Customer Reviews for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™

Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price.   Start power juicing for energy and good health with Jack LaLanne’s Power Juicer™. Make all your favorite fresh juices without having to peel, core, or slice most of your fruit and vegetables. And it’s not just for juice. Jack Lalanne’s Power Juicer Fresh Recipe Collection is a compilation of over 300 recipes including fresh and healthy juices, smoothies and frozen treats; delicious baked goods; and even nutritious soups, salads and dips. As an added value, you’ll receive this complete recipe collection when you purchase the Power Juicer Ultimate. ADDED VALUE:  Fresh Recipe Collection book- a compilation of over 300 recipes Features: Patented extraction technology with high performance induction motor produces fast, healthy juice in seconds   Redesigned wide chute and pusher lets you juice most whole fruits and vegetables; no peeling, cutting, chopping, or coring, saving time and convenience   Surgical-quality stainless steel blade is engineered to juice even the most difficult fruits and vegetables in seconds   Whisper-quality induction motor focuses on torque not just RMP to create less heat that can negatively affect the nutrient quality   3,600 RMP motor with lifetime guarantee   Raised base to accommodate taller glasses   Extra long, non-drip spout   Super-sized detachable pulp collector   Dishwasher safe parts   Good Housekeeping Approved   Includes The Fresh Recipe Collection recipe book, instructional DVD and cleaning brush   UL listed   Dimensions: 16.5" L x 9" W x 16.5" H   Weight: 14 lbs.   Made in China   Warranty: 90 day limited on parts, lifetime guarantee on the motor Built-in safety features:    Thermal cut off switch/Automatic shut off    Locking bar to prevent accidental contact with blade For product related questions on the Jack LaLanne Juicer, please call TriStar Products Inc. 1-800-526-2518. Model:  E-1188
Average Customer Rating:
3.517 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
(out of 87 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
13
1 star
18
53 of 87(61%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Review 1 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:January 28, 2014

Returning It - Not Worth the $$

Pros: great for carrots & celery
Cons: doesn't juice greens well, awkward shape/size, difficult to remove parts
"I read the reviews before buying and thought that despite the few negative reviews, there were many positives. I was excited to get started with my juicing, so I bought lots of veggies, particularly kale, arugula, celery, carrots and apples. Well, the carrots and celery did great. The apples struggled a little, but were fine. The kale and arugula, however, were pretty much spit out in pieces into the chute. What a waste! I think that many of us who are trying to make healthy juices would like to include greens. It really doesn't "do" green juices. I'm going to return this item and buy another juicer that has been recommended by my sister. Just thought I'd write this to save some of you the time/trouble of buying/returning this. If you're looking to juice carrots/apples/celery, this is fine. If you want to do leafy greens/lettuces, etc...I'd say to save your money and go for something better.
Also, it is quite large and a little awkward. It just seems like a machine that has been around for a while and could use quite a few modernizations. I'm new to juicing, but that's my take. Hope it's helpful!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:March 6, 2014

Not what I expected

Pros: sturdy juices well easy to use
Cons: a pain to clean
"I was so excited to buy my first juicer and start making some healthier eating choices. I made carrot juice and orange juice. Both were very tasty. I was impressed by how the juicer performed and how easy it was to use. The down side for me was amount of time I spent cleaning the pieces. The filter has particles of food that get embedded into it and I had hard time getting it completely clean using the brush that comes with it. My next 2 issues will happen with any juicer. It takes a lot of carrots to make a glass of juice and by the time you do, there is so much fiber that goes into the fiber bin. Some people do use the pulp and fiber in recipes. I tried to save it, but ended up throwing most of it away. I really hate throwing food away and I feel like I am missing out on the fiber. These glasses of juice you make are a bit pricey. I renturned it and got a Nutribullet. Love it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Huntsville, AL
Date:December 7, 2011

Works great...Read my review for some helpful tips

Pros: easier to use
Cons: a little weak motor
Model Number: Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer
"Works great for a home juice... It gets a little bogged down with lemons and the like but overall, I am very happy with the product. My wife an I juiced for 60 days straight with this machine with very little issues.
TIPS: Use a plastic grocery bag in the pulp hopper. This HELPS greatly in cleaning the hopper quickly if you are making a lot of juice. The hopper fills up for about every quart of liquid juice made. Also use a damp Kirkland paper towel on top of the pulp shoot as a minor amount of the pulp can get out. The paper towel helps to trap the errant pulp particles. Lastly, if possible, place the juicer on the kitchen counter and face the spout to the sink. Use a funnel in the receptacle that is placed in the sink below the juicer spout. This helps A LOT as the spout is so low that you cannot get a really big receptacle under the spout.
"
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, Ca
Date:April 15, 2014

