Customer Reviews for Whynter 32-bottle Wine Cooler Vibration-Free Thermoelectric Cooling Dual Zone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Whynter 32-bottle Wine Cooler Vibration-Free Thermoelectric Cooling Dual Zone

Adjustable Thermostat LCD Display
Average Customer Rating:
2.722 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
(out of 18 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
7
9 of 18(50%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Whynter 32-bottle Wine Cooler Vibration-Free Thermoelectric Cooling Dual Zone
Review 1 for Whynter 32-bottle Wine Cooler Vibration-Free Thermoelectric Cooling Dual Zone
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Friday Harbor, WA
Date:November 30, 2010

Excellent value for a functional, handsome item

Pros: quiet, efficient, stylish
Cons: none
"Quiet, generous amount of storage in an efficient and handsome package."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Whynter 32-bottle Wine Cooler Vibration-Free Thermoelectric Cooling Dual Zone
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2011
"I like the wine cooler a lot however the shelves are too close together and it is very hard to get all the bottles in it. It looks great and is quiet when operating."
Review 3 for Whynter 32-bottle Wine Cooler Vibration-Free Thermoelectric Cooling Dual Zone
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clinton Twp.,MI
Date:December 2, 2010

Great!

"Looks really great in our new condo! Wine is
at its best at the correct temp. We just can't get the right light to work all the time, but we're not going to hassle the small stuff :)
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Whynter 32-bottle Wine Cooler Vibration-Free Thermoelectric Cooling Dual Zone
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:October 11, 2011
"Worst product ever. DON'T PURCHASE!! Item came with cracked glass, doors did not line up and it also scratched up my wood floors. Not very helpful on the phone when I called the company direct."
Review 5 for Whynter 32-bottle Wine Cooler Vibration-Free Thermoelectric Cooling Dual Zone
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southlake, TX
Date:March 25, 2011

Excellent Item

Pros: quiet, awesome details, 2 seperate sides and temperature controls
Model Number: 32 bottle
"This wine cooler looks so professional and keeps the wine at a perfect teperature. This is an excellent item and recommend this to everyone. You can keep red & white wines in either side and keep them at the perfect temperature."
Review 6 for Whynter 32-bottle Wine Cooler Vibration-Free Thermoelectric Cooling Dual Zone
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:March 5, 2011

Great Purchase

Pros: price, looks great, dual zone
Cons: stoppers
"Great product, very quite looks great, had no problems with shipping. Only real issue was that the shelves do not have stoppers. Larger bottles can only fit if you remove a few shelves,but for us it works. Overall again great product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Whynter 32-bottle Wine Cooler Vibration-Free Thermoelectric Cooling Dual Zone
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Palm Desert CA
Date:June 21, 2011

Very bad product.

Model Number: 32 Bottle Unit
"Purchased on 4/15/11, returned on 6/21/11
Cooling failed on the White Wine side. Besides that, shelves are very poorly designed. Without adding meaningful cost they could have engineered a much more functional product.
The best part is Costco took it back for full credit.
"
Review 8 for Whynter 32-bottle Wine Cooler Vibration-Free Thermoelectric Cooling Dual Zone
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:April 26, 2011

Excellent purchase

Pros: looks great, holds over 2 cases, holds temperature
Cons: won't hold large format, won't hold long bottles
"It looks great, is quiet and is functioning perfectly. My wine is safe finally! The dual zone is perfect and each zone is holding good temps. This only holds normal wine bottles, not large format (2L, etc), extra long bottles, or champagne bottles (unless you remove a shelf)."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Whynter 32-bottle Wine Cooler Vibration-Free Thermoelectric Cooling Dual Zone
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Eugene, Oregon
Date:June 2, 2011

