reaches every part of the bowl   Soft Start™ mixing eliminates "puff" of ingredients on start up   10-speeds   Electronic speed control   5.5 quart polished stainless steel bowl with handle   Ergonomically designed bowl lift handle for a comfortable no slip grip   Large capacity   Heavy-duty bowl lift lever   Five rubber feet to protect countertops and help ensure mixer stability   Fan cooled motor   Commercial auto reset   Locked rotor protection   Hinged hub cover    UL listed   Dimensions: 13.3" W x 14.6" D x 16.5" H   Weight: 25 lbs.   1 year warranty   Made in the USA For more product information please call Kitchen Aid at 1-800-541-6390. Model: 511513 / 11590351
Average Customer Rating:
3.509 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
(out of 57 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
8
1 star
13
34 of 57(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Review 1 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2011

Snap the bowl in

"People that complain about this product, say one of 2 things.
1) the beater hits the side
2) the bowl bounces out
Both of these problems are because you didn't snap the bowl in. If you look at the back of the bowl, there's a knob welded to the back, right below the rim. If you look at the lift arm, at the back, there's a clip with a hole in the tab. You need to push the back of the bowl down until that knob snaps into the hole in the clip, which locks the bowl in.
If you don't the bowl is not level which is why the beater hits the bowl, and can jiggle out. If you don't snap it in, the beater can rub, and if it rubs alot, it can burn out the motor.
Also, there's an adjustment screw. When you lower the bowl, it's on the back of the U arm, just above the moving panel. It's a flat head screw. just turn it to raise or lower the locked in height. Adjust it so that the paddle beater is just above the bottom of the bowl. It should never actually touch the bowl.
Hope this helps."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lantana, Florida
Date:April 10, 2011

Awesome!

Model Number: KV25MCXOB
"I have been reading reviews of all different Kitchenaid mixers for months. Finally decided to take a chance on the one at Costco. I love it!!!
Before the first use I looked at the gears and the the flat mixer was hitting the bottom, so I read how to adjust, adjusted it and it still hit...then I noticed the back lock for the bowl (duh!) Locked the bowl in place and it works perfectly, no scraping. Also, if you don't lock it in place, of course the bowl will wobble and possibly come off.
I have used it for cakes, frostings, fillings and bread. Haven't had a problem. I haven't encountered it getting hot or shutting off yet, so we'll see.
On the noise, seriously, the noise this machine makes is way less than my old mixer...I didn't hear "mom stop mixing, I can't hear what so and so is saying" even once, ha ha.
Handwashing the pieces is nothing, takes less than 2 minutes to wash the pieces by hand.
It is heavy, but that is a pro in my book!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 27, 2011

Best bang for the buck

Pros: powerful, makes great bread dough
Cons: loud
"I have had this machine for about a year now, after owning one of the smaller KitchenAid mixers for a long time. This mixer does a much better job with bread dough and it is easier to add ingredients thanks to the wide bowl. I have not had any problems with overheating or the bowl coming loose as other reviewers have. Make sure you are using the correct speed setting (only #2 with the dough hook) and you should not have issues. One thing I noticed in the manual is that the mixer is supposed to be able to mix up to 14 cups of flour per batch. I think 7 or 8 cups is more realistic, especially with bread dough. I normally make 3 one pound loaves at a time.
One thing to be aware of, and really the only reason this did not get 5 stars from me, is that this machine is fairly loud. It has to be at least 3 or 4 times louder than the smaller KitchenAid I had. I guess that's a tradeoff of getting a higher powered motor without a big price tag."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:OH
Date:August 27, 2010

A must have for a baker

"KitchenAid stand mixers are the best for the at home baker. This model is the professional grade and competitively priced at Costco vs. the consumer grade found in other retail stores.
There are key differences between the professional and consumer grade models. In the Prof model, the bowl raises and lowers, in the Cons the top of the mixer flips up (this is the one advantage of the consumer grade model). The Prof model has more power -great for bread making and other thick dough recipes. Both models have several attachment options (grinders, pasta makers, etc) which can be bought seperately.
The only very minor drawback (for both models) is that sometimes thicker dough mixtures will require assistance with a spatula to incorporate the dry ingredients that tend to clump at the bottom of the bowl. Padels with spatula blades can also be bought seperately."
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Schertz, TX
Date:December 5, 2010

The Best!