It's a good product

Pros: easy to use and understand instructions
Cons: none
Model Number: E-1188
"I purchased this juicer because a friend had one and I loved theirs. This is great for the person who does chunky items. If you are looking for a cold press juicer this isn't the item to get. For what the juicer does it's great. For the first time juicer this is perfect and the price point is amazing as well. I will definitely purchase again for friends and family.
I will recommend cleaning right away to make it easier. And place a bag in the collection bucket in the back to make it easier for cleanup."
Review 5 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
Date:February 9, 2014

Best Juicer

Pros: sufficient space for the fruit/vegetable shavings, fairly large fruits/vegetables fit in the "mouth", its not too noisy.
Cons: none*****
"I liked it because it works very well, it takes out all the juice in oranges, carrots and more vegetables, it's easy to clean, and I am very glad that I bought it. A very good price and I really recommend this product. I like to make my shopping in COSTCO."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:san francisco, ca
Date:June 2, 2012

LOVE!!!

Pros: easy easy easy
Cons: none
Model Number: 673000 ultimate power juicer
"After visiting my son and experiencing juicing for the first time, I got on board. His juicer was a 'masticating' kind that produced very dry pulp and lots of juice. It also cost $250+.
I'm a cheapo so I thought I would try this, knowing I could return if I didn't like it. I fell in love instead.
While the pulp is a little wetter than my son's produced, it's still pretty dry. The juice is excellent. (Okay, well not the kale... I'm having a hard time developing a taste for that one.)
I've had no problems with leafy greens, vegetables, fruit or soft fruit. No clogging, no mess outside the juicer. GREAT PRODUCT.
If you're having problems with yours, please go back and read the instructions. I read them before juicing and I have had no problems.
Clean-up and reassembly are a breeze plus I compost the pulp for my greenhouse.
Juice ON!!!
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern CA
Date:March 26, 2012

Awesome Product and Value

Model Number: Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer
"Seriously great juicer! Bought another more expensive model from Costco and the waste bin looked like a smoothie...I actually tried re-juicing the outbin material because there was still so much juice in it...was not worth the effort, FYI.
However, Jack's juicer waste bin was dry! Very little wasted juice at all. People complaining about too much juice in outbin are likely doing something wrong.
The type of veggie/fruit you juice makes a huge impact on effectiveness too. Kale, good; small spinach leaves, bad. The spinach leaves were pretty much just shot out the back since there is no bulk to them to get the juicer's teeth into. Also, very ripe fruit will not work well either. Some items work best when juiced with other things...e.g. if fruit is soft like kiwi, try throwing in a carrot with it to help it along...
Clean up takes a bit of effort, but not unreasonable considering how well the machine works. Putting soap on the brush really speeds screen cleaning.
Great fun to see what fruits & vegs go well together and which don't! Oh, and make sure when you drop material into the chute, you immediately follow with the pusher, otherwise, you might have things like apple wedges flying across your kitchen!
Highly recommend.
Amazing how good strawberry juice is!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Walnut Ceek, CA
Date:September 19, 2010

Very Happy With This Juicer

Pros: quality, price
Model Number: Ultimate Power Juicer
"This is my first juicer and I didn't really know much about them. I read lots of reviews and found good and bad with all of them. I bought this one because of the price. I have had no problems juicing anything. I juice a big bowl full of greens every morning and it does a fantastic job (spinach, lettuce, celery, kale, chard, parsely, cilantro, carrots, beats, tomatoes). Get's lots of juice out of the greens. Very very happy with this juicer."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Citrus Heights, CA
Date:September 4, 2010

Great Juicer

"I find that this juicer is easier to use and clean than my old one. It gets more of the juice out, the pulp is very dry. And the pulp catcher is large, I don't have to empty it after 8 carrots like I did with my old one."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gig Harbor, WA
Date:November 20, 2010

FABULOUS juicer!!!!

Pros: powerful!!!
Cons: none
Model Number: MT-1000
"I am writing this after reading the negative reviews, which I cannot understand. This is an amazing juicer!
I had purchased this juicer at COSTCO in 2009 and never used it until I was diagnosed with cancer in Nov. 2009. Since then I have juiced HUGE quantities of vegetables with it!
When I was diagnosed, I started reading many books to learn of ways we can help our bodies regain health, and juicing is a powerful way to do this, as it provides the body with the micro-nutrients that our immune systems need to help us heal and stay healthy. Vegetables contain powerful cancer and disease fighting substances- phytochemicals. When one drinks their juices one is getting vast quantities of these phytochemicals and nutrients, much more than one could possibly ingest by eating them whole, because our stomach's couldn't handle the bulk. Also, these nutrients are not degraded by the cooking process. They are raw and fresh when consumed as juice.
I have been drinking 2 quarts of vegetable juice a day for this past year, using this wonderful machine. I juice three 10 pound bags of COSTCO organic carrots a week, ( that's 30 pounds of carrots a week, multiplied by 52 weeks=1,560 pounds of carrots that I have put through this machine this past year, and it hasn't slowed down one bit), and I include organic beets, beet greens, broccoli stems, cauliflower, bell peppers, red cabbage, bok choy, zucchini, chard, kale, collard greens, parsley, and pretty much any organic vegetable I can find. I do this 3 times a week and store the juice in glass containers in the fridge, drinking 2 quarts a day, and I feel FABULOUS!!
It is very easy to use this machine and to disassemble and wash it. It is powerful and has no problem juicing beets and carrots. The best way to get the leafy greens juiced is to wrap the leaves around the carrots as you push them through.
I recommend this juicer to everyone, be they "extreme" juicers like me, or only occasional users. You will love it!!! I just bought a 2nd one today to have as a spare in case my first one ever breaks down from all the heavy use I make of it, even though it has a lifetime warranty. I don't ever want to miss a day of my juice.
My healthy, healing body and I want to thank Jack LaLane for giving us this WONDERFUL juicer!!!!"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mountains of New Mexico
Date:August 29, 2013

