Customer Reviews for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Designed for long life and quiet operation, the KitchenAid® stand mixer is the one mixer that generations have depended on for power, performance and durability. Built to handle large batches easily, this professional mixer features a rugged, all-metal construction, a powerful 575-watt motor, and KitchenAid's unique planetary mixing action that reaches every part of the bowl Attachments (Included):   Burnished flat beater   Burnished professional dough hook   Professional wire whip Features:   Colors available: Silver, Empire Red, White or Onyx Black   Durable, all-metal construction designed for long life and quiet operation   Powerful 575-watt motor mixes large batches easily   Unique KitchenAid 67 point planetary mixing action reaches every part of the bowl   Soft Start™ mixing eliminates "puff" of ingredients on start up   10-speeds   Electronic speed control   5.5 quart polished stainless steel bowl with handle   Ergonomically designed bowl lift handle for a comfortable no slip grip   Large capacity   Heavy-duty bowl lift lever   Five rubber feet to protect countertops and help ensure mixer stability   Fan cooled motor   Commercial auto reset   Locked rotor protection   Hinged hub cover    UL listed   Dimensions: 13.3" W x 14.6" D x 16.5" H   Weight: 25 lbs.   1 year warranty   Made in the USA For more product information please call Kitchen Aid at 1-800-541-6390. Model: 511513 / 11590351
Average Customer Rating:
3.509 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
(out of 57 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
8
1 star
13
34 of 57(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Review 1 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn Park, MN
Date:July 30, 2012

Only User Error Can Wreck This Wonderful Machine

Pros: does everything but make coffee and tell time., made in the usa always!, parts interchangeable with older unit & vice versa, last mixer you'll ever buy if used properly
Cons: none
"I have probably made at least 50 loaves of bread and countless dozens of cakes, pretzels and bagels, stuffed sausage, I've done more than enough to challenge the most powerful and nostalgic of electric kitchen appliances, the good ol' KitchenAid.
I tell you, this unit, at least for me, did'nt even break a sweat, and I have had it for about a year and a half. My mother has a now 'vintage' 5-Quart kitchen-aid mixer that was my Great-Great Grandmother's anniversary gift! Even at the ripe old age of 64, that not-too-antique KitchenAid still outperforms.
When i unpacked my unit, there was a sticker on the dough hook explicitly stating, in bold print, that it was not to be used above "SPEED 2". Not once, have I stripped a gear, heard loud groaning, or had anything other than consistent, top shelf performance with this mixer, which leads me to wonder if the folks who rated this wonderful machine with 1 star were using it properly"
Review 2 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2012

I love it

"Love, love, love this mixer, I use it to make bread and pizza mostly, has never disappointed me, never got overheated, never undermixed, never got stuck, is simply amazing, I got it as an early X-mas gift last year from my husband and use it at least once a week, and I cannot believe how I use to bake without it. The no dishwasher part is no biggie for me, whenever I bake I have a bunch of utensils that I wash by hand a couple more won't break me, seriously, you won't get a better deal than this."
Review 3 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Massachusetts
Date:March 1, 2012

Beautiful Brioche

Pros: great job mixing, steady workhorse
Cons: none so far!, probably going to gain weight from all the baking
Model Number: KV25MCXOB
"The gift of a new cookbook got me back to baking. My 35 year old Kitchen Aid mixer was just a little too tired to mix the dough for brioche. I decided to give this newer model a try, and if it had trouble mixing and kneading that dough it was going back. Well, I am keeping it, the dough came out perfectly. I have had no trouble with the gap between the beaters and the bowl as some reviewers have noted. And the motor in this particular mixer handled mixing and kneading for at least 20 minutes!"
Review 4 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:February 28, 2012

Great, as usual

Pros: soft start speed, heavy-duty motor
Cons: none
"My husband purchased this item as a Christmas gift for me. I already "had" a KitchenAid stand mixer but wanted one with a more heavy-duty motor and larger bowl. This mixer, as expected, is fantastic. I love the "Start Smart" mixing speed, which allows me to mix in flour and other dry ingredients without having it poof all over the kitchen counter. The motor is heavy-duty and can take mixing the heavy breads I often make.
I love to cook and own most gadgets made. I use them all on a regular basis. This mixer is great and a "must have" for every cook! And you will never go wrong purchasing a KitchenAid mixer"
Review 5 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:January 5, 2012

I love it

"I just got this one from Costco. I love it so much. I can't wait to try it this weekend. Could someone please tell me how were your machine pack in the box when you open it? My machine was in the box and cover by the foam. I don't see any plastic bag cover the machine. I just wonder if I bough the machine that return by the other customer. I mean, I have to pay almost $300 for this machine. I don't want to buy the return one. Thank you so much."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Harrisonburg, VA
Date:January 3, 2012

