Customer Reviews for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Designed for long life and quiet operation, the KitchenAid® stand mixer is the one mixer that generations have depended on for power, performance and durability. Built to handle large batches easily, this professional mixer features a rugged, all-metal construction, a powerful 575-watt motor, and KitchenAid's unique planetary mixing action that reaches every part of the bowl Attachments (Included):   Burnished flat beater   Burnished professional dough hook   Professional wire whip Features:   Colors available: Silver, Empire Red, White or Onyx Black   Durable, all-metal construction designed for long life and quiet operation   Powerful 575-watt motor mixes large batches easily   Unique KitchenAid 67 point planetary mixing action reaches every part of the bowl   Soft Start™ mixing eliminates "puff" of ingredients on start up   10-speeds   Electronic speed control   5.5 quart polished stainless steel bowl with handle   Ergonomically designed bowl lift handle for a comfortable no slip grip   Large capacity   Heavy-duty bowl lift lever   Five rubber feet to protect countertops and help ensure mixer stability   Fan cooled motor   Commercial auto reset   Locked rotor protection   Hinged hub cover    UL listed   Dimensions: 13.3" W x 14.6" D x 16.5" H   Weight: 25 lbs.   1 year warranty   Made in the USA For more product information please call Kitchen Aid at 1-800-541-6390. Model: 511513 / 11590351
Average Customer Rating:
3.483 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
(out of 58 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
9
1 star
13
35 of 58(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Review 1 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2012

good for a year

Pros: while it worked was powerful
Cons: stopped after a year expected more
"Was great for a full year, and now its stalling overheating, and stopping to work anymore."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver,WA
Date:October 15, 2012

Waste of money

Pros: color
Cons: big money for worst quality
Model Number: KP26M1XNP
"I've had Kitchen Aid mixer about 12 years,but the last (Professional 600)is the worst. I'm tired from repairing it more than 4 times for 3 years used, and to no use is the plastic parts inside, which is junk. It works very loud and seems like the gears are not right and after about seven times they went out of tune. This is not for bread, dough (smells & overheats). Complete junk !"
Review 3 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2012

They ain't what they used to be.

Pros: none
Cons: poor quality construction
"My mother got a KitchenAid mixer when she got married. She's gone now, but the mixer is still going with another owner. We bought this mixer, twice. The first one died in six months from a stripped gear. The replacement had a bad speed control out of the box. The utensils that came with it were just as bad with stout looking handles that turned out to be attached with a tab 1/8"x3/8" and likewise broke. Now I won't buy anything from KitchenAide ever again. The company's standards have clearly gone down the tubes. The DeLonghi mixer we got to replace it is great and has nearly twice the power. But I don't think Costco carries it anymore. They should. It's great!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn Park, MN
Date:July 30, 2012

Only User Error Can Wreck This Wonderful Machine

Pros: does everything but make coffee and tell time., made in the usa always!, parts interchangeable with older unit & vice versa, last mixer you'll ever buy if used properly
Cons: none
"I have probably made at least 50 loaves of bread and countless dozens of cakes, pretzels and bagels, stuffed sausage, I've done more than enough to challenge the most powerful and nostalgic of electric kitchen appliances, the good ol' KitchenAid.
I tell you, this unit, at least for me, did'nt even break a sweat, and I have had it for about a year and a half. My mother has a now 'vintage' 5-Quart kitchen-aid mixer that was my Great-Great Grandmother's anniversary gift! Even at the ripe old age of 64, that not-too-antique KitchenAid still outperforms.
When i unpacked my unit, there was a sticker on the dough hook explicitly stating, in bold print, that it was not to be used above "SPEED 2". Not once, have I stripped a gear, heard loud groaning, or had anything other than consistent, top shelf performance with this mixer, which leads me to wonder if the folks who rated this wonderful machine with 1 star were using it properly"
Review 5 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2012

