Customer Reviews for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Designed for long life and quiet operation, the KitchenAid® stand mixer is the one mixer that generations have depended on for power, performance and durability. Built to handle large batches easily, this professional mixer features a rugged, all-metal construction, a powerful 575-watt motor, and KitchenAid's unique planetary mixing action that reaches every part of the bowl Attachments (Included):   Burnished flat beater   Burnished professional dough hook   Professional wire whip Features:   Colors available: Silver, Empire Red, White or Onyx Black   Durable, all-metal construction designed for long life and quiet operation   Powerful 575-watt motor mixes large batches easily   Unique KitchenAid 67 point planetary mixing action reaches every part of the bowl   Soft Start™ mixing eliminates "puff" of ingredients on start up   10-speeds   Electronic speed control   5.5 quart polished stainless steel bowl with handle   Ergonomically designed bowl lift handle for a comfortable no slip grip   Large capacity   Heavy-duty bowl lift lever   Five rubber feet to protect countertops and help ensure mixer stability   Fan cooled motor   Commercial auto reset   Locked rotor protection   Hinged hub cover    UL listed   Dimensions: 13.3" W x 14.6" D x 16.5" H   Weight: 25 lbs.   1 year warranty   Made in the USA For more product information please call Kitchen Aid at 1-800-541-6390. Model: 511513 / 11590351
Average Customer Rating:
3.509 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
(out of 57 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
8
1 star
13
34 of 57(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Review 1 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cali
Date:October 13, 2010

Awesome mixer!

Pros: powerful, beautiful, easy to clean
Cons: doesn't handle very small batches well
Model Number: KV25MCX
"I've been wanting a kitchenAid stand mixer for a while now. I chose this model because of the 575-watt motor and dough hook which enables it to easily knead yeast doughs. Plus if anything goes wrong you can return it thanks to Costco's AWESOME return policy. I've had it for a week and made gnocchi, cinnamon rolls, french bread, and banana bread. It churned through the yeast dough with no problems. Just be sure to read the manual thoroughly because you need to use certain speeds and attachments for different doughs. It doesn't seem loud to me like the other reviewers said... It does have a 575-watt motor! You can still talk without yelling when it's on. I like the bowl lift feature also because it just fits under my cabinets. I would have to move the head tilt model out from under my cabinets whenever I would use it which would be annoying. With the bowl lift feature the mixer can just sit on my counter in the same spot constantly. I can't wait to get some attachments and try out the power hub! One con is that the mixer needs help to incorporate all ingredients when using a REALLY small batch. Other than that I love it! I'm pretty excited about it, maybe because compared to the hand mixer I burnt out it's awesome."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:south carolina
Date:October 14, 2010

superb mixer

Pros: powerful and great quality
Model Number: KV35MCXCU
"Bought this to replace another Kitchen Aid Mixer that was not powerful enough to make pastas and other larger quantities of other recipes. This mixer is fabulous. It is effortless to use, mixes, kneads and does not overheat like my previous Kitchen Aid. If you enjoy making your own pastas and breads this is an absolute must and the price can't be beat. Great quality...it is as quiet as my other lower wattage Kitchen Aid...but much more powerful."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:November 1, 2010

Great!

"Fantastic machine - can't say enough about the ease of use. It is very heavy. The good thing about that it is beautiful enough to set out on my counter all the time. Most of the time I am using it. Cleans up very nice and easy."
Review 4 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:November 23, 2010

Wonderful Product

Pros: powerful big. flexible. rock solid. very useful
Cons: not cheap. takes a good chunk of counter space.
"I like KitchenAid mixers, but for the past few years the new owners of the company have been shipping them with plastic gear boxes that all to often break under load. It is great to see all metal boxes back. This mixer does everything that a home cook needs and more. It has the power to easily make bread dough. It is hard to beat.... and is replacing my current plastic gear box based mixer!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Collegeville, PA
Date:November 30, 2010

Can't be beat

Pros: large capacity, a kitchen staple, beautiful design has not changed since beginni, best price anywhere
Cons: large and heavy, needs to stay on the counter, unless you're a weight lifter, manual gives very few recipes
Model Number: kv25mcxer
"This is absolutely the BEST PRICE you will find anywhere. If you're able to get a rebate or attachment bonus you're even luckier! The new spiral dough hook is incredible. I've been using the pizza dough recipe in the manual and now we only have homemade pizzas as my husband just loves it. My bread has turned out wonderfully as well. Just don't overmix your cakes and batters. It mixes in much less time than your old mixer. Thank you Costco for such a great buy. And just to clarify, these are now "assembled" in the USA, in Ohio, but I believe the parts are imported. So we can't say "Made in the USA" like in the past."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vermont
Date:December 20, 2010

