Customer Reviews for Celestron AstroMaster 130EQ Dual Purpose Telescope

Celestron AstroMaster 130EQ Dual Purpose Telescope

Introducing the Celestron AstroMaster 130EQ Dual Purpose Telescope, which is the perfect telescope for clear, crisp images of land and sky. Whether observing the moons of Jupiter during the night or viewing nature from afar during the day, the AstroMaster 130EQ is the ideal choice for the great outdoors.  Take night sky observing to the next level!  Observe detailed craters on the moon, the rings around Saturn, cloud bands on Jupiter, star clusters, galaxies and much more.  High quality glass optics produce clean, crisp images for the entire family to see.  Looking for some daytime action?  View images of mountain ranges, animals at play or whales breaching from the ocean with fully corrected images.  The AstroMaster is the easiest telescope to set up, with no tools necessary.  In a few minutes, the entire family will be ready to observe the wonders of the earth and night sky.  The rugged pre-assembled steel tripod provides the most stable platform with no vibration.  Tripod is adjustable for family members of all heights.   Includes:     Two quality eyepieces; StarPointer red dot finderscope; Accessory tray; The Sky X Planetarium software to help the family learn all about the planets and the Universe   Quick and easy no-tool setup   Permanently mounted StarPointer   Erect image optics - Ideal for terrestrial and astronomical use   Quick release dovetail attachment - no tool setup   German Equatorial mount with Setting circles - to accurately locate and track sky objects   Rugged pre-assembled tripod with 1.25" steel tube legs - Provides a rigid and stable platform   All coated glass optics for clear, crisp images   Deluxe accessory tray for convenient storage of accessories   "The Sky®" Level 1 planetarium software with 10,000 object database and enhanced images   Specifications: Optical Design: Reflector   Aperture: 130 mm (5.12 in)   Focal Length: 650 mm (25.59 in)   Focal Ratio: 5   Eyepiece 1: 20 mm (0.79 in)   Magnification 1: 33 x   Eyepiece 2: 10 mm (0.39 in)   Magnification 2: 65 x   Mount: CG-3   Equatorial Optical Coatings: Aluminum   Weight: 28 lb (12.7 kg)   Finderscope: Built-on StarPointer   Tube Attachment: Dovetail Bar   Star Diagonal   Tripod: 1.25" steel tube legs   CD ROM: The Sky L1   Highest Useful Magnification: 307 x   Limiting Stellar Magnitude: 13.1   Resolution (Rayleigh): 1.07 arcsec   Resolution (Dawes): 0.89 arcsec   Light Gathering Power: 345 x   Angular Field of View: 1.5°   Linear Field of View (@1000 yds): 79 ft (24.08 m)   Optical Tube Length: 24 in (609.6 mm) Model: 130EQ / 542183
Average Customer Rating:
3.385 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
9 of 13(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Celestron AstroMaster 130EQ Dual Purpose Telescope
Review 1 for Celestron AstroMaster 130EQ Dual Purpose Telescope
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:June 24, 2014

Recommended with caveats

Pros: great aperture and light-gathering for the price, easy enough set up
Cons: non-functioning equatorial mount, poor instructions -- youtube will save you here., poor finderscope
Model Number: 130EQ / 542183
"My wife bought this for me for Father's Day. For the money, I think the telescope is really great. The large aperature really captures light. Aligning and using an equatorial mount is hard. There are good youtube videos that really help you with alignment and use. You'll need them as the instructions aren't the most complete.
Big con is the equatorial mount. The mounting screw that attachs the mount to the tripod effectively failed after a week. I could manually screw the mount in and it did fasten. I just can't rotate on azimuth axis. I could live with this, however the RA slow motion control simply does not work. It was inoperative out of the box. Without a slow motion control, it's extremely difficult to zero in on objects. I'm going to return it to the store (love Costco!!!!) and order another one in the hopes that I just got a bad mount.
If the mount is bad again, I may consider buying a used mount on Craigslist. I really like the telescope and hope the new one works but would consider keeping the scope and replacing the mount.
I also purchased a new finderscope. I could never got the integrated finderscope to work in any meaningful way.
I'd have given it a higher rating if the mount had not failed out of the box. P.S. I tried going through Celestron customer service for the mount problem. They never returned my messages. Even if they had, their policy is that you must pay for shipping to return the product."
Review 2 for Celestron AstroMaster 130EQ Dual Purpose Telescope
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Augusta, GA
Date:January 27, 2013

