Customer Reviews for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Designed for long life and quiet operation, the KitchenAid® stand mixer is the one mixer that generations have depended on for power, performance and durability. Built to handle large batches easily, this professional mixer features a rugged, all-metal construction, a powerful 575-watt motor, and KitchenAid's unique planetary mixing action that reaches every part of the bowl Attachments (Included):   Burnished flat beater   Burnished professional dough hook   Professional wire whip Features:   Colors available: Silver, Empire Red, White or Onyx Black   Durable, all-metal construction designed for long life and quiet operation   Powerful 575-watt motor mixes large batches easily   Unique KitchenAid 67 point planetary mixing action reaches every part of the bowl   Soft Start™ mixing eliminates "puff" of ingredients on start up   10-speeds   Electronic speed control   5.5 quart polished stainless steel bowl with handle   Ergonomically designed bowl lift handle for a comfortable no slip grip   Large capacity   Heavy-duty bowl lift lever   Five rubber feet to protect countertops and help ensure mixer stability   Fan cooled motor   Commercial auto reset   Locked rotor protection   Hinged hub cover    UL listed   Dimensions: 13.3" W x 14.6" D x 16.5" H   Weight: 25 lbs.   1 year warranty   Made in the USA For more product information please call Kitchen Aid at 1-800-541-6390. Model: 511513 / 11590351
Average Customer Rating:
3.509 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
(out of 57 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
8
1 star
13
34 of 57(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Review 1 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:OH
Date:August 27, 2010

A must have for a baker

"KitchenAid stand mixers are the best for the at home baker. This model is the professional grade and competitively priced at Costco vs. the consumer grade found in other retail stores.
There are key differences between the professional and consumer grade models. In the Prof model, the bowl raises and lowers, in the Cons the top of the mixer flips up (this is the one advantage of the consumer grade model). The Prof model has more power -great for bread making and other thick dough recipes. Both models have several attachment options (grinders, pasta makers, etc) which can be bought seperately.
The only very minor drawback (for both models) is that sometimes thicker dough mixtures will require assistance with a spatula to incorporate the dry ingredients that tend to clump at the bottom of the bowl. Padels with spatula blades can also be bought seperately."
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Citrus Heights, CA
Date:September 4, 2010

Gota Love it

"There is nothing like a KitchenAid! If you have ever had to use a whimpier brand, you will know what I mean. I have had enough power for anything I have mixed in it. I am going to get one of the new self scraping paddles to see if I like it better than the one that comes with the mixer."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Andover, MA
Date:September 22, 2010

New Kitchen Aid mixer

"This machine is VERY loud, much louder than the older models! This problem should be fixed."
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 28, 2010

disappointed

Cons: bowl broke first use
Model Number: kv25mcxcu
"I purchased this mixer specifically to mix bread doughs. The first time I used it, the ear on the bowl broke off before the dough was completed mixing.
My old mixer handled the same dough without problem.
I am confident that since I bought it from Costco that I will be able to return it. But, if you plan on using this to mix a heavier dough, this is not a good choice.
"
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cali
Date:October 13, 2010

Awesome mixer!

Pros: powerful, beautiful, easy to clean
Cons: doesn't handle very small batches well
Model Number: KV25MCX
"I've been wanting a kitchenAid stand mixer for a while now. I chose this model because of the 575-watt motor and dough hook which enables it to easily knead yeast doughs. Plus if anything goes wrong you can return it thanks to Costco's AWESOME return policy. I've had it for a week and made gnocchi, cinnamon rolls, french bread, and banana bread. It churned through the yeast dough with no problems. Just be sure to read the manual thoroughly because you need to use certain speeds and attachments for different doughs. It doesn't seem loud to me like the other reviewers said... It does have a 575-watt motor! You can still talk without yelling when it's on. I like the bowl lift feature also because it just fits under my cabinets. I would have to move the head tilt model out from under my cabinets whenever I would use it which would be annoying. With the bowl lift feature the mixer can just sit on my counter in the same spot constantly. I can't wait to get some attachments and try out the power hub! One con is that the mixer needs help to incorporate all ingredients when using a REALLY small batch. Other than that I love it! I'm pretty excited about it, maybe because compared to the hand mixer I burnt out it's awesome."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:south carolina
Date:October 14, 2010

superb mixer

Pros: powerful and great quality
Model Number: KV35MCXCU
"Bought this to replace another Kitchen Aid Mixer that was not powerful enough to make pastas and other larger quantities of other recipes. This mixer is fabulous. It is effortless to use, mixes, kneads and does not overheat like my previous Kitchen Aid. If you enjoy making your own pastas and breads this is an absolute must and the price can't be beat. Great quality...it is as quiet as my other lower wattage Kitchen Aid...but much more powerful."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Escondido, CA
Date:October 18, 2010