I love it

"Love, love, love this mixer, I use it to make bread and pizza mostly, has never disappointed me, never got overheated, never undermixed, never got stuck, is simply amazing, I got it as an early X-mas gift last year from my husband and use it at least once a week, and I cannot believe how I use to bake without it. The no dishwasher part is no biggie for me, whenever I bake I have a bunch of utensils that I wash by hand a couple more won't break me, seriously, you won't get a better deal than this."
Review 6 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southern Oregon
Date:June 22, 2012

Gears stripped after 8 months

"Bought it for my wife for anniversary present Oct 2011. Now, June 2012, she called me at work and says it's not working, making grinding sounds when making normal bread dough. On examination, it does appear the gears are stripped. I thought these were supposed to have metal gears? Wife also says motor has overheated at least twice when making regular bread dough, but I didn't know about that until now. Hard to buy quality products nowadays."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:MI
Date:April 12, 2012

Great for cakes, but not for bread!

Pros: great for cake batters
Cons: can not knead bread dough adequately, loud
Model Number: 5.5 Qt
"The wider bowl is great for mixing thin (cake) batters, but totally useless for kneading bread dough. This design allows the dough to crawl up and cling to the dough hook. Also this unit is very loud.
Fortunately the warehouse took it back without any hassles.
I had the earlier 5qt model (narrow bowl) and loved it. I made a couple of hundred loaves with it before the gearhead "fell" apart."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, Wa
Date:April 5, 2012

DO NOT BUY

"I've had Kitchenaids for 30 years...this is the worst. It is LOUD and seems like the gears are not right. I'm an engineer and I'm telling you this design needs some work. I traded mine for the 6000 and its a much quieter machine. Do yourself a favor and Don't Buy this model. It is junk"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Manassas, VA
Date:April 4, 2012

Don't use it for bread!

Cons: gears stripped out after only six months of once a
Model Number: KV25MCXER
"Worked ok for six months but really got hot before the 4 minute knead was completed and I could smell the overheated plastic (although this model was supposed to have steel gears). This morning, it started making a terrible grinding sound after about 2 minutes of kneading (at speed setting 2) and then it just stopped altogether. KitchenAid is sending me a new one but I don't know what I will do with it."
Review 10 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Olympia
Date:March 29, 2012

Not professional

"I have owned four KitchenAid mixers. The prior ones were great. This could be the last one we own. Motor over heats. Gears sound like they are going to break. The bowl twists and looks like it will break off the hooks. The beater beats on the bowl. DUD. You will be disappointed if you think this is a up scale mixer."
Review 11 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:March 12, 2012

KitchenAid can't recognize the problem

Pros: easy cleaning, sturdy exterior, simple beauty
Cons: makes you hate value engineering, shares internals with less powerful models, no pouring shield
Model Number: KV25MCXER
"I don't know how many bad reviews kitchenAid must get before they have to stick a label on all their new mixers to say "Not for Bread!" ... too bad they had a great design and they squandered it.
This machine which is at 575W a 100 Watts more than what I bought previously still smoked and broke its gears with 8 cups of King Arthur flour in 20 minutes. Sent same familiar motor burning odor and grinding gear noises that are too familiar by now to reviewers on many sites. Costco will replace it, but I know it will not last. This is my 7th machine in 4 years with one batch of bread making biweekly. Unfortunately no other alternatives unless one goes to commercial mixers, or take a chance on Bosch which has its own problems.
Also, unlike the 475W (model KG25H) sold be Costco couple of years ago, the new wider bucket allows the dough to climb up the spiral tool and keeps rotating endlessly. You will be lucky if the dough doesn't reach the top and gets smeared with gear grease and metal smudges.
If you bake moderate quantities of bread with bread flour, this machine will be a letdown unless you go with 1/2 of their manual recommendations."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Massachusetts
Date:March 1, 2012