Makes life so much easier

"My husband got this Kitchen Aid on Black Friday this year as a Christmas present for me (he gave it to me a month early so I could use it for all my Christmas baking). I love, love, love it! And now I can't believe I spent 32 years making all my cookies/cakes/breads/icing by hand.
The KA totally saves my arm, so I am so much less tired after a round of baking, and it mixes while I measure out other ingredients, which leaves me valuable time to clean up and play with my kids.
It's got a powerful motor, so even thick yeast doughs, like doughnuts, get thoroughly mixed. I was so impressed by how it mixed up my sugar cookies - I normally have to wait a good hour or two with my butter in room temperature before I can start so I can manage to mix up the dough by hand. This time, when I used my KA, I had forgotten to set out the butter, so I put it right in the bowl with the sugar, cold and everything, and it mixed it up so smoothly and well - even better than I could have done by hand with room-temperature butter.
The noise doesn't bother me at all. It is much quieter than my blender (which I also use frequently), so I never feel like it overpowers my kitchen. That said, I have only taken it up to 8, not 10 - and 8 does get a little high-pitched. :) Most of the time, though, I use it on the stir-level or level 2.
Anyway, enough rambling. I was blessed enough to get this on a good sale, but I think it'd be worth the $300 full-price label if it came to that. So helpful! :)"
Review 7 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hawaii
Date:December 30, 2011

Love my new Kitchenaid

"I love to bake and had been stalking the various KA mixers online, but the prices were still a bit of a deterrent even when on sale. I’d decided I was going to buy the KA Artisan as a Christmas gift to myself, but lucky me, I received this as a Christmas gift from my boyfriend.
I am completely obsessed with my new KitchenAid! I used it Christmas day to thank my dear, sweet boyfriend with a batch of peanut butter cookies. I’ve also made the basic white bread and crusty pizza dough recipes that are included in the user manual. Both were very good, especially the pizza dough (double recipe), and sooooo easy to make.
I read a review on another site from someone who contacted KitchenAid regarding the Costco Pro 550 HD KV25MCX and the Pro 600 Series 6Qt KP26M1X models. She was advised that this is basically the same as the Pro 600 only the bowl size, 5.5Qt, is specific to Costco and it does not include a flour shield or a rubber knob on the lift handle. So you’re essentially getting the Pro 600 with a smaller bowl. Talk about an AWESOME deal at Costco! I’ve also read that the accessories for the Pro 550 and the Pro 600 are interchangeable, except the bowl.
I have to agree with a few of the reviewers that people seem to not be using the machine properly. You do need to snap the bowl into the little clip near the base of the machine to “lock” it into place. Once you’ve put the bowl tabs through the little metal cone things on the machine arms, you just need to lean into the bowl a bit and it should snap in – the bowl should not wobble at all. Another helpful tip would be to lookup “KitchenAid dime test” or “beater bowl clearance” online and you’ll be able to view a quick demo on how to adjust the beater height. I tried the dime test as soon as I opened my machine and turns out it was already adjusted perfectly so I didn’t have to do anything.
Another reviewer mentioned that s/he had a problem making bread when s/he tried to use the dough hook on a setting higher than 2. My dough hook had a sticker on it with instructions to NOT use the dough hook on a setting higher than 2. My dough came out perfectly using setting 2; however, I think the “flaw” in that situation was that s/he did not lock the bowl in place.
Regarding the noise, yes, it is a little noisy, but I don’t have anything to compare it to since it’s my first KA. Plus, it is a 575 watt machine…I think some noise is to be expected.
If you follow the directions, you really shouldn’t have any major problems with this mixer. Do some research and most of the issues you have will be an easy fix. I just wish Costco sold some of the attachments like that pasta kit and ice cream maker."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2011

Snap the bowl in

"People that complain about this product, say one of 2 things.
1) the beater hits the side
2) the bowl bounces out
Both of these problems are because you didn't snap the bowl in. If you look at the back of the bowl, there's a knob welded to the back, right below the rim. If you look at the lift arm, at the back, there's a clip with a hole in the tab. You need to push the back of the bowl down until that knob snaps into the hole in the clip, which locks the bowl in.
If you don't the bowl is not level which is why the beater hits the bowl, and can jiggle out. If you don't snap it in, the beater can rub, and if it rubs alot, it can burn out the motor.
Also, there's an adjustment screw. When you lower the bowl, it's on the back of the U arm, just above the moving panel. It's a flat head screw. just turn it to raise or lower the locked in height. Adjust it so that the paddle beater is just above the bottom of the bowl. It should never actually touch the bowl.
Hope this helps."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Western Washington
Date:November 4, 2011

