Customer Reviews for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™

Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price.   Start power juicing for energy and good health with Jack LaLanne’s Power Juicer™. Make all your favorite fresh juices without having to peel, core, or slice most of your fruit and vegetables. And it’s not just for juice. Jack Lalanne’s Power Juicer Fresh Recipe Collection is a compilation of over 300 recipes including fresh and healthy juices, smoothies and frozen treats; delicious baked goods; and even nutritious soups, salads and dips. As an added value, you’ll receive this complete recipe collection when you purchase the Power Juicer Ultimate. ADDED VALUE:  Fresh Recipe Collection book- a compilation of over 300 recipes Features: Patented extraction technology with high performance induction motor produces fast, healthy juice in seconds   Redesigned wide chute and pusher lets you juice most whole fruits and vegetables; no peeling, cutting, chopping, or coring, saving time and convenience   Surgical-quality stainless steel blade is engineered to juice even the most difficult fruits and vegetables in seconds   Whisper-quality induction motor focuses on torque not just RMP to create less heat that can negatively affect the nutrient quality   3,600 RMP motor with lifetime guarantee   Raised base to accommodate taller glasses   Extra long, non-drip spout   Super-sized detachable pulp collector   Dishwasher safe parts   Good Housekeeping Approved   Includes The Fresh Recipe Collection recipe book, instructional DVD and cleaning brush   UL listed   Dimensions: 16.5" L x 9" W x 16.5" H   Weight: 14 lbs.   Made in China   Warranty: 90 day limited on parts, lifetime guarantee on the motor Built-in safety features:    Thermal cut off switch/Automatic shut off    Locking bar to prevent accidental contact with blade For product related questions on the Jack LaLanne Juicer, please call TriStar Products Inc. 1-800-526-2518. Model:  E-1188
Average Customer Rating:
3.506 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 89
(out of 89 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (89 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
13
1 star
19
54 of 89(61%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Review 1 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2014

New model, much less pulp waste!

Pros: not a lot of waste, simple to disassemble, easy to clean, juice almost anything with ease, clear instructions
Cons: sometimes the blade is hard to pull off
"I've borrowed this juicer from other people for years. I enjoyed it, but their model came with a magnetic screw thingy to remove the blade...if you lose it, you'd be kinda screwed lol.
This new model doesn't have that part, and you just pull the blade from the base (not as dangerous as it sounds!). Also, the new model seems to have FAR less pulp waste compared to the old version. We've had ours for about a month and use it regularly...carrots, greens (romaine, kale, spinach, beet tops), apples, carrots, citrus, ginger, beets, celery, cucumber.....everything juiced great, oh except the pineapple core I tried...um it was kinda dense and I don't think the instructions recommended juicing it;)
If you follow the instructions for juicing greens, they work well (wrap them tight, follow with a juicy piece of produce). This morning I wrapped up fennel fronds in beet leaves and put it in the chute, then placed a small quarter of Apple and half a lime on top of that and gently pushed it thru. Celery is also a good "follower" for leafy things!
"
Review 2 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:April 18, 2014

Stay away from Jack LaLanne's Power Jucier

Pros: easy to clean
Cons: gets clogged very easy, spout will break and leak everywhere, manufacture wont ship replacement parts, wastes a tone of vegetable, leaving un-juiced chunks
Model Number: E-1188
"A few months back I purchased a Jack LaLanne’s Power Juicer. I was able to use it for several months, where it was barely meeting my expectations. The juicer often became clogged and required cleaning in the middle of juicing. Then the rubber piece in the juice spot broke off. I called the company and placed an order for a replacement spout and was told it would be delivered in 2 to3 weeks. 3 weeks later I called them once again and was told that it would arrive within the next 3 weeks. When it did not arrive 4 weeks later I called the company again to inquire about the status of my order, and was told they had no idea when my part would ship."
Review 3 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, Ca
Date:April 15, 2014

It's a good product

Pros: easy to use and understand instructions
Cons: none
Model Number: E-1188
"I purchased this juicer because a friend had one and I loved theirs. This is great for the person who does chunky items. If you are looking for a cold press juicer this isn't the item to get. For what the juicer does it's great. For the first time juicer this is perfect and the price point is amazing as well. I will definitely purchase again for friends and family.
I will recommend cleaning right away to make it easier. And place a bag in the collection bucket in the back to make it easier for cleanup."
Review 4 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:March 6, 2014