The OTA was not awful, The equatorial mount was

Pros: the box had really cool colors on it
Cons: i paid about 160 dollars for a boat anchor
Model Number: Model: 130EQ
"The tripod legs bowed slightly when fully extended, The equatorial mount would be fantastic if you were in the market for a one time use/ disposable mount that may cause the mirror to break when the improperly meshed gears from the factory allow the OTA to crash down into the tripod legs. If you could find the name of the specialty tool needed to disasemble, then align wormgear shaft with the gear itself and properly torque the steel screws that were set in thin-wall aluminum and stripped out from the factory to begin with. Bottom line, if you are going to use this for over an hour, have a helicoil kit ready. Thin wall aluminum typically is the absolute worst choice to use as a point where you are going to tighten a screw to prevent catastrophic equipment failure. To begin with, you need more than one and a half threads of engagement for pretty much anything in the world let alone issues of galvanic reaction just being in contact with one another for any significant amount of time. Maybe I think too much, maybe I expect too much. or maybe pretty much everything that is shipped over here anymore is merely the product of rewarding low cost producers with contracts and not even begining to care what the actual product is."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Response from Costco:By BuyerSporting GoodsMay 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding our Celestron AstroMaster 130 EQ. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences this particular unit may have caused. Based on the information you have provided, there appears to be an unusual amount of play between the worm gear and the teeth of the Right Ascension gear. The RA locking screw, which prevents the optical tube and counter weight from moving on their own, is quite strong. If the optical tube and the counterweights are properly balanced, the locking screw should not require very much tightening. Please feel free to contact Celestron’s customer support center at 310-803-5955 and they will gladly replace the unit. You can also contact costco.com for an exchange, or return the item directly to your local Costco warehouse. Again, thank you for your feedback regarding the Celestron AstroMaster 130 EQ.
Review 3 for Celestron AstroMaster 130EQ Dual Purpose Telescope
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Carlos, CA
Date:January 1, 2013

MAybe I just got a lemon?

Pros: nice images
Cons: poorly functioning movement controls, poor directions
"I was able to get it put together but the movement control knobs never worked smoothly. The position indicator came covered with some kind of plastic that was hard to remove. I think either that or something else got caught in the threads making it hard to adjust the position. I also had trouble with the viewfinder"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Costco:By BuyerSporting GoodsMay 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding our Celestron AstroMaster 130 EQ. The overlay is there to protect the Right Ascension grids from being scuffed. Normally, it can be removed with one attempt. If any plastic appears to be caught in the exposed worm gear, simply rotate the Right Ascension knob and any remaining plastic should become exposed. With regard to the finderscope, point it at the target as closely as possible and use the 20mm eyepiece in the telescope. The 20mm eyepiece will provide the widest field of view in the telescope and make it easier to locate your target. If you have any further questions or concerns, please contact Celestron’s technical support department at 310-803-5955 and they will be more than happy to assist you. Again, thank you for your feedback regarding the Celestron AstroMaster 130 EQ.
Review 4 for Celestron AstroMaster 130EQ Dual Purpose Telescope
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:December 29, 2012

Great Gift - New Astronomer

Pros: very high quality product, easy to put together, outstanding night views, great packaging and quick ship, well worth the reasonable cost
Cons: a little hard at first to figure out focusing
"This was a gift for my 10 year old who has always had his eyes to the stars. Excellent product with fantastic views. A little hard to initially figure out how to focus but once up that learning curve - it has been a snap to get this up each evening. Just had a chance to view the full moon a a crystal clear night - amazing. Came very well packaged and quickly. Highly recommended!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Celestron AstroMaster 130EQ Dual Purpose Telescope
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:February 8, 2012

Celestron 130EQ

Pros: well made /solid.
Cons: difficult to setup and bad directions.
Model Number: 130EQ
"Well made product. I little confusing setup directions. Works great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Celestron AstroMaster 130EQ Dual Purpose Telescope
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North, NJ
Date:December 8, 2011