AWESOME Kitchen Helper

Pros: accessories interchangeable with 6qt.models
Cons: not one
Model Number: Professional 550 HD
"I've drooled over these mixers for years and finally allowed myself the pleasure of purchasing one prior to Christmas 2010. WOW, have I had a FUN TIME. I found the Test Kitchen Christmas Cookie magazine in the Costco rack at the same time. I scratched up the inside of my bowl too but shortly realized it was my fault because I hadn't snapped the back in place. Made some minor adjustments with the screw then started baking cookies and breads to fill Christmas Baskets for my clients. Went over so well . . they have actually requested that I do it again this Christmas!
Noting the measurement of the 5.5qt. @ 9.5 inches (across the top). Search on-line and you will find shields, rubber spatula tools (for mixing nuts and chocolate chips into dough) and even a smaller 3qt bowl (with it's own beater) that will fit the Costco model. These accessories will be noted for 6qt. models. The only difference between the Costco 5.5qt and a 6qt. is the DEPTH (not the width) of the bowl. Again, the 3qt. is again the same width @ 9.5 inches just SHORTER IN DEPTH. It is perfect for whipping up toppings, eggs etc. leaving your larger 5.5qt bowl available for dry ingredients.
To be noted, I made the BEST CREME BRULEE using the recipe from the Test Kitchen . . Absolutely, OUT OF THIS WORLD! Everything I've made so far has turned out awesome thanks to my Kitchen Aid Professional 550 HD mixer.
When you have the right tools, a "so-so wanna be" cook/baker can have fun finding themselves doing wonderus things!
I will end with this comment . . .
You'd have to pry my Kitchen Aid Mixer out of my cold dead hands. I won't give it up for anything. LOVE IT !!! and LOVE COSTCO for having such great products at totally affordable prices!!"
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pacific Northwest
Date:October 27, 2011

Great Mixer

"I see complaints about the attachments scraping the bottom of the bowl. There are two "hooks" that the bowl is placed upon - make sure the back of the bowl is "snapped" into the hole at the center of the machine. Otherwise your attachments will drag and clank in the bowl once it is raised.
This has been a lifesaver for me - I fought against buying one, preferring to mix things by hand, but my hand isn't as young as it once was (the rest of me, of course, is younger than springtime, harrumph)."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:gig harbor, wa
Date:May 22, 2011

Sure beats mixing by hand

Pros: built to last
Model Number: 5.5 quart 575 watts
"I am really glad I bought this unit, the attachment (CL) for shredding cheese works great. It is kind of loud, but it sure beats (No Pun) mixing by hand and the 575 watts doesn't slowdown for thick mixes. 2 months of weekly use and it still looks and works great."
Review 12 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lantana, Florida
Date:April 10, 2011

Awesome!

Model Number: KV25MCXOB
"I have been reading reviews of all different Kitchenaid mixers for months. Finally decided to take a chance on the one at Costco. I love it!!!
Before the first use I looked at the gears and the the flat mixer was hitting the bottom, so I read how to adjust, adjusted it and it still hit...then I noticed the back lock for the bowl (duh!) Locked the bowl in place and it works perfectly, no scraping. Also, if you don't lock it in place, of course the bowl will wobble and possibly come off.
I have used it for cakes, frostings, fillings and bread. Haven't had a problem. I haven't encountered it getting hot or shutting off yet, so we'll see.
On the noise, seriously, the noise this machine makes is way less than my old mixer...I didn't hear "mom stop mixing, I can't hear what so and so is saying" even once, ha ha.
Handwashing the pieces is nothing, takes less than 2 minutes to wash the pieces by hand.
It is heavy, but that is a pro in my book!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Merced, CA
Date:March 30, 2011

Great mixer

Pros: lots of power, best for the price
Cons: not a lot of attachments available
"This is a really great mixer. Great power and the attachments work well as well. I wish there was a splash guard included; but good all the same."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pacific NW
Date:January 19, 2011

Love my KitchAid 575 watt xxooxx

Pros: beautiful hard working machine.
Cons: i should have bought one years ago.
Model Number: KitchenAid® Professional 575-Watt, 5.5 Qt Bowl Mixers
"New to KitchenAid stand mixer and I'm having so much fun with it. So far I've made mashed potatoes and "Flour's Famous Sticky Buns."
Search online for the sticky bun receipe, it's to die for and fun to make. Next I'll try bread and pizza dough.
I don't mind the noise at all, sounds powerful and I can tell the motor is performing well.
My machine is black and really compliments the natural granite and black appliances in my kitchen. It fits under the counter and I couldn't imagine not having a bowl lift. Really a great machine at a killer price. Thank you Costco and Santa. :)
"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Herriman, Utah
Date:January 12, 2011

Love it....