Great Juicer

Pros: excellent durable design
"This is a great juicer. My wife and I purchased our first juicer about 7 years ago and broke it after about year because we over-tightened the pulveriser wheel. We purchased a second from COSTCO and have been using almost daily for the last 6 years. What a great design - they did their homework on this unit. I am an engineer and appreciate a good product in this day and age of throw away junk. Can't say enough good things about the juicer - we are not casual users like some reviewers of this product; as I said we use almost daily. Just don't over-tighter pulveriser wheel - hand-tighten."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2011

Great juicer after 6 months

Pros: neat-no counter messes, doesn't heat the juice, fast, quick clean up, no need to strain
Cons: takes getting used to
"I purchased this juicer due to its price as I was not sure I would follow through on my plan to start juicing. Years ago I juiced daily and had expensive Champion and Omega juicers, along with the wonderful Vitamixer. There are many types of juicers for different functions. This juicer makes a quick and efficient job out of juicing veggies, it does not heat the juice, there is little foam, the feeder tube is a great size, it does not need to be strained, and it is very neat -- no pulp flying around or juice spilling. It works as well as the Omega for sure, and much better than the Champion which heats the juice, and is a real mess to work with. Clean up is easy once you get used to the parts, keep the trash can close by, wipe and dump the pulp, rinse off the parts, only the basket needs a scrub with the brush. Simple. It makes juice so quickly, I use it every morning, with leafy greens too. If they get stuck, I use a carrot down the side and its no problem. Can't say how long it will last of course, but I've used it almost daily since January 2011 to make 14 ounces of juice using carrots, apples, beets, celery, chard, kale, spinach, romaine, and other veggies."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:January 8, 2013

Disappointed

Pros: looks good, quiet, reasonably easy to clean
Cons: poor juice extraction
"I've got this 20 year old juicer that is yellowed, the strainer basket is dented and it has more or less seen better days. I figured now is a good time to replace it. I had high expectations for this one. Turns out that while it is okay, it doesn't do as good of a job as the beat up old work horse I have on my counter. Does really poorly on those challenging vegetables like spinich and brocolli. It pretty much just spits them out the back. I had to put in at least twice the produce I normally would and I still ended up with only 12 oz as opposed to 16 that I normally get with my old one. While it has some nice features I figure the added cost in produce is probably not worth it. I think this one is going back tomorrow and I'll just stick with old reliable for a bit longer."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2011

Buy the Breville Instead

Pros: comes with recipe book
Cons: motor burned out fast
"I have wanted a juicer for years and had my eye on this one for some time. All the excited deflated quickly unfortunately.
Juicer is not easy to clean, comparatively speaking. This one has mutliple parts, including a special tool to un-do the slicer from the mesh basket. You loose this and you are not in good shape!
Juicer spout fairly low so that only short cup can fit. So, you end up with messy spills as you hurry to transport the small cup to a larger one and quickly wipe up the mess with paper towels.
Worst part was that on the third "juice" the motor burnt out on me. I was only juicing a carrot so it wasn't on over-load.
After cleaning, I returned and bought the Breville online at Costco.com. So far so good!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:July 26, 2013