A sophisticated and well built telescope for an af

Pros: strong tripod, smooth operation, easy setup, powerful viewing, sophisticated mount and controls, good quality materials, smooth and easy object tracking
Cons: not very portable, very basic eye pieces, operation instructions need improvements, assembly instructions need improvements
Model Number: Celestron AstroMaster 130EQ Dual Purpose Telescope
"Years ago I was particularly intrigued by a PBS show called “Sidewalk Astronomer” by John Dobson. It was about telescopes, astronomy and the cosmos. Ever since, I became an astronomy enthusiast. I bought this telescope last year and I have had it in my living room by the window ever since. I received it in excellent double box packing from Costco. It took me less than thirty minutes to assemble it without any tools. There is a good Celestron online video that shows how to assemble and properly balance this telescope. Just type this model number and the word Celestron in the search field and it shows up in the first few video results. Although the assembly instructions are not so great, it was easy to figure out what went where. This is a sophisticated reflection telescope which can be used as a beginner/amateur telescope or for advanced use too. The materials used in this do not appear cheap. Its good grade metals and durable plastics from what I see. (This is not my first telescope. I bought a used refraction telescope many years ago.) A few days after assembling it, I took it out in freezing winter weather to look at a few stars. Being within view of NYC skyline, the light pollution from the megapolis blocks most low light objects in the night sky. There were no planets around that time. How did I know? The computer planetarium program that came with the telescope automatically figured out my location (assuming via the internet) and showed me accurately what is in the sky at that time, in what direction, and with labels. Its a good idea to check it out before and after observations. After about five to ten minutes of back and forth adjustments, I managed to focus and lock on to a star. Low and behold, it turned out to be a real star just like our sun. Although it was very bright white in color, I could see the rays coming out of it in all directions. I figured out from the rays that this is a star and not a planet or a galaxy. I focused on another star which was yellow and dimmer than the previous one. My fingers were numb due to the extreme cold so it was time to pack up and get back indoors. After I got back home, it felt good knowing I have managed to see a couple of distant stars up close. I knew I have something much more worth the money I spent to buy it. I also used it to to view terrestrial objects. It works great with the correction lens. Its even more powerful than my old refraction telescope for both stellar and terrestrial observations. One thing I am aware of is to always close the opening with the plastic cover that comes with it when I am not viewing anything, to prevent any dust from getting in. This way I am sure it will be years before I have to clean the mirror inside as mentioned in the instruction manual. The viewing instructions that came with the telescope isn't very helpful but I found good amateur astronomy and telescope instructions online. This year in early fall, I noticed a bright constant object in the sky which I knew must be Jupiter. I quickly got my telescope out to see it and again after about five minutes of adjustments, I locked on to Jupiter. It looked amazing. I could tell its different colored bands and at least four bright moons around it. The two tracking wheels worked perfectly to keep a lock on to the planet as it moved. (When we begin to see sky objects through a telescope, we will notice that they move very quickly from your sight.) The two tracking wheels attached to the mount really help. My old telescope did not have this feature so it was very difficult to track any object manually. The StarPonter with the red laser dot is helpful but I still needed to do a little back and forth to lock on the planet. After reading online instructions I know I need better eye pieces to view distant objects like planets, galaxies and nebulae in more detail. This telescope comes with a very sturdy and strong tripod and for a good reason. This telescope is quite heavy. I had to get a thick plastic chair mat to protect my carpet where I keep the telescope. Otherwise the weight of the telescope sinks the three tripod bottom spikes deep into the carpet. Its better to dismount the telescope from the tripod to take it outdoors or bringing it back indoors. It only takes a few seconds to do that with the quick release attachment. The weights make the telescope heavy but they are essential for the way this system works. I know I have everything in my grasp to accomplish more amazing observations with this telescope with it's advanced equatorial mount, setting circles, planetarium program, and all the accessories that came with it. Now all I need is a trip to a remote country location where the night sky is more visible. This is a great telescope for both amateurs and seasoned astronomers for an affordable price.
Came with:
Two eye pieces
Special mirror cleaning cloth
StarPointer battery and screw tool
Accessory tray
Telescope plastic cover/door
Planetarium software CD
Product CD
"
27 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Celestron AstroMaster 130EQ Dual Purpose Telescope
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:February 9, 2011

First telescope

Pros: lens quality, easy to set up and use, price value
Model Number: 130EQ
"Call it mid-life crisis; but, decided to get the telescope I never had as a kid. This is certainly not too expensive, when compared to other Celestron products. The lens quality is very good; love it for terrestrial viewing. I can focus on a sleeping alligator almost 1/2 mile from my lanai, as if it were sleeping in my yard, Somewhat disappointed in night sky viewing. Maybe my expectations were too great, as I was hoping for Hubble telescope quality views."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Celestron AstroMaster 130EQ Dual Purpose Telescope
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:February 6, 2011

Horrible Sighting...