Not what I expected

Pros: sturdy juices well easy to use
Cons: a pain to clean
"I was so excited to buy my first juicer and start making some healthier eating choices. I made carrot juice and orange juice. Both were very tasty. I was impressed by how the juicer performed and how easy it was to use. The down side for me was amount of time I spent cleaning the pieces. The filter has particles of food that get embedded into it and I had hard time getting it completely clean using the brush that comes with it. My next 2 issues will happen with any juicer. It takes a lot of carrots to make a glass of juice and by the time you do, there is so much fiber that goes into the fiber bin. Some people do use the pulp and fiber in recipes. I tried to save it, but ended up throwing most of it away. I really hate throwing food away and I feel like I am missing out on the fiber. These glasses of juice you make are a bit pricey. I renturned it and got a Nutribullet. Love it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, Nevada
Date:February 9, 2014

Best Juicer

Pros: sufficient space for the fruit/vegetable shavings, fairly large fruits/vegetables fit in the "mouth", its not too noisy.
Cons: none*****
"I liked it because it works very well, it takes out all the juice in oranges, carrots and more vegetables, it's easy to clean, and I am very glad that I bought it. A very good price and I really recommend this product. I like to make my shopping in COSTCO."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:February 4, 2014

Saves me 45 minutes to an hour every morning

Pros: easy to clean, big spout allows whole foods to be dropped in.
Cons: the base could be more stable. its wobbly at times
Model Number: Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
"My wife are doing the Joe Gross juicing diet for 30 days. We have to make 8 total juices for the day for both of us and even with prep it would take me roughly 1-1.5hrs every morning with our Hamilton Beach Juicer. With this baby it has dropped down to just 20 minutes, plus 5 for cleaning. Larger pieces are easy to clean as well. I would highly recommend it."
Review 7 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:January 28, 2014

Returning It - Not Worth the $$

Pros: great for carrots & celery
Cons: doesn't juice greens well, awkward shape/size, difficult to remove parts
"I read the reviews before buying and thought that despite the few negative reviews, there were many positives. I was excited to get started with my juicing, so I bought lots of veggies, particularly kale, arugula, celery, carrots and apples. Well, the carrots and celery did great. The apples struggled a little, but were fine. The kale and arugula, however, were pretty much spit out in pieces into the chute. What a waste! I think that many of us who are trying to make healthy juices would like to include greens. It really doesn't "do" green juices. I'm going to return this item and buy another juicer that has been recommended by my sister. Just thought I'd write this to save some of you the time/trouble of buying/returning this. If you're looking to juice carrots/apples/celery, this is fine. If you want to do leafy greens/lettuces, etc...I'd say to save your money and go for something better.
Also, it is quite large and a little awkward. It just seems like a machine that has been around for a while and could use quite a few modernizations. I'm new to juicing, but that's my take. Hope it's helpful!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Parker, CO
Date:January 9, 2014

Great Juicer for the Price

Pros: nice looking quick & easy to use delicious juice
Cons: cleaning takes a little longer than i'd like lots, of pulp better at large leafy greens than small, ones
"I got this juicer because I couldn't make up my mind on a more expensive one. For $90, I figured it was worth a shot, plus 2 other friends liked using theirs for the last 2 years. I am very pleased. Have made juice 1-2 times a day (16 oz each time) every day for the last 2 weeks with no problems. No clogs, no overheating, no shutting down. So far, I have juiced beets, red cabbage, apples, carrots, ginger, kale, cucumber, tomatoes, celery, pears, grapefruit, orange & lemons. Even though you can fit an entire apple in the chute, I usually cut in 1/2 or 1/4 to juice it faster. I tried baby leaf greens, and that didn't work well because you need something more substantial that you can roll up in the chute. Changed to large leafed kale, rolled it up with stalk attached, then immediately followed with a piece of apple or something juicy. Worked like a charm, and I got great green juice by using that method. Stick with the big leaf varieties of kale, spinach, or swiss chard, as they work the best. I recommend that when you juice anything of a drier consistency that you always follow with something juicy to push everything through the strainer. There is nothing better than starting your day with fresh juice, with 1/2 a lemon and a big knob of peeled ginger thrown in for some "kick". Wakes you right up, and better for you than coffee. There is a good amount of pulp leftover, but fortunately I have chickens, so I feed it to them. Another great use is add the pulp to muffins or bread mixes - very healthy and adds great moisture when baking. Vegetable pulp can be added to meatloaf as well. Overall, I'm very happy and feel that I've gotten exactly what I paid for, so I can't complain. I know that if things change, Costco will always take it back with no questions! :-)"
Review 9 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mandeville, LA
Date:December 5, 2013