Looking for the extras

Pros: great price, works well
Cons: need ear protection in the kitchen!
"Love the product, but since this product number is special for Costco, it's kind of hard to find the right extras that would fit it. I want to know when Costco will offer the spill shield and attachments to make it a total package."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Merced, CA
Date:March 30, 2011

Great mixer

Pros: lots of power, best for the price
Cons: not a lot of attachments available
"This is a really great mixer. Great power and the attachments work well as well. I wish there was a splash guard included; but good all the same."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2011

Snap the bowl in

"People that complain about this product, say one of 2 things.
1) the beater hits the side
2) the bowl bounces out
Both of these problems are because you didn't snap the bowl in. If you look at the back of the bowl, there's a knob welded to the back, right below the rim. If you look at the lift arm, at the back, there's a clip with a hole in the tab. You need to push the back of the bowl down until that knob snaps into the hole in the clip, which locks the bowl in.
If you don't the bowl is not level which is why the beater hits the bowl, and can jiggle out. If you don't snap it in, the beater can rub, and if it rubs alot, it can burn out the motor.
Also, there's an adjustment screw. When you lower the bowl, it's on the back of the U arm, just above the moving panel. It's a flat head screw. just turn it to raise or lower the locked in height. Adjust it so that the paddle beater is just above the bottom of the bowl. It should never actually touch the bowl.
Hope this helps."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:February 28, 2012

Great, as usual

Pros: soft start speed, heavy-duty motor
Cons: none
"My husband purchased this item as a Christmas gift for me. I already "had" a KitchenAid stand mixer but wanted one with a more heavy-duty motor and larger bowl. This mixer, as expected, is fantastic. I love the "Start Smart" mixing speed, which allows me to mix in flour and other dry ingredients without having it poof all over the kitchen counter. The motor is heavy-duty and can take mixing the heavy breads I often make.
I love to cook and own most gadgets made. I use them all on a regular basis. This mixer is great and a "must have" for every cook! And you will never go wrong purchasing a KitchenAid mixer"
Review 10 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Massachusetts
Date:March 1, 2012

Beautiful Brioche

Pros: great job mixing, steady workhorse
Cons: none so far!, probably going to gain weight from all the baking
Model Number: KV25MCXOB
"The gift of a new cookbook got me back to baking. My 35 year old Kitchen Aid mixer was just a little too tired to mix the dough for brioche. I decided to give this newer model a try, and if it had trouble mixing and kneading that dough it was going back. Well, I am keeping it, the dough came out perfectly. I have had no trouble with the gap between the beaters and the bowl as some reviewers have noted. And the motor in this particular mixer handled mixing and kneading for at least 20 minutes!"
Review 11 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2012

I love it

"Love, love, love this mixer, I use it to make bread and pizza mostly, has never disappointed me, never got overheated, never undermixed, never got stuck, is simply amazing, I got it as an early X-mas gift last year from my husband and use it at least once a week, and I cannot believe how I use to bake without it. The no dishwasher part is no biggie for me, whenever I bake I have a bunch of utensils that I wash by hand a couple more won't break me, seriously, you won't get a better deal than this."
Review 12 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn Park, MN
Date:July 30, 2012

Only User Error Can Wreck This Wonderful Machine

Pros: does everything but make coffee and tell time., made in the usa always!, parts interchangeable with older unit & vice versa, last mixer you'll ever buy if used properly
Cons: none
"I have probably made at least 50 loaves of bread and countless dozens of cakes, pretzels and bagels, stuffed sausage, I've done more than enough to challenge the most powerful and nostalgic of electric kitchen appliances, the good ol' KitchenAid.
I tell you, this unit, at least for me, did'nt even break a sweat, and I have had it for about a year and a half. My mother has a now 'vintage' 5-Quart kitchen-aid mixer that was my Great-Great Grandmother's anniversary gift! Even at the ripe old age of 64, that not-too-antique KitchenAid still outperforms.
When i unpacked my unit, there was a sticker on the dough hook explicitly stating, in bold print, that it was not to be used above "SPEED 2". Not once, have I stripped a gear, heard loud groaning, or had anything other than consistent, top shelf performance with this mixer, which leads me to wonder if the folks who rated this wonderful machine with 1 star were using it properly"
Review 13 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St.Louis, MO
Date:November 12, 2010

Upgrade Time

Pros: power power size attachments (if you use them), lift bowl, color selection
Cons: you want to make things all the time :), loud kids need supervision
"We have been the happy owners of the Standard Size 4 QT kitchenaid for more than 17 years, the same one. We have simply out grown it.
We use it and the new Professional several times a week. It is a counter hog, but when it's something you actually use, it isn't a problem.
I have read some review on this site about hand washing, wisk beaters hitting the sides, etc. I auto dish wash it all. When the wisk beaters hit the sides it is usually because they are not centered on themselves. Yes they do scrape up the pretty bowl, but the point is to use it.
You cannot hurt this USA built rugged and powerful appliance. It is wonderful.
My Grandmother had one, my Mother had one and now we have one. Love it.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:November 16, 2010

vinnyjake

Pros: great for bread
Model Number: 511513
"Great for the price. i make bread often and this model has the power to knead without effort. The originally shipped item was defective (the beater hit one side of the bowl). The replacement was A-Ok and I really enjoy it. I have read complaints about the noise but find this model relatively quiet for a mixer. I definitely recoomend it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Detroit
Date:November 26, 2010

LOVE IT!!