Model Number: 575 Watt, 5.5 Qt Mixer
"I have to say, I love everything about this mixer. I purchased it to make bread and the recipes in the booklet that came with the mixer are very good. So easy now to have a fresh baked loaf of bread. And, the price was a huge plus, lowest I have seen."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vermont
Date:December 20, 2010

Looking for the extras

Pros: great price, works well
Cons: need ear protection in the kitchen!
"Love the product, but since this product number is special for Costco, it's kind of hard to find the right extras that would fit it. I want to know when Costco will offer the spill shield and attachments to make it a total package."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:December 14, 2010

A Kitchen necessity!

Pros: versitile useful sturdy
"I LOVE my professional KitchenAid from Costco. I have the red one, which brings color to a very monochormatic kitchen. The large bowl and professional strength makes it great for mixing large batches of breads, cookies and etc. My sister has a smaller version and has mentioned her disappointment with the smaller capacity. I have purchased attachments for it and find it one of the most used appliances in my kitchen. Built to last, versitile, all that we look for in a tool we plan to use and maybe even pass along to our children."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Schertz, TX
Date:December 5, 2010

The Best!

Pros: you cant beat this price, it is a work horse!, its large but still fits nicely under the cabinet, two words: costco warranty!
Model Number: kv25mcx white
"This KitchenAid mixer is an exclusive to Costco. I contacted KitchenAid myself to ask a few questions about it before I bought it.
This new generation of Pro series mixers goes back to the good old days of METAL gears and gear housing. I had read a lot of reviews of other models similar to this and a lot of them stated the gear housing cracking and the gears breaking. So with the metal this shouldn't be a problem.
There were also a lot of complaints about the attachments. They are a burnished metal...and true you cannot put them in the dish washer...but I use my mixer more than once a week and I cant think of a time that i was like "my life would be so much easier if I could put this in the dishwasher!". They come clean very easily. Another thing I asked KitchenAid, was about reports of the "finish" of the burnished metal attachments coming off in peoples food. They told me that there is no coating, paint, enamel...nothing on the burnished metal...its just metal. So it would be impossible for anything to come off of these attachments.
And one last thing I have seen a lot of people complain about with this model is the noise....the hp in this model is or almost DOUBLE most of the smaller KitchenAid models most people buy. So it makes sense that the motor is a little louder. I don't see this as a problem because its not like this thing runs at all hours of the day! Do you complain about your lawn mower being loud? Nope!
This mixer is a lot larger than the traditional KitchenAid mixers most people own. I myself own a regular model (325 watt) and the foot print of this larger mixer is only a few inches bigger than the smaller one, so it doesn't take up that much more space. It is a lot taller though. But it still fits nicely underneath the cabinets when sitting on a counter top!
All in all this has been an AMAZING product for me. I have only owned it for a less than a month but time will tell. So far the only thing I have made with this mixer is bread, and lots of it and i haven't had any problems with it being bogged down"
25 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Louis
Date:December 2, 2010

So far so good

Pros: strong, looks great, great price
Cons: doesn't come with pouring shield
Model Number: KV25MCXER
"Read a lot of reviews, some negative, before buying this and I can say that so far I only have positive things to say about this mixer. This is for the Professional 550 HD model Costco carried in 2010. First thing I made was mashed potatoes. Way cool and very easy. Bowl was full of potatoes (7 or 8 mid size), no problem. Then I tried 100% whole wheat bread. The thing lots of mixers fail at. Used the recipe in the book, 5+ cups of flour. I substituted the powdered milk with a third cup white flour, so I had a total of 6 cups flour in all. Mixed up without even a slight hesitation. No flour shooting everywhere, no gear grinding, no shutting down, no bouncing across the table or any of the other things I have read online. Next I will try sprouted wheat bread and see how that does. This mixer looks great, we got the red one, and it really doesn't take up that much counter space. I guess it all depends on what you are used to having on your counters. It fits under cabinets just fine and it looks great sitting out. Also, if your blades are scraping the bottom, read the instructions! They tell you how to adjust that. Can't wait to mix something else up now!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Collegeville, PA
Date:November 30, 2010

Can't be beat

Pros: large capacity, a kitchen staple, beautiful design has not changed since beginni, best price anywhere
Cons: large and heavy, needs to stay on the counter, unless you're a weight lifter, manual gives very few recipes
Model Number: kv25mcxer
"This is absolutely the BEST PRICE you will find anywhere. If you're able to get a rebate or attachment bonus you're even luckier! The new spiral dough hook is incredible. I've been using the pizza dough recipe in the manual and now we only have homemade pizzas as my husband just loves it. My bread has turned out wonderfully as well. Just don't overmix your cakes and batters. It mixes in much less time than your old mixer. Thank you Costco for such a great buy. And just to clarify, these are now "assembled" in the USA, in Ohio, but I believe the parts are imported. So we can't say "Made in the USA" like in the past."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>