Great juicer for the price

Pros: works great with hard fruits and veggies, long product life, dry pulp, super easy clean-up
Cons: low juice dispenser height, no catch pitcher for juice, very large takes up a lot of counter space
Model Number: MT-1000
"I was shocked at some of the reviews I read of this product and I'm wondering if something has changed over the years in production. I purchased my juicer (this same model) in 2007. It is Dec 2013, and I still use it near daily, sometimes multiple times per day and it is still running strong. My pulp is fairly dry(I couldn't possibly squeeze any more juice by hand as I could with others previous to owning this machine), and I have yet to use the extra blade disc that came with my machine. ****This type of juicer is best for juicing harder type vegetables NOT delicate greens. Delicate greens like spinach will come thru hardly touched in this machine, you need a different type of juicer for those entirely. My favorite juice to make in this juicer is a combination of romaine, cucumber, celery, carrots, and lemon. I put everything in whole unless it is too large for the chute, and have no issues. I also juice apples for my kids often. On occasion some of the apple peel will get stuck to the blade, but generally I am unaware of this until I take it apart to clean. It doesn't seem to affect the functioning since it's just a small piece. The machine is very easy to clean as long as you do it right away. The most difficult piece is the strainer which isn't really difficult at all. I have found the easiest way to clean this is to use a green scrubber type pad and scrub the outside first while under running water. It's super quick and easy that way to get everything off. Everything else rinses clean and you can throw it into your dishwasher or wash by hand if you prefer. I have done both. When I run this thru my dishwasher I turn the drying heat off to make sure not to damage any parts because some pieces are a bit large for the top rack. One design flaw of this model or maybe the whole line is that the juice spout is quite low, and it doesn't come with a juice catch cup so you will need to find something short and wide to catch your juice. I use round glass Pyrex storage containers because they seem to be the perfect height for this machine. It would be nice to be able to juice right into my glass or a pitcher, but it isn't such a hassle that I wouldn't use the machine. Oh one other complaint or warning. In my recipe book that came with my machine it said you can make a fruit sorbet type dessert by running frozen fruit thru. I tried this once....will NEVER do that again. That was the ONLY time my machine ever shut down on me. I honestly thought I broke it, but it came back up a few hours later. Overall, purchasing this juicer was money well spent."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Date:December 3, 2013

don't waste your time

Pros: easy to assemble, ok to clean
Cons: item is huge, does not extract juice well, it needs to be cooled/rested before restarting, stopped working last night after two weeks
Model Number: E-1188
"I tried it and it's not for me. I juiced about 3x a week for the last two weeks. You don't get much juice out of fruits and veggies unless it's cucumber and small pieces of cut up carrots. don't try ginger on this unless you cut it up well. the fibers in the ginger clogs the blade area. last night i juiced about 5 cups of juice and it stopped working. usually, when that happens i can just let it rest and it would start back again but not last night. i will have to test it again tonight to see if it still works. this item is going back to Costco for sure."
Review 11 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:California
Date:November 26, 2013

Not very good....

Pros: good price, easy to assemble and dissassemble
Cons: weak motor, cleaning
Model Number: Power Juicer Ultimate
"I bought the unit recently and have used it about 4 times. Pretty sure I will be returning it. The unit is easy to assemble and disassemble and runs very quiet. Cleaning isn't difficult but you will have to clean every piece of the unit which includes the lid, pusher, filter, receptacle, and pulp collector each time. If you clean it immediately after use it should be pretty easy, although, the filter takes some time. If you are making one glass of juice the amount of cleaning may not be worth it. Ideally, you could make multiple glasses of juice at one time before having to clean, but the unit doesn’t seem to be able to handle that. While trying to make enough juice for 2 glasses the unit clogged. I had to stop and clean the filter/blade before being able to continue. Also, the unit is supposed to be able to accommodate whole fruits if they fit in the chute; however, that has not been the case for me. I have tried whole apples, 4 separate times, and each and every time I have had to shut the unit off and dig the apple out, cut it into pieces, and try again. I called Jack LaLanne customer service thinking there may be a problem with the unit but was told it is “normal to have to cut fruit like apples” even though they market the unit as being able to accommodate whole fruit. Overall, I am disappointed in the unit."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2013

unsatisfied

"juicers leaked every time, checked and rechecked assembly.
juicer did not juice very well or feed very well, jammed frequently and had to push harder remove items even though it said pushing down would stain the motor and lead to burn out.
I had apple chunks and whole spinach leaves in the pulp container.
I had to raise unit on to blocks of wood to put a decent sized container for the juice.
returned unit for refund $90 doesn't buy a good juicer
"
Review 13 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Date:November 24, 2013

Not happy with it at all.

