Customer Reviews for Singer® Brilliance™ Sewing Machine

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Singer® Brilliance™ Sewing Machine

80 Stitch patterns, automatic needle threader and computerized push button stitch selection
Average Customer Rating:
2.727 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
(out of 11 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
5
6 of 11(55%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Singer® Brilliance™ Sewing Machine
Review 1 for Singer® Brilliance™ Sewing Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:October 20, 2010

Very Disappointed

"This machine was so disappointing-- it jammed while doing a test run through cotton material. I will definitely read reviews before my next purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Singer® Brilliance™ Sewing Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2010

Poor Quality

Cons: poor quality
Model Number: Singer Brilliance
"I purchased this machine for simple sewing needs. I have purchased and returned three of these machines. The first one only lasted a week, it sounded like the machine was grinding it's self to death. the second was DOA. The third lasted for three days sewing curtains. when the needle mechanism let loose. I will not eve recommend this low cost machine to any one. I hope the buyers at Costco will test the products they buy first."
34 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Singer® Brilliance™ Sewing Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:October 15, 2010

Don't buy!!

Cons: jams easily
Model Number: 6190
"I had not planned on buying this machine and did not read the reviews prior. After sewing for about 45 minutes, it jammed 4 times and I am now on my way to return to Costco. I am sewing fleece--not leather and not anything so heavy I would not expect a normal machine to deal with. I have always had Singers but think after this experience I may widen my horizon."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Singer® Brilliance™ Sewing Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:October 25, 2010

Nice on the outside, cesspool on the inside

Pros: lots of fun stitch options, comes with 6 different feet, very easy to understand manual
Cons: the box doesnt say what type of feet it comes with, piece of garbage
Model Number: 6180
"I have been sewing for a very long time. I know how to use a machine correctly. Having said that, this machine seems nice at first. I have had it for 2-3 weeks. The first week it worked great, after getting used to it. The second week, it started being temperamental (major tension issues that couldn't be resolved, bobbin thread bunching up underneath, grease getting all over my fabric from the tension thread, a few needles breaking because they couldn't sew through two sheets of cotton, etc). This most recent week, it has become ridiculous. I am not exaggerating when I say I broke 9 SEWING MACHINE NEEDLES yesterday while sewing my daughter's tutu. You know, tulle. And satin. Not leather and duct tape. I think I may have broken 9 needles prior to this in my entire sewing career, and yesterday I did 9 on the same day. It doesn't have any power. The presser foot and electric foot plug into the machine separately, and the presser foot comes unplugged all the time (doesn't snap in very well), It freaks out if you sew over more than a thin layer. The needle spontaneously sews right onto the foot, snapping it in half. What. I almost threw it out my window. But I kind of want my money back so I refrained. Don't bother with this unsatisfactory machine."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Singer® Brilliance™ Sewing Machine
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2010

no basting stitch

Pros: inexpensive
Cons: no basting stitch
"I didn't use this machine long before returning it because it didn't take me long to figure out that there is no way to do a basting stitch with this machine (a basting stitch is just a very wide straight stitch, and should be one of the most basic things a machine can do). I bought this to get a basic machine, but this one fails to fulfill the basic requirements."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Singer® Brilliance™ Sewing Machine
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2010

trying it again

"I just returned this machine, i figure the grinding and jamming might be a manufacturer defect on that particular machine. I am purchasing it again in hopes that the next one doesn't have the same defect. I was only sewing thru two layers of thin cotton and it kept jamming and grinding and broke a needle. Nothing we did fixed it. But for the price and Costco wonderful return policy I will try it one more time. The machine as a whole is easy to use and amazing if it weren't for the jamming and grinding."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Singer® Brilliance™ Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:October 29, 2010

Contrary to previous reviews.....

Pros: well priced., light weight., many features for the price.
Model Number: Brilliance
"After reading the reviews, I was concerned about buying this machine. For the price, this machine offers a lot of features that I did not find in other moderately priced sewing machine. Because Costco is so good about returns, I wasn't worried about taking the leap despite of these negative reviews. What did I have to loose?
When I unpacked the machine, my sister and I went over the entire set up guide to learn where everything was and what every feature did. She advised me to always run a scrap piece of fabric through the machine several times to clear up any oil or dust that may have accumulated in the mechanism. And, to always do the same anytime I clean and oil the machine.
The first thing we did was adjust the stitch tension to our liking. All was going great until I failed to lower the pressure foot. My error caused the same outcome as described in these negative reviews. Grinding, jamming, knotted, messy and broken thread, and if I had continued to sew, the needle would have broken.
We removed the bobbin and cleared out the broken threads and threaded the machine again for another few practice seams. I was careful to make sure that I had lowered the pressure foot before continuing this practice session.
Since then, I have completed my first project, a cloth book for my grandson. The machine performed great! The only failure of the machine was sewing through 6 layers of fabric and 3 layers of batting. That would have been a lot to ask of any machine.
I am looking forward to many more projects with this well priced and simple machine. I am not quite ready to try the many stitches or button holes the machine offers but for my purpose, this is a nice little sewing machine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Singer® Brilliance™ Sewing Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Florida, St. Petersburg
Date:November 11, 2010

Good machine

Pros: good machine for the price
Cons: instruction manual needs to separate language sect
"You have to be sure the machine is threaded correctly, but it works really well. I have sewn two projects with it. One of them involved multiple layers of fabric and batting and the machine did very well as long as I paid attention to the threading (you need to use a 16 needle). The multiple stitching options are so great! I used the stitching pattern options in my multiple batting and fabric project and it went well and looked fantastic. I also completed three separate items with multiple layers. I had no problems (that couldn't be solved by reading the instruction manual) and I am a novice sewer. You need to read the directions. This is a great machine for the price."
Review 9 for Singer® Brilliance™ Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:October 9, 2010

Great Sewing Machine for the Money!

Pros: it does so much for the money
Cons: need to read the manual to use all the functions
Model Number: 6160
"I bought this machine about a week ago to replace an older, more basic, machine. Since then I've used it nearly every day! The versatility is wonderful, you can select from 80 stitches and change the stitch lengths with a press of a button. The foot pedal is really easy to operate and get the machine going at just the speed you want. Once you read the manual it's fairly easy to use."
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Singer® Brilliance™ Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mt. Pleasant, Utah
Date:November 6, 2010

Really good machine

Model Number: 6180
"I bought this machine, got home read all the bad reviews on it, so I got it out to try. I sewed 14 layers of levi with it perfectly no problems i had to lift up the foot to even sew it!! Then I hemed a blanket with two layers of the heaviest batting you can get, i rolled it on the edges to sew it so it was rolled in the corners twice and it sewed just fine no problems yet."
Review 11 for Singer® Brilliance™ Sewing Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:November 8, 2010

Great Basic Machine!

"It's a great machine. Does the job. As with any sewing machine, takes some getting used to. Have to get the feel of it. But I've done lots of projects and it's doing great!"