Very disappointed

Pros: quiet, looks good
Cons: does not hold temp, longer bottles don't fit well
Model Number: costco #541939
"I bought this for my husband for Christmas. It worked quietly, efficiently and maintained the set temps for about 3 months. Then the temp on the colder side started to climb, and we've been unable to reverse it.
The other side has held the higher temp but the cool side has now joined it.
We tried cleaning vents, adjusting the temps and have finally given up.
We're sorry to say, but It goes back to Costco tomorrow."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Whynter 32-bottle Wine Cooler Vibration-Free Thermoelectric Cooling Dual Zone
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:April 25, 2011

A Good Value Purchase

Pros: good value, low energy usage, environmentally sensitive
Cons: shelves are too closely spaced for pinots
"The unit is very attractive, quiet and well-priced as compared with others with a similar capacity. The first unit arrived with two minor dents, and we returned it w/o setting it up and ordered then installed the second unit. Install was very easy, the temp guages indicated that the desired temperatures were reached quickly and have remained consistent. We have many Pinots and fat bottles, so can't fill the unit completely."
Review 11 for Whynter 32-bottle Wine Cooler Vibration-Free Thermoelectric Cooling Dual Zone
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Richmond, VA
Date:May 5, 2011

Worked great for 5 months

Pros: great looking
Cons: one zone quit working after 5 months
Model Number: WC 321-DD
"Loved this wine cooler until one side of the cooler started displaying 72 as the temperature. Tried to lower the temperature but the display just flashes and returns to 72.
Followed several troubleshooting procedures per Whynter, none of which worked. They say it is probably the control board and we need to pay to ship it back to them in CA for repair, or they will send us the parts and we have to find a technician and pay to have it fixed here.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Whynter 32-bottle Wine Cooler Vibration-Free Thermoelectric Cooling Dual Zone
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix
Date:October 14, 2011

damaged before delivery

Cons: manufacturer shipped damaged merchandise.
"This product arrived damaged with a dent on the top. It's protected by two boxes and styrofoam packing which were not damaged at all so I surmise the product was shipped damaged by Whynter. I had read reviews where others had received damaged Whynter products so add this to the pack. Costco was great and is going to exchange this unit for another. Have to see if it arrives in one piece. Not impressed by Whynter so far...hope the wine cooler performs well."
Review 13 for Whynter 32-bottle Wine Cooler Vibration-Free Thermoelectric Cooling Dual Zone
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:July 7, 2011

Worked initially, then temperature got too hot

"I purchased the fridge on May 1 after reading the great reviews. I wanted a dual zone wine refrigerator and this one was the right size for my small wine collection and a great price. The dual zones worked fine for about 6 weeks. Then I noticed that the right side fridge temperature display increased to 68, then 70, then 72, even though I had set it at 56-58. I tried moving the fridge farther from the wall but no luck. Unfortunately, I need to return this."
Review 14 for Whynter 32-bottle Wine Cooler Vibration-Free Thermoelectric Cooling Dual Zone
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Indpls, IN
Date:July 18, 2011

Don't buy

Pros: nice looking
Cons: doesn't cool properly and some bottles don't fit
Model Number: 32 bottle
"I was initially impressed with the clean, stainless steel finish of this unit and the
modern digital readouts.
Unfortunately it does not work as advertised. After several weeks I noticed that the fan on the left side was not operating properly and therefore cools only to 68 degrees. The right side varies in temperature from top to bottom by 3 degrees and none of those even closely match the digital readout.
I tried to repair the unit as directed by the manufacturer without any success. It is now going back to Costco.
"
Review 15 for Whynter 32-bottle Wine Cooler Vibration-Free Thermoelectric Cooling Dual Zone
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Date:March 4, 2011

Second order

Pros: nice stainless steel look, quiet
Cons: first cooler broke, took a month & a half to receive the 2nd order
"We had a wet bar built in our basement and liked the look and reviews on this wine cooler. We purchased this item, it fit perfectly in the designated space and then one half of the cooler stopped cooling after two weeks, so we returned it to Costco and received a full refund. We could not find another wine cooler that fit the designated spot, so we ordered the same Whynter cooler online. After 10 days of placing the order and waiting to hear about our shipping status, we received a phone call from Whynter stating the item was now on backorder and we had to wait a month and a half for it to be shipped. The experience turned out to be an ordeal- but we do like the look of this product and it is a quiet cooler, so we are crossing our fingers it lasts this time around."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Whynter 32-bottle Wine Cooler Vibration-Free Thermoelectric Cooling Dual Zone
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:los angeles
Date:May 13, 2011

great looking but not practical...