Pros: good looking juicer reasonable price.
Cons: does not extract juice as it should. wastes a lot
"Most of the vegetable ends up in the waste bin. A lot of fruit pieces ends up in the waste. Overall not happy with this purchase."
Review 14 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:September 26, 2013

Great buy!

Pros: great product producing good juice, not too many parts to clean, awesome recipe book
Cons: if you don't clean it immediately food sticks.
"I've had my juicer for 3 years (2 in actual use) and I've never had any problems. True if you are juicing a lot of veggies at once, keep your eye on the waste receptacle as you will need to empty it as well as rinse the blade. Its just about caring for your appliances, sometime good things take a bit of work.
DO: Clean your juicer immediately, it makes clean up sooo much easier.
DON'T: Juice kale all by itself, through in some juicy veggies or fruit with it to help the kale juice better.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Euless, TX
Date:September 13, 2013

Very satisfied

Pros: easy assembly and disassembly, easy to clean, large capacity, quiet motor
Cons: none
"Excellent product. Not messy, quiet, efficient, does exactly what it claims to do. I highly recommend this machine."
Review 16 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mountains of New Mexico
Date:August 29, 2013

Great Juicer

Pros: excellent durable design
"This is a great juicer. My wife and I purchased our first juicer about 7 years ago and broke it after about year because we over-tightened the pulveriser wheel. We purchased a second from COSTCO and have been using almost daily for the last 6 years. What a great design - they did their homework on this unit. I am an engineer and appreciate a good product in this day and age of throw away junk. Can't say enough good things about the juicer - we are not casual users like some reviewers of this product; as I said we use almost daily. Just don't over-tighter pulveriser wheel - hand-tighten."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ashburn, VA
Date:August 15, 2013

Not so much

Pros: quiet motor; great recipe book
Cons: made a mess
"My original intent was to buy a blender to start making juice. However, I saw this product next to the blenders and the box sold me on how easy it would be to not have to peel or core the fruit and vegetables first. I was disappointed when I discovered the spout is only tall enough for short glasses, no chance of putting a large glass or thermos under it. Fruit actually shot up out of the feeder tube before I could cover it. I was putting in cut apples, not event whole apples like the picture depicts. Juice actually leaked out of its side when I used it. The pulp collector didn't fully do it's job either and pulp and other fruit pieces escaped. Ultimately, I spent more time cleaning up after juicing than I would have spent prepping food to throw in a blender. Tried it twice and it is going back."
Review 18 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ridgecrest, CA
Date:August 6, 2013

Good entry level juicer

Pros: no pulp, easy set-up, easy clean-up
Model Number: E-1188
"Easy to use, and easy to clean. Provides a decent amount of juice with no pulp. For the price you cannot go wrong. Beats department store juicers hands down."
Review 19 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:July 26, 2013

Looks Nice, Operates Poorly

Pros: looks nice
Cons: -taking apart parts to clean, -clogs, -not good for leafy veggies like kale, kale gets wasted, -juice can spill into motor casing
"I bought this after I saw it at a friend's house.
I purchased the SAME EXACT MODEL however, it turns out they changed the design from when my friend bought it.
Before, you were given a tool to unscrew the blades easily and then you could pull out the strainer. Now the blades and strainer are combined into one piece and it's "locked" into place by only force. So trying to pull out the strainer-blade piece takes a lot of force and puts a lot of pressure on your finger tips. I do not suggest this version for any elderly. I'm 35 and it's a hassle.
Another problem is the hole from the juice collector to the spout piece gets blocked often. If you don't pay attention you keep on putting more veggies in the machine and suddenly the juice collector starts to overflow. If the juice collector overflows, then the juices gets into the motor casing from the outside and from the inside in the middle.
I have yet to test my juicer since it just overflowed. I'm waiting for it to dry. I'm debating whether or not to dismantle the juicer to make sure there isn't anything clogged by the motor.
Pain to clean, but all juicers are like that. Clean/Rinse the juicer before you even drink your drink. Certain food dries up quickly and hardens onto the parts."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Jack LaLanne's Ultimate Power Juicer™
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:June 19, 2013

Love it!

Pros: produces lots of juice
"Great juicer, we love juicing with it!
People complain about juicing vegetables with it...what are you only juicing kale! Kale will not give you a lot of juice.
This juicer is great, easy to clean and juices just about anything. Except avocado, papaya and bananas; which is obvious as they turn into a paste."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>