Disappointed

Model Number: KG25H3XSL
"I appreciate the power and overall construction of this mixer, but I find it very inconvenient that the mixer blades have to be washed by hand and cannot be washed in the dishwasher. It shouldn't be that difficult for a company interested in producing a good product to extend their care to the beaters to be used with the machine."
4 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:November 1, 2010

Great!

"Fantastic machine - can't say enough about the ease of use. It is very heavy. The good thing about that it is beautiful enough to set out on my counter all the time. Most of the time I am using it. Cleans up very nice and easy."
Review 9 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:El Dorado Hills, CA
Date:November 2, 2010
Model Number: KV25MCXER
"I bought the stand mixer from my local Costco on October 16th, 2010. When I lifted the bowl following the instructions and tried to use the flat beater, the beater started to hit and scrape the bottom of the bowl and left marks. I think that the beater is too long. I had to hold the lifting handle manually so I can adjust the position of the bowl and finish tha batter. Now it seems to me that the wire whip does scrape the bottom of the mixing bowl too. Did anybody experience similar problems or am I doing something wrong? I also contacted KitchenAid and I am waiting for their reply. Thank you."
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St.Louis, MO
Date:November 12, 2010

Upgrade Time

Pros: power power size attachments (if you use them), lift bowl, color selection
Cons: you want to make things all the time :), loud kids need supervision
"We have been the happy owners of the Standard Size 4 QT kitchenaid for more than 17 years, the same one. We have simply out grown it.
We use it and the new Professional several times a week. It is a counter hog, but when it's something you actually use, it isn't a problem.
I have read some review on this site about hand washing, wisk beaters hitting the sides, etc. I auto dish wash it all. When the wisk beaters hit the sides it is usually because they are not centered on themselves. Yes they do scrape up the pretty bowl, but the point is to use it.
You cannot hurt this USA built rugged and powerful appliance. It is wonderful.
My Grandmother had one, my Mother had one and now we have one. Love it.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2010

Save your money

"The motor broke within the first year. This is not as heavy duty as it seems. The gears grind with any heavy load (such as bread dough). The motor gets hot and stops. You have to wait 30 mins (per the instructions) to restart . By that time, I can knead by hand.
It's okay for lighter items but isn't that what the electric beater is for. Save your money. If you are a serious baker consider a profession mixer - this is just a pretty counter top ornament."
5 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:November 16, 2010

vinnyjake

Pros: great for bread
Model Number: 511513
"Great for the price. i make bread often and this model has the power to knead without effort. The originally shipped item was defective (the beater hit one side of the bowl). The replacement was A-Ok and I really enjoy it. I have read complaints about the noise but find this model relatively quiet for a mixer. I definitely recoomend it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:November 23, 2010

Wonderful Product

Pros: powerful big. flexible. rock solid. very useful
Cons: not cheap. takes a good chunk of counter space.
"I like KitchenAid mixers, but for the past few years the new owners of the company have been shipping them with plastic gear boxes that all to often break under load. It is great to see all metal boxes back. This mixer does everything that a home cook needs and more. It has the power to easily make bread dough. It is hard to beat.... and is replacing my current plastic gear box based mixer!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Detroit
Date:November 26, 2010

LOVE IT!!

Pros: comparable to the $500 models on kitchenaids websi, made in the good ole u.s.of a.
Cons: didn't buy it 21 yrs ago
Model Number: kv25mcxob
"Wanted one of these for past 21 yrs. Finally bought it. Makes the best cheesecakes. Can't wait to buy some attachments to use in place of other equipment,like the knives.My hands get sore from all the food prep I do."
Review 15 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Collegeville, PA
Date:November 30, 2010