Beautiful Brioche

Pros: great job mixing, steady workhorse
Cons: none so far!, probably going to gain weight from all the baking
Model Number: KV25MCXOB
"The gift of a new cookbook got me back to baking. My 35 year old Kitchen Aid mixer was just a little too tired to mix the dough for brioche. I decided to give this newer model a try, and if it had trouble mixing and kneading that dough it was going back. Well, I am keeping it, the dough came out perfectly. I have had no trouble with the gap between the beaters and the bowl as some reviewers have noted. And the motor in this particular mixer handled mixing and kneading for at least 20 minutes!"
Review 13 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:February 28, 2012

Great, as usual

Pros: soft start speed, heavy-duty motor
Cons: none
"My husband purchased this item as a Christmas gift for me. I already "had" a KitchenAid stand mixer but wanted one with a more heavy-duty motor and larger bowl. This mixer, as expected, is fantastic. I love the "Start Smart" mixing speed, which allows me to mix in flour and other dry ingredients without having it poof all over the kitchen counter. The motor is heavy-duty and can take mixing the heavy breads I often make.
I love to cook and own most gadgets made. I use them all on a regular basis. This mixer is great and a "must have" for every cook! And you will never go wrong purchasing a KitchenAid mixer"
Review 14 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Southlake, TX
Date:February 26, 2012

Great Mixer but not the attachments

"I always wanted one just everyone else. Costco does offer the best value though like on everything else. Mail in rebate made it even cheaper. Mixer does an amazing job. The only thing I did not appreciate was how quickly the attachments changed in color. They were nice and glosy at first but than got supper dark and nothing would change it. I thought maybe because I didn't wash them right but at this point I'm just gonna take it back and get one else where with the coated attachments. I hope this is helpful."
Review 15 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NW Montana
Date:January 16, 2012

Made to sell, not to use.

Pros: it's pretty
Cons: not made for use
Model Number: KV25MCXOB
"My wife was very excited to finally get a Kitchenaid mixer. We picked out a nice black one to go with our kitchen. We got home, set it all up, washed up the attachments, put eggs and sugar in the bowl for chocolate chip cookies, plugged it in, turned the switch to 1, and ...............nothing. Turned the switch to 2.........still nothing, nada, nil, zilch. She almost cried. I checked it out with a voltmeter, but was disappointed to what I saw inside, plastic and a computer board. It was not a loose wire or an easy fix. It was easy to return, as Costco makes it nice, they even wanted to exchange it but I declined, why would I want another one of these? A freak incident? I think not. My sister bought one for her son's wedding last year and it didn't work either. Why can't they make things to last, or even work, like they used to? My Mother got her Kitchenaid in the 70's and never had a problem with it to this day. Where everything about it was made in the USA.
I reckon it's all about the bottom line with companies these days, rather than providing a quality product to consumers. Guess I'll find one from the good ole days.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:January 15, 2012

Great for about 4 minutes at a time

Pros: costco carries it
Cons: costco carries it, overheats quickly and easily
"My wife has had two of these. The motor burned up on the first one (it smelled like smoke). The one we have now only mixes bread for 3-5 minutes before it overheats and stops. I wish Costco carried another mixer, because this one is terrible."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Overland Park, KS
Date:January 13, 2012

Disappointing quality

Pros: has good dough hook
Cons: flimsy build quality
Model Number: KV25MCXER
"Bought this unit to replace an older 325W stand mixer in the hopes that it would be able to make larger batches of bread. The manual says you can do up to 13 cups of flour with it, so I made a 12-cup batch. There was barely enough room in the bowl for all that, and within 3 minutes of kneading the motor had overheated and shut off, and smoke came wafting out of the motor control. While it was kneading the entire bowl and stand were flexing. The case of this unit is made of thin sheet metal, unlike my older one that is solid cast metal."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:January 5, 2012

I love it

"I just got this one from Costco. I love it so much. I can't wait to try it this weekend. Could someone please tell me how were your machine pack in the box when you open it? My machine was in the box and cover by the foam. I don't see any plastic bag cover the machine. I just wonder if I bough the machine that return by the other customer. I mean, I have to pay almost $300 for this machine. I don't want to buy the return one. Thank you so much."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Harrisonburg, VA
Date:January 3, 2012