Pros: it looks good.
Cons: poor focus., complicated setup., more complicated use.
Model Number: 130EQ
"...I can see the stars better with my naked eye.
I am a beginner astronomer. My parents gave me the telescope for my 11th birthday. At first I was excited, but that gave way to frustration for both me and my parents. After a complicated assembly, it took me days to figure out to direct it properly. Even after I located the moon and stars, it wouldn't stay in focus.
The Celestron telescope has bad sighting from both eyepieces. The directions for use are terrible. The knobs are complicate to figure out. I would not recommend this product to anyone."
3 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Celestron AstroMaster 130EQ Dual Purpose Telescope
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:January 7, 2011

First impressions

Pros: simple to assemble
Cons: starfinder seems to be useless
Model Number: Astromaster 130 EQ
"I just got the telescope about two hours ago. So this review is based on first impressions. I will update it once I have been using it for a while. This is my first telescope purchase and I didn't want to spend a lot of money. I was also considering Orion spaceprobe 130 st and Orion XT4.5. The online reviews for both the orion telescopes are pretty good and the reviews for this were not that great.
Comparing the product specs this telescope is exactly the same as Orion space probe 130 st. Both have same type of mounts and same optical diameter. However, costco was selling this one for about half the priceI of orion. So I went with this one just because costco has a great returns policy and i figured if it doesn't work I will return it and get the orion. So far I am happy with the decision.
1. Unpacking and assembling the telescope was easy. As soon as you open the packaging there is a sheet explaining how to assemble along with pictures. Follow it and you should abe able to assemble in no time at all. I think it took me 20-30 mins at most.
2. Several online reviews complain about the quality of the tripod. This is my first ever tripod for anything, however, to me the quality seems fine. It feels solid enough. Hopefully I will continue to feel the same way after I have used it for couple of months etc.
3. As soon as the scope was assembled I pointed it towards the sky. Unfortunately I live in the middle of SF and there is a playground three blocks from my apt with massive flood lights, so there is too much ligh pollution to be able to see the single star that was visible in the sky. I will have to take the scope out far away from SF and try it again.
4. After light pollution prevented me from looking at the lone star visible in the sky, I pointed it towards the playground. (I live high up in the bld). After little bit of trial and error I was able to focus onto folks playing in the playground. I was using the 25 mm lens. The picture was very clear and I was able to read the jeresy numbers off the players. To put that in perspective, if I strectch my hand out (about 2.5 ft) and compare the width of my finger to the soccer goal post in the field, the goal post appears to be half the width of my finger (about half an inch). The 25 mm lens creates an erect image so it is easy to look at objects on earth. I tried using the 10 mm lens as well, however, since it doesn't create erect images had a slightly harder time with it. Also, the picture seemed more clear via the 25 mm lens
I haven't used the software that came with it yet so can't comment on it. I think I will most likely use my andriod to find relative position of stars in the sky and then point my telescope towards them."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Celestron AstroMaster 130EQ Dual Purpose Telescope
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:miami, FL
Date:January 4, 2011

its a great product

Pros: its just a nice telescope and for the price is a, realy good deal
Model Number: celestron eq 130
"first telescope ever i love it its well nice desing telescope i have been seeing the moon and the sky. i can't wait to get the kit of lences so i can have a better range on the space. good experiance."
Review 11 for Celestron AstroMaster 130EQ Dual Purpose Telescope
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sequim, WA
Date:December 31, 2010

Nice Telescope

Pros: good value
"I am quite pleased with the telescope. It was fairly easily assembled within 30 minutes by two amateurs. The tripod and telescope are easy to adjust and move. I had a little trouble figuring out the second eyepiece. I inadvertently took it apart. My grandson is delighted with his present."
Review 12 for Celestron AstroMaster 130EQ Dual Purpose Telescope
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:December 27, 2010

Bad Tripod, Bad Customer Service from Celestron

Pros: inexpensive
Cons: bad tripod, bad celestron customer service
Model Number: Celestron AstroMaster 130EQ
"I purchased the item for Christmas as my son's Christmas gift from Costco.com and the tripod broke within days when my husband was trying to fold it. In addition to the disappointment of a bad Christmas present our whole family has endured, when I contacted Celestron, they asked me to pack and mail the whole Telescope back for service, instead of just the tripod. Obviously, Celestron's customer service goes by with the belief that if enough troubles are created for the purchasers, they will go away with bad products.
I was not impressed by the quality of the product but the customer services Celeston provides is even worse. Sure the Telescope is inexpensive - however, with the tripod broken, the telescope is not functional at all. What is the point of buying one that does not work.
This is the first time I purchase from Celestron and it will definitely be the last time."
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Celestron AstroMaster 130EQ Dual Purpose Telescope
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2010

Telescope

Pros: great price
"This is our first telescope, so we had to watch a few you tube videos to understand it, but once we got it figured out we LOVE it. I'm going to buy my husband the motor or gps extra for Christmas."
22 of 26 people found this review helpful.