Pros: you cant beat this price, it is a work horse!, its large but still fits nicely under the cabinet, two words: costco warranty!
Model Number: kv25mcx white
"This KitchenAid mixer is an exclusive to Costco. I contacted KitchenAid myself to ask a few questions about it before I bought it.
This new generation of Pro series mixers goes back to the good old days of METAL gears and gear housing. I had read a lot of reviews of other models similar to this and a lot of them stated the gear housing cracking and the gears breaking. So with the metal this shouldn't be a problem.
There were also a lot of complaints about the attachments. They are a burnished metal...and true you cannot put them in the dish washer...but I use my mixer more than once a week and I cant think of a time that i was like "my life would be so much easier if I could put this in the dishwasher!". They come clean very easily. Another thing I asked KitchenAid, was about reports of the "finish" of the burnished metal attachments coming off in peoples food. They told me that there is no coating, paint, enamel...nothing on the burnished metal...its just metal. So it would be impossible for anything to come off of these attachments.
And one last thing I have seen a lot of people complain about with this model is the noise....the hp in this model is or almost DOUBLE most of the smaller KitchenAid models most people buy. So it makes sense that the motor is a little louder. I don't see this as a problem because its not like this thing runs at all hours of the day! Do you complain about your lawn mower being loud? Nope!
This mixer is a lot larger than the traditional KitchenAid mixers most people own. I myself own a regular model (325 watt) and the foot print of this larger mixer is only a few inches bigger than the smaller one, so it doesn't take up that much more space. It is a lot taller though. But it still fits nicely underneath the cabinets when sitting on a counter top!
All in all this has been an AMAZING product for me. I have only owned it for a less than a month but time will tell. So far the only thing I have made with this mixer is bread, and lots of it and i haven't had any problems with it being bogged down"
25 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NW Montana
Date:January 16, 2012

Made to sell, not to use.

Pros: it's pretty
Cons: not made for use
Model Number: KV25MCXOB
"My wife was very excited to finally get a Kitchenaid mixer. We picked out a nice black one to go with our kitchen. We got home, set it all up, washed up the attachments, put eggs and sugar in the bowl for chocolate chip cookies, plugged it in, turned the switch to 1, and ...............nothing. Turned the switch to 2.........still nothing, nada, nil, zilch. She almost cried. I checked it out with a voltmeter, but was disappointed to what I saw inside, plastic and a computer board. It was not a loose wire or an easy fix. It was easy to return, as Costco makes it nice, they even wanted to exchange it but I declined, why would I want another one of these? A freak incident? I think not. My sister bought one for her son's wedding last year and it didn't work either. Why can't they make things to last, or even work, like they used to? My Mother got her Kitchenaid in the 70's and never had a problem with it to this day. Where everything about it was made in the USA.
I reckon it's all about the bottom line with companies these days, rather than providing a quality product to consumers. Guess I'll find one from the good ole days.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Western Washington
Date:November 4, 2011

AWESOME Kitchen Helper

Pros: accessories interchangeable with 6qt.models
Cons: not one
Model Number: Professional 550 HD
"I've drooled over these mixers for years and finally allowed myself the pleasure of purchasing one prior to Christmas 2010. WOW, have I had a FUN TIME. I found the Test Kitchen Christmas Cookie magazine in the Costco rack at the same time. I scratched up the inside of my bowl too but shortly realized it was my fault because I hadn't snapped the back in place. Made some minor adjustments with the screw then started baking cookies and breads to fill Christmas Baskets for my clients. Went over so well . . they have actually requested that I do it again this Christmas!
Noting the measurement of the 5.5qt. @ 9.5 inches (across the top). Search on-line and you will find shields, rubber spatula tools (for mixing nuts and chocolate chips into dough) and even a smaller 3qt bowl (with it's own beater) that will fit the Costco model. These accessories will be noted for 6qt. models. The only difference between the Costco 5.5qt and a 6qt. is the DEPTH (not the width) of the bowl. Again, the 3qt. is again the same width @ 9.5 inches just SHORTER IN DEPTH. It is perfect for whipping up toppings, eggs etc. leaving your larger 5.5qt bowl available for dry ingredients.
To be noted, I made the BEST CREME BRULEE using the recipe from the Test Kitchen . . Absolutely, OUT OF THIS WORLD! Everything I've made so far has turned out awesome thanks to my Kitchen Aid Professional 550 HD mixer.
When you have the right tools, a "so-so wanna be" cook/baker can have fun finding themselves doing wonderus things!
I will end with this comment . . .
You'd have to pry my Kitchen Aid Mixer out of my cold dead hands. I won't give it up for anything. LOVE IT !!! and LOVE COSTCO for having such great products at totally affordable prices!!"
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:bozeman mt
Date:July 11, 2011

not what it used to be

"This is my third kitchen aid. the 54 year old model (my Mother's)and the 32 year old model have been passed on to my sons and still run perfectly. I upgraded to a bigger & newer and dismally bought the plastic component mixer. the beater always hit the bowl. Kitchen Aids' response was, you must have the bowl in improperly (first lesson learned...when the beater bar hits for too long, the housing cracks and gears strip), the mixer danced across the counter top, and missed spots in the bowl. I have had it repaired twice, and to no avail as the plasticinside is junk. Kitchen Aid service was no help, nothing they could do except send it in for an estimate ( potentially over $300.00), or offer me a refurbished mixer for $249.00 with a 6 mos warranty with free shipping. They did admit that I am not the first complaint , by far, about this mixer. They have gone back to metal housing and gears, but they are still junk. Don't waste good money on what appears to be a semi-professional type home mixer.Any ideas out there for a better option?"
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Louis
Date:December 2, 2010