Makes life so much easier

"My husband got this Kitchen Aid on Black Friday this year as a Christmas present for me (he gave it to me a month early so I could use it for all my Christmas baking). I love, love, love it! And now I can't believe I spent 32 years making all my cookies/cakes/breads/icing by hand.
The KA totally saves my arm, so I am so much less tired after a round of baking, and it mixes while I measure out other ingredients, which leaves me valuable time to clean up and play with my kids.
It's got a powerful motor, so even thick yeast doughs, like doughnuts, get thoroughly mixed. I was so impressed by how it mixed up my sugar cookies - I normally have to wait a good hour or two with my butter in room temperature before I can start so I can manage to mix up the dough by hand. This time, when I used my KA, I had forgotten to set out the butter, so I put it right in the bowl with the sugar, cold and everything, and it mixed it up so smoothly and well - even better than I could have done by hand with room-temperature butter.
The noise doesn't bother me at all. It is much quieter than my blender (which I also use frequently), so I never feel like it overpowers my kitchen. That said, I have only taken it up to 8, not 10 - and 8 does get a little high-pitched. :) Most of the time, though, I use it on the stir-level or level 2.
Anyway, enough rambling. I was blessed enough to get this on a good sale, but I think it'd be worth the $300 full-price label if it came to that. So helpful! :)"
Review 20 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hawaii
Date:December 30, 2011

Love my new Kitchenaid

"I love to bake and had been stalking the various KA mixers online, but the prices were still a bit of a deterrent even when on sale. I’d decided I was going to buy the KA Artisan as a Christmas gift to myself, but lucky me, I received this as a Christmas gift from my boyfriend.
I am completely obsessed with my new KitchenAid! I used it Christmas day to thank my dear, sweet boyfriend with a batch of peanut butter cookies. I’ve also made the basic white bread and crusty pizza dough recipes that are included in the user manual. Both were very good, especially the pizza dough (double recipe), and sooooo easy to make.
I read a review on another site from someone who contacted KitchenAid regarding the Costco Pro 550 HD KV25MCX and the Pro 600 Series 6Qt KP26M1X models. She was advised that this is basically the same as the Pro 600 only the bowl size, 5.5Qt, is specific to Costco and it does not include a flour shield or a rubber knob on the lift handle. So you’re essentially getting the Pro 600 with a smaller bowl. Talk about an AWESOME deal at Costco! I’ve also read that the accessories for the Pro 550 and the Pro 600 are interchangeable, except the bowl.
I have to agree with a few of the reviewers that people seem to not be using the machine properly. You do need to snap the bowl into the little clip near the base of the machine to “lock” it into place. Once you’ve put the bowl tabs through the little metal cone things on the machine arms, you just need to lean into the bowl a bit and it should snap in – the bowl should not wobble at all. Another helpful tip would be to lookup “KitchenAid dime test” or “beater bowl clearance” online and you’ll be able to view a quick demo on how to adjust the beater height. I tried the dime test as soon as I opened my machine and turns out it was already adjusted perfectly so I didn’t have to do anything.
Another reviewer mentioned that s/he had a problem making bread when s/he tried to use the dough hook on a setting higher than 2. My dough hook had a sticker on it with instructions to NOT use the dough hook on a setting higher than 2. My dough came out perfectly using setting 2; however, I think the “flaw” in that situation was that s/he did not lock the bowl in place.
Regarding the noise, yes, it is a little noisy, but I don’t have anything to compare it to since it’s my first KA. Plus, it is a 575 watt machine…I think some noise is to be expected.
If you follow the directions, you really shouldn’t have any major problems with this mixer. Do some research and most of the issues you have will be an easy fix. I just wish Costco sold some of the attachments like that pasta kit and ice cream maker."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>