Pros: comparable to the $500 models on kitchenaids websi, made in the good ole u.s.of a.
Cons: didn't buy it 21 yrs ago
Model Number: kv25mcxob
"Wanted one of these for past 21 yrs. Finally bought it. Makes the best cheesecakes. Can't wait to buy some attachments to use in place of other equipment,like the knives.My hands get sore from all the food prep I do."
Review 16 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Louis
Date:December 2, 2010

So far so good

Pros: strong, looks great, great price
Cons: doesn't come with pouring shield
Model Number: KV25MCXER
"Read a lot of reviews, some negative, before buying this and I can say that so far I only have positive things to say about this mixer. This is for the Professional 550 HD model Costco carried in 2010. First thing I made was mashed potatoes. Way cool and very easy. Bowl was full of potatoes (7 or 8 mid size), no problem. Then I tried 100% whole wheat bread. The thing lots of mixers fail at. Used the recipe in the book, 5+ cups of flour. I substituted the powdered milk with a third cup white flour, so I had a total of 6 cups flour in all. Mixed up without even a slight hesitation. No flour shooting everywhere, no gear grinding, no shutting down, no bouncing across the table or any of the other things I have read online. Next I will try sprouted wheat bread and see how that does. This mixer looks great, we got the red one, and it really doesn't take up that much counter space. I guess it all depends on what you are used to having on your counters. It fits under cabinets just fine and it looks great sitting out. Also, if your blades are scraping the bottom, read the instructions! They tell you how to adjust that. Can't wait to mix something else up now!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:December 14, 2010

A Kitchen necessity!

Pros: versitile useful sturdy
"I LOVE my professional KitchenAid from Costco. I have the red one, which brings color to a very monochormatic kitchen. The large bowl and professional strength makes it great for mixing large batches of breads, cookies and etc. My sister has a smaller version and has mentioned her disappointment with the smaller capacity. I have purchased attachments for it and find it one of the most used appliances in my kitchen. Built to last, versitile, all that we look for in a tool we plan to use and maybe even pass along to our children."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Herriman, Utah
Date:January 12, 2011

Love it....

Model Number: 575 Watt, 5.5 Qt Mixer
"I have to say, I love everything about this mixer. I purchased it to make bread and the recipes in the booklet that came with the mixer are very good. So easy now to have a fresh baked loaf of bread. And, the price was a huge plus, lowest I have seen."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pacific NW
Date:January 19, 2011

Love my KitchAid 575 watt xxooxx

Pros: beautiful hard working machine.
Cons: i should have bought one years ago.
Model Number: KitchenAid® Professional 575-Watt, 5.5 Qt Bowl Mixers
"New to KitchenAid stand mixer and I'm having so much fun with it. So far I've made mashed potatoes and "Flour's Famous Sticky Buns."
Search online for the sticky bun receipe, it's to die for and fun to make. Next I'll try bread and pizza dough.
I don't mind the noise at all, sounds powerful and I can tell the motor is performing well.
My machine is black and really compliments the natural granite and black appliances in my kitchen. It fits under the counter and I couldn't imagine not having a bowl lift. Really a great machine at a killer price. Thank you Costco and Santa. :)
"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lantana, Florida
Date:April 10, 2011

Awesome!

Model Number: KV25MCXOB
"I have been reading reviews of all different Kitchenaid mixers for months. Finally decided to take a chance on the one at Costco. I love it!!!
Before the first use I looked at the gears and the the flat mixer was hitting the bottom, so I read how to adjust, adjusted it and it still hit...then I noticed the back lock for the bowl (duh!) Locked the bowl in place and it works perfectly, no scraping. Also, if you don't lock it in place, of course the bowl will wobble and possibly come off.
I have used it for cakes, frostings, fillings and bread. Haven't had a problem. I haven't encountered it getting hot or shutting off yet, so we'll see.
On the noise, seriously, the noise this machine makes is way less than my old mixer...I didn't hear "mom stop mixing, I can't hear what so and so is saying" even once, ha ha.
Handwashing the pieces is nothing, takes less than 2 minutes to wash the pieces by hand.
It is heavy, but that is a pro in my book!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>