So far so good

Pros: strong, looks great, great price
Cons: doesn't come with pouring shield
Model Number: KV25MCXER
"Read a lot of reviews, some negative, before buying this and I can say that so far I only have positive things to say about this mixer. This is for the Professional 550 HD model Costco carried in 2010. First thing I made was mashed potatoes. Way cool and very easy. Bowl was full of potatoes (7 or 8 mid size), no problem. Then I tried 100% whole wheat bread. The thing lots of mixers fail at. Used the recipe in the book, 5+ cups of flour. I substituted the powdered milk with a third cup white flour, so I had a total of 6 cups flour in all. Mixed up without even a slight hesitation. No flour shooting everywhere, no gear grinding, no shutting down, no bouncing across the table or any of the other things I have read online. Next I will try sprouted wheat bread and see how that does. This mixer looks great, we got the red one, and it really doesn't take up that much counter space. I guess it all depends on what you are used to having on your counters. It fits under cabinets just fine and it looks great sitting out. Also, if your blades are scraping the bottom, read the instructions! They tell you how to adjust that. Can't wait to mix something else up now!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cali
Date:October 13, 2010

Awesome mixer!

Pros: powerful, beautiful, easy to clean
Cons: doesn't handle very small batches well
Model Number: KV25MCX
"I've been wanting a kitchenAid stand mixer for a while now. I chose this model because of the 575-watt motor and dough hook which enables it to easily knead yeast doughs. Plus if anything goes wrong you can return it thanks to Costco's AWESOME return policy. I've had it for a week and made gnocchi, cinnamon rolls, french bread, and banana bread. It churned through the yeast dough with no problems. Just be sure to read the manual thoroughly because you need to use certain speeds and attachments for different doughs. It doesn't seem loud to me like the other reviewers said... It does have a 575-watt motor! You can still talk without yelling when it's on. I like the bowl lift feature also because it just fits under my cabinets. I would have to move the head tilt model out from under my cabinets whenever I would use it which would be annoying. With the bowl lift feature the mixer can just sit on my counter in the same spot constantly. I can't wait to get some attachments and try out the power hub! One con is that the mixer needs help to incorporate all ingredients when using a REALLY small batch. Other than that I love it! I'm pretty excited about it, maybe because compared to the hand mixer I burnt out it's awesome."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:south carolina
Date:October 14, 2010

superb mixer

Pros: powerful and great quality
Model Number: KV35MCXCU
"Bought this to replace another Kitchen Aid Mixer that was not powerful enough to make pastas and other larger quantities of other recipes. This mixer is fabulous. It is effortless to use, mixes, kneads and does not overheat like my previous Kitchen Aid. If you enjoy making your own pastas and breads this is an absolute must and the price can't be beat. Great quality...it is as quiet as my other lower wattage Kitchen Aid...but much more powerful."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pacific Northwest
Date:October 27, 2011

Great Mixer

"I see complaints about the attachments scraping the bottom of the bowl. There are two "hooks" that the bowl is placed upon - make sure the back of the bowl is "snapped" into the hole at the center of the machine. Otherwise your attachments will drag and clank in the bowl once it is raised.
This has been a lifesaver for me - I fought against buying one, preferring to mix things by hand, but my hand isn't as young as it once was (the rest of me, of course, is younger than springtime, harrumph)."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:March 12, 2012

KitchenAid can't recognize the problem

Pros: easy cleaning, sturdy exterior, simple beauty
Cons: makes you hate value engineering, shares internals with less powerful models, no pouring shield
Model Number: KV25MCXER
"I don't know how many bad reviews kitchenAid must get before they have to stick a label on all their new mixers to say "Not for Bread!" ... too bad they had a great design and they squandered it.
This machine which is at 575W a 100 Watts more than what I bought previously still smoked and broke its gears with 8 cups of King Arthur flour in 20 minutes. Sent same familiar motor burning odor and grinding gear noises that are too familiar by now to reviewers on many sites. Costco will replace it, but I know it will not last. This is my 7th machine in 4 years with one batch of bread making biweekly. Unfortunately no other alternatives unless one goes to commercial mixers, or take a chance on Bosch which has its own problems.
Also, unlike the 475W (model KG25H) sold be Costco couple of years ago, the new wider bucket allows the dough to climb up the spiral tool and keeps rotating endlessly. You will be lucky if the dough doesn't reach the top and gets smeared with gear grease and metal smudges.
If you bake moderate quantities of bread with bread flour, this machine will be a letdown unless you go with 1/2 of their manual recommendations."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St.Louis, MO
Date:November 12, 2010