Can't be beat

Pros: large capacity, a kitchen staple, beautiful design has not changed since beginni, best price anywhere
Cons: large and heavy, needs to stay on the counter, unless you're a weight lifter, manual gives very few recipes
Model Number: kv25mcxer
"This is absolutely the BEST PRICE you will find anywhere. If you're able to get a rebate or attachment bonus you're even luckier! The new spiral dough hook is incredible. I've been using the pizza dough recipe in the manual and now we only have homemade pizzas as my husband just loves it. My bread has turned out wonderfully as well. Just don't overmix your cakes and batters. It mixes in much less time than your old mixer. Thank you Costco for such a great buy. And just to clarify, these are now "assembled" in the USA, in Ohio, but I believe the parts are imported. So we can't say "Made in the USA" like in the past."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Louis
Date:December 2, 2010

So far so good

Pros: strong, looks great, great price
Cons: doesn't come with pouring shield
Model Number: KV25MCXER
"Read a lot of reviews, some negative, before buying this and I can say that so far I only have positive things to say about this mixer. This is for the Professional 550 HD model Costco carried in 2010. First thing I made was mashed potatoes. Way cool and very easy. Bowl was full of potatoes (7 or 8 mid size), no problem. Then I tried 100% whole wheat bread. The thing lots of mixers fail at. Used the recipe in the book, 5+ cups of flour. I substituted the powdered milk with a third cup white flour, so I had a total of 6 cups flour in all. Mixed up without even a slight hesitation. No flour shooting everywhere, no gear grinding, no shutting down, no bouncing across the table or any of the other things I have read online. Next I will try sprouted wheat bread and see how that does. This mixer looks great, we got the red one, and it really doesn't take up that much counter space. I guess it all depends on what you are used to having on your counters. It fits under cabinets just fine and it looks great sitting out. Also, if your blades are scraping the bottom, read the instructions! They tell you how to adjust that. Can't wait to mix something else up now!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Schertz, TX
Date:December 5, 2010

The Best!

Pros: you cant beat this price, it is a work horse!, its large but still fits nicely under the cabinet, two words: costco warranty!
Model Number: kv25mcx white
"This KitchenAid mixer is an exclusive to Costco. I contacted KitchenAid myself to ask a few questions about it before I bought it.
This new generation of Pro series mixers goes back to the good old days of METAL gears and gear housing. I had read a lot of reviews of other models similar to this and a lot of them stated the gear housing cracking and the gears breaking. So with the metal this shouldn't be a problem.
There were also a lot of complaints about the attachments. They are a burnished metal...and true you cannot put them in the dish washer...but I use my mixer more than once a week and I cant think of a time that i was like "my life would be so much easier if I could put this in the dishwasher!". They come clean very easily. Another thing I asked KitchenAid, was about reports of the "finish" of the burnished metal attachments coming off in peoples food. They told me that there is no coating, paint, enamel...nothing on the burnished metal...its just metal. So it would be impossible for anything to come off of these attachments.
And one last thing I have seen a lot of people complain about with this model is the noise....the hp in this model is or almost DOUBLE most of the smaller KitchenAid models most people buy. So it makes sense that the motor is a little louder. I don't see this as a problem because its not like this thing runs at all hours of the day! Do you complain about your lawn mower being loud? Nope!
This mixer is a lot larger than the traditional KitchenAid mixers most people own. I myself own a regular model (325 watt) and the foot print of this larger mixer is only a few inches bigger than the smaller one, so it doesn't take up that much more space. It is a lot taller though. But it still fits nicely underneath the cabinets when sitting on a counter top!
All in all this has been an AMAZING product for me. I have only owned it for a less than a month but time will tell. So far the only thing I have made with this mixer is bread, and lots of it and i haven't had any problems with it being bogged down"
25 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:December 14, 2010

A Kitchen necessity!

Pros: versitile useful sturdy
"I LOVE my professional KitchenAid from Costco. I have the red one, which brings color to a very monochormatic kitchen. The large bowl and professional strength makes it great for mixing large batches of breads, cookies and etc. My sister has a smaller version and has mentioned her disappointment with the smaller capacity. I have purchased attachments for it and find it one of the most used appliances in my kitchen. Built to last, versitile, all that we look for in a tool we plan to use and maybe even pass along to our children."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2010
"I also found that the attachments hit the bowl even after moving the adjustment screw as far as it would go. I returned it unused. Bought it in Dec 2010. Possibly the lot was bad, which would explain the low price."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for KitchenAid® Professional 575-watt 5.5 Qt Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vermont
Date:December 20, 2010

Looking for the extras

Pros: great price, works well
Cons: need ear protection in the kitchen!
"Love the product, but since this product number is special for Costco, it's kind of hard to find the right extras that would fit it. I want to know when Costco will offer the spill shield and attachments to make it a total package."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>