Looks Nice, Operates Poorly

Pros: looks nice
Cons: -taking apart parts to clean, -clogs, -not good for leafy veggies like kale, kale gets wasted, -juice can spill into motor casing
"I bought this after I saw it at a friend's house.
I purchased the SAME EXACT MODEL however, it turns out they changed the design from when my friend bought it.
Before, you were given a tool to unscrew the blades easily and then you could pull out the strainer. Now the blades and strainer are combined into one piece and it's "locked" into place by only force. So trying to pull out the strainer-blade piece takes a lot of force and puts a lot of pressure on your finger tips. I do not suggest this version for any elderly. I'm 35 and it's a hassle.
Another problem is the hole from the juice collector to the spout piece gets blocked often. If you don't pay attention you keep on putting more veggies in the machine and suddenly the juice collector starts to overflow. If the juice collector overflows, then the juices gets into the motor casing from the outside and from the inside in the middle.
I have yet to test my juicer since it just overflowed. I'm waiting for it to dry. I'm debating whether or not to dismantle the juicer to make sure there isn't anything clogged by the motor.
Pain to clean, but all juicers are like that. Clean/Rinse the juicer before you even drink your drink. Certain food dries up quickly and hardens onto the parts."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Greensboro, NC
Date:March 20, 2012

Design flaws

Pros: easy to assemble
Cons: lots of waste, very messy
"I have been using a Ninja blender to juice for over a year. Works good but carrots and apples were a little gritty. After Watching "Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead" I decided on a Juicer. Thought it would be easier since you don't have to peal or core. I was wrong. It worked good for grapes, a single carrot or a single apple but did not have good luck with other fruit. First I noticed that it produces a lot of waste. Leafy vegetables our basically thrown into the waste container. I then noticed the spout hole is too small and when I put strawberries and raspberries in the juicer it clogged up and would not drain through. Not understanding why juice was not coming out I continued feeding the juicer and it leaked out the sides. big mess. with is just a little wider than a pencil. very frustrating. After taking the juicer apart there was a huge mess around the edge of the inside sides of the basket. It is easy to take apart and put back together but compared to a blender it was an arduous task. All in all I wasted way too much time feeding he juicer, unclogging it and taking it apart to clean. I think I am going to try one of the high RPM blenders or maybe a blender with a larger spout. they may be more expensive but Less waste and less mess"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:September 26, 2013

Great buy!

Pros: great product producing good juice, not too many parts to clean, awesome recipe book
Cons: if you don't clean it immediately food sticks.
"I've had my juicer for 3 years (2 in actual use) and I've never had any problems. True if you are juicing a lot of veggies at once, keep your eye on the waste receptacle as you will need to empty it as well as rinse the blade. Its just about caring for your appliances, sometime good things take a bit of work.
DO: Clean your juicer immediately, it makes clean up sooo much easier.
DON'T: Juice kale all by itself, through in some juicy veggies or fruit with it to help the kale juice better.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Port Angeles, WA
Date:November 9, 2011

Good Value for the Healty Benefits!

"Bought this juicer back in March so I have had it for almost 8 months. I use it 2-3 times a week. If you read the instructions and treat the juicer how it is supposed to be treated then it works very well. I have read some of the negative reviews and felt I needed to put my two cents worth in. I have had no problem with celery or carrots, quite the opposite as some people are saying here. I have no problem with them producing a very good amount of juice. If you read the instructions, using berries can produce some thicker results and they don't recommend overly ripe or soft berries or fruit for that matter. If you have spinach or any herbs you are running through, you have to roll them up into a bunch for them to process right or put them in between some apple or other fruit pieces. Everything processes just fine if you cut them up. Apples I cut into quarters and they process just fine. I process most my vegies first and then use fruits such as pineapple and oranges to finish it off as they will produce alot of juice that seems to clean up after the vegies. Yes if it gets backed up it will leak out the sides, it's common sense, where else is it going to go. If you notice not alot of juice coming out, more than likely it is getting alot of fiber/pulp in the drain section, I have found that if I close the spout and reopen it a few times it frees up some of the pulp and things will flow freely again. The pulp that I get out the back seems to be extremely dry so I know I am getting the majority of the juice. In fact I have an indoor compost bucket and it takes 5 times longer for the pulp to break down because it is lacking so much of the liquid. So my two cents worth! It's not a commercial grade machine so treat it as such. Cut up the items into more manageable pieces. As far as clean up, anything good requires a little bit of work but I have no problem with clean up. Dump the pulp and rinse everything else off and then put it in the dishwasher?"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:February 4, 2014

Saves me 45 minutes to an hour every morning

Pros: easy to clean, big spout allows whole foods to be dropped in.
Cons: the base could be more stable. its wobbly at times
Model Number: Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
"My wife are doing the Joe Gross juicing diet for 30 days. We have to make 8 total juices for the day for both of us and even with prep it would take me roughly 1-1.5hrs every morning with our Hamilton Beach Juicer. With this baby it has dropped down to just 20 minutes, plus 5 for cleaning. Larger pieces are easy to clean as well. I would highly recommend it."
Review 20 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 24, 2010

Does exactly what it's supposed to do.

Pros: priced better than the mfg. informercial
Cons: got instruction manual in french and had to wait f
"It works well, quiet and easy to clean. Don't understand all the problems. Read the booklet on how to use and follow the instructions.. The suggestion of using a plastic bag in the pulp catcher simplifies everything and it's a snap to use and clean."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>