Upgrade Time

Pros: power power size attachments (if you use them), lift bowl, color selection
Cons: you want to make things all the time :), loud kids need supervision
"We have been the happy owners of the Standard Size 4 QT kitchenaid for more than 17 years, the same one. We have simply out grown it.
We use it and the new Professional several times a week. It is a counter hog, but when it's something you actually use, it isn't a problem.
I have read some review on this site about hand washing, wisk beaters hitting the sides, etc. I auto dish wash it all. When the wisk beaters hit the sides it is usually because they are not centered on themselves. Yes they do scrape up the pretty bowl, but the point is to use it.
You cannot hurt this USA built rugged and powerful appliance. It is wonderful.
My Grandmother had one, my Mother had one and now we have one. Love it.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:November 23, 2010

Wonderful Product

Pros: powerful big. flexible. rock solid. very useful
Cons: not cheap. takes a good chunk of counter space.
"I like KitchenAid mixers, but for the past few years the new owners of the company have been shipping them with plastic gear boxes that all to often break under load. It is great to see all metal boxes back. This mixer does everything that a home cook needs and more. It has the power to easily make bread dough. It is hard to beat.... and is replacing my current plastic gear box based mixer!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Collegeville, PA
Date:November 30, 2010

Can't be beat

Pros: large capacity, a kitchen staple, beautiful design has not changed since beginni, best price anywhere
Cons: large and heavy, needs to stay on the counter, unless you're a weight lifter, manual gives very few recipes
Model Number: kv25mcxer
"This is absolutely the BEST PRICE you will find anywhere. If you're able to get a rebate or attachment bonus you're even luckier! The new spiral dough hook is incredible. I've been using the pizza dough recipe in the manual and now we only have homemade pizzas as my husband just loves it. My bread has turned out wonderfully as well. Just don't overmix your cakes and batters. It mixes in much less time than your old mixer. Thank you Costco for such a great buy. And just to clarify, these are now "assembled" in the USA, in Ohio, but I believe the parts are imported. So we can't say "Made in the USA" like in the past."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vermont
Date:December 20, 2010

Looking for the extras

Pros: great price, works well
Cons: need ear protection in the kitchen!
"Love the product, but since this product number is special for Costco, it's kind of hard to find the right extras that would fit it. I want to know when Costco will offer the spill shield and attachments to make it a total package."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:March 22, 2011

Do NOT Buy KitchenAid Junk

Cons: poor quality, gears fail, warranty is worthless
Model Number: Professional 600
"DO NOT BUY A KITCHENAID appliance. They use cheap junk for the internal parts. I purchased a KitchenAid Mixer. The gears failed within a couple months. KithenAid claims that the mixer is being "over-worked" when mixing simple bread dough. They also told me I could only mix the recipes that they provide and none from any other source.
They will not honor the warranty on this mixer."
15 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:El Dorado Hills, CA
Date:November 2, 2010
Model Number: KV25MCXER
"I bought the stand mixer from my local Costco on October 16th, 2010. When I lifted the bowl following the instructions and tried to use the flat beater, the beater started to hit and scrape the bottom of the bowl and left marks. I think that the beater is too long. I had to hold the lifting handle manually so I can adjust the position of the bowl and finish tha batter. Now it seems to me that the wire whip does scrape the bottom of the mixing bowl too. Did anybody experience similar problems or am I doing something wrong? I also contacted KitchenAid and I am waiting for their reply. Thank you."
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn Park, MN
Date:July 30, 2012

Only User Error Can Wreck This Wonderful Machine

Pros: does everything but make coffee and tell time., made in the usa always!, parts interchangeable with older unit & vice versa, last mixer you'll ever buy if used properly
Cons: none
"I have probably made at least 50 loaves of bread and countless dozens of cakes, pretzels and bagels, stuffed sausage, I've done more than enough to challenge the most powerful and nostalgic of electric kitchen appliances, the good ol' KitchenAid.
I tell you, this unit, at least for me, did'nt even break a sweat, and I have had it for about a year and a half. My mother has a now 'vintage' 5-Quart kitchen-aid mixer that was my Great-Great Grandmother's anniversary gift! Even at the ripe old age of 64, that not-too-antique KitchenAid still outperforms.
When i unpacked my unit, there was a sticker on the dough hook explicitly stating, in bold print, that it was not to be used above "SPEED 2". Not once, have I stripped a gear, heard loud groaning, or had anything other than consistent, top shelf performance with this mixer, which leads me to wonder if the folks who rated this wonderful machine with 1 star were using it properly"
1 2 3 next>>