Pros: looks good...
Cons: fits only the smallest and shortest bottles
"Looks great, really quiet and seems to keep the tempurature right.
I bought this expecting to store at least 30 bottles, but the spacing of the racks are made for the absolute minimum size of a wine bottle....which unfortunately did not fit a single bottle that i had. Either my bottle was too long, or too thick..that it either pushed the rack above it making it useless, or it was too long that, the rack could barely make it in. and so i ended up using every other rack..and since the spacing of the racks are fixed, i cant even optimize the storage...ultimately wasting a lot of space...and turning this in to a 16 wine bottle cooler. which is unfortunate. You'd think it would be better to size it to an average size of wine bottles...instead of the minumum....but this is a major fail for me.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Whynter 32-bottle Wine Cooler Vibration-Free Thermoelectric Cooling Dual Zone
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Lansdowne, PA
Date:August 16, 2011

Looks Great.....Stopped Working

Pros: costco's no hassle return policy
Cons: faulty electrical system
"Bought this because I though it looked fantastic and liked that it would be quiet without a compressor. Thought the negative opinions on the shelves would not be an issue; however, once we stocked the unit I realized the negative views on the shelves were probably understated. Horrible!!! Never mind the Pinot's, even a normal bottle would not fit well. Shelves were "cheap" feeling & looking, didn't slide in/out smoothly, and had no stops on them to keep them from coming all the way out.
The poor shelves wound up being the least of my worries as far as the overall functionality of the unti was concerned. Just like numerous other reviews on here, one side shorted out and stopped working after two months. Luckily, this was a Costco purchase and not a purchase from some other big box store and returning the unit was no issue at all."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Whynter 32-bottle Wine Cooler Vibration-Free Thermoelectric Cooling Dual Zone
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Lake Forest, CA
Date:January 2, 2011

Little dissapointed in the product

Pros: good price for the wine storage capacity, packaged very well, overall looks aesthetically pleasing, dual temparure zones
Cons: does not hold larger bottles well, shelves do not have a safety stopper, doors were about 0.25" off (uneven), metal plate around light/temp buttons looks cheap
Model Number: Whynter 32 Bottle Wine Cooler Vibration-Free Thermoelectric Cooling Dual Zone
"I've been tracking this product for about a month contemplating on the shelf room for our Pinot Noir and Syrah collection. After seeing positive reviews and Whytner responding via email that they would fit I decided to go ahead and purchase this. Unfortunately, the bottles fit in a way where the shelf above will sit directly on the bottle. I put 4 bottles in (2 rows) and the shelves started to shift the row above it far enough that it made the 3rd row unusable. The bottom shelf is actually the only place large enough to fit larger bottles. I had to space out pinot noir every other shelf, which drives me nuts since I can't have all the pinots together.
The other big disappointment was that the shelves pull all the way out. I have a feeling that I will drop 2 bottles every so often forgetting that there is no safety stopper.
The minor disappointment is the plate around the temperature and light button looks really cheap. It's an after thought piece of metal that that does not sit completely flat. Whytner did a great job on making it look nice except for that part. Also, it is a little annoying that the doors were mounted a little bit off. They are not flush across.
I'm sitting on the fence trying to decide whether to return this product. The reason that I recommended this is for people who do not collect Pinot Noir or Syrahs. If you have 32 normal sized bottles, this would be a better fit. I do like the fact that it came packaged well and that there are 2 temperature zones, which allows you to store a variety of wine."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.